Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Servigroup Calypso 3 stars

Avenida Derramador, 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

#36 of 120 hotels in Benidorm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is a bit pricey at €10 per night, hotel took a €100 deposit in case of damages to the room. I would understand this if we were 21 years old but we're both in our late forties so I was not amused with that.

    Nice clean hotel, food was very good which I was pleasantly surprised by as I was expecting it to be more geared to the Spanish, british back bacon for breakfast and a good choice at dinner time. Location is right in the middle of town. Pool area is large with plenty sun beds and a decent sized pool, safes in the rooms were free as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still not happy with the sequence dancing every night I do line dancing and disco dancing but didn’t get much of it. I spoke to other holidaymakers and they thought the same. Why does this hotel cater for more outsiders who don’t buy much but get the benefit of the music .?

    I am gluten free nd found plenty of variety to suit me . Room at front of hotel was lovely As ever sitting in balcony watching everything going on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for a week and the sheets weren’t changed had a great time

    Staff were very friendly and the food was lovely plus the hotel was very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment in evenings was terrible very old we didn't like it had to go to ambassador very good there

    Food was lovely rooms were very clean staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected a kettle in the room and it would have been good to vary the entertainment on offer in the large bar area - just sequence dancing!

    Good beds and food reasonable and plentiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms are tiny, no privacy for 4 people in one room. Beds are worst bed I have slept in, no room to unpack 4 suitcases. €5.60 for kids slush puppy!!

    Very friendly staff and great outside TV

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tribute act 'Rod Steward' was awful! We are not cake eaters and would have loved a fresh fruit salad to be on the dessert menu!

    Everything: location, hotel, accommodation, food selection 100%. Entertainment-99% first time at Calypso, would not hesitate to recommend or return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening entertainment boring. Bedroom small. Food not as good as used to be. Parking is expensive. Although we live in Spain and had our residential identification reception said we also needed our passport. A passport under these circumstances is not required by other hotels that's the purpose of a residential identification under Spanish law.

    Good position of hotel. Food good but not as good as used to be. Staff seem to try to help and were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The massive television screen on the poolside with football all day. Would have been ok without the sound.

    The attitude of all the staff. They were so friendly and helpful. The cleanliness was second to none.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment was for a older clientele

    Food was excellent, beds were really comfy and everything was spotless. Situated right in the centre and close to all the amenities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like to see a large gang working in the streets trying to con people to part with their money.The police should take action to remove them.

    The food on all meals excellent.Location of Hotel could not be better for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    na

    Lovely hotel very clean and looks like it has been refurbished all staff very friendly, would stay there again and deffo recommend, location was ideal for shops bars beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the first time I travelled alone since my husband passed away I had to save every penny to get this break as I had funeral expenses to pay I would recommend this hotel it made my struggle worth it had a wonderful break will go back when I can save another bit of money and check for any deals thanks again much appreciated

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I am not a lover of the ballroom and the dancing, although many of the repeat bookers are. Other entertainment was provided in the Terrace bar but it was very loud as the bar is fairly small

    Beds were comfy, it was very clean and staff always helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were not very happy that the Hotel had from May 2016 prohibit all Mobility Scooters from parking on the Hotel premises, so we had to take the Mobility Scooter back to the Hire Shop every night and pick it up in the morning again. My wife has walking difficulties, so this was not so convenient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room

    The hotel ticked all the boxes for me central quite clean friendly and good food will staying there again only down side was wifi in room not very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The attitude of the staff was poor. If this hotel was not located where it is there would be no return visitors. Simple as that.

    Staff were very unfriendly at the reception and the restaurant - except for the cleaning staff who were excellent, this company needs a customer service course. Do not take paying customers for granted. The poolside bar had a broken frozen drinks machine all week. The freezer also seemed to be on the blink. No decent cocktails, slushies, ice lollies, ice cream and limited ice. Not what you need in that heat!! Resorted to going to the local supermarket for cold drinks to have poolside. The poolside was never cleaned except for any spills on the ground at the bar area itself. Trays of dirty cups and plates still there the following morning from the afternoon before - there is just no excuse for that. Staff were more interested in re-arranging the loungers than actually cleaning and collecting dirty cups and glasses. Entertainment was firmly aimed at the older holidaymaker and although this is perfect for old time dancing it was reflected in the amount of customers who remained there into the evening. A dozen people at most - everyone else clearly left the building to find life elsewhere. Shame, because the venue itself was really lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    May be the evening entertainment but there is so much going on close by it did not bother us

    We could not find any fault with this hotel everything was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were to narrow

    The size of hotel always plenty of space by pool and in sitting area around bar. The terrace bar was very modern and stylish

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to/from the car park can be awkard if you have a number of cases

    Ideal location for a multitude of shops and bars.Good security with card access for all areas, A good variety of food at all meals

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and food! The staff are more than helpful and would definitely be staying there again. I have been to benidorm 7 times and this hotel is by far the best 1. Definitely deserve more than 3*. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    always found the beds not very comfortable! please buy new mattress for next year!!

    we have been here 4 times and always liked it because of staff and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjacent hotel have entertainment on until at least midnight which makes the room extremely noisy for those who are wanting to sleep.

    Food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could of been cleaner.

    Food was good, nice variety, room clean and good wifi and air con in room, great location. Close to strip but not to noisy at night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The evening meal. Soup very watery. Selections for main course looked like they were bought from Iceland.

    The location. The cleanliness. The Wi-Fi worked. The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .its all good

    just the best hotel in benidorm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    we liked the location and the hotel very much Our room was facing the pool which we liked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fantastic lots of choices for all 3 meals .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too firm

    Excellent and very clean hotel with friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Something to complain about.!!!!!!!

    beds were extremely comfy.Clean towels, bed made every day and room cleaned.Felt very secure in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Beds slightly uncomfortable!!

    Very clean hotel and wonderful staff!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Helpful friendly staff good choice of food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lifts sometimes take a while to work

    The food is great, excellent selection and delicious, room cleaning is brilliant too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 10 euros a day for parking!

    Food very good,and the hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just excellent

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. No sausages were replaced when hey ran out. Bacon was not even warm same with the eggs.

    The lunch was nice. Enjoyed the pasta.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, clean, food good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very straight forward

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Cleanness of hotel and food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room key stopped deactivating and had to go to reception on several occasions to re-activate.

    Beautiful food, Breakfast especially

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe Clean Enaugh sunbeds

    Extreamly clean Frendly staff Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dress code for dinner

    Good variety of food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Good sized comfy beds and nice toilet with walk in shower. Food was excellent, staff so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find a fault

    It was the second time we have stayed and it is everything we wanted from a hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great choice of menu and food was hot and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed in the evening meal!!

    The beds r really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a better selection for meals

    Everything was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were first class

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything there 2 disappoint us

    Everything was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    communication from staff about early departure due to a bereavement at home

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Got the room I requested, hard to find fault with this hotel.

    Stayed many times in Calypso, maintains good standards every year.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Running out of beer and cocktail ingredients at poolside bar!!

    Very nice hotel in a central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wasnt very clean. It had a dirty, greasy film on the surface which put me off using it.

    Rooms were lovely. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excelente en general

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds should be replaced with something more confortable.

    All OK!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The dance music each evening would be improved by variation in order of sequence type. More recent dances could be included.

    Friendly reception from restaurant staff,in particular, light, clean eating area, wide selection of food. Fruit and fish that are associated with Spain.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very small and the food was limited in English choices

    Cleaners were very good and friendly bar staff were very nice and loved the security of the hotel thou easy to forget your card for the lift at times

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Good choice of food, well presented and always hot. Outside bar at front of hotel, very pleasant during daytime then covered over in the evening when cabaret acts perform. We were there over Xmas and had a lovely Xmas lunch, would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The card system for the lift was shocking, everybody I spoke to during the stay was complaining about this, the British lady at the front desk 'ane' was about as much as much help as the card to get into my room (this didn't work) by the time they would of got me a new working card I was far to tired to go back out as I'd been stuck over half hour trying to get into my room. Wouldn't stay here again just because the staff were useless in helping the situation and they did nothing to compensate for me being stuck in the only night I was able to make it to benidorm, safe to say we won't be returning to this hotel stayed in all the servigroup hotels and this by far was the worse service such a shame because it was the best food out of all of them

    The food was amazing and the rooms were very comfy it is a lovely hotel and the kitchen staff put on an amazing Christmas dinner all the staff in the restaurant were brilliant

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Personally I would have liked a gym and maybe indoor pool.

    Great location very central to everything. So so clean. Bars nice and friendly. Restaurant excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the only bad things are the room walls are very thin you can sometimes hear a conversation next door also the pool was surrounded by other hotels so not much sunshine there but we stayed out so it did not affect our holiday at all

    everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one thing we were in the annex building our room smelt of stale tobacco not the hotels fault, just inconsiderate people who stayed there .

    The restaurant , choices of food for everyone staff helpful, lovely and clean .

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was a wee bit on the small side ,and despite a request for a double bed we had two single beds on castors.not ideal.

    location was spot on ,the food was very good and the hotel was spotless,especially the terraza.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy in restaurant. Hotel entertainment mainly for Spaniards.

    Really enjoyed Calypso terrazzo. Cabaret acts n drink prices v good. Show at benidorm palace excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this was our 5th stay at the calypso,have already booked for paddys day next year,all staff are extremely friendly and helpful especialliy Elaine on reception

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago & was impressed then Hotel is clean & is in an excellent location staff very helpful & friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Compared to last year the cooking at the hot plate area was treble. The bacon, and any thing else that was cook on the hot plates was always burnt. This problem is down the chef that control the area these plates should be kept clear of any burnt residue. The cold table should have a better selection of salads were the cold meat should be in the same area not 30 yards away. The selection of soups were left to be desirable if it was not cream of. One example Cream of Chicken in one pot the other pot Chicken of Cream. Some time there was a choice of soups some would have been suitable fora bed of cememt to,.au bricks.

    Like the area. The hotel is located plus near all enrertainmet the sun bathing area lefty space to relax

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really if I was pushed to say something it would be slight lack of entertainment

    Our room no 804 little sea view sun all after noon great room.loved the terrace outside bar.o

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very small and the entertainment at hotel not great, Suitable for OAP's.

    The location is great and food quite good if you don't mind queuing up.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standards have dropped, the quality of food was poor, limited choice, no fresh seafood or Spanish dishes and table close together and the beds are hard

    I line in Spain and go to this area regularly and have stayed here before, like the location and the staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was not very good eggs alway hard fryed boiled or pouched got told by staff would be a cup tea and coffee on leaving at 4-45 am staff on duty could not be bothered to get up of his phone to get us on

    The location

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If I'm being really picky they could've played some music through the speakers at the pool side and I wasn't keen on the evening entertainment but that's personal choice

    This hotel was excellent value for money. It's well maintained. The staff are friendly and the food was lovely. Lots of choice. Something for everyone

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: