Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sercotel Málaga 4 stars

Héroe de Sostoa, 17, Malaga Centro, 29002 Málaga, Spain

#51 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1778 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - the place was perfect for me.

    The room was quiet and there is very little noise from neighbours, the street, the corridor. It was also very comfortable and stocked with useful amenities such as a hairdryer, tea/ coffee, a bottle opener and a mini fridge. The staff were all friendly and helpful. In terms of location, it is just across the road from the main train station and it is about a 20 minute walk to the tourist areas. The beaches are also within walking distance. In the immediate area of the hotel there are restaurants, supermarkets, convenience stores etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great one night stay. Very comfortable. Lots of facilities and amenities in close proximity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems to report.

    I was upgraded to start with, so that was a bonus. The location beside Maria Zambrano station was my objective and it's only a couple of hundred metres. Breakfast was good and plentiful. If I'm being picky, machine coffee was poor, but most are. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Really clean, comfortable room with a very big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect. The beach is about 10-12 minutes from the hotel by walk.

    Really clean, comfortable room with a very big bed. The staff was great and the breakfast is very delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Perfect place in a clean room close to the train/bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not soundproof at all. Noise from outside and from the inside as well..not a quiet place at all.. The building and the area surrounding the 4 star hotel is not inviting.

    I needed a hotel close to the bus station, so the location was good for me. But the hotel is far from city centre.. The night receptionist was very friendly. Don't know about breakfast: did not take one..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    too short
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    liked everything

    the staff friendly and rooms excellent. Great location. Breakfast had all the usual breads, yogurts, hams and cheeses with the added bonus of hot food. Bacon, eggs, mushrooms, beans etc. would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Perfect two days luxury stay before heading for home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has been recently refurbished and it is a hotel we've stayed in several times before. We had a top floor room with a fantastic terrace, decor is stunning and the bed/pillows amazing! Loved the little extras, worth it for two days of luxury.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    rooms very noisy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms noisy, and the people in the next room were doing a party so I think it would be a good idea to separate business people from vacacion/friends people

    rooms very noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Conveniently located, modern and clean, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location close to station, ready to catch train to aniport next morning. Clean, fresh, friendly. Price very reasonable, too. Suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    comfortable, close to station but would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell of sewerage coming up the drain in the bathroom. But we did find Malaga itself had that problem.

    The bed was comfy and staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Been here before and it was good. Recommended it. Wished I hadn’t as service was so poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surly staff on arrival, long wait to check in as she dealt with Spanish queries from someone not in the queue. Repairs meant there was no lift from ground floor, but a 20 min wait for someone to take bags to a service lift.

    Beds were comfortable and lovely bathrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Will avoid in th future, sorry.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely slow processing at reception (~15 min per room) Overwhelming artificial smell (generator) in the reception area Rooms not accessible by staircase, only a pair of lifts Crowded lifts with inefficient programming: long waiting times No toilet brush in the bathroom Coffee set in the room but coffee not replenished when used up

    Close to railway and metro hub

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not as big as it shows in the photo. For the whole stay,we only had 1 towel and needed to call the reception to ask for another one. Also,we only had one cup for tea,one cup in the toilet. Well,it’s quite obvious that we booked the hotel for 2 persons.

    It’s near the train station. Quite conveniente. The personals in the hotel are really nice. The hotel is comfortable and quiet. It’s easy to arrive the city centre by bus. It takes 20 mins walking from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel if you want to stay near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of thoughtful extra touches, free bottle of water in the room, turn down service, bath robes. Such an easy walk from train station. So close to no. 1 bus that takes you to the heart of town for 1.30 EU.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit of a walk to the old town, but for us that wasn't a problem.

    Nice clean spacious rooms. We really enjoyed our stay there. Very friendly service at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    great location for Maria Zambrano Station. Friendly staff. Room temperature too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only quibble is the room temperature was too high. When opening the window to try and get some cooler air......the street was so noisy that it made for an unpleasant Night. Tried to turn heating down.......to no avail.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Good and bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to refurbishment and difficulty in communicating with staff we had to eat out in the evening. We were also disappointed that there was no airport shuttle as stated on the bookings.com website.

    The upgraded room was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.9
    Regret choosing it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, bad location, not that clean. I couldn't eat from their menu, feared i would catch something from the look of it. Not worth the fortune i have paid. No advantage in location. Pictures are different from reality. I got a room with a bad view and they wouldn't change it, although wasnt that busy.

    The staff are rude, not cooperative and unhelpful. No value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. No fresh fruit nor natural orange juice. Long waiting for the lift. Poor lighting in the room.

    Very spacious and comfortable room. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    I would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lounge/seating area in the reception area would have made it a more comfortable hotel. The breakfasts could have been hotter.

    Comfortable and clean hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location for sightseeing. Really convenient for train travel to and from airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Perfect spot for an overnight stay in Malaga pre or post flight....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Knew where I was going this time but the outside signage could still be improved,,,,, especially for on foot arrivals!!

    Location near to Malaga bus station for getting to and for leaving to get to the airport. Bonus of a discount (€9) on the buffet breakfast, which was perfectly acceptable but not the best I have ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold but not really a problem as only staying one night. (used both duvets!)

    Very clean and spacious room. Comfortable bed and quiet surroundings. Excellent location close to train station. Staff very approachable and helpful. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.0
    Very pleasant and enjoyable visit.. I'd highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    Very convenient location (trains and buses very close by), spacious well equipped rooms, helpful staff. WE stayed B&B and the breakfast options were high quality catering to a wide range of tastes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast, more 3* than 4*.

    Great location. Our room was specious, lovely clean bathroom, huge shower! The bed was twice the size of a double bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower head was loose, so that was a bit inconvenient although not serious. breakfast wasn't too impressive.

    bed was extra comfortable. facility was clean. location was super close to the station. from airport I think it only took about 15 minutes by train + walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Malaga!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffe in the machine at breakfast was not hot.

    This was in every aspect a perfect stay! The staff, the room with big good beds, the breakfast buffe and the ”closeness” to the trainstation and the inner city. Coffee and thé in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice Temperatures even in November
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Longer walk to the town than expected

    Good hotel in the middle price class. Garage for €14 per day in upper price range. Is on the right site of Malaga to get to the airport fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Location was great, funny smell in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot when entered and smelled funny (of smoke? stuffy? not sure) Was too tired to go back to reception and say something so just opened window and went to sleep.

    Huge bed. Great shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Mainly all positive quiet location shop directly opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to find a screw lying on the floor which was missing from the bathroom door, pillows were to hard difficult to sleep.

    Mainly all positive quiet location shop directly opposite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but I wouldn’t pay for breakfast again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor compared to another 4* hotel I have stayed in in Malaga. My bathroom had a dusgusting musty/sewage smell coming from the drains.

    The room was lovely. Staff were nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    Good restaurant, friendly staff there!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction work in the hotel going on for days, sink leaking, toilet and cistern leaking. There was nothing but a superficial "sorry for the circumstances" by the staff. Especially the drilling machine - which was going on for hours every single day - made it hardly possible for my baby to sleep.

    Good restaurant, friendly staff there! Close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location, spacious contemporary room and good local amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room but the sofa bed was not made up on arrival. There’s only 1 bin in the bathroom only, better to have an extra bin in the bedroom also. One of the wash basin was partially blocked.

    Comfortable bed and spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    1 night stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to arrive with car — partly due to road work nearby. Parking in next building is good but a bit pricey (14€ with discount)

    Clean room, very good bed, location good. Family room was 2 rooms with a door between which was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    If I had to choose that hotel again I'll make sure I am given a room in a quiet part of the building
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 329, a extremely noisy side of the hotel,cars honking , buses , trucks, motorcycle noise etc. I don't understand why the hotel doesn't invest in better windows that block the outside noise . Very friendly staff but if you can't sleep the night before you catch a 9 hour flight home, the friendliness of the staff is not what you will remember of your stay in that place.

    a pretty average hotel with very friendly employees.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.3
    Awful. Who rated it 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel adjoined a building ad the other 3 sides were over looked by 3 buildings the same size. We opened our curtains and we had a view of a wall. The only balconies were on the 6th floor which would’ve cost an extra 60 Euro a night. Breakfast was €14 and was awful

    Was a nice hotel inside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay but felt the price was a bit high for the facilities advertised that we couldn't use!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    We didn't pay to have breakfast included but it seemed quite expensive so we never ate there - about 14 euros each. There was work going on which obviously needs to be done but it was a shame about the noise sometimes, however this was kept to a minimum. We wanted to use the advertised Jacuzzi and spa and gym but when we asked someone if we could use it he said 'I don't know' and then when we went to look for it, it wasn't anywhere to be found on the complex! A bit odd but never mind. They also removed the outdoor sofas after the second day which was a shame as we had enjoyed sitting outside on our first night.

    The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well! The bathroom was very clean and the shower was lovely and powerful. Overall a very clean and tidy hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Clean, new and good selection of toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible internet! Can barely open a page. No easy way to print things out. Need to mail it to the reception. No amenities. For the price they charge, there needs to be a gym! And construction work going on currently. So there would be some noice.

    Clean, new and good selection of toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    A well located, modern hotel I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise intrusion - air conditioning, traffic etc - but not excessive.

    Really comfy beds, large room, superb bathroom, great view of mountains beyond Malaga, the kindness of staff who allowed us to stay on after the departure time when my wife injured and needed to rest her foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the room was just awful - surely can provide better?! The coffee at breakfast was not much better and as for the hot food on offer, it was really yuk! The toast was good though, and my husband enjoyed his yoghurt. Although we didn't have any, the cold meat and cheeses on offer looked as though they had been hanging around for a while. I really don't understand how this hotel has a 4 star rating. It certainly isn't.

    Helpful check-in staff. Good room - massive comfortable bed and pillows. Good, clean bathroom with walk-in shower (although temperature control was a bit problematic), nice fresh towels although there was nowhere to hang the hand towels which seemed odd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok convenient for bus and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on arrival were surly and uninterested

    Staff on arrival were surly The room was comfortable but the decor was dull The bar and restaurant area were very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything nearby, Trainstation, busstation, supermarket, the beach. Its only quite a walk to the old center. But for me it was not a problem at all. It takes around 20mins easy walk. Hotel was clean and staff was really nice and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    2.9
    Malaga is a fab city to visit and we loved it. Hotel was rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very unwelcoming and not particularly interested. As this was our first visit to Malaga and the Sercotel the staff never gave us any information. Would not go back to this hotel.

    Not much.!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities. There was a problem with the air-conditioner in one of the nights, so it was really hard to sleep. Other than that, it was ok.

    The location is good. A beach is only 10 minutes away from the hotel, walking. It is very close to the train and bus stations. However, it is a bit far away from the city center and most of the touristic attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is not as good as it should be. The staff are not friendly and welcoming staff. They treated us as if they gave us the room free of charge.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, comfortable hotel, with easy access from airport. Handy for main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower not thermostatically controlled - easy to accidentally nudge controls when washing and hot water was VERY hot.

    Vast, very comfortable double bed, efficient air conditioning, lovely shower, breakfast between 7.00 and 11.00, very well trained staff. Opposite a department store with good supermarket, very close to main railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value with friendly staff and a huge room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were quite happy. Maybe the bed is a tad firm and the in-room coffee ran out, but that's nitpicking for the value you get!

    What a great hotel! The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is big; the bed and balcony and bathroom are huge! The bathroom we had came with a shower and a separate whirlpool bath. The air conditioning was lovely, and the wifi, while not blazing fast, served its needs. The minibar was nice, and the restaurant is very good for the decent price. Love that is located next to the train and bus stations. Short walk to city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Could have been excellent, but.....
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been excellent had it not been for the rumbling air conditioning - not in the room - but elsewhere in the hotel and droning on incessantly. It was like being on a noisy ship.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Nothing special but a nice and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was nice but would prefer more vegetables and better coffee.

    Nice, basic and quiet hotel and nice, tidy room with a quite big balcony which was a plus. The hotel was situated fine for us because we were heading to Ronda by train. Lots of restaurants nearby and not far away from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel next to a train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Only one small trash can (in the bathroom) - Shower head would need replacing and no shower curtain at all - There was a locked door in our room that lead supposedly to a next room and voices could be heard quite easily through it - A bit far away from the Playa la Malagueta beach

    + Room was very clean + AC unit was powerful and kept the room cool + Hotel is located very close to the Málaga María Zambrano railway station with many shopping and dining options available + There's a small supermarket next to the hotel if you happen to need food & drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, but not so close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner had a problem in the first night we were there. It was annoying to sleep with more than 27 degrees inside. Furthermore, the key cards didn't work all the time, and we had to go frequently to the reception...

    The location was close to the beach (10 min. Walk) and to the bus/ train station. However, it was a bit far away from the city center. The staff was helpful, and the hotel was clean. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a part of Malaga not really pleasant dirty and smelly streets and some road improvements going on

    Decoration was nice, lovely bathroom hence some water damage but good overall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was really good, staff 2, hotel was clean,...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 220-shower was broken, toilet 2. What about the toilet brush? In room 320- the wall between bedroom and bathroom was moldy.

    Breakfast was really good, staff 2, hotel was clean, architecture good, place good. Excelent hotel. I like it so much. Ty hotel Sercotel for nice holidays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. No WIFI in the room. Really bad map of the city provided. It was impossible to sleep well. The room was noisy with bangs on the wall during all night. It's not near from the city centre. We had to get a bus to get to the city centre. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Temperature in main hall was too low, making a shock every time we came in from 35°C outside... maybe more fresh vegetables for breakfast.... but no major negatives.

    Hotel is not far from historic city centre, in walking distance from most of tourist attractions in Malaga, right next to it there is a supermarket, comfortable parking, car rental and a link to airport, that is why we chose it. Personel was very helpful with tips for trips. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Overnight stay with kids and cats in excellent hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible (British) guests having a foul language argument at 4am. I was about to phone reception but heard them leave their room to check out. When I mentioned to reception in the morning they were really sympathetic and said I should have called anyway.

    Really friendly staff, everyone we dealt with was helpful and smiley. We booked a family room and got two spacious double rooms. As I had mentioned at booking that we were bringing cats they had provided a litter tray and food bowl. Never had that happen before! We ate out so can't comment on restaurant but the breakfast had a great choice and was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in a good location for exploring Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went when it was a special offer but wouldn't want to pay the normal rate.

    Very friendly receptionist on arrival. Lovely comfortable room that even had tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Boujee girls get what they want after horrible hostel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, there was no shelf in the shower. This is not much to complain about since the shower was like a tropical rainforest on a hot summers day. The shower pressure was exceptionally fantastic.

    We enjoyed getting 2 beds, as well as the spaciousness of the room. We had a lovely view of one of the far away mountains, it was great (got good pics of this). Additionally there was complimentary coffee, and a convenient safe to store our valuables. For a plus side, there was a bidet in the bathroom to which we had never experienced before and it made us feel super important and rich, wealthy, and boujee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable modern hotel close to vibrant Malaga city centre.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk or sugar in the mini bar for tea making and an optional hourly shuttle bus to the city centre could be a great enhancement otherwise faultless.

    The hotel was lovely. The breakfast buffet was delicious. I liked the supermarket opposite to stock up on toiletries with ease for the rest of my trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Great base for Malaga sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought there was a gym, but there wasn't (or I couldn't find it). Proximity to the centre of the town was a little exaggerated. It's a bit of a way if you are going back and forth. But the is a really good bus service right outside the hotel, E1.30 per person, per ride.

    Great air-con in the room, very, very clean, really comfy beds, good breakfast, lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay - will return to Sercotel and to Málaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel reception & corridors have been renovated to a high standard - I feel the rooms have had several corners cut. The wood flooring could have been replaced during renovations as you can see where some slats have chipped etc. Likewise with the bathroom door, bottom of the door had started to peel from water etc as expected from an old hotel bathroom door. Just small things overlooked that could have made the room from excellent to perfect.

    Very comfortable bed. Reception area and restaurant excellent. Location of the hotel is beyond brilliant for public transport. From the airport you take the train to the centre of Málaga. After around 3 stops you will get off the train at Málaga María Zambrano - a clean, full of restaurants & shops train station. Exit from the main doors, walk around the building to the right, and 500 yards you will reach the hotel. Couldnt have asked for a better location for public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is really clean and easy located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really noisy. We could literally hear everything from the couple next to us (2 nights) and a baby (the night after). This resulted in some poor sleeping.

    The hotel is really clean and easy located. Moreover, the staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Parking close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few restaurants in the vicinity. Traffic noise especially in the early morning. 20+ minutes walk to the Old Town.

    Parking close by. Convenient for the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst we was there, they were having refurbishments done so the rooftop sun loungers etc wasn't available.

    Lovely modern hotel. Close to all amenities and a 5 minute bus ride to the very center of Malaga.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive regarding quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have been advised to be quiet once we checked in, and I understand later that’s because walls are like paper and you can hear neighbors discussing, doors hitting and people passing by talking in corridor. Did they advise a football team to be quiet too when they came on Friday evening and made noise late, I don’t know. Moreover, there is work in progress so there are hits all day long while working hours. But the worse is this constant noise at a very bass frequency you hear very well in the middle of the night. Complaining at the reception around midnight, the receptionist is right away comprehensive and explains it comes from the 6th floor from the air conditioning machinery. He proposes another room at the 5th floor, while I am at the 4th, but the noise is worse and the smell too, a smell of a room that have not been airy for long. So I keep my double room with the constant noise coming from the wall next to the bed. In order to not be disturbed for sleeping, we switch heads and feet in the bed and it’s OK for the rest of the stay (3 nights). For 124 € per night, you expect better conditions. In the shower there is no shelve to put soap and champoo. You can add it fixing to the shower tube, that's not expensive when you request such price for the night! In other hotel cheapers you have it.

    Around midnight, the receptionist is right away comprehensive. The location is more or less convenient, 2 km from centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice, clean hotel within walking distance of the historical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was under construction which we were not told about in advance. This was not really a problem for us as we were sight seeing and therefore out of the hotel during the day. You could not have stayed in the hotel if you wanted to during the day however as it was too noisy.

    Comfortable beds and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay for a short trip to Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No instructions on how to use the air conditioning system. We couldn't get the room as cool as we would have liked. Door didn't close properly in the bathroom.

    Good location if you're just passing through Malaga from/to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is a good 4 star standard however there are other 4 stars hotels nearby with better facilities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from room abysmal (407) overlooks laundry and maintenance area. Overpriced bar prices. Snack bar also overpriced as products all start from 9€ Brochure indicates pet charges may apply, in fact all pets are charged for at 10€ each per day.

    Comfortable bed, large flat TV screen, pleasant decor, excellent shower, aircon the best ever. Quiet room, pet friendly hotel. Coffee and tea facilities in room. Big supermarket next to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the hotel just a bit to far out of the centre and harbour area, breakfast was extra and not worth the money, food cold .

    Very convenient for the bus and train transfers to maliga airport , very comfortable beds. Staff really helpful and pleasant .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    just awesome...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the view from the room... on the el corte ingles!

    1 minute from the train station and 2 minutes from the bus station and there's a mall full of restaurants and shops. the hotel was great! nearby 20 minutes walk to the port...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Some good bits and some bad bits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady who checked us in and out was sullen and curt. The hotel is located in a somewhat scuzzy area next to the train station - this is fine if you're travelling to another destination, but not so good if you want the amenities of the city centre, which is a 20 minute walk away. Our room was NOISY! We got no sleep during our 2 night stay. We stayed elsewhere for our final night.

    The hotel was clean and modern. Nice bar. Friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Large modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit bland & stark & upgrading going on so a bit noisy at times.

    Modern large hotel close to the train station & immediately next to a supermarket selling absolutely everything. Within walking distance of most things but buses easy & cheap to use. Staff very polite & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    excellent choice for people with pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be table and chairs in dining area (outside) so that pet owners can have breakfast buffet

    Our dog had a basket, special food mat and bowls waiting for her on arrival!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location, comfortable, nice staff, but a bit noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise from construction in the building during the day. I think some dust from the construction made it's way through the vents into the bathroom, because there was some dirt in the tub. Also, there was a door to the room beside us, which wouldn't have been a problem if it was sound-proofed. However, it was very easy to hear the people on the other side, which was a bit annoying. While the bed was comfortable, the two mattresses pushed away from each other very easily.

    The location was great. It was nice to be able to walk from the train station there directly. There is a grocery store next door, which was nice when we wanted to buy water and other items. The room was nicely decorated, was in good condition and was quite comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice that the bathroom had a full bath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.4
    Not a double bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was just two made up singles pushed together that kept separating during the night which was really annoying, thankfully it was only one night we stayed or I would have cancelled the booking and booked somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel at perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no major problem with the Hotel, but for that price I have expected a bit more. Regarding WiFi, OneDrive and OneNote synchronization was blocked (I had to connect via VPN to synchronize).

    Perfect location in proximity of railway and bus station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.4
    disappointed
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We heard somebody snoring in the next room too, the view was in the supermarket direction ...so no view and there was a constant noise of their air c. System, the window could not be closed properly. In the morning from 8 in the above room renovations started so we had knocking in the walls constantly....

    Clean room, size ok, close to train and bus station, 15-20 min walking distance city center/port

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: