Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santillana This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Santo Domingo, 1, 39360 Santillana del Mar, Spain

#19 of 22 hotels in Santillana del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    4.6
    Bad service from the waiter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the street site and it was very loud outside. The room has no air conditioning so it was really needed to open the window. The mattress was too weak. The second day was the service on the terrace horrible. The waiter didn't come outside to take the order and didn't provide any tapas. When I made a remark to the waiter he was very unfriendly. Later we made a remark to the very friendly reception but she lied to us and said that in whole northern Spain they never provide tapas.

    The location was perfect. Just in front of the old city. We could even park there for free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Great location and surprisingly affordable - nice surprise and right on beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast dining room too hot in the morning - no air con and once it got busy it got uncomfortably hot. Noise from the street if windows open but to be expected as right on the road. Otherwise all good!

    We wanted something close to beach - this was directly over the road! Restaurant on site was lovely - raised and cool in the evening (note dinner doesn't start until 9pm!). Parking really handy and 10euro per day just up road/driveway. Receptionists just lovely. Paid 10 extra for seaview room - 316? - Great promenade for walking. Big cupboards with shelves for storing stuff easily. 12 o'clock check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved it here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We absolutely loved it here. A historic building with fascinating architecture. The staff were incredibly helpful and our room was huge! Spectacular scenery from our terrace. Definitely a destination hotel! We’ll come again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent -easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked DBB - having the menu of the day for dinner the wine was extra although included if not booked in advance.

    The day trippers leaving. Parking was easy right outside the Hotel - not suitable for longer vehicles though. Fabulous -like a mini - Parador with a great collection of clocks and furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    Santillana del Mar is an authentic and friendly rural gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying only one night.

    Breakfast in the associated hotel cafe was good. Adjacent parking is convenient. Santillana del Mar is not actually on the coast but is a historical treasure trove of protected buildings and traffic free squares in a rural setting. Tiny coastal villages and isolated coves are nearby as well as pre-historic archeological sites. Santillana del Mar has several traditional restaurants, artesenal craft studios and local produced cheeses, chocolates and wines. Pizza Betina produces great pizzas if you want a break from tapas and petiscos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    The property is decorated in a comfortable and elegant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is decorated in a comfortable and elegant manner. It has a dining room as well as a bar & cafeteria. Good value for pricey Santillana del Mar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.3
    perfect place to stay at Santilliana del mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was clean but pretty old, however volue for money is very good.

    it was easy to reach the hotel by car ( not so common in Santiliana), property lockated just on the entrance to the ald city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    8.8
    It was a pleasant enough stay. The accommodation was very clean and the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were in a twin bed room. The bed was a large single bed which dipped in the middle. This made it very difficult for a 70 years old with an arthritic hip, like me, to get out of bed in the morning. The plumbing was very noisy. You could hear when other guests had flushed the toilet as if it was in your bedroom.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The 19th century ambience of the hotel was very nice. Tge restaurant had two choices of set menu of three courses. The cheaper one rivalled any other of the restaurants in town in cost and the food and service were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    The character of the hotel was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from bedroom window was over a large flat roof. Not very picturesque but what concerned me more was the ease of access to your bedroom by thieves

    The character of the hotel was fabulous. Beautiful building perfectly located to reach old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.1
    Ok hotel. Maybe will stay somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a very small room with a very small window. There's no AC therefore it was very hot in this room. We could hear everything in the next door room. The pillows offered are terrible. After complaining, the second night they changed us to a bigger room and it was better. Avoid room 211

    We spent two nights at this hotel. it is well located and even though parking at the hotel is difficul, there's a large parking lot very close. The personnel was amicable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    4.2
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be fair, this isn't the type of hotel I would normally choose - I prefer modern to antique - but our friends were staying here so it was convenient. I found the whole place to be grubby with a musty smell, especially in the bedroom. Climbing the stairs to our room was awkward with luggage and no help was offered. Our twin beds creaked and squeaked every time we rolled over. There is nowhere to park and, more importantly, nowhere to stop and unload luggage so we had to struggle up a cobbled street from the car park in the village centre with all of our luggage.

    Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed the experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the Hotel, whilst is is central for all the sights, it is situated on a very busy corner with traffic coming from all directions. Was not idea as there are no real pavements to pass on.

    The Hotel was beautiful both inside and out and the decor and furniture was very authentic and tastfully designed in a tradtional Spanish way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    5.4
    Cannot recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was hard and had a metal bat a few inches in from the botttom of the headboard which we bumped our heads on in the night. Food was very poor and staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Have stayed at 5 other properties on this trip which were all delightful. Santollana is well worth visiting, but find another hotel.

    Location was perfect. Right opposite the entrance to the wonderful old villag

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    5.4
    Hot and bothered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at 2pm, the rather unhelpful girl on reception just gestured at 3pm and left us standing in reception ! We were traveling on motorcycles and were a little hot and weary, we ended up just leaving our luggage and going into the adjoining cafe for refreshments. Finally getting to our room we found it very stuffy and hot, obviously no air conditioning. The very tiny porthole windows had to be opened up to get some air in, low and behold our room was right next to a very busy road junction and the traffic was ridiculous ! So be kept awake all night by cars revving up at the junction or melt with the heat with the windows closed ?! The choice is yours !

    Close to the centre of the village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Traditional Furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room rate was considerably higher than 2 months ago.

    The breakfast selection had improved since our last stay in June .Also we were impressed that the hotel cafe was dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    Traditional, good value hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms and bathrooms a little tired. Overall a little dusty, set of sons asthma

    Historical ambiance in public areas. Location excellent for walking into old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    7.9
    Shame it was too hot too sleep..................
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no a/c and our room was very hot even with the windows open, it was too hot. Our room smelt a bit damp as well. It was noisy as it was on the road but we needed the windows open to let some air in. There wasn't sufficient parking so we had to park in the public car park about 5 mins walk for 4 euros.

    Location was good and the bar offered a good lunch. The rooms were clean and bathroom was decent. Staff were helpful and friendly. Building is lovely and if it hadn't been so hot we might have had a different stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    4.6
    Adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is situated on the corner of the main crossroad in the town centre. There is nowhere to park or even to unload outside the hotel. We had to park in a public car park 100 metres down the road. The hotel wasn't to my taste. The furnishings were very old and there was a musty smell especially in the bedroom. The beds were very creaky. We had a twin and my partner woke me up every time he rolled over as the bed frame made such a noise. There is, of course, no lift.

    This was the hotel our friends were staying in which is why we booked. I probably wouldn't have chosen it if we were travelling alone. The hotel was convenient for visiting the old town. The bathroom was clean and modern with shower over the bath. The breakfast was fine for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    5.4
    Felt mean and dispiriting. Fortunately only one night. Lives on its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A smile when we arrived would have been really nice. Being refused breakfast at 10 to 10 when it closed at 10. After insisting we did get breakfast in the bar. No air conditioning in room. Doors flimsy. Security lock on bedroom door was a cheap, small bolt and poorly fitted.

    Was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Run down holes in carpet. Very loud! Guests talking all hours on halls , doors closing, no elevator access and wish we had known to ring different bags in.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.2
    Ideal stop over on our way to Portugal.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was disappointing. Very little choice particularly fresh fruit and fruit juice which should be plentiful in Spain. The restaurant was not open but we had a delicious meal nearby.

    Excellent location not far from ferry. Also pet friendly which was essential for us as we were travelling with our small dog

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable. It's a small hotel with a pleasant feel. I arrived very late (past midnight), so appreciated the late check out time. Parking is on the street next to the hotel, and I had no issue finding a space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    6.3
    Overnight on route to ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking on property. Tgey have an underground car park which was closed. About 7 spaces in front of hotel.Paid to park down the street.

    We requested a double bed booked 2months before. Added a friend on 2weeks b4 and requested a double room also. Friend got one. We did not. Complained and was moved to a quadruple. Very helpful receptionist. Bed tho very uncomfy. Food good. Bar nice but u cannot take your dog in. Booked because pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    10
    Stay in a Country house at a budget price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather! It poured with rain all night - hardly the fault of the hotel though!!! Everything else was fine.

    This hotel gives one the impression that you have been invited to someone's country house. The place is stuffed with antiques and is very comfortable. The coffee shop is bright and being Spain had some good tapas. The evening meal in the restaurant was very pleasant and reasonably priced and it included wine. Breakfast was excellent. The room and bed were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    10
    Excellent value for a stay in Santillana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better.

    Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and the place was central to where we wanted to stay. Also easy to find! Great value for our money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2016

    8.3
    Great spot in a great place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was a let down as was the service at dinner and breakfast. I will be back but will perhaps choose to eat at one of the many other local restaurants.

    A really fantastic and helpful member of staff greeted us on arrival. Having spent some time working in the UK they spoke very good English and were really helpful. The hotel has fabulous and quirky corners for private moments - it's full of furniture, pictures, mirrors and curio's that somehow only add to the fun of staying there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money! Hotel is a true museum with lots of antique decor. Location is great as well - just next to the main street of the village. Nice buffet breakfast only for 5 euros.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful country hotel close to Altamira cave museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think they gave air conditioning- but the room was quite comfortable when I stayed.

    The hotel is like a museum- antiques everywhere- The bed comfortable- I actually liked the sound of the cows next door in the evening (and they go to bed early!) The walls are a bit thin, but the next room also went to bed early! The night was silent for a good rest.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    6.3
    not so great for romantic stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We requested a double bed (because this was a romantic get away for two partners living in different countries) and when we arrived there, we got a room with two singles. The receptionist was not very polite or apologetic about it, barely even looking up when we asked if there was another room. In the end we stayed in a single together! There was no parking available and so we had to park up the road (it only cost two euros for the night but it was a walk with bags). The breakfast was OK (very nice tortilla) but compared to the other places we stayed in in Northern Spain (which had fantastic breakfasts) , it was just so so given the price of the hotel. The location is very central but it opens onto a busy road and feels slightly cut off from the old town on the other side of the road. As the town is so small and walkable it might make sense for tourists to stay further out and get better value for money.

    The location was pretty central and some of the staff were friendly. The town itself was very picturesque and there was a nice concert in a nearby arts centre the night we stayed. The room had nice decorations and a bath.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    5.4
    Only if there's no space anywhere else!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sullen, unfriendly, unhelpful staff, not one smile from the moment we arrived until we left. Approx 12 parking spaces for 2 hotels, lots of cars driving around in circles looking for parking. Car park nearby at 2€ an hour.

    Comfortable room and good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is very comfortable, has many lovely sitting areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi was poor, didn´t reach room shower was broken and not repaired when advised. On site parking is limited ,although there is public parking near. Breakfast was fine but have had better

    The hotel is very comfortable, has many lovely sitting areas, the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    7.9
    Good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit hard and like most of the reviews, what is with the squeaky plastic matress protectors?

    A good location to a delightful old village with plenty of restaurants. Good for an overnight stay. We were in a room on the opposite side to the road and that was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    9.2
    Great location and very friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were late booking this hotel and had a small room at the front which was hot - no air con - and noisy with the window open for ventilation. That said, it didn't detract from a great visit.

    Great location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful old place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was nice, but not very welcoming. Antique beds....could use an update.

    Beautiful old place! Amazing antiques! Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    It was a very quaint hotel with beautifully restored...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike

    It was a very quaint hotel with beautifully restored architecture

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The road beside the hotel is difficult to cross because of crazy traffic

    NIce rooms, great shower, friendly staff, nice decorations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfectly clean and neat;interesting decor; very cosy. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    A charming lucky find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn’t stay longer!

    A delightful, interesting and well located hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast .... very basic

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Great location ab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee pot in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult internet connection

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    5.8
    Ok for a over night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot of choice, minimalistic offering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.5
    Friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit hot

    Friendly welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and near bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and near bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    8.3
    This is a good place to spend a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little dark and claustrophobic.

    We enjoyed the location close to the old town. It was also convenient for the Altamira museum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff, amazing building
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful staff, amazing building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very well restored

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.5
    Gammal genuint hotell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Air condition. Not so warm so no big problem for us but good to know.

    Gammal genuint hotell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    6.3
    Thin walls could hear people talking in the adjacent room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls could hear people talking in the adjacent room. Squeaky bed, every little move I made in bed could be heard. Small room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.8
    Atmospheric, very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really unusual, characterful hotel. In a beautiful little town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    2.5
    Ugly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Ugly hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel, near to the shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lady in the bar is a little unhappy and it shows.

    Lovely reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    8.3
    Conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, no assistant with luggage, the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    9.2
    A Beautiful old fashioned Spanish hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have been able to take our pet in the bar area

    Breakfast had a varied selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    9.2
    Good value, character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea or coffee making in room.

    Friendly helpful staff. Lovely traditional character hotel . Comfortable lounge area. Very reasonable Menu of the Day

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    7.1
    Old house feel and have had better night's sleeps
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable beds

    A good location for the town and the caves. Great restaurants in town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant stay at Hotel Santillana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a few minutes away from the town centre. Had one of the menus which was very filling with 4 courses. Great value for money,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traffic noise

    Locality was good but very noisy with traffic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    9.2
    Well situated in the centre of Santillana.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well situated in the centre of Santillana. Lots of character. No problem with the dog.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    10
    Good location right next to the Old Town, and even has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location right next to the Old Town, and even has a parking spot for guests. Clean and with lots of character.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking can be tricky at busy times as this is a popular tourist place

    Good value for money. Ideal stopover before ferry.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    10
    Great hotel, charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, excellent location, only just a little hot in the summer. Maybe some fans for hot summer days would be a great plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    10
    We had a month in Torrevieja and to stay in the Santalana was the perfect end to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing we did,nt like we would certainly stay again

    Bed perfect and breakfast just to our liking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    9.0
    Convenient location.
    • Couple

    Convenient location. Comfortable room. Nicely decorated corridors and other common areas. Breakfast served from 7.30 am, which is a positive exception comparing to other similar places on our Camino del Norte.

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2016

    8.8
    Good location & convenient parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor and limited. Bread not fresh, no eggs, poor fruit, poor pastries. Dinner menu limited and food not warm

    Good location & convenient parking. Attractive interior.

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2015

    8.8
    One staff (who spoke very good English) was very helpful ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One staff (who spoke very good English) was very helpful , friendly and helped us figure out the best bus schedule and route to next destination. Also the bar attached to the hotel restaurant was some of the best food we had in Santillana

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2015

    7.9
    The quality of the furnishings in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel on the junction of a main road. Our bedroom was literally on the first floor overlooking the junction. However traffic noise at night was not a problem so long as the outer wooden shutters were closed making the room stuffy. We booked this hotel according to what b.com were offering which included half board . On arrival we were told that we could not eat in the restaurant (despite the booking basis!) as they had fully booked in a private function! We were offered a smart but noisy bar-cafeteria with playing TVs. Eventually after gracious negotiations we were served in the restaurant as long as we got through quickly before the group arrived which we did. I do not think half board should be offered without the hotel being told to make a guaranteed table reservation. The food offered was acceptable but very basic. This situation should not have occurred and I would detect that the reception staff were embarrased themselves.

    The quality of the furnishings in the hotel. Helpful staff not used to having English staying there per the waitresses.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    7.9
    Good value hotel close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value hotel close to the old town. Some rooms are noisy from road traffic. Bus tours use the hotel and can make it crowded. Santillana feels like a theme park town - Disneyland of the old world.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a feeling of history and character in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar area was so out of kilter with the warmth of the rest of the building . Lacked atmosphere unfortunately

    Lovely hotel with a feeling of history and character in the reception rooms and bedrooms . Wonderful furniture and artefacts add to tge olde worlde ambiance. When we arrived we were met by an exceptionally friendly receptionist.

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is at the entrance to this beautiful mediaeval...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is at the entrance to this beautiful mediaeval town. It is filled with antiques and paintings and has a luxurious historical atmosphere. The breakfast is included and very generous.

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    10
    Central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central position. Free parking.very accommodating friendly staff- we arrived at 2am because of change of flight and we're received with a smile !the hotel had lots of character and was in easy walking of the old town.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    7.9
    Clean hotel and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Half board was cheap so dinner wasn't great: fair enough. Restaurant service was lacking any finesse. Reflection of bad management in this area.

    Clean hotel and lovely room. Helpful staff at reception. Good location. Great value overall. Lots of antique furniture and curios.

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2015

    9.6
    Great location, lots to visit in the town and surrounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lots to visit in the town and surrounding area. Excellent restaurants. Not far from Los Picos de Europa , well worth visiting spectacular scenery. Excellent staff and really a lovely welcoming Spanish hotel exactly what we were looking for on our trip !

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    8.3
    The hotel resides in very good location and car parking is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no air conditioner and no freezer in the room.

    The hotel resides in very good location and car parking is just nearby. WiFi is excellent, it provides speed up to 1 mbps. The bathroom has bath tube and bidet. Breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    8.8
    Near the beautiful village of Santillana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast room is a little gloomy. We preferred the lively bar.

    Near the beautiful village of Santillana. Antique furniture. Espasa-Calpe encyclopedia on display

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: