Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacio Garvey 4 stars

Plaza Rafael Rivero c/ Tornería 24, 11403 Jerez de la Frontera, Spain

#4 of 33 hotels in Jerez de la Frontera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Ideally located for discovering the true Andalusia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a strange shape with limited natural light and dark furniture, making it a little gloomy. Staff were fine when asked for help but seemed a bit reserved. The breakfast was selection was very limited. Card machine still not working, so had to pay by cash.

    Excellent location in the heart of a very traditional Spanish city. Hotel full of quirky art and artefacts. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Like your own villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy about everything

    The pictures did not make it justice. The hotel is an oasis of good taste and quiet in a bustling area. The grand staircase and the outdoor patio were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    'Palace' is a good word to use to describe the hotel - treat yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have rarely stayed in a place where I can honestly say there was nothing I could criticise. I would love to make a return trip.

    This is a superb place to stay and eat. It has everything - class, flair, comfort. location and food to die for!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for a night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although on first sight the room was impressive you could see that it was just a little bit shabby and could do with some tlc. Many bulbs were out in the light fittings, the laminate flooring was badly worn in places and the wood in the vanity units in the bathroom was flaking. Probably the biggest criticism was that they were unable to take card payments as the machine was broken. This was really inconvenient.

    The guy on reception was really helpful, even came round the back street to show us where the car park was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Avoid
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the ONLY hotel in Jerez not to bother paying to have the hotel direction signs. This is not only bloody stupid but, IMO, dangerous as you are driving around changing lanes etc in a strange city.

    Finding my way out of the bloody awful car park & out of town frankly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    First class hotel in a friendly city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Another gem of a Spanish hotel, right in the centre of Jerez. The food, the rooms, the staff and the location were all first class, the only downside was that their card machines were out of order so we had to pay in cash, but this was a small price to pay (excuse the pun) for the benefit of staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    More style than substance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very poor. Lack of space and very challenging to park/ get back out again. The suite was on the 2nd floor, but the lift goes to floor 1. No one offered to help wth our bags, added to which the steps up were windy and there was a carpet outside the room that makes it hard to move a suitcase. We are very mobile and agile but found this a challenge. Breakfast was fine but you are brought a selection to your table- no choice.

    The suite was spacious. I like a hard bed but my husband was less keen. The hotel was in a good location. The barman was great. Lots of extras provided- razor, lotions, sewing kit- but would prefer a strong shower and softer pillows. The spa bath was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice furnishings and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise wakes you up but that’s probably everywhere in centre of Jerez. Parking was offered but it was offsite (3mins walk) but no advance warning or information of how to access it. Breakfast was poor (continental with chorizo no cheese/ham) and a cockroach in the bathroom was an unwelcome guest! No way to pay other than cash (broken technology)

    Great location, nice furnishings and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palacio Garvey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding our way to your car park

    Your receptionists were outstandingly helpful, particularly Maria who, when told by a passer-by that there were people in a car looking for your car park, walked out to find us and guide us in. Perhaps you could send a map illustrating the route with the booking confirmation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Could be great....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled of sewage, and they would not accept credit cards (the machine had apparently been broken for several days). This prompted an unnecessary journey to find a cash point.

    Location and conversion of the old building; lots of character and space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Definitely worthwhile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom- although spacious - needs a bit of improvement as the surfaces were old and worn.

    Large rooms, beautiful building,friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with credit card payment which was not the problem specifically of the hotel but it made things more difficult than it needed to be. The hotel staff were very apologetic.

    Nice hotel in a great location, great food and all the staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel that’s starting to show some wear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No excuse for such poor internet in this day and age...especially in a city. Hotel is looking a bit tired. Had to pay in cash because of no electronic access to bank for credit card payments for (at least) the 3 full days of our stay.

    Charming hotel, large room, quiet, good breakfast, onsite parking. Comfortable bed, nice sheets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant staff were very kind and attentive and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the info, the room was not suitable for two friends sharing. One had a large bed and for the other a small fold up bed had been made up and left in the middle of the room, so no headboard. The internet was very patchy. There were no tea or coffee making facilities.

    The restaurant staff were very kind and attentive and the standard of food very high. If you like flashy surroundings, a grand staircase, leather sofas everywhere then it's for you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for Jerez old town and only a 10 min walk to the Andalusian Riding School
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly underwhelmed by dinner in the Michelin listed restaurant - should have been better for the price but the lunchtime menu is amazing value!

    Stunning hotel located right in the old town of Jerez - walking in to the lobby took our breath away! Super helpful staff, elegant rooms and even private parking round the back. Also a wonderfully eclectic mixture of Chinese chic and contemporary art in the public spaces and some lovely bronzes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Two nights in Jerez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a luxury spa bath, but a separate shower would have been good, especially for older guests for accessibility

    Great location, spacious accommodation only 16 rooms, friendly helpful staff especially the receptionist. Car parking on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed with everything about Jerez.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Receptionist made enquiries for us about visiting Sandeman sherry makers and gave directions to get there. Hotel in very good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    A fabulous stay in a fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is table served, which is good, but unless you ask for something extra is pretty basic.

    A fabulous hotel which was in a brilliant location, a beautiful little square. The room was huge and the bathroom was fabulous with a massive roll top bath it was total luxury.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Jerez - the capital of Sherry - we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting a bit dim.

    Grand spacious room, in an old palace, very nicely made-up, with comfortable bed, clean soft linen. Good location close to the old town centre. It was very convenient as we were there for the Carnival in Cadiz. Parking at the back of hotel. Staff very nice, speaking perfect English! was helpful with restaurants recommendation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice at breakfast - okay for a few days but could get boring if you stayed for a longer duration

    The Junior Suite room number 2 had a beautiful balcony view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent grand hotel offering very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept very badly as some sort of air conditioning or plumbing whirred away all night. The breakfast was ok but the poorest of any hotel we have stayed in during the past few weeks.

    Excellent location in the old town. There is an underground car park two minutes away. We paid 5 euros fo overnight parking. The hotel is very grand with extraordinary art work; paintings and sculptures. Our room was well furnished with an enormous and elaborate shower. The historic centre of Jerez is on the doorstep and mostly pedestrianised. There is huge number of bars, cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Met all our expectations, Excellant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little noises on the last morning from the building work taking place next door, but nothing too terrible.

    The friendliness of the staff, Excellant service in restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    good stay at the Palacio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the shower floor near the drain should be fixed (awkward dip) All good otherwise.

    Good pillow service. Bed very comfie. The staircase in the hotel is fantastic, dating back to when it was a grand mansion. Made coming and going feel like an occasion. Fun place, could be spruced up a bit in places but we had a nice stay. Staff helpful. Checkout at noon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A class place, and when you call from your room phone......they answer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service sandwich was horrible

    Heating, huge Junior Suite, old style bath tub but with jacuzzi, public area massive animal paintings, including horses as this is Jerez

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    sometimes we felt we were under a waterfall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sometimes we felt we were under a waterfall! The waterpipes from the room above ours seemed very close and noisy. The breakfast was rather sparse.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    This was my second stay and it was just as good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a shame that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    This was my second stay and it was just as good. The location is fantastic, the staff are friendly, the breakfast is lovely (although limited choices), easy to find and room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, very helpful staff, excellent suggestions:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed the shower, only bathtub was in the bathroom.

    Perfect location, very helpful staff, excellent suggestions: restaurants, flamenco night, visit to sherry houses and the room was more a suit with a huge bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Worth paying extra for the junior suite which has a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there is building work going on next door and a large crane at work right next to the hotel.

    Worth paying extra for the junior suite which has a large private terrace with a fabulous view over Jerez. Hotel is very central, close to the main sights, shops and excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Spacious and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could be more welcoming.

    Felt very spacious and old worldly, but with all modern conveniences. It is close to churches, shopping, restaurants and Bodegas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A restaurant would have been nice for evening meal.

    Breakfast adequate. However, no restaurant service available in the evening , sometimes people just want to eat and have and early night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Large room - Junior Suite - well designed and equipped,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aged windows that did not close very well and since this hotel faces a busy square no sleep until 3 am in the morning, this means a major asset of a hotel is not realized. Would not recommend a street facing room like room 1. Bathroom equipped with bathtub but without shower.

    Large room - Junior Suite - well designed and equipped, although I can't see the reason why this room is China-inspired. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast included in room rate. Perfect location at the edge of the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel. Good staff and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was difficult to find. The bathroom was spacious but had a bath and shower attachment without a curtain or similar.

    The room was very spacious and clean. Ideally situated for restaurants Own parking which is useful. Breakfast was continental but fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could have provided some complimentary water and maybe tea / coffee making facilities.

    Palacio Garvey is a lovely old house with a grand staircase but the decor is up to date. The staff were really helpful, especially Mame who went to a lot of trouble to try and sort out a problem with our booking. We enjoyed aperitifs in the courtyard garden before going out for dinner. The private car park was tucked away at the back of the hotel, quite secure and not too expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    We were recommended to stay here and we would certainly recommend this hotel. It is a lovely hotel a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in our bathroom was a disaster for me. I could not access the shower.The grab rail was on the back wall and not on the main wall. Water went all over the floor when showering and the floor became dangerously sloppy. Such a pity.

    The location is great. We parkwd the car and never moved it for 2 days. Breakfast was excellent as was the server . He was so efficient and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location in the centre of town. The hotel is beautiful, if a little "shabby chic", and has been changed from a mansion to a boutique hotel very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location and efficient staff. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No choice at breakfast but it was satisfactory and served efficiently. The bathroom was large and very clean but only had a hand shower over the bath. The wifi did not work initially but was rapidly fixed by the hotel technician but he could not get the safe to work. The location was very good and the rooms very large and airy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    We recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should mention on their website that there are no elevators to most of the rooms. My wife had great difficulties with the stairs, as she has COPD

    Location was excellent to access all types of activities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Excellent if we return to Jerez I would not hesitate to book Palacio Garvey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing all was delightful

    We stayed in a junior suite and it was spacious, quiet, comfortable and ideal to return to relax in comfort after a days site seeing, walking and people watching over lunch. The balcony was peaceful of an evening to relax on and enjoy a glass of wine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, was reluctant to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To be nitpicking, I found the shower awkward to use, but I would blame the plumber.

    A nice modernised Palacio. The room was very bright and airy with plenty of room to manoeuvre. There was also a nice breakfast room. We had to get a taxi from the RENFE station to the hotel but found a bus around the corner from hotel that stops near to the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent. Much better than anticipated. Would love to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have done with a better handrail getting out of the bath. My friends found the stairs to their room difficult with luggage as lift only goes up One floor and there is no porter.

    Beautifully appointed room and bathroom. Very spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location in Jerez for short stay.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit lame. Apparently the construction site next door is a five star hotel.

    Great location in centre. Lovely historic building (underneath the surface decor). Upgraded ourselves to the top floor suite with terrace which was well worth the little more as the room we were given was dark and boxy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    New take on old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's building going on close by so a bit of noise. More could be made of the garden area.

    Fine location on the edge of the old town. Lovely rooms, interesting decor, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A palatial hotel . Good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was quite small but the bathroom was of equal size and overall this was not an issue .

    The bathroom was palatial. The staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was good . To have on site parking was brilliant. A good location to access the old town and bars :

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the decor could do with a refresh. There is no swimming pool (city centre and historical building so no surprise or disappointment, just saying).

    Great staff. Fabulous breakfast with local specialities. Lovely old building with understated grandeur. Excellent and enormous room (junior suite) overlooking the square with very comfortable bed (firm but not too much) and generous bathroom. Incredibly central location with parking! Jerez is a delightful city and the Hotel Palacio Garvey was the perfect place to stay to make the most of it. Will definitely stay here again next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Jerez Adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This wasn't a factor for us, but senior citizens may have trouble climbing stairs to rooms located on the 2nd floor. Elevator only goes to the 1st floor.

    Loved the ambience and privacy our room provided. Staff was helpful with local attractions and shows, provided a city map and drew routes to places of interest. Service in the lounge was exceptional and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful building furnished with fine furniture and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful building furnished with fine furniture and artworks. All staff very friendly. Breakfasts varied and substantial. Could hardly be located any closer to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The breakfast was an excellent start to the day: Charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room size was adequate, but could have been larger; the fridge was not cold

    The breakfast was an excellent start to the day: Charming waiter service: Decent fresh coffee; fresh fruit and varied menu. The bathroom was very large and cleaned well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great location, super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a good view but was little bit noisy on the street.

    The bed was huge and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful in giving details of local activities and restaurants recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location, beautiful period hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight criticism would be the shower was either scalding or freezing! You need to tinker with it to get it right.

    Very elegant and beautiful building. We had a spacious junior suite with a comfortable big bed. Breakfast was very good for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    4.6
    The hotel was a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, the bedroom we booked a junior suite was very tired. The hairdryer in the bathroom was unsafe (wires hanging from it) We were on the 3rd floor and the lift only went to the 1st.

    The property was conveniently located. However, the bedroom we booked a junior suite was very tired. The hairdryer in the bathroom was unsafe (wires hanging from it) We were on the 3rd floor and the lift only went to the 1st.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    We loved our three night stay at this lovely hotel - highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are a lot of stairs - didn't bother us at all but might be a problem for some.

    Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff. We had a very large room on the top floor with its own terrace, jacuzzi bath. Very quiet and a very comfortable bed. Good meal in the restaurant one evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    A lovely stay in Jerez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very big but I would have liked another shelf for personal things. The bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were rock hard and I would advise people to bring their own where possible!!

    The hotel itself was lovely with interesting artwork and individual touches. Our room was small and quiet, but we saw that there were much larger rooms next to ours. The receptionists were very friendly and charming and the breakfast, which was included, was served to us and perfectly adequate. The hotel is situated in a narrow road and we found it rather difficult to park outside to unload, but the car parking at the back was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Will certainly use this hotel again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything, but the pillows could have been a bit softer!!!!

    Excellent situation for tourist. The staff were very helpful and friendly. An enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Palatial Palacio Garvey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything.

    This hotel is centrally located, directly opposite a great little plaza with bars and tapas places. It is also conveniently located for the sherry bodagas, as well as the interesting streets with shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is quite stately with lots of lounge areas, an imposing staircase, great rooms, inventive decor and excellent service from the staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    The perfect location for visiting Jerez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The old casino next door is being redeveloped as a hotel. However, work didn't start until after 8.30 am and generally finished by 4 pm. Overall it didn't bother us.

    There isn't a better located hotel in Jerez: everything you might wish to visit is within 15 minutes easy walking. The reception staff are wonderful - cheerful, extra-helpful and knowledgeable. The room and bed were especially comfortable, so we slept like logs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Centrally located boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner as floor was a bit gritty. Building and interior needs a bit of a "lift". Garden area at rear of building is scruffy and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

    Very comfortable bed, would like to take it home! Breakfast was excellent. The aesthetics are interesting. Some friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was corrently found with GPS but we did not see hotel at first. One needs to park outside the hotel and ask where the parking is. Parking was good though.

    The hotel deserves its high rating, it has excellent facitities and its location is great for visiting shops, sherry bodegas and equestrian centre. Excellent value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Jr Suite has no elevator for the last bit so if you are handicapped I would avoid it. If you have no mobility problems it is just fine. If arriving by car there is little room to stop on the street while getting directions to the garage. Definitely pay for hotel parking !

    The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to most venues. Staff was friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    A grand and elegant city centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying €12 for parking adds to the overall cost.

    The building was grand and elegant. Food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. A good location. It was comfortable. The availability of parking. It was quiet at night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bright bedside lamp would have been good as really there was insufficient light for reading whilst in bed.

    Loved the mix of old and new, the art and decor, wonderful marble and wrought iron staircase. The staff were most obliging, knowledgeable and friendly. An excellent location within the old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Staff were very helpful and lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was s bit blocked so it wasn't as effective as we would have liked.

    The restaurant staff made every effort to ensure safe gluten free food was available for me. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the first evening and the breakfast was a great mixture of fruit, yoghurt, cake, bread, cheese and cold meat. As a coeliac sufferer I felt reassured and well looked after.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous & quirky design in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous & quirky design in a wonderful location. The suite was huge with lots of natural light. We only stayed for one night, but there was plenty of storage space and room to unpack for travelers wishing to stay longer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic spacious hotel in historic old centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only high fat yogurt.

    The cook was ready to make an omelet and a fantastic capuccino. He even toasted our bread. The bread was fresh and many varieties were offered.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful place to stay in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would rather have a buffet breakfast rather than be served up my breakfast. It wasn't that clear that you could order eggs etc but the orange juice was delicious and the scrambled eggs when I ordered them were very nice

    The memory foam pillows were great and I thought the art work and decorations were really fun and made the hotel more interesting. The black out curtains made it very easy to sleep and our room (No 6) was very peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Great value four star hotel in super location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather in Jerez was unusually chilly and consequently our room was not sufficiently heated to combat cold weather. Also not enough light in the bedroom-only two small lamps, one of which was not working properly. Leaflet in room confirmed satellite channels on TV but we were unable to locate them. Hot water for shower intermittant but probably due to unusual cold snap.

    Great location-easy access for town centre and highlights. Helpful staff. Nice big Queen sized bed and plenty of good hangers and hanging space.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice place in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little awkward being in the middle of the bath and the room seemed a little aged. That said it was perfectly pleasant and very clean.

    Very soft yet comfy bed and the room had a small jacuzzi bath. Location good with easy walking to some nice bars and tourist sites. Random Star Wars music during breakfast too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely outside to the building, frankly weird inside - this beautiful building spoiled by a no doubt expensive but violent refurbishment (1970's??). Dull and uninspired breakfast.

    Good location. lovely view from its floor bedroom. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent choice for visiting Jerez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is unconfortable. The restaurant has excellent food and a very kind staff; decoration and atmosphere, however, are not at the same level, which is a pity.

    Very friendly staff. The two ladies at reception were extremely helpful. Same for staff at restaurante. Excellent location of the hotel, in downtown. The room was big and confortable. The hotel is an old and elegant building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    I couldn't been happier with my stance at Garvey
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkout in other hotels is usually at 1 pm. Garvey's is at 12 pm.

    I slept like a baby in that bed, the location of the hotel couldn't been more perfect, every detail in the hotel was carefully taken care of.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    Overall excellent hotel with minor drawbacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Longish walk to train & bus stations. Served breakfast adequate, just.

    Staff went the extra mile with information. Quiet, elegant hotel. Convenient for most things.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    6.3
    Just adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms, particularly bathroom, rather tired. In one of our rooms the loo didn't flush and there were two broken lightbulbs. The other room's thermostat was non-functional. One of the receptionists was absolutely fine, the other one seemed to think the maintenance man who said the loo was working was to be believed over the guests who said it wasn't. There are probably better choices in Jerez.

    Good looking building, decent breakfast with cheery professional waiter.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Elegant old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PLUMBING is either old or faulty.Very noisy early in morning. We stayed in room 6. Sound of running or draining water went on for several minutes...VERY irritating!!

    breakfast was included in price which i hadn't expected. Adequate for our needs. Decided to have dinner in Hotel.Waiter was excellent ,helpful and not intrusive. Location of hotel was central and easy walking distance to places of interest.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Hotel Palacio Garvey is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast, little more Iberico ham with tomato fruit instead of sauce. Only small shared melon salad, prefer fresh mixed salad bigger portion.

    Welcoming helpful happy staff. Lovely spacious hotel and rooms. Bedroom spacious overlooking ivy wall, quiet. Bathroom white tiled, spacious and clean. Service at breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Good reception, good location, good parking opportunities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (number 8) was very dark, only windows to a wall. But vety quiet if this is what you are searching for.

    Good reception, good location, good parking opportunities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    A welcome oasis after a long day travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Of course a buffet breakfast is better but no big deal really.

    Loved the huge comfortable bed and the bathroom which was at the end of a mini corridor which meant you din't disturb your partner. And of course the bath was welcome after a long travelling day. The receptionist was extremely helpful about tours etc and the breakfast a bonus.Position was excellent and loved the art work in the foyer, especially the dog!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: