Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chic & Basic Velvet 3 stars

Consell de Cent, 74, Eixample, 08015 Barcelona, Spain

#334 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2696 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi at all in the room, the corridor and the room itself are very dark, it doesn't feel cosy. The room is super tiny, and the windows overlooks a walls, so no light. We felt oppressed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit expensive (about 20 euros for 2 people), although there was a nice selection of different items (including gluten free for celiacs), the wifi was a bit spotty in our room, and it was fairly noisy. I believe the property is under construction, and at about 8am both morning we were there, they started duct taping the walls right in the hallway which woke both of us up. Although it wasn't too early, for non-morning people I thought they could have been more considerate.

    Overall, my Mom and I had a great stay at this hotel while visiting Barcelona! It is in a great location (about 5-10 minutes walking to Plaza de Espanya, 15 to Barcelona Sants). The room was very comfortable: the beds were nice and soft, the bathroom clean and spacious with plenty of hot water, and a cute balcony overlooking the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior room was too small so we opted for exterior room

    It’s was value for money Food, coffee and drinks were ‘on the house’ which is a fantastic service for guests. Also the hotel staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shape of the bath tub is a bit bit awkward, difficult to get in and I wish the room was a bit more spacious.

    The hotel room is basic but comfortable. The hosts are responsive and facilities were suitable for us. It is very close to the Metro station and there are multiple super markets and economic restaurants around. There is a park close to the hotel where one can do a bit of stretching or jogging if there is some spare time from the trips :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed that I was put in a double room with window viewing to inside foyer - no viewing and dark. Early breakfast the brown bread were frozen.

    Very clean and good breakfast food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t put the television in original version (to watch some programs in English)

    When you walk in it look really snazzy and smells so nice! The front desk staff were so lovely and cheerful. The room was very comfortable, perfect for a short stay. The hotel is a 5 min direct walk away from Plaça España, and from there the transportation is amazing. Overall a brilliant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was an inside room. Even though I was aware it would be an inside room when booking I had no idea it would be that dark, plus with the dark hallways. I had booked for four days, and having seen inside a room with an outside window I would've check all high score boxes for a little sunlight. Otherwise great hotel, great location, close to the Metro and bus stops.

    Hotel was comfortable and clean and the staff I saw were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the corridors leading to the rooms. The blue light makes the corridors dull. The locks of the doors leading to the rooms are noisy when shutting the doors. It is a nuisance to our guests.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small

    Best balance of convenience and price. Close to metro stations of two lines and easy to reach to Camp Nou and Airport. 1 min walk to small supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel as Sant Angelo, however they changed to Chic and Basic Velvet, although it was comfortable, clean and fantastic location i would have been put off with the name

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not have access to Wi-Fi in our room for three of the days we were there, which was disruptive to say the least. Although staff contacted the phone company to look into the issue, they did not provide us with an alternative. Instead, we had to trek into the common area with all of our electronic devices in order to access the internet. The room was also very cramped. We barely had any room to walk, and did not have space to open our suitcases on the floor.

    The hotel is close to a train station (about a 10 minute walk), and close to attractions such as the Magic Fountain. There are a ton of bars, restaurants, cafeterias and other shops around, as well as a park. Barcelona is just a lovely place to be in, no matter the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be slightly bigger but on a city break you’re barely in the room so no major issue!

    Very clean, very polite staff, 5 mins from rocafort metro station, beautiful terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors of the hotel could have been more enlightened :)

    I appreciate that the brakfast time is relatively long, it is great if you like to sleep a litle bit longer :) Staff is very responsive! You can get to city centre in few minutes. Really enjoyed staying at hotel :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little too much outside noise from other guests. Hall way a little dark for me, but fit with the scene of everything.

    Cute place! Loved the whole feel. Staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the location, the staff was very , friendly and professional. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was amazing and super, super clean. lots of room in the closet for two people. highly recommend it and will definitely stay again. Keep up the good work ! Thank you. Isabel from north Carolina USA

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They don't have hot milk (fresh), only milk from the coffee machine. This might be a problem for small children. Also the door locks are pretty loud. You need to slam the door for it to close - this is bad during the night. The location is close to a motocycle repair shop. It can get loud in the morning.

    Breakfast is fine and well ballanced. The terrace is nice as well and you can get a free cup of coffee/tea in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is old, it is more 2 stars than 3, even if there is a bathroom, it was so old and dirty because of the time and lack of attention that it was seriously not comfortable to use. Photos dont show the reality at all. Safe was closing with a key and not a code. I dont recommend this hotel, there are many others better. I left this place 1 day earlier.

    Spacious room, calm area, big windows with a nice view, nice stuff, stylish entrance to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, strange blue lighting in the hallway - but all other common areas very nice

    Great breakfast spread, lovely terrace and excellent loose leaf tea, coffee and cake freely available all night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The walls were very thin. I was frequently woken up in the middle night by other guests in their rooms. The bed was not comfortable. My queen bed was actually two twin beds pushed together and covered with a thin, inadequate pillow top.

    The staff was extremely friendly and the location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no fresh air, we could open the window but there was a closed area behind it(basically facing walls). Unfortunately no complimentary shampoo but a very large portion of showergel.

    Location, location, location! Plus there were two sinks in the bathroom (bliss).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost €500 for four nights in a very very small room. Breakfast not included and €10 pp, one third of that around the corner in the cafes.

    Friendly staff coffee available during the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon was not good enough to cool room, even though only 19C outside. Floor was very dusty, which transferred from feet to sheets. Quite noisy from neighbouring rooms (not noisy neighbours just not very soundproof).

    Location was quiet and felt safe. Easy access to station/airport bus stop. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Bedding was very clean and breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are VERY small and the hallways are so dark it looks like the lights are not on. It was quite expensive considering the size of the room and the location being a little further away from the core.

    The hotel is very cute, its got an old school movie theatre theme happening. All day coffee and tea and a back terrace you can sit out on. Breakfast was pretty decent and in the afternoon they had treats available. The location is pretty good, you are about a 2km walk from all the main sites, we do not mind walking so it worked well for us, and you are pretty close to the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very small room. Had to put the luggage on the floor and step over it to get to the bed. The bathroom was nice.

    Good location. Walking distance from the train station an plaza espana.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot be faulted. Even shower gel was great, with a lovely scent..

    Super friendly staff, great location, lovely decor, calm spaces, great sitting area for relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was totally different from photo one. very small indeed. fan in bathroom was not working and steam after taking a shower was staying inside.

    Hotel personal was amazing. really enjoyed stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not like the changing rate of our booking! I was told to pay something on Booking.com then at the hotel the rate changed and increased! Also in the Booking they said there is free parking!! But then we end up paying for the parking? That was not nice at all.

    I like the convenient location of the hotel in Barcelona. The staff are friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three beds which were a bit of a squeeze in the room but ok. Could hear those staying next door and on the Sunday night they were noisy with someone ill the following morning.

    Very convenient for visiting friends, train station and airport bus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor breakfast. Room had only beds and no table where to put things on.

    There were tea/coffee facilities free of charge in common area, and muffins and cake sometimes, as well. Good location, next to major transport nodes. Nice park nearby with different activities for children. Big shopping mall only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy guests coming back in the early morning hours can be clearly heard through the walls. Perhaps there is something that can be added to improve 'sound proofing'. Other than that it was swell.

    Friendly staff, great decor, clean, and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and there was no way to cool it down. Even though the outdoor temperature was only in the 60s (F), the window did not open to the outside and the temperature could not be lowered from inside the room.

    Excellent location; lots of nearby restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rachotící/hlučná klimatizace (pokoj č. 207). Tenké stěny mezi pokoji. Hlučné zavírání dveří. ------------------------ Rumble/noisy air conditioning (room no. 207). Thin walls between the room. Noisy closing of the door.

    Velmi hezký hotel v klidné části/ulici. Skvělý servis na hotelu. Pestrá snídaně s velkým výběrem čerstvé zeleniny a ovoce. Výborné umístění hotelu - 550m na metro L3 / 950m na "uzel" Barcelona Sants - kousek na stadión a do centra. ---------------------------------------------- Very nice hotel in a quiet part / street. Great service at the hotel. Varied breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables. Excellent location of the hotel - 550m to the subway L3 / 950m to the "node" of Barcelona Sants - a short walk to the stadium and the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no place in the very tiny room for my suitcase except on the desk--making the desk unusable.

    The lounge and terrace were lovely--and the coffee and tea (available all the time) very nicely presented. I loved having the bidet! I also very much appreciated the reading lights at the bed. Every person at the front desk was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The WiFi in my room hardly worked. I could only connect for a few minutes and then lose all connections. Also, I had my shoes stolen from my room by whoever else had access. One minute they were there, the next they were not. There was no view from my room at all.

    The cake and muffins were amazing :) And the air conditioner (heater) made my room very warm, so that was very good. Also my proximity to public transport stations was very cool. I think I was close to 3 metros (Tarragona, Espanya and Rocafort) and bus stations. I loved that

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in, only available at 15:00h, I sended an email for 1 month ago asking if we could check in a little bit earlier cause we would arrive at 8 a.m but no one answered me, my girlfriend came directly from work and was really tired after the flight so she had s little bad time there The rooms, my room was really small, a small bathroom with a small bathtub, for some kind of error in booking.com we get a double bedroom instead a "couple" one, our beds where splitting a part all the time and that never happened in other hotels we tried.

    The breakfast was really good, a lot of variety and quality ingredients, fresh fruits and bakery, a lot of different things to try, they have really good glazed donuts 🍩 The staff are really polite and helpful, always find the best solution for you and help you in the best possible way

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Conveniently located between Sants and Plaça Espanya. Ideal for transit, not bad for longer stay. Quiet and simplicity. At the time of our dtay, the hotel is being refurbished. Expecting improvement at the reception area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size for 3 beds

    Free tea and coffee availability in the evening. Free water . Garden . Breakfast menu . Park for walking and kids, shoping center metro station nearby. No noise from the street . Nice stuff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing.

    Everything was just perfect! The woman staff was so kind and nice to answer every question I made. (I hope she can remember me 'Korean mom of 2 kids' :D ) Breakfast was absolutely fantastic and room was also really clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, no facilities to make a hot drink in the room and there used to be underground parking,but for some reason that was not available on our visit? Work was being carried out at the hotel, so maybe not seeing it at its best.

    The room was clean,the staff were lovely and the breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and had limited number of electric sockets that we could use to charge our phones, powerbanks etc.

    Almost everything in this city locates near a subway station. And this hotel's location is close to 2 different metro lines and N17 (Night Bus to Airport T1 terminal) and Renfe Sants train station from-to airport (a little far but ok, but you can transfer to L3 train only to go one more station). In which you can use T10 pass on every one ofthem. And we used all the lines mentioned above and saved a lot of time for our resting and money. Toilet is clean. Room has a TV unit, but since we dont know spanish, it only helped us for a background noise which is ok I guess.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is very calm but a little far from the main touristic points. Despite this the metro station is very close. Gentle staff. Really nice breakfast, but costs 9 euros.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very satisfied with our stay there. Pity about all the graffiti though.

    Close to two metro stations and the main railway station. Accessibility around the city was excellent. They very promptly corrected three minor problems on the same day they were reported. The breakfasts were entirely adequate. The staff were very helpful in providing directions, in particular when the taxis went on strike. Barcelona has Gaudi of course, but so much much more besides.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't afford a 5 star hotel in Barcelona.

    Clean, fair price, location. Arrived early, tagged and stored our luggage till room was ready. Staff helpful, supplied map and local information.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite noisy with doors banging

    The location was excellent re access round Barcelona. I was in an inside room facing an inner courtyard so was dark and rather noisy with doors banging loudly on the floor and I think I backed onto the lift. The front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallways are very dark which doesn't suit the style of the hotel. From a dark hallway you enter a dark room where you have to find the place for the keycard so the lights work. A flashlight would have been useful ;-)

    A very good deal. Welcoming extras like a bottle of water in the room and extra shower gel, explicitly to take it with you. The friendly staff told me there was free coffee but didn't look for it. I arrived at 8 in the morning and could leave my stuff until the room was ready. Close to Plaza de Espanya (airport bus), Sants train station and Metro Rocafort. Very cosy bed, big bathroom. I had an interior room that was very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the room was "indoor" without external windows. I was not expecting that at all following my 1st stay last year and did not pay attention to this notice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furnitures in the room were a bit shabby, and bathroom looking oldish. But functionally all good. Lift a bit noisy, I could hear all lift travels up and down in the room.

    The room and the bathroom were clean, bidet was bonus. 24 hour good quality coffee/tea at the breakfast room (although I breakfast was not included) was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast spread was delicious, impressive and extensive. the staff was cordial and helpful. the beds were very comfortable and the rooms clean. great value and great location too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Americano coffee was harsh and no skim milk. Bathroom was old and one of the lights did not work. No information about how to operate the phone in the room to contact the reception desk. It would have been nice to get some room service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little too compact. Close to elevator so a little noisy. Slamming doors from other rooms.

    Good breakfast. Good WiFi. Welcome bottle of water. Free coffee/tea from machine in coffee area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blue lighting in the hallway made it hard to see. Our room faced inward so we had no natural lighting in the room.

    The hotel was accommodating for booking it very last minute! It was within walking distance to a metro making it easy to get to the center of town! The actual room was very clean and comfortable. I also enjoyed how they called a taxi for us to go the airport!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cramped and difficult to climb into shower especially if you are large or elderly. interesting purple lighting in corridor- very dim.

    We chose this hotel due to walking proximity to Sants railway station and airport shuttle stop at plaza espanya. But also walked into town and to mont Juic. Close to metro station too. Executive room was large and comfortable. Reception helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shelf & door edges of room all worn away, needs refurb. Light in bathroom missing & stuffed with a tissue! Safe in room was half the size needed for a laptop and had no key or lock code mechanism

    Beds and pillows were very comfy. Shower had great power. Main receptionist was nice, polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room is a contender in the category of "smallest room with fewest amenities." Still, one can get by easily enough without a minibar and a complementary box of tissues. These were the reasons that I have difficulty assessing the "value for the money" element.

    Comfortable bed, pleasant view of the neighborhood skyline, quiet neighborhood, and a great location for moving around the city and getting to the airport on public transportation. Also, the staff members were friendly and helpful. Also, this mostly vegetarian had her "once-or-twice-a-year hamburger" at a very good restaurant within an easy walk of the hotel (B Burger).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a comfy hotel, you can borrow bikes and the prices are not hire than in most of the places in Barcelona were you can do that. If I would go there again than for sure I would not change that hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms don’t lock! I came back to my room after a long day and found the door wide open. I was offered a discount for the incident that when checking out they refused to apply! They do NOT keep their word, very untrustworthy.

    It smelled very clean and was clean. It is also within walking distance to many places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that my room had no real window

    The Hotel is quite recommendable except that my room (and many others) only have fake windows. If you make a booking ask for a room that has a view to the back yard. Everything else met expectations. The breakfast is very rich and the hotel has a cosy terrace, where you can eat breakfast or have drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't have a bar or dinner facilities - not an issue for me at all and there are many nearby places to go at all hours - but might be an issue for some travellers

    A simple but very friendly and efficient hotel in an excellent location close to Plaza Espanaya and with lots of interesting neighbourhood bars and cafes nearby, as well as the lovely Joan Miro park and the Montjuic palace. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like sewage and we had to change rooms after the first night (of 2). Breakfast expensive that isn't worth.

    Location, close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had 3 people in the room and the 3rd bed was just squeezed into a normal 2-persons room, which created very little space around the beds.

    Delicious food, extra helpful staff and of course amazing localisation! Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is something wrong with canalization. Someday there was toilet smell all around the room. We stayed 5 nights and smell was 3 of them.

    Very good location, quiet, 7 min walk til metro , 10 min metro ride til center. 7 minits walk till arena shopping mall. Arond the corner there was mini shops, farmacy, quiet cafes. Very good breakfest, coffee all the time for free!! English speaking frot desk stuff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. There was literally only about 30" around all 3 sides of the bed to each wall. Very tight and almost no place to open your suitcase. All rooms I stayed in were small compared to US but this was maybe the smallest.

    Convenient location to train station and subway. Desk staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could hear people in the next room and in the room across the hall. Could hear people in the hallway.

    A nice comfortable bed. Lovely buffet. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Na

    The rooms are clean and tidy, the staff are friendly the breakfast was fresh and the lady at the breakfast room was extremely lovely ( sorry don't know her name).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff were very kind, helpful and friendly. There was no problem keeping the luggage after check-out. Breakfast on the terrace was amazing, plus point for coffee free all day! Room was clean. We highly recommend this accommodation!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room was clean, and the bed made every day, on one occasion empty toilet roll was not replenished.

    Decent size of room, very comfy bed. Good location for Barcelona Sant station, and for the Espanya station, both with numerous metro lines and other connections.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC was left on max all the time. The room was cool enough (even though very hot - ~37degC - outside), though still felt like the air was a bit damp. But I liked that the AC didn't kick off when the room key was pulled out. (I know a bit wasteful, but it sure is nice to come in to a room and not have to wait for AC to cool a hot room off.)

    Breakfast buffet (11 euros/pers) was well-equipped and good value. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was clean with drinking water and fridge. All in all, I'd gladly stay here again. Thought it was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere was a little stale.

    The hotel was situated within approx. 25 mins walking distance from the main city thoroughfare. Quiet neighbourhood, clean facilities. Unlimited water and coffee/tea/cake/fruit from the lounge area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little in the way of sound-proofing in this hotel. If guests on your floor are noisy you will hear them. They have to send your laundry out and it will cost you.

    Good location near Plaza Epan(y)a, not as much heavy tourist traffic as the area around University Plaza. Lots of restaurants, bakeries, bars within walking distance; less than 10 minutes to either of two metro stations. Room was modern and clean. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no big complaints at all--just that they need a better plumber--but who doesn't? Really a very nice place.

    The hotel is well-located within easy walking distance if three metro stops, including Espanya. Markets and restaurants all around. Quiet, clean and well-appointed. Eay in and easy out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too small. The hallway to the guest rooms was too dark, needs some brighter white lights.

    The bed was a good size and comfy. The hotel was in a safe and quiet neighbourhood, good for walking back late at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small (enough for sleeping, not enough if you want to spend some time in it) and the only window was directed to inner side of the building so there was no sunshine.

    The location is perfect - close to several metro stations and to train station Sants. The room was very clean and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with two single beds, instead had a double bed to share with my colleague. The room was tiny. The keycards kept not working, had to sort that out several times.

    I liked the location of the hotel, close to many of the central sights. Yet, the street was quite quiet, it was possible to get a good night sleep. A few little stores around that were open quite late, which was handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like (really). Breakfast not included but even that allowed us to go out and explore for coffee.

    A wonderful place to stay. Get a room with plaza view. Really special!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't expectthe parking is not included into service. You have topay extra. Small disappointment. Because in scandinavia if hotel parkingis available it is usually free forthe guests.

    All is fine, really.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chic & Basic Velvet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: