Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santo Domingo 4 stars

Plaza de Santo Domingo, 13, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#277 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5768 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location but not the best room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a room for 3 adults and got pull down bunk bed style beds as the 3rd bed. No natural light in the room and it looked out to the back of a building. No mirrors either only one on the back of the bathroom door. There were marks and burn marks on the carpet, and big marks on the ceiling, I would say there are better rooms as you can see them on the website. The sun beds by the pool were all broke too...they need to invest in stronger ones. On the whole I would stay again but for €740 for 4 nights ...I would request a better room.

    Good location, pool, comfy beds, room cleaning available all day, safe, small fridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed staff did not recognise my Birthday even though I had emailed them to advise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same people hogged the seats by pool and many instances where 2 people took up 6 chairs to lay across 😡Didn’t get to sit by pool for my Birthday

    Pool and roof terrace Room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed the hotel but there is room for improvments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not very friendly. I have my t-shirt stolen while at the parade and got an angry receptionist shouting at me because I was not wearing a top. Did not even care to ask what happen. I felt intimidated after a already traumatic experience. No mirrors in the room. Only in the Bathroom and that was a dark bathroom.

    Love the pool, location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nab it if you see a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls seem to be thin, could hear neighbors despite them being on the other side of my bathroom. Also there is a weird configuration because the hotel is in two separate buildings. Staff was a bit hesitant to help out when asked.

    Beautiful rooms, large bath, great location. Everything is well appointed from the lobbies to the bedrooms. Bonus of a small balcony with nice views off of the bedroom. Easy to get to on the metro, steps away from the Gran Via.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location with amazing staff. Definately recommend a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was nice but a little squishy. Great mojitos up there though.

    The staff were so lovely and helpful booking shows and transfers for us and suggesting restaurants and things to see. Good sized rooms and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay at Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great

    We had an amazing stay at the hotel, highlight is for sure roof pool with the bar. Pablo and Sergio at the pool (don't have the name of other 2 bartenders that were great as well) made perfect hosts, everything was great in the hotel (I do understand people complaining about the small rooms but you only sleep and shower there, it's not apartment). Location is amazing, everything is in the walking distance, puerta del sol, plaza major, shopping centers, bars, coffee shops... Definitely coming again when in Madrid, we are not even searching for another hotel...it also looks like the breakfast is quite expensive in every hotel in Madrid so just around the corner you have plenty to chose from for breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some scratches on the shower floor and wallpaper. Even though soap was replaced daily, toilet paper roll was not replaced before completely empty.

    Very good location. Helpful staff. Airconditioned room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is great, easy walk to anywhere in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest, darkest room I’ve ever stayed in. Overlooked a tunnel between another building so get little daylight. Our view consisted of dirt cigarette butts. Our air conditioning also worked only intermittently . Not good value at all on this basis. The rooftop pool also only opens at 11am and the bar up there not until 2pm which I found strange?

    Location is great, easy walk to anywhere in Madrid. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Pool and terrace are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and terrace wasn’t available for most of the day on Saturday. No advanced warning before booking, arriving or at check in.

    Pool and terrace are great. With very hot temperatures it’s a nice way to cool down and get away from the city heat. Good location which made the price justifiable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like 2 things: 1 - They tried to give us an acceptable room but when I decided to change hotels, they gave me a very nice room. 2 - Different rate for each day. I know in USA there is a week-end rate and week days rate but not every day. The 1st nite (Sunday) was Euro 126, then (Mon) 152 then (Tuesday) Euro 228. The hotel or you should let me know an advance. I understood that rate is euro 126 for each nite.

    The room was nice and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and lovely roof-top pool and bar. Disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast. The choice and condition of fruit was very poor and some of it was tinned fruit which I found astonishing. A lot of the cooked food looked like it had been there for a long time. The breakfast area was under-staffed and although friendly, the staff just couldn't cope with the number of people.

    The location was perfect, very central and lots of nice restaurants and bars within walking distance. The bed was comfortable. The roof-top pool and bar were lovely but very crowded and more sunbeds and umbrellas were needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    €4 for a small bottle of water, nowhere to sit in the sun before 11am. Room is small. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a standard room as we initially booked economy, standard room was very small and dark with twin beds, not what we wanted. Got moved to another room which was very dark and the window would not open at all. The economy room looked bigger from the pictures than the economy room which we upgraded to. €4 for a small bottle of water in the terrace bar. Nowhere in the hotel to go and sit in the sun before 11am as the rooftop terrace does not open til then.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Booked a triple room, when arrived to room it was just a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a triple room, when arrived to room it was just a fold up bed crammed into the corner of the room. So beds where basically touching, room suitable for two people only, when they do have triple rooms available as I have stayed in one before. Have stayed at hotel around 6 times now will not be using again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing rooftop pool and views with a bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting to pay in euros but some of the payment was taken before travel in GBP.

    Amazing rooftop pool and views with a bar. Modern and clean rooms. Central location right next to an underground station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    The staff, restaurant, and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old, floor was cracked up, walls were nasty and needed repainting, the couch in the room looked like it belonged to an old roach motel. There was also nats in my room flying around.

    The staff, restaurant, and location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Midweek city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop pool, pleasant staff, central location, air-conditioning was fab as 30' plus every day. Reception staff very helpful as was the porter🙌👏👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Rooftop swim pool, Very relaxing after city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop swim pool, Very relaxing after city trip. The concierge if I'm not wrong his name was Daniel, he was Very friendly and helpful with our luggage and taxsi to the airport, unlike the two guys working in the swimpool, They were always looking busy with their cellphone, Difficult to get their attention to get the pool towel ect. Great location one minute walk to the metro santo Domingo, Next to supermaket. 5mnts walk to the opera.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Bar and rooftop area very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked multiple rooms and had trouble paying for them directly with hotel. Rooms were a little tired and on the small side.

    Bar and rooftop area very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location, but won't be coming back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. There was hardly any room for the luggage. They were also so dark, I missed the sunlight!! The walls were so thin we could hear every conversation the next door couple was having. Terrible!!

    Good location, right in front of the underground station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but won’t come back.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room with one window in a corner, mostly covered by curtains. Not possible to open. Furniture quite old, 2 bulbs not functioning. Minibar sits under the place where a suitcase is placed, which will thus be heated.

    Bed was ok, lots of possibilities for breakfast in the area, metro just in front. Quiet room, no street noise, but just above a meeting room where parties were held.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    AVERAGE for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection was poor, brunch was way overprized, terrible service in the breakast area. for a brunch at 28 EUR no drinks available at the buffet, just tap water. I do not recommend having breakfast in this hotel, plenty of places around where to have one. Pool area/rooftop terrace and bar were EMPTY, yet we were not allowed to bring one guest, not to use the pool but to have a drink at the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that for the price my room was very small. The walls were very thin and We could clearly hear guests in the their rooms either side of us. We had loud snoring coming from one side and the headboard banging the wall from the other side. Also on the Saturday night of our stay there was a wedding and guests were very noisy til after 3am. Sadly I didn't sleep well at the santo domingo.

    The staff were excellent very helpful. Loved the roof top bar/ pool. Also loved the location of the hotel. This location is perfect for getting around Madrid. Great transport links.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a good city centre location, and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that there was no toaster in the breakfast room. Not a big deal, but would have been nice.

    Comfortable city centre hotel right beside Santo Domingo metro. Very good breakfast and a nice bar. My room was quirkily decorated, and was quiet with everything I needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drive overpriced 5 euros for a bottle of water is outrageous Pool was a bit cold We had to ask 4 times for iron in one day Cleaners walked into our room without knocking frequently

    Hotel location Hotel bathroom Close to metro Clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect hotel, centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad first night due to a wedding party on the floor above - didn't stop until very late/early morning! Hotel staff were very good the next day, good customer management.

    Excellent location, good for walking or metro a few steps away if feeling lazy! Very good breakfast - I'm a veggie and I didn't feel left out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay, would recommend for couples who are exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't clearly stated when booking or on the website that the swimming pool wasn't open until June. The drinks on the roof top terrace were also quiet pricey, (view was lovely though).

    Location was excellent & very easy to find. It was right off Grand Via with everything being walking distance away. The Metro line also right outside the door which is an added plus and very easy to use. Economy room was small but it done the job, Rooms were cleaned every morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    ideal location, hotel rooms a bit tired and staff could be friendlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing and size of the room (economy double). Room a bit tired looking. Main bar staff looked the least interested members of staff in a hotel I've ever came across. The bar closes at 23;00 and the bar staff refused to get us a drink when we arrived at 22;45. Very strange a bar in a large city closing to everyone so early.

    The location is brilliant. The shower was good too. The reception staff were all ok. The barman in the Cave bar was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    A pleasant stay but definitely not a four star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a smokers room. Neither of us smoke, wouldn’t have minded but burnt ash, tobacco and other substances left in crevices of dressing table. Large burn mark in carpet near window. Bathroom clean but tired and worn, large number of tiles cracked. Walls so thin we could hear snoring from next room and bathroom noises.

    Staff all very friendly. Beds comfy. Location fabulous. Pool and terrace pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Stayed with friends of mine and were treated so well. Love the city, love the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice only thing it was missing was a proper window and the shower head was broken.

    Very nice room decor and lighting. Hotel was beautifully furnished! Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Top notch hotel,first class service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel and staff made it an enjoyable stay.Staff were most helpful and friendly at all times,I would recommend this hotel and look forward to another stay with them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, Great Staff, Rooms left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls are paper, and i mean paper thin. I could hear everything my neighbors did, and i mean, sadly, everything. in addition, get a room facing AWAY from the street. what they don't tell you is that there are regular parties outside at 5am in the morning (3 days in a row on my trip) that lasted about an hour each time. I'm too old to still be up partying at that time sadly!

    the hotel is in a fantastic location, close to grand via, sol, opera and all the associated attractions. The staff are really lovely and helpful. the breakfast buffet is worth a visit if you can get it included in your room, but overpriced if you just buy it the once.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Not up to scratch. Needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea making facilities and the roof terrace was poorly equipped. It was not value for money

    Centrally located. Room clean and a very good size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing, overcharged, and uncomfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed that part of the hotel had been refurbished and half hadn’t. The half we stayed in had very old decor, the beds were small and uncomfortable, and everything seemed like it hadn’t been refreshed in several years. When I arrived in my room there were no towels, I had to call reception twice in order to get some. 2 days later housekeeping had been, removed the dirty towels and not replaced them. I felt as though I’d been very overcharged. From what I paid and expected compared to what I got I was very disappointed.

    Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, location was good, as was rooftop bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been more choice (only one kind of cheese) - however, the rest of the breakfast was fabulous.

    The room size and furniture; cleanliness; the rooftop-bar; the location; friendliness of staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Great selection of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no Tea/Coffee facilities in the room. Wifi in room was a little intermittent also had booked because of pool but this didn't open until June

    Great selection of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Pool not open in May
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had stayed at the property in 2017 & thought the pool area was the big win so we booked it. When we arrived staff told us the pool only opens for ‘Spanish summer’ given that it was mid May (actual summer) & 26 degrees out I had to find out exactly when that was - I was advised June to August. Ridiculous given they have the pool & roof terrace not to mention Madrid is generally hot from March - Oct. the booking says ‘seasonal pool’ but really they need to be explicit on the dates as you wouldn’t expect such a short season in such a warm spot. The staff were exactly apologetic either in fact I’d have considered them quite brusque in handling this query.

    Location is convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is located in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the city center. The room was outstanding for what I needed,a single male. The bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed the shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was really good!
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms. Really small and we could hear the next door neighboors as if they were in the same room with us. Breakfast was not included, yoy had to pay extra.

    The location was really good! 1min walk distance from Gran Via and Callao metro station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    It is not the best hotel I have stayed in despite its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service didn’t come clean our room for the first date. The second daye they cleaned it but they didn’t clean any of the glasses that were used.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were all right Good location with the metro and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the room were so thin we could here everything that was going on next door. When we asked to change room because of noisy neighbours we were downgraded ...

    Rooms were all right Good location with the metro and the palace within walking distance Great view from the roof top

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location for accessing all parts of the city, next to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy next door guests partying at 01:30. Outside noise from nightclubbers in the early hours. Roof terrace closed to guests for private party on last day of our stay.

    The outside roof terrace with views across the city skyline.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed Cocktail bar was closed Booked a double room and got 2 singles and they wouldn't move us Bright pink carpets which were stained

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WE had booked a superior room in what is supposedly a 4* hotel. The room was awful. Massive stains on the carpet. cracked tiles in the bathroom the room was shabby & not too clean. The "city view" from the balcony was just the building opposite! Would definitely not stay at this hotel again & would not recommend it to anyone else.

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value hotel in excellent location - beds need improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable and short - need to invest in better mattresses. Also the shower head in bathroom was broken.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, clean rooms with good air conditioning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a bath . Just a shower (which was very nice though). Would have liked both.

    Great location. Nice and quiet. Lively roof top terrace .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is key for discovering a new city and couldnt have picked a better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff could do better. Slow bar service and reception staff didnt make a restaurant reservation despite asking twice

    Excellent location, great facilities. Fantastic roof top bar Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    The Standard room was tiny , and there is obviously some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Standard room was tiny , and there is obviously some bar/club downstairs as the loud music can be heard until 6am ........ Pity they don't have tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Room good, clean, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guy serving cocktails on rooftop was full of himself. Never smiled and when asked if we could put out mojitos in a large glass because they were overflowing he refused saying 'this is the glass they come in' !!! Could hear guests in room next door, very thin walls.

    Room good, clean, comfortable. Great staff, good location,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a lovely hotel with cool rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu could be a bit more extensive, tea cattle would have been a nice addition to the room

    Great location, fantastic rooftop, inner garden wall and flowers, quiet room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Pretty disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Views
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room maintenance was not well kept. The toilet was dirty when we arrived. The bed was supposed to be ONE big bed yet it was still two beds put together and not very sturdy at all. There were one million buttons in the room and couple of them didn't even work (mostly for lights or curtains). The payment process was stressful due to my payment not being accepted immediately when I booked the room. Luckily I was the one who called a few hours before our check-in to ask about check-in times and to my surprise was told that my payment had not passed and my reservation would not be kept unless I paid immediately, by phone. They never attempted to contact me the only contact was a Booking.com email saying that the hotel would handle my payment. Very stressful.

    The view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful city, great location, friendly staff, all round perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled with the television as there was only a few English channels to watch, one being a sky news channel, so we didn’t have much to watch in our room in the evening, but other than that there were no faults.

    It was in a great location, room was clean & comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The cocktail bar was brilliant however it wasn’t open on the Sunday/Monday when we were there which was a shame as we loved it on our first night! Will definitely come back and stay here!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    Very poor service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 403 shouldn’t be given to guests. A constant noise of running water that doesn’t let you sleep. Mouldy bathroom. Bad smell. Had to file a complaint because of the very poor customer service.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, decor a bit tired and quite noisy. The reception staff were very helpful but one of the bar staff was disinterested, unhelpful and rude. Not helped by the bar closing at 11pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a window but looked out directly onto air con unit and barely any natural light, couldn’t tell if it was day or night. Pool and rooftop bar only open in summer (June to Sept)

    Staff and food excellent. Room clean and good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel totally recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the workman noise in the morning and the heat of the room it was very warm at night

    Absolutely stunning hotel. Staff very professional and friendly. Spotless. Beautiful location. Welcome sweets and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    This hotel was well located and with excellent facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really like to get coffee in my room, before breakfast. My husband went to try and get it for me, but there was no place to do so. He couldn't do it at the dining room until we went to breakfast, and the bar wasn't open yet. So, no coffee in bed for me. It was still a very nice place.

    This hotel was well located and with excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff and a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bare wires hanging out, TV didn’t work, Air con on full heat all time made sleeping impossible - only thing we could do was open window but had a huge green light outside.

    Breakfast is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and its in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt like it hadnt been completed yet, needed a paint. Also, as its on such a busy street the noise from traffic was quite loud during the night

    The staff were very helpful and its in a good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    When I arrive at Mid night I was given a Very Bad Room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrive at Mid night I was given a Very Bad Room which is not even considered as 2 Star Hotel. Next morning I talked to the man at Reception and he changed the Room to a goo Room. Which cannot be compared with the previous one. Why from the beginning they did not give the good Room and why they Give that bad room when I arrive which is not as the ones shown in photos as website,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    paid 20 euro for upgrade .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    paid 20 euro for upgrade .. not sure what upgrade was .. room was still basic and with twin beds 2nd evening during the early hours of morning was lot of commotion in street - police etc and heard all in room so not sure double glazing was effective or in place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great location for shopping and tourist attractions. Very friendly, helpful staff on reception. Room spotlessly clean, however one wall seemed to have been painted three quarters of the way down with the bottom part scuffed and grubby!! Would have expected some tea/coffee making facilities in a four star hotel though. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food or drink. Overall no major complaints and would use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Average for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightclub outside the hotel was incredibly noisy from the people queuing until nearly 5am. However the hotel did move us to a different room.

    I would suggest that the hotel is 3* not 4*. No tea/coffee facilities in the room and the facilities at the hotel were fairly basic although serviceable for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    For my husbands birthday a beautiful stay and location loved it all. Hotel just topped it 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have tea / coffee facilities but didn't affect our stay or if we were to return and would definitely recommend you too! 😃

    Bed was very comfortable staff welcoming and friendly room very clean and fabulous shower!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful the pastries were hard and dry, and there was hardly any cooked food and it cost an extra €5 for a cappacino i paid €10 each for breakfast which I believe was a complete waste of money. Also the walls are very thi. Therefore I heard everything even talking and shutting cupboards next door

    Great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location we didn’t bother with breakfast or the bar as places close by. recommend Cafe Vilela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cave bar wasn’t open and we couldn’t use the terrace. We asked if we could even just take a look at the view for perhaps next time but this request was declined

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Location is very good, staff is responsible and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hasn’ t window (it was surprise) and it was dirty and old Not bad, but it is not acceptable for 4 stars hotel and this price

    Location is very good, staff is responsible and helpfull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    I would stay there again I'd be careful about the room I was booking & would bring a small kettle .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard double room that we were initially allocated was tatty and smelt strongly of cigarettes. We requested a change & were encouraged to pay to upgrade if we wanted a double. There was no other standard double room so we had to settle for a standard twin, all a bit disappointing. They did offer to change us to a double the next day but we were afraid it would be like the first room and it was all too much hassle. Also, there is also no way to get a even a cup of tea after the bar closes. Bar staff not very friendly.

    Location. Some very friendly staff, particularly the porter and some of the reception staff. Nice hotel, great location and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unable to control. TV all channels spainish. They took funds from my credit card before we arrived & I didn’t want to pay with that card so they refunded the payment & I lost £6. They should wait until you arrive before taking any payment then at the end of the day if you don’t arrive then take the payment.

    Location was excellent. Room was lovely. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.3
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look upon the stars.....Cause you won’t find any star here. Totally dissapointing, very dirty, full of stains carpet, dirt, mole, dust. There was so much moisture in the room, I could barely get some rest. I tried to drink a coffee once in the morning, the bar was closed at 9 am, at the cafeteria I could only drink coffee if I paid the breakfast 14 euros. So 14 euros for a coffee. I totally not recommend it. Not a 4 star hotel.

    Position is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice property, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress and the pillows but this is a personal preference I guess. Otherwise everything else was good.

    There are two wings with different room types. Upon check - in the reception staff offered to show us another category and so we upgraded our room for a small fee. The rooms are nice and clean, very warm. Fantastic location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    First time to Madrid, plenty to do and see just the weather was really wet take suitable clothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like. If the hotel could have a few more leaflets of different attractions would be helpful eg the Zoo and Football Stadium.

    Excellent location for Madrid transportation and within walking distance for many of the buildings and attractions visitors wishing to see. Reception staff very helpful and went out of there way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great room, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately,The rooftop bar was closed. Maybe some hints for breakfast , more fruit and maybe some pancakes?

    Breakfast was great The cocktail cave was amazing Hotel was perfect organised

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Poor value for money for what I paid, expected better. View was out to internal courtyard area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money for what I paid, expected better. View was out to internal courtyard area. Very, very, very thin walls. Dark and no natural light. Very old and dated decor.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    The location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the room with the view of pipes for the heat in the middle of the building with no lights for 92£ per night which is not fair I believe

    The location was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Great spot in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Location was superb , whether to access tourists sites , theatres or shopping. Metro right outside too. Staff were very helpful and a good coffee bar to meet up and plan your day

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santo Domingo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: