Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Medplaya Hotel Santa Monica 3 stars

Avinguda del Turisme, 72-78, 08370 Calella, Spain

#29 of 53 hotels in Calella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 498 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Thank you very much for very good rest for our family. Big big aplause to all animators for so creative work, smils, joukes and so hearty attitude . All shows in the evenings were greate! We and our kids have got a big experience in different games near by the pool. The staff - super! We did not want to go home after 2 weeks stay here😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at the resort and plenty of places to visit and things to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates at meal times where cold. Evening entertainment started late and evening meal was a little late

    Cleanliness was real good staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, comfortable, hotel conveniently situated. Pleasantly surprised with the standard for the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in bedrooms

    Rooms comfortable but I really missed a cup of coffee in the morning, no facilities in the bedrooms . Bar and entertainment staff very good indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    On the whole I enjoyed greatly staying at Santa Monica: location, food, personnel were excellent..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were pill bugs on the 4th floor balcony and in the bathroom. I would never think to come across these insects in a hotel.

    Meals were just excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    The animation staff was a plus !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of cleaning in the exterior by the pool was a constant. This hotel would really benefit having one employee cleaning the tables next to the bar of the swimming pool.

    The animation staff was a plus ! The food was diverse and well prepared. The proximity to the beach allows to split time between the pool and the beach very easily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    I booked the room for my family, I invited them to Calella.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Start from the staff which was a guy on the night shift that he didn't knew English at all and when I asked him for my room he couldn't find my name nowhere. It took for us 15 min to go inside the room.

    I booked the room for my family, I invited them to Calella. I reserved the room for them on half board. It wasn't how was looking on the pictures. Room was really poor. Bathroom was Ok.. The food was ok, the orange juice was disgusting. It wasn't fresh. My family wasn't happy at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Absolutely fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The staff were exceptional, all helpful and friendly. Food was great, most things could be found. Easy walk to main shops and bar area. 5 mins to beach. Fairly long walk -1/2 hours - from train station with cases but only 8 euro taxi ride.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, variety & quality of food, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Friendly staff, variety & quality of food, convenient location, fast & toll-free internet, wonderful view to the sea from our room (thank you very much, Vicky !)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the price I paid this hotel gave value for money the staff were pleasant and helpful and the bar and pool areas were good to have a beer or sunbathing. The food was ok we were half board but also ate out at some of the wonderful restaurant's in calella This best thing about this hotel is it's location only 2 mins to the beach. If you want value for money this place is for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Family friendly but we were there to have fun and they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more power plugs in the room and a fridge would​ lovely. Plus shower leaked a little but all in all value and comfort versus price was outstanding.

    Family friendly but we were there to have fun and they were happy to accommodate us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Great place for a break - adults and children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No problems with the hotel but arriving late at Barcelona airport meant that we had to use a coach transfer service. We had to wait 2 hours at the airport before starting our journey to the hotel. Next time we will organise flight times so that we can use the nearby, and excellent, train service.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (especially at the reception desk). Good location as it was a short walk to the beach and also the old town centre. The evening strolls were great with many different shops and cafes/restaurants. Good area which was genuine and not too noisy or crowded at that time of year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel. I likeed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one. The beds was together (double bed consists from 2 beds). Вut it was not hard connected, not skrepity. At nigth all the time it disconected from one another. If you will only quietly sleep looks like a mouse - all right for you. :) Otherwise, connected by rope/streep.

    I liked all. For so money very-very good. ***+ Big room, balcony, good look to sea, clean, very good food. Friendly staff and speak eng + rus :). Sea not far away. At Barcelona hotel expensive 2 times and poorer 2 times. Train station far away (15-20 min) to go to Barcelona (4,9 euro). But near there is bus stop - ask at reception. Bus drivers to center Barcelona (5,1 euro) and to airport (9,8 euro). At Pineda de Mar (not far away) good bike path.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Calella holiday maker
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Closed on the 16/10/ should stay open all year round

    The friendly and helpfull staff. good food,location and atmosphere. family friendly and dedicated entertainment team.I have stayed in 5 hotels in this resort and this is the best

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    convenient location very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dining room staff very sour !

    very convenient location. 5 min walk to beach and restaurants bars supermarket and bank even closer. easy going atmosphere. reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.0
    The room and the bathroom was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the days the swimming pool was closed for 24 hours for cleaning. It was very inconvenient taking in account that it is middle of August. Hotel was not willing to compensate it in any way. Luckily when complaining to Booking they provided compensation due to missing facilities.

    The room and the bathroom was clean. Would be great if they would have more shampoo/conditioners/soaps. Instead there is just one all purpose liquid soap. One of the dinners there was white and milk chocolate fountains available. That was fun. Food as such (with few exceptions) is nothing special. But you can always find something to eat and the price is very reasonable. None of the drinks are included in the meals, but its not a big issue as the prices for drinks are not high.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    The entertainment was really good and meant children were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The entertainment was really good and meant children were able to make friends and have a lot of fun. Entertainment crew very hardworking and made you feel special. Nightly shows, and club dances. Bar staff very friendly. Lovely place to stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.5
    Very Decent 3 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough beds round pool for size of hotel. In a week we didn't manage to get in the pool or pool area once.

    Location great, staff very helpful. Good choice of food but bit chaotic at meal times.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people, gluten free diet excellent, we recomend this place. Room clean and great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, only they have to take a little more care...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, only they have to take a little more care with the cleanings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Triathlon accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff couldn’t do enough for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money on our all inclusive option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent choice and quality of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Bar staff fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment needs improvement!

    Bar staff fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    The beds werent at all comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds werent at all comfy. Dinner time is extremely late. 1930 is very late to eat particularly if you have small children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    The location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was very bad. nothing healthy

    The location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money. Meets expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is a little dated. Could do with an upgrade.

    The sea view was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Was very good. Thank you!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything's good

    The food was excellent and the entertainment team worked hard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, frendly staff and good atmosphere. Value for money. We really enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Rooms needs a bit of refurbishment

    Lunch and diner was fabulous, variety of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Good food !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No parking. No sport hall, sauna, ... Only pastry (croissants, chocolat breads,..) of breakfast not very good.

    Good food !! Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    A good hotel for families with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    En general limpio y nuy agradables
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falta parquin

    En general limpio y nuy agradables

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Great value & Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very glum even though they were helpful.

    Location very convenient to beach and shops bars restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good food. a lot of choices. very good location - near the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be free.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Food was good. Close to the beach. If in the area again would definitely stay there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like

    The food was diverse and excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    The Breakfast und Dinner ist verry good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all Kind of cafe from Breakfast was very bad( Cappuccino, cafe with milk, Café....) from Automat ..

    The Breakfast und Dinner ist verry good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food,cleanliness,close to beach and shops,and daily entertainment was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.1
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room to sit around the pool, very small area. Bar closed too early.

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    We were expecting the worst, having read previous reviews -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The queuing at opening times was a bit tedious.

    We were expecting the worst, having read previous reviews - but we were pleasantly surprised The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean - although a bit dated it was totally acceptable. The meals offered good value for the money - not gastronomic but wholesome and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.0
    The room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds uncomfortable, walls paper thin - we could hear every single word from the roon next door - no hairdryer, water pressure terrible, dark corridors, lift painfully slow, dreary overall

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.8
    the staff really friendly, very close to beach and town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast always cold and really hard fried eggs. no free wi fi. need more lifts always a queue. did not like having to queue for my main meal. poor entertainment for adults

    the staff really friendly, very close to beach and town

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.4
    Most staff members were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very basic with old rooms, furniture and bedding. Plastic seats, tables and sun beds in the pool area. Very thin walls, noisy neighbours. The hotel was full of overweight, elderly people during our visit, mainly Brits and Russians participating fully with the 'all you can eat' buffet. If bingo and beer are your style go for it! Not what I expected from the 7.9 review score. Obviously frequented by people enjoying all of the above, not the place for a more experienced (or sophisticated) traveller.

    Most staff members were friendly and helpful. We managed to get beds by the pool on most occasions. Wifi was good in our room, after we paid extra.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    enertainment team fabulous - providing activities all day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    enertainment team fabulous - providing activities all day for adults and children, and an evening show as well. The staff were all very friendly. The dining room offered a good variety of very tasty food. You would have to be serioulsly faddy not to find something you would like,

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    The only Sunday beach is St Christina , very nice for small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast (always the same), more for English people (eggs, beans, sausages) , stones beaches. I was fed up if Russian kids, very noisy!!!!!

    The only Sunday beach is St Christina , very nice for small kids Nice hotel but quiet old fashion furniture inside. Cleaning ok but could be better. Entertainment for kids very good but the only problem is that they take all kids for the particular game (3 years old together with 11 years old) therefore it is not possible for the youngest kids to win a diploma ( which was very upsetting for my 4 years old daughter). Food very good especially dinner (wide variety), but very poor breakfast (always the same). Half board does not have any drinks with a dinner!! And the worst - big queue at a dinner time!!! The best person to speak with from reception - Peter!! Beaches were nice but stone like than sand and too hot to walk on ( not sandy, so difficult to walk for kids, and very deep sea side, young kids unable to swim)

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.3
    The entertainment was first class and reception were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They were 3 in my party, yet you can only order 2 drinks. I had to order my 2, tell me my third to get on my return, but it would not be poured, I had to que again. Very very annoying, especially when the bar is busy

    The entertainment was first class and reception were very helpful especially Peter.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    The friendliest bar staff ever !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and lunch was ok but dinner could improve a little, a bigger selection of vegetables and some nicer meat dishes needed.

    The friendliest bar staff ever ! Nice pool area, us beds were always available even on the hottest of days.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    5.8
    close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    sound isolation is non-existing, you hear everyone in the hotel, food was extremely basic, no parking, everything costs extra including the internet.

    close to city center

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    Most staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel seems to have come through a timewarp from 1976.

    Most staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.7
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff with bad attitude

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.4
    IT was a good value for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food choice could be better; I had a feeling there was bits of sand in my bed and the bed squeaked a lot.

    IT was a good value for the money spent.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    loved the food the staff very helpful, rooms very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    pool freezing

    loved the food the staff very helpful, rooms very clean. location.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and useful staff, clean and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Guests reserving sinners with towels all day!

    Very friendly and useful staff, clean and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff here is very nice and vibes here are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed could be like newer.

    Staff here is very nice and vibes here are nice. You feel here wellcome and holiday.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Very clean, staff great, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean, staff great, great value.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    a hi-speed FREE internet connection (at least for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a hi-speed FREE internet connection (at least for all-inclusive) would be great....

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    The hotel can be reached easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The dinner was a bit late for a non Mediterraneans

    The hotel can be reached easily The meal was really delecious The staff was kind

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights all inclusive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights all inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed my stay - staff very helpful and rooms where cleaned everyday

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Weather was beautiful and we both enjoyed our stay at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was beautiful and we both enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Staff were very efficient.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: