Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santuario San José 2 stars

Camino de Calahiguera, 9, 04118 San José, Spain

#3 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in San José

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    A really enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    This is a lovely place to stay in the perfect spot to enjoy both the town and local beaches. Very friendly staff (it helps if you can manage a little Spanish) and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Free parking in front of the hotel, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant - not opened for lunch / dinner (but there are many restaurants in the area)

    Free parking in front of the hotel, friendly staff, good location, balcony with seating, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing hotel, well appointed, very good location close to amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to comment on

    Quiet location, friendly, helpful efficient staff, beds were very comfortable (exceptional pillows), superb breakfast choice. Good general atmosphere. Car parking available and only few minutes level stroll to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi reception. The standard double room was quite small and cramped after a couple of days.

    Good buffet breakfast. Great location. Nice shared terrace area out the front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar didn’t seem to be open. Felt hotel wasnt making best use of its potential with regard to restaurant, bar and outside area

    Friendly staff, good location, attractive lobby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A relaxing break in a quiet hotel, lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another very relaxing stay at a friendly hotel, the outside terrace is lovely. A good base to use for visiting the area. Close to the beach, the restaurants and the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    We would love to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, there is no lift but we were in the first floor so it didn't bother us.

    The staff were super, the location was great and the public rooms are very tasteful. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and plenty of tables inside or out if you wish to take breakfast in the sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic! We'll be back again soon!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and efficient ... and our room was ready for us two hours before it should have been! Excellent breakfast. Great location, walking distance from everything in the village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    A reasonable hotel made pleasant by hard working and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was included but was not the best quality ever (but it is included). Bathroom was small and the shower had seen better days. We had a room without balcony - which was fine for us - but if you are the type of person who stays in the hotel room for any length of time - get a room with a balcony.

    Great location for access to the town and the wonderful natural park that surrounds it. Off street parking is available (for free) if you are worried about your car. Staff mostly speak Spanish but always made an effort to help us. Room was ok size and pleasant enough for 2 people. Especially as we spent most days walking in the surrounding hills it was overall perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, clean hotel , staff worked very hard throughout our stay. We felt it was far better than a 2 star hotel. Rooms were a a tad on the small size we had a room with a balcony which we would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a British couple - breakfast was excellent - but there only seemed to be 2 eggs available (fried which was lovely ) each morning when we had breakfast. No one serving at the bar - we had to go and ask the receptionists to serve us which they did - very kindly and politely - but felt awkward having to go and ask them - particularly as they were busy. Certainly not a complaint - more of an observation. Staff make a point of making guests feel ' looked after '. Great hotel.

    Staff and decor of hotel excellent - would go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.0
    Short stay in wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please get the address right... is it "calle" or ""comino ". We spent hours and needless phone calls trying to locate it because the website address and google maps address do not agree!😡

    It was nice and cosy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location, pleasant decor in reception area, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed that in mid June (with hotel already full) the restaurant wasn't open. I chose the hotel partly because that got good reviews. No bar either. There's a lovely terrace where it would have been nice to have a drink in the evening. Wifi you kept on having to sign in to. Security: Safe in room not attached to wall of wardrobe. Often no one in reception and room keys, which they wanted you to leave in hotel, left on front desk for quite a while.

    Good location, pleasant decor in reception area, very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Good budget Hotel with lots of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have on many occasions in the past. However, this time we were disappointed with the breakfast. The selection was not as varied as on previous times. In particular on three out of our six breakfasts, the choice of fruit wasn't good and, even though you can breakfast until 11.00 am, by 9.30 am on a couple of mornings, many items had gone and were not replaced.

    We have stayed here many times before. A wonderful location and good value for money. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Its great to be able to walk out of the Santuary and be in the middle of the village. Easy access to many fantastic beaches too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant and easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on small side and no lift but beds were comfy. Soap was very thin but other toiletries linens and towels good. Very good experience thou as staff and breakfast were lovely. Stylish area in courtyard for eating out side.

    Very nice breakfast selection, good value and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel, the entrance hall reflects the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another enjoyable stay at the Santuario. Comfortable room and lovely breakfast. A good base to visit the Cabo de Gata during the day and pleasant to walk round at night, plenty of places to eat. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wireless access was non existent

    Beautiful location, friendly staff. We had our luggage delayed with nothing to our name and the staff gave us toothpaste, a phone charger, tips on where to go etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Tranquil, charming and a lovely ambiance, had such a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    Tranquil, charming and a lovely ambiance, had such a lovely stay here and the staff are delightful and so helpful. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Good spot, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on the property was closed, but plenty of places close by, including two good bakeries and a mini grocery store.

    All of the staff, especially Tanya and Mar, were so helpful. Very good breakfast. Lovely seating area in lobby. Nice to have a small fridge in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    One of my favourite places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get WiFi connection although on previous visits this has not been a problem

    This is one of my favourite places to stay in Spain. Lovely clean friendly hostal. I can't understand why it only has 2 stars. Excellent value, lovely terrace for breakfast and balconies with sea view. Delightful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Very good did find most restaurants that advertised​ they would be open for 7pm didn't​ open till 9
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have bar open for an hour in the evening do appreciate that it's early season but they have opened the accommodation for business

    Staff putting themselves out to accommodate even to frying eggs that were not on breakfast menu

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    A gem; our best discovery yet.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was poor.

    Tasteful ambience, decor and furniture. Breakfast, included in our price was a good buffet; service was excellent and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Bonus was parking included just across the road. The location is a short walk to all local services, shops, restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    Perfectly fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room quite small. Lots of dark brown. Would benefit from swapping the brown cushions and curtains for white ones. We were put in a twin room rather than a double.

    Very clean - rooms cleaned daily. Nice to have breakfast outside. Walking distance to the beach with lots of good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Everything was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in San José!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in San José!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    An oasis of peace.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi would require logging in again if you were off of it a little while.

    Wonderful staff and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly helpful staff excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and were very friendly. Excellent location with parking right outside the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent value for money. Cleanliness- spotless☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Tv was quite small and internet was intermittent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was quite small and internet was intermittent. No coffee making facilities in room and no ironing board.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Walls far too thin which sadly meant we would not return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls far too thin which sadly meant we would not return despite being an excellent hostal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Central San Jose location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central San Jose location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Good position in the town for beach and all amenities. Good staff and excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Tranquil Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Excellent location.Serene and calm. Helpful friendly staff. Just a lovely place for a restful stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great stay as usual!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited this hotel several times. Welcome, rooms and breakfast very good. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    You really dont need more, really. This is what holidays are about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm, bright well situated, very nice hotel. Reception is most helpful and kind. Breakfast on terrace so enjoyable. I recommend it tk all of you !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not good and kept having to enter password.

    Nice relaxed atmosphere. Very quiet rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They could not be more helpful and friendly. very clean and very good location for restaurants and not far from beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    A Quiet Gem at San Jose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    An oasis of cool calm - enjoyed the atmosphere and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea making facilities in room.

    Decor,location,staff and price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel in San Jose
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff, good location and very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay when touring Cabo de Gata
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or bidet.

    Friendliness of girl on reception at night. Good breakfast. Well located in San Jose.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi did not work. Restaurant was closed so we asked, prior to arriving, if they could book us a table at a nearby restaurant. They agreed but this was not done so we wandered around looking for a place to eat.

    Location Staff

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.6
    Clean and friendly and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. I love it there.

    Clean and friendly and excellent value. I like the decor and have stayed there 3 times as it is the best hospital we have stayed in in San Jose. We intend to return next year and will recommend to friends.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.5
    A very attractive place lot's of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor wifi connection, in fact I never did get on line even though the router was on the wall just outside my room.

    A very attractive place lot's of character.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable firm beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a bit chaotic and a little basic, but not bad. Safe not bolted in.

    Comfortable firm beds. Aircon works.Close to town centre but not noisy..Been here before and came back.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything perfect.

    Great staff. Great breakfast. Quiet nights. Perfect location. Fast free internet. Very clean room. Nice atmosphere. You can feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    Very conveniently situated and located in interesting old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our reservation indicated we would have a terrace, but our room, which was very small, (not even room for a chair) only had a small balcony

    Very conveniently situated and located in interesting old building

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is a bit outdated but we were hardly in it so doesn't really matter much.

    Lovely staff. So polite and helpful. They even remembered me from the year before. They always have a smile on their face and put up my with bad Spanish! its because of the staff that I went back this year. Also the location is ideal - near the supermarket and bakery. And only a minute walk or so to the bus stop for Monsul. We almost stayed at another hotel as it had a pool but the location and staff made us change our mind.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    This is a lovely small hotel just off the Main Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a lovely small hotel just off the Main Street. We enjoyed our stay last year so much that we booked again and we're not disappointed. Lovely room, friendly staff (though English a bit limited), and great breakfast. Will be back next year.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    The beauty of the hotel outside and inside, the helpfulness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All I can suggest to improve an already fantastic place is free, large bottles of mineral water - we had that in our cheaper hotel in Almeria

    The beauty of the hotel outside and inside, the helpfulness of the staff and its very central location.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    breskfast was great and very well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    breskfast was great and very well priced. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for San Jose, a couple blocks from town beach and restaurants and close to the road out to the spectacular beaches.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Good location, only 200 m from beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was fine!

    Good location, only 200 m from beach. Noce room with balcony and seaview (2nd floor). Friendly staff, very quiet (off-season in mid-March).

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Lovely place, good choice of food, good Spanish breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of confusion over what type of room we had booked

    Lovely place, good choice of food, good Spanish breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Fantastic stay with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic stay with wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wifi

    Friendly and helpful staff; location; relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.2
    Welcoming staff, spacious room with balcony, wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming staff, spacious room with balcony, wonderful breakfast. Own parking if there's no place in the street.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Hotel, staff, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Hotel, staff, location

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.1
    Clean, quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bacon and sausages at breakfast

    Clean, quiet place

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff, hotel, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to WiFi was so bad I had to sit on the stairs under the router to get reception

    Staff, hotel, food

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Good place, nice rooms, delicious breakfast and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather slow internet, hard pillows.

    Good place, nice rooms, delicious breakfast and helpful staff. Deserves more then 2 stars!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff and a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and a central location.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Great location, very clean, kind, caring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, very clean, kind, caring staff. brilliant breakfast!!!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: