Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tugasa Hotel Sierra y Cal 2 stars

Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, 2, 11690 Olvera, Spain

#5 of 9 hotels in Olvera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed uncomfortable and the rooms were quite noisy at times.

    Reasonably priced hotel, clean and a great meeting point in town. Some of the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt like I was staying in the real Spain and wasn't ripped off like most tourist places, prices were very fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi is not available in rooms, this NEEDS SORTING URGENTLY! Bedding is very 'Spanish' (ie shared long tubular pillow, sheets & blankets) for international visitors quilts and individual pillows will be more popular (especially with us). Hotel does not have car parking and public spaces outside are limited, especially at weekends.

    Great pool. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included breakfast was coffee and a toasted bun with jam or meat paste. Not really what I expected. Difficult to find initially. Fiesta day meant no food available at all. Only Spanish TV.

    Nice traditional interior, staff were polite and attentive. My room was twin bed with a bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One waiter was a bit rude. The receptionist was not particularly helpful.

    The place was great value for money. Location is stellar. Rooms are clean and aesthetically pleasing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative is the car parking. It has become more difficult to park near the hotel although unlike the UK you can always find a spot in one of the side streets without restrictions.

    I've been using this hotel for over 12 years now and enjoy it very much. The staff are extremely efficient, courteous and friendly and only too keen to assist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi is poor

    The staff were excellent and the pool area is clean, relaxing and very nice. The manager let us keep our bags in our room after check out which was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Although it would be nice to have a small refrigerator in the room to keep bottled water in as Olvera is very hot!!

    The hotel is very good for the price. Room was a good size with end suite. Very clean. Staff were happy to give me hot water to make a cup of tea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good!

    very good ambience at this hotel, excellent service at the reception, we were there in April and each evening admired the view to the west from our small terrace. The Semaine Santa was being celebrated at the time (although we did not plan our break to be there during this special week) and it was magnificent. Found a great 'local' tapas bar/restaurant Taberna Juanito Gomez 10/15mins walk away

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathrooms had little room to put our toiletries.

    the beds were a bit hard for us, however the staff was extremely serviceable and went out of their way to fulfill our requests.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold floors in the bedroom need carpets at the side of the beds. No extra pillows provided, only one flat pillow in the room.

    Friendly staff, quiet location, restaurant very good value for evening meal. Breakfast OK

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price/quality ratio was very good. It was the only hotel on my 10-day Andalucía trip that had a proper heating so the room was very warm. Nice staff. Wifi worked well all the time. Food in the restaurant was delicious and good price. The location is good and you can see a beautiful view of Olvera from the window of the 1st floor corridor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows could have been more comfortable, quite a hard mattress and a very basic breakfast of toast fresh orange tea or coffee. It would have been nice to have cereals and fruit as an alternative.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was comfortable and clean with a good bed and a great bath. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant the two nights we stayed. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The position of the hotel was excellent as it was in walking distance to the bus stop and the bike trail.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was non existent in bedrooms which was difficult for us wanting to stay in touch with teenage children at home.

    Generally a good experience. Most staff were helpful. Beds were comfortable. We enjoyed out local style breakfast every day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is rather OK. No fresh orange juice, or fresh tomato for the toast.

    Hotel is situated in the center of the village within easy walking distance to the places of interest and many bars and restaurants. Its clean and comfortable. Majority of the rooms have a balcony. The pool aria is pleasant, although we had no time to use it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not speak English, not their fault but I don't speak Spanish so check in took awhile, the one seemed miffed due to communication problems.

    We got the suite for $20 more, well worth it, had a separate living room, big balcony, view of the castle, double sinks, jetted tub, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    I love this hotel we have stayed here several times and always look forward to going back. It's authentically Spanish and beautifully kept. Food is good, staff are very friendly. Rooms are basic but spotless and the hotel has a lovely charm to it. The hotel also has a lovely pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had wobbly legs and moved a lot. Breakfast was adequate but only choice was a toasted bun with jams and pate

    The room view was great. The pool was lovely. Spotlessly clean hotel. Was in the centre of everything, shops, bars, restaurants and bus station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was good. I had a non-stop bleeding spot. The staff did their best for me. It is in the middle of a village with an impressive view of the castle/cathedral

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Negatives

    I love this place great staff, great food, great price and in the heart of the beautiful town - lovely pool and the place is spotless. I stay here any time I'm visiting Olvera and love the welcome I get everytime.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather limited and served in the bar area with the television as a focal point. A small buffet with the availibitity of more than one cup of tea or coffee woukd be an advantage.

    Clean, good location in Olvera, near to many bars and restaurants.Pleasant pool and seating area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of reception staff, the price of the meals and breakfast. The fact that we ordered a double bed but got two singles.

    The cleanliness if the hotel, the swimming pool and the bar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double bed, but was given two twin beds. We was only staying one night so it wasn't that much of a big deal.

    For the reason we was staying in Olvera, was a fine hotel. Clean and nice location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    breakfast was basic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor WIFI availabily

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional Spanish hotel. Suite good size overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen

    Pleasant staff good bar tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff very friendly and helpful room very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was happy about everything

    Quietness, location, staff, food at the hotel restaurant, heating, general charm of the hotel...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort

    Location, parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult.Staff found it difficult to communicate

    Easy access in and out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet.

    Location. Authenticity. Food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi big issue expected conference call did not happen from the hotel

    Location easy to travel other destinations Booked extra night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious hotel, nicely decorated, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic.

    Hotel had a pleasant restaurant. Our room was great for family of four as had interconnecting door. 24 hour reception

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Real spanish atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds not very comfortable. Room a bit spartan. Water from shower spilled into main room

    Location. Late check-in. Bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    total packet personnel plaaats

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of sunbeds around pool were broken and needed to be replaced

    Very friendly reception staff who were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing view of the church and castle from our corner room. The restaurant is very good and the lovely swimming pool is a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Everything was fabulous except Internet wifi which did not work

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff. Quiet and clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    True authentic Spanish hotel Amazing food with typical Spanish flavours

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    My room was a little chilly (extra blankets on hand) and the bed a tad too hard for my liking. I would have preferred the requested double bed over the smallish single one I got.

    Staff were helpful and polite.The restaurant is worth visiting. Good bathroom facilities. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very noisy room on ground floor to hear bathroom noises from other guests, due to roadworks no parking close to hotel was available.

    Breakfast was nice, personnel was great and location is convenient.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They still had the road up outside hotel. Once we moved from space on side road, we had to find a spot in centre of town. Very inconvenient for loading luggage.

    Friendly staff, generally tried hard to please. Room nice although fittings a bit tired. Very good value simple breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It was cold in the bedroom despite it being 22° outside

    Helpful staff but you need to be able to speak some Spanish I heard some residents struggling to converse

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not get WiFi the whole time we were there despite there being a router outside the door. Maybe it was an issue on my machine as the hotel staff did seem to have a connection although they may have been using cables.

    The overall presentation of the hotel was really spot on... rustic but still modern. The staff were faultless, and the food in the restaurant was good. The suite we stayed in was an upgrade and well worth it. Parking was in the street outside. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unhelpful staff. When we arrived the entire street around the hotel was dug up and it was difficult to reach the hotel with luggage. There was absolutely no parking in the area. When I asked the receptionist if he could advise me about anywhere local to park he just shrugged his shoulders and was no help. The WIFI works only in public areas. We booked for 2 nights but left after the first

    Clean comfortable rooms in a good location. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit difficult to find. Also I hadn't realised that the Tugasa chain of hotels, of which this is one, runs a discount/ loyalty scheme- if I had booked directly through them (Tugasa web site) and got the loyalty card I could have saved myself some money .

    Friendly staff and our bicycles were safely stored inside the building with no hassle.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel and room were clean and well presented. The hotel was near to many bars and other facilities. My bike was securely stored. Breakfast was simple but nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Sierra y Cal turned out to be a surprising nice hotel, located centrally in the small town. The rooms and public areas were spacious, staff were friendly and welcoming, food was good, and the air-conditioning welcome as the external temperature was over 40C. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool was unable on the day we wanted to use it.

    Friendliness of Staff. Rooms modest but good Air Conditioning. Pool And Bar area very good for relaxation. The Food in the Restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plumbing a bit noisy in the morning.

    Beautifully kept and very well run hotel in a quiet street a few minutes walk from Overa town centre. Clean and spacious rooms and public areas. Very good swimming pool. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really a dislike but a sign on the main road would have helped me to find the hotel. The road giving access to the hotel was closed and my satnav sent me round in circles a few times. The man at the petrol station showed me the way. It was right next to the petrol station !!! But I had to take the one way street the wrong way to get there.

    In a good location but outside the old part of Olvera. Didn't try the restaurant; looked a bit expensive for my budget. Other restaurants and a fabulous tapas bar were round the corner. The hotel's public areas and room were modern and bright. Wi-fi was a bit "iffy". Lovely man on reception and bar. Excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water for the entire evening due to repairs but receptionist did not inform us upon arrival. No heating in the room (very cold) . When staff informed they claimed it was a known problem and did nothing. Wifi did not connect despite having the correct passcode.

    Clean room and common spaces. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    My room was cold with heating not working, ok in the night when I prefer a cool room but hard after my morning shower. I will stay again and take a kettle for a cup of tea.

    The hotel was very nice, the breakfast good and served by very pleasant staff. Olvera is a lovely town to visit, off the beaten track, but all you need close by. The hotel restaurant was first class and good value.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not so great, only toast,juice and coffee...maybe consider adding an egg and some fruit or yogurt. Some weird tv like noise in the night that required ear plugs?

    Great location..nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking wasn't ideal

    Great hotel and an ideal location.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no dedicated parking, parking is on the street

    Very good for price paid.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking could be a problem

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Works all around the hotel. Unfriendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything, very charming place

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and beautiful view of the city, close to the old town. Rather unconventional setup, which I liked.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were perfectly happy with this rated accommodation

    The hotel was exactly what we expected. Lovely room, clean, comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable with friendly staff, very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a problem because of street construction.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of hotel, not easy to find or to get parking for car.

    The old part of the town very pretty.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi only near reception.

    Good restaurant, helpful staff, nice view of the historic city from the balcony, easy parking.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tugasa Hotel Sierra y Cal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: