Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sicania 3 stars

Avenida Joanot Martorell, 16, 46400 Cullera, Spain

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location - especially if room is beach side - large hotel - very relaxed - great for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was adequate but not very exciting - good local ingredients but a mass canteen approach to cooking - which is a shame because with a bit more forethought much more could be achieved with very little extra cost.

    This was an older style hotel that was built a number of years ago - we remember it from when we were last in the area over ten years ago when there was fewer hotels. It is essentially a three star hotel with a wonderful beach location - especially if you have a sea facing room. Rooms are a bit basic in facilities but adequate and all is kept scrupulously clean by an enthusiastic group of staff - it is relaxed and easy going and all staff really helpful. The restaurant attached to the hotel facing the beach was great - doing really nice local Spanish food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Classic beach hotel with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable beds and excellent views in a well kept small hotel on a lovely beach. Plenty of nearby restaurants and a supermarket close by. Watersports available from the hotel. Decent well kept pool. Good bus service to town and station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    The Sicania Hotel is a perfect location in Cullera. But ovre priced and out dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the rooms have been updated a bit, (a lick paint, some white furniture, boring pictures on the wall, but on the plus side” a better and more comfortable bed) Still a bit out of date and in need of the Bathrooms updating for the price you have to pay, We have stayed here 3 times before and the breakfast staff seemed a bit over worked and NOT so happy this time?? (Grumpy) The sunbed area on the beach needs more room between the sunbeds and all the deck chairs need replacing. And paying for parking on the hotel car park (NO WAY) the barrier to stop outsiders from parking! Yes a good idea*****. Paying to park, another 70€ a week (NO WAY) We stay in Cullera to see our Family, but it could be our last stay at the Sicania Hotel. In comparison we found a far better hotel in Mojácar (on the 2nd week of our holiday) still on the beach, still with 3 stars rating, but far better in every way, and 300€ a week cheaper and free parking.

    The Sicania Hotel is a perfect location in Cullera, Straight onto the beach with lovely views, very good for swimming in the sea. Lovely and well-presented Buffet Breakfast. A lovely place to stay! BUT.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel doesn't do it justice.

    The location was superb with impressive sea views. There are also lots of quiet seating areas, including plenty of outside terraces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Summer Beach Hotel Where Guests Can Feel At Home, No Corporate Sterility Here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find something negative to say. In fact, on balance, there wasn't anything I could reasonably criticise. Might be worth noting that we have lived in Spain for 15 years and do speak Castilian, although our Valenciana is not up to much; I never witnessed exchanges in English, this is not Benidorm territory. The traveller here is definitely in modern 'Spain'.

    This is a summer holiday, beach hotel staffed by round-the-clock-cheerful, courteous people everywhere, even on what was the Last Weekend of Spanish Summer! Our room was simple, very clean & comfortable - this hotel is not selling 'in-room luxury', it is all about keeping beach loving holidaymakers relaxed and happy. The bathroom works, the beds are comfortable and ample wardrobes are easily accessed. The three floors are reached by lifts and corridors are wide and airy, There are several communal spaces and cosy corners to relax with a book or tablet, or a drink & a chat in the cool when the temperatures rise outside. We went for a weekend change of scene and we got it. The establishment can be justly proud of the ambience created, we came home refreshed. We shall go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    well, the hotel staff didn't explain all the facilities,...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    well, the hotel staff didn't explain all the facilities, we have to enquire about how to go down to the beach, how to book an area in the beach... The car park is not free.... 10€ per day - didn;t use it as it was too expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent beach front location with free parking and restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, although the breakfast is lacking in choice.

    We have used this hotel several times for an overnight stop. The rooms have been refurbished recently which has made a huge difference. The location right on the beach is excellent. There are several restaurants within walking distance along the pedestrianised beach front.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel - a small prefect gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful gem of a hotel, we stayed when it was quiet out of school holiday time in May and it was such a calm oasis, the beach was empty except for a handful of people. Quietly friendly staff where nothing is to much trouble and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The only addition I would have liked would be sun loungers and parasols on the beach, though maybe difficult as its a public beach and you'd have to have staff marshalling the beds so understand - it didn't stop me having a lovely time & you can sit on the terrace under a parasol.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Nice location but .......,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no refrigerator which is vital for a diabetic like me who needs to store insulin in a fridge. The breakfast is extremely overpriced at € 9.80 for what is being offered. I had breakfast in Cullera town for half the price and better quality. The hotel needs renovation, everything is extremely old and therefore you are only paying money for the location nothing really else is of value.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Great location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    It was cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, salty checkin staff, sheets had holes in them

    It was cheap

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was quite poor altough it was not so cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite poor altough it was not so cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Estar practicamente encima de la playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Estar practicamente encima de la playa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed v much location Vieed from balcony and sound of the sea. Would visit again. Just for that
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited. Evening meal menu limited. No fridge

    Location and views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel on the Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room would be good so you can get a drink before restaurant opens

    Amazing hotel on the beach typically Spanish but we loved that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Fresh orange juice if you ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh orange juice if you ask. Nice beach café. Midnight welcome. Shaded car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Direct on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you got. Expected better.

    Direct on the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    It was not that terrible but I wouldn´t go back there again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in the room had hair in it.

    Location was good, staff was okay...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, little bit old fashioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge on room, and automat for cold drinks out of order.

    Nice breakfast and close to beach, nice surroundings. Good value for money, spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    We thought the hotel staff were very professional and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening buffet choice was a disappointment not helped by the arrival of several coaches of people who appeared to be very hungry.

    We thought the hotel staff were very professional and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.1
    Perfect Location straight onto the beach and good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of date, In need of updating, The sunbed area on the beach, needs more room between the sunbeds

    Perfect Location straight onto the beach and good for swimming in the sea. A lovely place to stay. pleasant Staff. Lovely well presented Breakfast. We would defiantly recommend to anybody, Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    6.7
    This is the 3rd time we have stayed here on an overnight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is a bit tired and seemed overpriced this time, but it was peak season. Breakfast is expensive.

    This is the 3rd time we have stayed here on an overnight stop travelling south. Free wifi now throughout the hotel is a bonus as is the free parking. Lovely quiet location on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff, and above all I saw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every was as I remembered it so I have nothing negative to say.

    Great location, very friendly staff, and above all I saw members of the staff who were there thirty years ago when I stayed at the Sicania Hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.2
    Las vistas al mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Las vistas al mar

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    6.7
    Location close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pure breakfast, tired , no hairdryer in the room

    Location close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Second stay at this hotel and it is PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING

    Second stay at this hotel and it is PERFECT

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    Hotel was quiet and we had a large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A large resort family hotel - if that is what you like its fine.

    Hotel was quiet and we had a large room. Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    Staff were pleasant but the hotel location is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tired decor, lack of atmosphere and disinterested bar man

    Staff were pleasant but the hotel location is stunning.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: