Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santemar 4 stars

Joaquín Costa, 28, 39005 Santander, Spain

#18 of 28 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4718 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Read this before you go to Santimar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and we has 4 rooms. Only news channels in English, all the rest was Spanish TV. Hardly any staff spoke English so we could not make a proper complaint about terrible service and food in a La Carte restaurant.

    Beds were huge and very comfortable with crisp white linen. Air con worked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Unfriendly staff, Expensive overall, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I booked a triple room but the size of the room was the same as all the other rooms in the hotel and we were quite cramped. They did not even give us a double bed as we requested.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The safe was so high,I couldn't reach it. Not easy for someone small and on their own.This was on the 7th floor.

    Everything was really good. Comfort and cleanliness of the rooms just great. Staff very helpful. Reception arranged for me to see a doctor who arrived in the room with in 10 mins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay overnight especially if you need garaging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double glazing didnt seem to keep outside noise outside.

    The hotel is in a great location near to bars, restaurants and beaches. Able to leave motorbikes in garage til ready to leave for port. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for us for 2 nights to explore Santander. Perfect for overnight stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More choice of breakfast in the cafeteria (which is a really dull room!)

    The hotel is clean and spacious. The bedroom was pleasantly decorated. Staff are efficient. There are restaurants in the vicinity and a beach. A short bus ride to the centre of Santander.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crazy expensive, 2 star hotel claiming to be 4 star. Very old fashioned. Parking and breakfast expensive. Can not believe we paid £150. They charged us in pounds not euros and it cost us £12, be careful.

    Great location. Secure under garage parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Ideal for a night before or after the ferry.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    22 Euros to park in the underground car park is far too much compared to other hotels we have stayed in.

    We were upgraded to a suite as we had stayed before. Very nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Generally quite good though would have preferred quieter at night for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks facilities in room, limited electric points, noisy at night with a lot of door banging going on which woke me up a number of times so didn’t sleep well

    Well situated if arriving by ferry, great sea view from our room, genuine double bed, good bathroom, v good breakfast, were able to park securely in the garage for 15 euros, excellent meal at v reasonable price in the evening

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Worth to be there
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were transit passengers and spent one night in the hotel. We have got very good impressions during our staying there. Clean rooms, quick check-in, excellent breakfast etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    I cannot imagine a stay here not being a positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An excellent experience very slightly marred by not having a kettle in the room. Not being able to boil water for tea or coffee was a disappointment for us.

    Absolutely superb value for money. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Food quality in the restaurant was second to none and better than some of the "high class" hotels and retaurants I have visited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Fine hotel, good location for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy outside due to the football earlier in the evening. We had windows open and people were celebrating their win until about 0400.

    The price and location of the hotel is good. It is a bit dated though and the rooms could do with refurbishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay in great location, one point of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable stay in great location, one point of feedback is that staff member at reception did not tell me that I needed to book the bus in advance for San Sebastián when I enquired and we had to get last bus in the evening time then as buses all booked up , I had an expectation that staff member would be prepared with this information and buses aren't every hour as had been told, all worked out in the end

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The parking is very difficult in the area, and the hotel has its own garage with wide spaces. The hotel is lovely. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Our Room overlooked the main street, which is tree lined, and lovely. Some rooms have a sea view. All very clean and comfortable. Well worth the cost, which very reasonable. Our room rate included parking at 70 euros. Some nice bars a short walk away, and a great deli next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Super will stay again and recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very impressive hotel , booked for 1night but stayed for 3 . Lovely rooms with views with great breakfast . Very friendly staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel with a little bit worn rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some things (door, armchair) are worn, a renovation is required. The walls are too thins.

    The breakfast was fantastic, as the dinner, too! 3 course dinner and wine for 23 Eur is super price, and the dishes were extremely tasty. The beds in the room are very-very comfortable. The staff is very frendly and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Really nice room. Very large room and ensuite. Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities and no Iron available. They offer free WiFi in public areas only. The car park will not accommodate a roof box as the roof is very low. So be aware when booing your parking space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information about what is on in the area and transport. Bedrooms adequate and serve the purpose. Never did find the Japanese garden that was advertised in the hotel information.

    Very pleasant and friendly staff. Great breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A classic in Santander
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We managed to park in the street but I can imagine that in high season it would be convenient to reserve a parking slot. The room we were assigned was near the elevators and it could be noisy during rush hour. I would've liked to have a tea kettle in the room.

    The hotel is within 2 minutes walk to the beach. It is a very popular hotel, one of the biggest in Santander. The rooms are exactly as shown in the photos, with a classical design, and very spacious. Staff was very courteous and friendly. There is fresh fruit and water upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle is too small. Difficult to shower without getting the floor wet.

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Nice to have a coffee maker in the room but as a tea drinker I would have preferred a kettle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room, easy access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking room was allocated to me and the staff did not ask whether I wanted non-smoking room. I think she should have noticed through Booking.com's data.

    Spacious room, easy access to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Impressive Hotel, good standards in all important areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only wish that overseas hotels would supply coffee making facilities, but it's not just the Santemar. However they could be different to the norm !

    The Hotel was ideal for my needs. Well appointed, and in a handy location. Did not eat there so cannot comment on food, but it was lovely and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all round. Definite stay again hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel restaurant was 5 star excellent. Better than some michelin starred restaurants I have eaten in. Food was 6 star(?) excellence. Service was top class, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    A big hotel for undemanding people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room wasn't nice - shabby furniture ( armchairs, a table ) and too little light. The bed was very narrow and has two small wheels on the one side what makes sleeping uncomfortable. The cleaning service was some days unacceptable.

    The hotel is very close to the beach but quite far from the city center.The reception desk was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    OK overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a minor issue about room ventilation which hasn't been solved until our checkout.The concierge seemed tired, busy, overall. I wasn' t very impressed.The maintenance was supposed to show up "latter"....that night, just after checkin.Two days latter we checked out,vsame ventilation status....

    Location by the see, a very handy convenience store, carring cold and cooked meals, at a very affordable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    one of the staff helped me out of a very serious ,I left my...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the staff helped me out of a very serious ,I left my docs at last hotel and she got them for me by next morning ,without them I could not get my ferry, customer service of the highest quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good value, comfortable and convenient stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little brusque at check in.

    This hotel is ideal for a good value stopover before or after arriving by ferry in Santander. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms very good. It has dining facilities nearby bars and restaurants and is close to sea and promenade. Free street parking or paid secure parking. We always street park here out of season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    A good place for a short stay, clean area, good walks and surfing if you are so inclined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Santander - most shops are closed on Sunday.

    Location - seaside resort, low season but all restaurants and bars are open. Nice place for walking. Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    This is where we stay in Santander, year after year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible, I repeat, horrible pillows. Rooms are in need of some basic maintenance but not a big issue. Possibly the ugliest building in Santander, offset by the incredible location and value.

    Great location, good cafeteria and restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nicely sized, good views, ample closets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Great place for overnight or a holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access

    The bedroom was very spacious, the bed really comfy, although this was an overnight stop we would have been quite happy staying longer! The staff were very efficient and friendly, and the food was good too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Food in restaurant was excellent value,3courses ,a bottle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find in the dark and rain ,definately need a sat nav!

    Food in restaurant was excellent value,3courses ,a bottle of wine ,coffee and water ,€23 per head and very good. Breakfast was also very enjoyable ,with a hot buffet ,etc.would stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is located near the coast, 10 minutes away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were comfortable but slipped very easily on the wooden floor. When we sat on the bed we could feel it slip.

    The hotel is located near the coast, 10 minutes away from the centre and the Ferry port. The price is very good for a 4 start hotel. The room was quite spacious and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel for able bodied people but no good for disabled users
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking and no porter to help with cases. So a struggle for disabled users. Plus hotelindoor ramps don't all have hand rails so aren't safe for those unsteady on their feet or on sticks

    Room excellent. Staff excellent food very good both dinner and breakfast. Secure parking very expensive but safe off road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms though clean and comfortable were dated and in need of modernisation.

    Hotel was comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Underground garage was spacious and one of best seen in Spain.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    A nice hotel when travelling through Santander.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant not open until 8:30 or 9:00 pm.

    Helpful staff. Secure car parking. Easy access to motorway network. Cafe. Excellent range of menu choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money - search elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very poor experience. The walls are like paper and our room was actually a connecting room. We could hear everything our neighbors said and did, even when they whispered. Our bed was a roll-out camp bed. The receptionist didn’t want to know and told us all the managers were gone home.

    The hotel is situated near the beach with a handful of bars and restaurants to choose from within its proximity.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Safe bet for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel bar and restaurant were very expensive, like most in the area. Ditto parking (try to park on street if you can).

    Imposing, old fashioned hotel in a classic, upmarket beach resort. Large, comfortable room, if somewhat dated and in need of a refurb. Fantastic sea view and plenty of natural light in the room. Very quiet at night, although the bedroom doors slam so expect an early wake-up! Breakfast was good - loads of choice - and all of the staff were polite and friendly. Easy to park for free outside when we visited (end of October), but much trickier in summer I'd imagine. Short drive from the ferry port and only 5 minutes walk to a lovely beach. I doubt we'd spend a whole holiday here, but for a night or two it certainly did the job.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Do not stay here if you want to be able to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at. All of the floors in the rooms were laminate. There were gaps under all of the doors so you could hear every door slam, every person walk past and every other noise going on. The water system could be heard through the walls and the walls were so thin we could hear the rooms both sides !

    Hotel was clean. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A first class hotel, with first class class staff. A real pleasure to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no issues at all. There is nothing I didn't like.

    It is a very accessible hotel. It has a secure garage. The staff are very efficient and yet have time to engage in conversation with you and make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, good value for money. Overall OK for a few days getaway not recommended for long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no kettles or cups in the room. Perhaps they want to force you to purchase their breakfast.

    I liked the location and the friendliness of the staff, especially liked the electric bikes which the hotel allows guests to borrow for either 10 euros for 5 hours or 18 euros for the whole day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Quality hotel with nice staff, good facilities and location ; 10 mins drive from the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial thoughts on the hotel were a bit dubious as it does look like a concrete bunker but once inside this is not a problem. Mini bar was none too cool and some of the electrics were a tad insecure although I'm sure this is through lots of use and these bits will be fixed.

    Location is very good, pretty much right on the front and easily accessible from the main North road (the S1) in Santander ; good parking facilities but be warned, if you have a largish car be prepared for a bit of wriggling out f your door as the parking spaces are a bit tight (we have a Kuga and found it easier to take up a bit of the adjoining space in order to make life a bit more comfy - also, there is no lift to and from the car park so if you have oodles of luggage .....) Good welcome and all of the Reception staff speak good English, easy to get to the room via the lift and large corridors - again, if you have lots of luggage .... (there is a porter service but we didn't use it). The room was excellent - large lounge, huge bedroom (only niggle was that I asked for a double and we got a twin room - not a biggie) very comfy beds and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, both blackout and good quality curtains kept out both light and noise through the night) The bathroom was super - Jacuzzi bath, power shower, two sinks, toilet and a bidet and the toiletries are very good including a pleasant cologne and really refreshing shower gel). Once I had figured out how to use it (ie turn it on with help from the maintenance guy), the Coffee machine was brilliant - proper strong coffee ; very welcome as I was flagging. We only had room service, which was good quality and value but the restaurant looked really good (sadly, we had just driven for 7 hours and couldn't wait for it to open at 8.30pm ... the Spaniards do like to eat late - be warned ) All in all a very good hotel and should we be in Santander in the future, we will be returning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Breathtaking view from my hotel room window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the hotel via vehicle can get complicated due to the parking situation immediately outside of the hotel.

    The location was ideal. Close to the beach and other tourist attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Good budget option for Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel weren’t prepared to allow a late checkout (Genius perk)

    Just a great value hotel in a good location. Yes it’s dated but it’s very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory until we needed some help to contact a garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff when we left after we found we had a puncture. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room, only mini bar.

    Pleasant staff when we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location and comfort of stay but too big and old in terms of quality of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Huge, old (like 70's) hotel with over 300 rooms where You feel like one of hundreds of guests. Personnel quite old, sometimes nice and polite, sometimes not. In rooms lack of at least water on welcome entry to the room. There were only paid minibar and completely nothing more. Breakfast extremely expensive (16 Eur per person) so we decided to go out in the morning to eat. For me it was lack of intimacy in this hotel. So place is rather for business and big groups, not for families.

    Room quite spacious with comfortable beds and fridge, big wardrobe. Bathroom with shower/bath and bidet. Range of free cosmetics and hairdryer. For our stay it was more than enough. Rooms cleaned daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Good place for a stopover or base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to be popular with large groups so breakfast was a bit of a bun fight though imagine this was only temporary. However, breakfast extremely good though. Room very light at night - thin curtains

    Varied breakfast items, comfortable room and bed. Location actually 3 kms from centre according to hotel staff, but cheap (1.30€ each way) and frequent buses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    A perfect overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the Hotel does not do the inside of the Hotel justice. It is a bit dark and looks dated.

    The foyer is marble and very clean. The staff were very efficient on arrival and at breakfast. Our room was quiet and had dark furniture but little colourful flowers on the curtains and bed runner, the bed was very comfortable and we had a good size bathroom. Perfect for our overnight stay. Breakfast was absolutely fine with a hot selection of bacon, eggs, tomato and potatoes etc. variety of bread and rolls a cold selection of cheese, meat, fruit tea and coffee. Various cake, muffins etc. something for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the check in, the lady at the reception replied at our question if the room has a view with "you need pay for the view". This being already an expensive stay. On top of that, we got a room that was adjoining to another one where there was a very loud couple. There is no isolation, it was practically like having them in the room, with us. When we requested at the reception to get a room without a connecting door to another one, they said it wasn't possible. Very uncomfortable and disappointing. Old furniture and bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Room big and comfortable, all very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room big and comfortable, all very clean and tidy. Unfortunately our ferry from UK was very late so only time for quick snack in bar before bed and off down south next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel for a 2 night stay. Great beaches. Food in and around hotel pretty average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle or tea and coffee making facility in room. The food, not only in the hotel but in ALL the neighbouring hotels and restaurants was, we thought, very average. In fact on this leg of our trip, we have struggled to find good breakfasts, adequate fresh fruit and vegetables (a bad coffee with a bread roll is not a satisfying breakfast) and it was nigh on impossible to find a good evening meal. Does everyone eat at home here? oh, and everyone, I mean everyone, smokes. YUK.

    The area is fantastic. Access to multiple superb beaches. The Gym is good the size of the room perfect. Bed a little hard, but overall very comfortable. Old world.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent staff, help and facilities, hotel very 70's and requires updating to warrant its 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated very 70's, a fact confirmed when compared to other ones in the groups brochure in the room.We also thought the hotels 20 euros a night to park, was a little excessive, especially as we were able to park outside on the road for free ! And could see our car from the room

    When we arrived we couldn't open the mini bar(fridge). I rang reception,within 5 minutes two maintenance men had called. They opened the door and discovered it was iced up. One left the room , within 5 minutes he was back with a replacement fridge ! As they left they said someone would be back shortly to clear up some water that had dripped on the floor. Sure enough a couple of minutes later a maid came in and dried up the small pool of water, and also emptied and cleaned the fridge before reloading it and leaving.Fantastic service well done !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location and hotel but the wifi was a little slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow and there was a mix Up with our Booking we asked for a twin but got a Double.

    The cafetería had a great breakfast and the location in SAntander is perfect to enjoy the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice, with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff is rude.

    The gym is excellent, and the breakfast is very good, with traditional and international food. The beach is very close, and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    Location very good. The rooms really clean and comfortable. Breakfast cafe bar had lovely coffee and nice things for breakfast. Reception staff very helpful. I needed to get a doctor for my grandson and reception had someone there within half an hour. Very impressed! Have used this hotel for many years and just get better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors close loudly.

    Location is great, 3 min walk to the beach el Sardinero. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean! Very kind staff at reception and breakfast!! Breakfast itself is lovely!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel but unfortunately Summer holidays don't start until 1st July in Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The restaurant food especially the menu del dia @23 Euros was not the best. I use a mobility scooter and I informed them before I went, but it was a really tight squeeze getting through the doorway in and out of our room and no provision for me to take a shower as I had to climb into the bath when I told them at reception I was told that there are only 3 walk in showers in the hotel and they were in use. There is no outside sitting area to relax with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine except 2 high tables with high rock hard stools which I couldn't even get on.

    The cafeteria bar was good, nice coffee and good snack menu, friendly staff everywhere. Public areas, reception etc clean and bright. Nothing was too much trouble if there was anything that you needed was always put right really quickly, apart from my walk in shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Previous occasions we have had a walk in shower (disabled facilities booked) very difficult getting into the bath for a shower

    Restaurant very good, as were the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Amazing Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned, could do with a makeover. No tea or coffee in room. Key cards were troublesome.

    The breakfast was amazing especially large variety of fresh fruit. Having cafe on site was handy as no tea or coffee in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Noisy but in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Supernoisy rooms, you can hear absolutely everything that happens in the hallways and even in other rooms.

    Very convenient location for the beach, nearby bars.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Good ferry stay over at better value than Bahia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usual extra expense to park. Restaurant food adequate after long journey, there are local restaurants near by which in hindsight we should have gone. However hotel far better than the Bahia which we previously used. Will return😎

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    great location, staff, cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as good as it gets....what a great experience and I will be back.

    great location, staff, cleanliness.....a bit too hot in the hallways but the room AC was full blast. Easy to find parking outside right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable. Good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee is very bitter.

    It is a very large "classic" hotel with that huge entry hall and huge breakfast hall, but despite of looking quite ugly from outside, inside it has cozy rooms with all comfort you might desire. Comfortable bed, nice chairs, nice table, good bathroom. All very clean. Variety on breakfast buffet is outstanding. I was lucky to find a free parking right in front of the hotel door. So before reserving the hotels comfortable but expensive private parking, give it a try :-) The walk along the coast to the center of the city is worthwhile. It is very beautiful. There is a bus station right at the corner, and a taxi to the city is about 5€. The disco is for elderly people (60+). (My price/value consideration refers to the price I payd ~€ 150 for two nights including breakfast, and that was it really worth)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    VERY COMFORTABLE AND GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY>
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking outside the hotel is difficult if not impossible at times,but it is usually possible to get somewhere near late at night.

    The property is very convenient for the sea front at Sardinero and its many cafes and restaurants. The breakfast is excellent and good value for money The air conditioning was excellent and the double bed huge (perfect conditions for love making)last time we stayed our aircon was not working and the room roasting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    breakfast is gorgeous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in the room was really poor. I needed to work, and it was not possible. In the hall it worked much better

    breakfast is gorgeous. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, local products savoury and sweet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel to spend some lazy days this time of the year (late spring)
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That's a very big hotel, therefore checking -in and -out may become a 'hard task'

    very good situation, near the coast and good surroundings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Good for a beach holiday yet close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The machine coffee is, as always in my view not great. Ferraris and Maseratis on show for some reason...Yawn!

    Breakfast buffet was offered for 10 euros on my stay which was good value. I know the location well and, as buses stop running before 2300 hrs, the taxis from town are cheap. Lovely traditional beach setting and some sunny weather makes the stay a pleasure. Very good catering staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived and found we had an interconnecting room which smelled of smoke although in fairness we did indicate no preference. Went straight back down to the reception and they happy to change the room on the lower floor without a connecting room. Hotel is quite dated, the fridge in the room didn't work. The room was clean but overall it was a good value stay, would stay there again.

    The location of the property was ideal. 2 min walk to the superb beach, local bus's and taxis which took you into the city center in the evening. Friendly staff !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    One of, if not the,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was truthfully nothing "not to like" of my stay in this well attended and managed Hotel Santemar, nor about Santander as a whole. I must repeat: "Thank you one and all!" Kindest regards, Alison.

    The breakfast buffet was magnificent: mouthwatering cornucopia of fresh fruits; plentiful juices, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, milk and yogurts; delicious pastries, donuts, cakes, breads and cereals with gluten-free alternatives; even an unbelievably generous assortment of hot and cold savouries. All this bountious provision kept well stocked, tidy and appetising by pleasant and attentive people servicing the breakfast room between 7:30am to 11:00am. I could think of nothing wanting in the relaxing start to my days filled with wonder and delight at the Hotel Santemar in Santander, Spain. Many thanks to all of you! From Alison 👏💞👌

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location beside beaches and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Japanese Gardens attached to hotel were not open

    The buffet breakfast was excellent -choice of fresh fruits included strawberries and kiwi Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    Competetive price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of noise isolation between rooms. Wake up call to your neighbour wake up all rooms around. Free wi fi very slow. I had one breckfast - wented charge me for three. Finnaly I wanted pay cash but staff charged my CC - even they told me they won't.

    Competetive price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Very clean and big rooms.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so we heard everything that happened in the rooms beside us and in the corridor. 30min walk untill the city center

    Very clean and big rooms. Good bed. Perfect location if you wqnt to go to the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    luxury at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra bed a little uncomfortable. getting a parking space is mostly a matter of luck. if you get one, don't move the car!

    fantastic hotel. the breakfast was a full buffet at a reasonable price. good gym. close to the beach, you can hear the ocean at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only bad thing was, that we asked to check out a bit later, as there were plenty of free rooms in the hotel at that time, but we wasn't allowed to .

    The location is very good - very close to the beach, the bus stop and some restaurants. There is very comfortable bed, one of the best I have ever slept in! And the view is also pretty good (we were on 7th floor and had the view for the ocean). Breakfast was ok. The room was clean and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Love Santander and love the Santemar my 2nd stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes you can hear people in other rooms but we found that Common in the places we stayed at in Spain.

    I was a senior citizen traveling with 18 yr old granddaughter and neither of us speak Spanish. We felt safe and secure at our stay and was helped by staff to ease our travel plans.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Great value hotel, indifferent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    More generous portions of better quality shower gels could improve the experience - they were pretty bad. The staff were very indifferent and blunt. It's nice to be thanked for your custom.

    Very good value, dated rooms but very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Lovely Hotel & Location, Shame About The Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the staff were quite dismissive and rude, it seemed as though they wanted rid of customers who weren't exactly high priority- i.e a young couple such as my girlfriend and myself. They held quite a snobbish attitude and were very cold towards us. Another small negative was the lack of entertainment in the region- while there are some quiet bars and restaurants nearby, you would need to go into the center, which is a tough uphill walk, for music and night time entertainment.

    The king sized beds were extremely comfy and the location of the hotel is excellent, right inside one of the coastal districts with beaches and the palace park nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Santemar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: