Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santiago León 4 stars

Carretera de Asturias KM 1.6, 24008 León, Spain

#31 of 31 hotels in León

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 992 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious room, helpful people at the desk. As the hotel is distant from the centre of Léon, we only asked for breakfast when we checked in, which was no problem. There was plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's definitely not a 4* hotel. An average 3* would be a better description. No food on Sundays, No room service. Staff though helpful were too few. Restaurant was basic. The food was edible but very plain. The pool was closed. The rating it gets on booking.com is honest. Only stayed as there were no other options as Leon was very full and it is plain to see why it was one f the last hotels left with beds.

    The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel was quiet with nice views over the city and sunset was spectacular. It is out of town but there is a bus service once per hour which finished around 9pm. Taxi about 10 euro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once l was in a taxi it was quick and easy to get there and then get back into town the next morning. Staff were helpful and showed me everything l needed. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I stayed in Leon again I would choose another hotel as it was a bit too far out. The pool area was a bit tatty with some broken umbrellas, other than that the pool was fine.

    The hotel was outside of Leon and we chose it as it had a swimming pool. The pool was nice but the umbrellas and sunbeds were a bit tatty. Breakfast was good and the staff were great. Room was comfortable and parking was easy. We ate lunch at a local restaurant recommened by staff and that was good. There was a bus to Leon but it was only once an hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like this hotel. Staff was barely attentive. The luggage cart was a dolly. Beds were hard. Lights were off in halls motion sensor controlled creepy experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a Sunday on motor bikes, No restaurant open at all, No Bar open at all, would not have booked it did not had to get a taxi into town to eat. Monday after breakfast you can not get a drink until 16:00hrs Swimming pool does not open until end of June Very pore communication on Booking.com

    The Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff with excellent dinner suggestions. Picked for it's ease of getting to and from in transit but miles from centre of town. Don't book it if you are not mobile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond. We found this hotel by chance as we were in Leon over November 1 holiday weekend and everything close to the city center was booked. Although this hotel is on the edge of town (not within walking distance) we found it easy to drive in and out. The first day we took a taxi in as we were tired and didn't want to deal with parking the car. There is plenty of parking on site. The breakfast at 5 euro was a bargain. The hotel is quiet and the rooms have large windows which overlook a very nice neighborhood and mountains. I feel if I visited Leon again I would consider staying here again. We visited Astorga one day from here and it was easy access to the highway. Some may find it a little dated but it was spotless clean and I felt it was a nice hotel for the money. Would recommend if you have a car for driving into Leon. One more thing..my husband was sick one day and stayed behind in the room and found it to be quiet during the day and the desk person Carolina to be very helpful in recommending pharmacies. All in all a good stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our recent stay @ HSL we were greeted at check-in by ISABEL At first point of contact we experienced and enjoyed a HIGH level of service relating to our stay in the hotel and Leon in general. We remarked that this level of service was the best experienced during our 2 weeks spent in Spain. Over the next two days ISABEL continued to impress by taking a personal interest in our comfort and enjoyment of the hotel's facilities and your beautiful city, recommending important highlights ensuring we visited the best value eating establishments as well as helping manage our transport needs. This maximised the enjoyment of our short visit. We welcomed this unexpectedly VERY HIGH level of service from ISABEL. During our stay our travel plans had to change dramatically with one of our party needing to leave El Camino whilst the others continued. This required us making a completely new itinery for bus, airline and hotel bookings across three countries / languages & currencies!. We had some IT issues and had it not been for ISABEL'S initiative and commitment to our experience we would have missed important connections. She managed to coordinate our efforts during checkout whilst still attending to her other guests and duties! This EXTREMELY HIGH level of service will be remembered and passed on to our friends world wide. Please convey our appreciation to ISABEL and those in your management team who recruited and trained her. Thankyou Rick Cazaly Cazaly-Pilkington family

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a pilgrim it was entirely too far for me too access the city without paying for a taxi.

    I appreciated the staffs assistance with translating to English. The cafe staff was nice too. They all assisted me with travel needs as a Camino pilgrim.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved upon. Limited choices.

    Situation is great if you have car. Easy to park and just a short drive into the centre of Leon. Carolina at the front desk was amazing. Her bubbly effervescent personality was infectious. She assisted us with local knowledge beyond the call of duty. She was a saint!The pool was a great bonus.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little further from town than we expected.

    Large rooms with air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Value for money and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almohadas

    Amplitud de habitaci9n

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough heating during the night and no mini bar working properly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful Catherine was especially helpful at check in and during my stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room and great swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a routine hotel on the outskirts of the city.

    Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from city centre, but there is bus stop near by.

    Big rooms. Clean and tidy. Good food. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not clean. The breakfast was rubbish.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool wasn't available. Gardens were not welcoming. Restaurant was never 'four star'.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent hotel which met all our needs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant poor.

    Overall an average hotel but met our requirements for 1 night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of town - € 13 each way in a taxi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    rooms were very big, very nice staff, great swimmingpool outside!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location - beside abandoned hotel, rooms in need of a refresh - scuffed walls etc, towels dirty, dining room for breakfast is a temporary structure accessed by crossing a conference room, etc.....

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of cigarette smell in room. At times we could smell cigarette smoke coming into the room. A bit dated.

    Although this hotel is away from the old town it is easy to get into town and the train station on the no 10 bus which runs on time hourly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Couple

    The distance from Leon's center. The lady from the office of turismo was not even mentioning the distance, or recommended to take a cab, or even a bus.As a pilgrim, it was challenging to walk all the way...because no sidewalks!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was definitely not cleaned. There was still a dirty diaper in the bathroom bin. The breakfast was very poor, we got the feeling we were in a high school cafeteria. Not something you would expect from a 4star hotel.

    The price

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facilities at the hotel are limited, and it's outside the centre. This was good during Semana Santa so we avoided all the closed roads, but means a taxi ride into town. Not much character

    Comfortable and clean room. Easy to find and park. The staff are friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is far away from downtown Leon.

    The woman at the front desk was very helpful.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Santiago León traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: