Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silken Río Santander 4 stars

Avenida Reina Victoria, 153, 39005 Santander, Spain

#20 of 28 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2867 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Laundry service was not as fast as they told me. Took more than 24 hours.

    Some rooms in the 6 floor have amazing views to the beach. Free WIFI is super fast. Room service is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Great for a weekend by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired. Breakfast was lovely, but breakfast room was so hot, no air conditioning

    The sea view from the room was fabulous, location to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel has an excellent location and is nice but not wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor air conditioning. Shower without a door/ curtain that flooded the bathroom. Condensing fridge.

    Beautiful view, excellent location. Large room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed our stay here, the view was wonderful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed our stay here, the view was wonderful, the hotel was nice, the bed was comfortable, the area was nice and I was pleased once I figured out the glass was not two-way!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Simply beautiful place and property to stay with amazing views and near by attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a challenge but there are street parking around the arterial streets if you drive around!

    Amazing location and property close to the beach and parks and attractions! Amazing for strollers and joggers!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel outside city we had a car got parking free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar

    Perfect hotel outside city we had a car got parking free just 2 mins from hotel but got the bus into city every day so we were able to have a drink bus was only €1.30 every 10 mins. Hotel spotless and beach just across the street so went for a swim every day. Definitely if you are booking pay extra for sea view as the rooms are amazing and you have totally fantastic view. Lovely rooms good mini bar spotless clean and friendly staff.we didn’t eat at hotel and only had 1 drink in the bar but there are fabulous bars and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    This hotel was in a prime location, 50 yards from a beautiful beach and restaurants, the hotel was the cleanest I have stayed in for years and the sea view from the bed was excellent. I can also recommend the breakfast , well worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay on beachfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar /cafeteria is totally lacking atmosphere, and limited drinks choice.

    Excellent location just across street from beach, casino and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good modern hotel, which undersells itself. Immaculately clean and a fantastic location across the street from the beach and close to bars and restaurants. Beautiful beach walk into the city. Stunning views. Santander is a little gem. English is not widely spoken or understood by waiters and bar staff so you will have to attempt to speak some Spanish - as we should - this is NOT Benidorm! Loved this hotel, location and Santander and will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    OK for one night - but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that no evening meals were being served. Hotel overpriced.

    Hotel location was good - just a short bus ride into the town, however secure parking is 200 metres from the hotel Breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Won’t go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room Max. 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff lovely, check out in morning staff off hand.

    Hard bed, no tea or coffee in room. Not my idea of 4 stars. Pictures looked better than it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Had a wonderful relaxing holiday, Santander only a 10 minute bus trip with very regular service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the staff at reception were excellent and very friendly, the area was very dull and parts needed upgrading.

    Didn't have a crossiant, but Bread selection was great. The Tea Machine was not good, slow and not hot enough. Bed and bedroom very good and view of sea was great and closeness to beach super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Completely satisfying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault the hotel & staff but there's no on-sight parking, although there is ample roadside parking outside & close-by the hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the beach & road & walkway. Road noise was completely eliminated with the window / door closed. Good overnight position, close to bar's & cafe's & not too far from the port by car, if taking the ferry back to the UK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    We were only passing through on this occasion. Would be happy to seek out other Silken branded hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absence of a proper dining experience, 'though it has to be said that the meal taken was fine.

    The restaurant wasn't open on the occasion of our visit, notwithstanding that tables were laid etc. We had a meal in the bar, which was fine, possibly even the restaurant menu. We forgot an expensive item when leaving. Management located it for us and held on to it until we could reurn a few days later.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfuly comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, rooms on 6th floor where we stayed have only sunroofs, so you have absolutely no view. But otherwise, good value for a good price.

    Wonderfuly comfortable bed. Nice room, nice bathroom. The location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for an overnight stay before continuing on our journey home to Sax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly a sea-view room in the hotel would have been more pleasant, than looking out over a car park at the back of the hotel

    As we were only staying one night from the overnight ferry, and as we live in Sax, near Alicante, it is very convenient. We have stayed in the hotel before and found it very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice old hotel and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators to the upper floor rooms not comfortable Breakfast service could be better, more staff and better selections

    Very nice old hotel and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Good for some nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a older 4 start hotel. I think they have to invest again to be considered a 4 star hotel

    The location and the hospitality was very good. The breakfast is standard but complete.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Not very relaxing when the room is so hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have been newly painted so dust/chalk still settling on frames and in the air The rooms were so hot and due to safety with my child we could not sleep with the window open, I informed reception but nothing was done Cracked floor tile in bathroom was dangerous and cracked mirror in wardrobe

    I have stayed here previously which I why I returned, location to sea is lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay, very close to the beach...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in my room was dirty and destroyed. No options to make some coffee or tea in the room.

    Amazing view from the room, I had a room on top floor, the ocean just across the road, big and comfortable bed. Hotel was very clean, staff friendly, breakfast was good, very tasty coffee. Bus stop near the hotel with ease acses to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend the hotel and come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor with little choice. Also the breakfast room was souless and not warm

    We would certainly come back , the view was magical . The room and bed was very comfortable . The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great location, a little pricey for the facilties available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities not over rated

    Continental style Breakfast ok but limited choice, tv channels very poor only Spanish speaking programmes not good for international travellers who do not understand spanish

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    location was brilliant - just beside the beach and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room Max. 2 Adults
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't really venture to the bar in the hotel - the furniture was a bit sterile and unwelcoming

    location was brilliant - just beside the beach and some great cheap restaurants serving tapas nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant because it is a lovely area but disappointed with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and in need of a coat of paint. The air conditioner wasn't working properly. We did ask for it to be check but nobody got back to us to tell us what the problem was or offer a solution. I had to wedge a hairbrush in the window to keep it open.

    The staff were mostly very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, amazing rooms, staff was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work properly. I ordered room service with steak medium and when it came it was not cooked at all (pure red). I called again and they took the plate away and gave it back (same steak) and only the ends were heated correctly as when I continued cutting deeper into the steak it was the same as before.

    Balcony was amazing, beds were so comfortable! Bathroom was large as well as the rooms and everything was clean. The staff at the desk and the cleaning staff were superb and helped whenever it was needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Unfriendly staff but WONDERFUL location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff never smiled and they seemed to be bothered by the guests...all the guests, all the time. It did not make people feel good.

    Loved the location! Beach directly across the street with restaurants that have enormous windows for watching the water!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic view of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single beds instead of a twin or double bed (often the case in Spain). Not the newest facilities, but easily good enough.

    Fantastic view at El Sardinero beach. Listening to the roar of the Atlantic waves in your room is quite an amazing experience. Friendly reception at check-in. No parking at the hotel, but lots of spaces just around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, great value for money and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel locations is fantastic, right in the beach in the nice part of Santander. The room was fantastic with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were a pleasure to deal with and in particular the gentleman working in the cafe who was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is fine if you are just going to the beach or have a car but stay closer to center town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are nothing to write home about but are fine.

    Be careful, this hotel is located on the OTHER side of Santander so it's a bit of a walk / trek to the main town. If the weather is beautiful, then great, otherwise you are a bit far from restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location across from sea front. Great transport choices, 6 bus lines & a great taxi rank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To my surprise, I had not booked the last night there, as I had planned to. For English speaking people, you should be vigilant when you see a booking for instance in Ireland, they say "22nd included" or in the US they say "thru the 22nd" anyhow in Spain when you see the last date on your reservation it is the departure date... Other than that, the food at the breakfast buffet was always good, however for someone who stays there for six days the choices always stay the same.

    As I was travelling on my own, I stayed in a "full size" bedded room. This was perfect for one person. My room was situated at the back of the hotel, so very quiet. The room was very well insulated, between floors & between rooms. The only noise to be heard was out in the hall. The food served for breakfast was always fresh and the coffee machine made wonderful espressos!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think overal the price of hotels in Santander is too expensive so although the hotel was nice and I had a good time, it didn't represent great value for money.

    I liked the proximity to the beach and the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant at the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    We liked Santander and the hotel's location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of IInformation about extra cost and availability of rooms with see views at the time of booking. Found out on arrival that our room had no sea view despite requesting it. The receptionist at the time said " requesting does not mean booking" and " sea view is not included in the price!" Eventually we moved rooms (last two nights) and had to pay extra, despite the poor estate of the bathroom; not up to standard.....Cracked basin and too much mould between tiles in the bath/shower area.....We did mention this to the staff.

    Had a great meal at the restaurant and liked the mini breakfast selection at the underground cafe. Most staff where helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Dated hotel - definitely not four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a four star hotel. It is very dated. Parking was a nightmare - rented spaces underground at an apartment building nearby. It was dark and dank. We were told we got the best room in the hotel with the dome bedroom. Please.... It was sweltering because windows don't open and AC unit is outdated.

    Not a lot, the only thing I can say is if you like being right in the heart of the crowded beach action, this hotel may be for you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was brilliant

    shower tiles were all marked not the stander of other silken hotel food left in mini bar and not cleaned every thing else was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    goodwifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff just business like. I think a smile when checking in doesn't cost a cent. pity was attic room with two skylights, the rain spoiled the window sill. think the price of 79,20 is too high for this room individual use ex. breakfast

    goodwifi. good place to store bicycle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Slightly Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on arrival washbasin in the en-suite bathroom had not been cleaned satisfactorily, but the Concierge rectified this within 10 mins of reporting the issue. Internet Is provided by Kubi. It proved difficult to connect to and really not the standard one would expect at a 4-star hotel The soundproofing between floors and rooms on same floor was poor, and sleep was disturbed by guests moving about and talking at unsocial hours

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Great view of the beach from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view of the beach from the room. Nice area of town - excellent bars and restaurants nearby. Somewhat distance from the casco antiguo, but not a bad walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This accommodation certainly does not match four stars. This is an presumption which may be designated as a wishful thought. An imposition is the bathroom (see photos) the mold in the area of ​​the bathtub is omnipresent, the enamel layer at the drain is peeled off and rust is visible. Afterwards it would have been wise to bring along mildew spray ... The ventilation grilles are also rusty and in the room of my mother-in-law must probably have a fire took place, the traces are still clearly obvious. The friendliness at the front desk can be described as distant. Without wanting to go into too much detail, one thing is worth mentioning: the inability of the desklady to say goodbye when we checked out. We have the impression that the non-Spanish speaking guests are given just as much attention as is needed, which is perhaps only to speak at the inhibition threshold English. I do not want to generalize the employees at the desk, but the average impression is as described. My conclusion: A solid average hotel, with a significant improvement potential, especially the staff at the reception should give the guests more interest.

    The location itself is excellent and the view from the room on the Atlantic Ocean gorgeous. The beds are comfortable (the head pillows not so much, a little hard), the windows well insulated, so that restful and undisturbed sleep is guaranteed. Also positive was the room cleaning, which gave no reason to complain. Wi-fi works perfectly, even a bit outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower and no tea/coffee making facilities, the latter particularly as breakfast is not included.

    The floor to ceiling windows were spectacular, overlooking the magnificent beach. The room was very comfortable and we had safe parking on the street outside the hotel. The location is 'smart' and semi-residential. The hotel is across the road from very good beach bars/restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location beautiful corner room with ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and unaccomadating. Parking on street hard to find when busy.

    Location was excellent. Room was great with ocean view. Town was great and so was food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location, great beaches, disappointed in the hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a double bed however I did not get a double bed. The reception told me on arrival that I didn't pay the rate to get a sea view room however this was not stipulated on the booking site and I found this very disappointing. We were situated on the 4th floor with a view of a concrete carpark, not very romantic.we had no tea making facilities in the room and Our room was beside the maids laundry room. We had a laundry cart permanently outside our room which we often had to move to get to access and exit. The maid was very noisy setting up at 830am every morning and throughout the day(different times) and often during siesta. This ruined our trip from a hotel viewpoint.

    Room was comfortable,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not quite four star rooms in terms of comfort and cleanliness. Somewhat far from the downtown area so not really a short notice dinner option to go there other than by taxi/car.

    Good breakfast, great views and beaches right outside the hotel. Great running options. Very nice terrace/beach bar across the street for evening drinks. A group of restaurants next door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Stunning sea-side view in Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does not cater to vegetarians. Some staff on duty were not attentive to our waiting for service in the cafe area.

    The view was amazing! Breakfast was made special by the staff on duty who asked the chef to prepare a late breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and clean hotel in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear people in the other rooms as noise isolation is not so well (but noise isolation from outside is perfect)

    Perfect location in front of the beach and next to the Magdalena palace and park. 20-30 minutes walking to the city center through a nice residencial area, or many buses are next to the hotel to bring you to the city center within 10 minutes. I definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Service needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every hotel should have a thermometer. My boyfriend got sick and I called reception to ask as I needed thermometer and lady at the reception recommended me to go to the pharmacy near by which was closed. At least you check that before tell a guest, very disappointed.Althoug i went to the bar to have a drink and felt very unwelcome, people going on vacation don't like miserable faces because they want to finish soon their shift please the lady at the bar needs to learn that.During the night we woke up twice because people coming doing a lot of noise we could hear every shout threw the walls I needed to call reception asking for some silence as we couldn't sleep.

    Was very clean ,love location and viewing to the sea amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression was not good. The receptionist (grey haired gentleman with a beard) was unwelcoming and curt. I thought he was very curt verging on rude with other clients. Other members of staff were both friendly and polite. The restaurant was not open for evening meals (even on Saturday night) although the menu was clearly displayed. We took breakfast in the hotel cafe but had to shout behind the bar for service.

    The croissants were superb. The bed was comfortable. The location superb for the beaches and, with an excellent bus service, no problem to get to the shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Not worth a four-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were horrible, way too big, and there were no thinner ones available in the room. Also, it was very hot in the room and we couldnt lower the temperature even tho we tried to (we could have opened the window..). Thus, I slept very bad and my neck hurt a lot next Morning. Hotel also needs some serious renovation; tiles of the bathroom were cracking and the style was old but bad way. Laos the entrance did not look inviting and the watiresses and waiters seemed very low educated. For example, we were asked to order the dessert (very expensive by the way) and when we suggested to look at the menu after finishing the main dish the waitress asked "Oh, why?". No manners what so ever. And it took forever to get served...

    Nice location next to the beaches. Good selection of foods for celiacs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Avarage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room when i wake up was full of ant, after to tell to reception i got an small apologise and they move my room... i was expecting something more... as the amount i pay for only two days was very high.

    The staff was very nice, super location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location by the seaside.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure and water temperature control in shower. To check if parking space is limited in Summer, not sure about that

    Perfect location by the seaside. Restaurant is popular with locals, daily menu. No carpets. Sound-proof.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.8
    The best location, very kind staff, beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room Max. 2 Adults
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can hear everything what's going on behind the walls of your room - what people say, do, the TV... everything. Which can be irritating while trying to sleep.

    The best location, very kind staff, beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    3.1
    Dirty Bathrooms, poor disabled/pram access
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told I would get 2 double beds, but instead was given 2 single beds pushed together in each room. The plughole in the master room was clogged up with a large quantity of the previous occupants hair and other body waste and I immediately felt sick. The other bathroom was a little better but the sealant in the bath had already started to go black and mouldy. I was surprised and disappointed to find unhygienic bathrooms in a 4 star hotel mores I considerig the €139 I had paid for 1 nights stay. We spent the night here with 3 young children and had problems actually getting into the hotel with the pram and I had to lower the pram down the very steep steps. There is a disabled entrance which was locked and the staff seemed content to watch me struggling with a 2 baby pram down the steps, rather than offer assistance and offer to open the entrance with the ramp! The final disappointment was the free wifi (advertised as such). There is indeed a free wireless connection but it was so slow that if you did need to use the Internet for anything such as a Skype call you would need to pay up to another €15 for the faster connection. I feel this is dishonest and misleading advertising and led to further disappointment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    Incredible sea view and fine rooms, absolutely worth any rudeness from reception. Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff indifferent. But same indifferent staff were more freindly in the morning - not sure if it made up for previous indifference - verging on rudeness. Parking was a bit of a walk away and in dark street, I ended up dropping my lap top as I took it out of my vehicle.

    Amazing view of sea right outside window. Incredible.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    I have stayed twice and found it very good staff great and location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi bad and rooms to hot during the night . Couldn't control heating .. but I prefer to be to hot then cold . Breakfast could be cheaper 14 euros a night .

    Staff very helpful and friendly English very good .location excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.4
    Lovely rooom and location but wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of an upgrade, outside the room the facilities were basic. The staff were not communicative enough. And on our first evening the lady in the bar was gave sloppy service, throwing the bread down after we had finished our meal. Shade of fawlty towers! Won't recommend it.

    The room was great and the bed comfy Great position looking over the beach and the bay. Beware the Casino has a disco on a Saturday night that goes on until 4pm and you can hear it in the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a hotel with parking as all our worldly goods were in the car. No parking except on side streets, Just pot luck.

    Lovely room, great views, right by the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location and lovely condition but comfort issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calling it air conditioning is a misnomer. It only cools in the summer and heats in the winter. My room was roasting and they only have hot air at this time of year. The wifi is so old fashioned from the money making days,needs total upgrade.

    The room was immaculate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous stay in Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with fabulous views of the beach. At this time of year, plenty of free public parking outside the hotel. Lovely bar with good and well priced Rioja across the street. Several buses can take you to town centre just outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Comfy beds, not too hard, not too soft. We had the option to have either a buffet breakfast at €14.50 each in the hotel or a tostada with a coffee in the cafeteria for €2.50. At night with windows open, we could hear the sea, wonderful. Very happy with the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff (reception & Restaurant) very lacking in knowledge of their hotel or products on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cafe and the restaurant for dinner were quite a joke. On arrival we said it was our 40th wedding anniversary/what time restaurant open/ did we need to book. Arrived at the rest. and it was firmly shut. Redirected to the cafe where there was a large party booked in and we had ridiculous service and poor food. Awful evening but we had to laugh. Sunday lunch tried the restaurant and was served Escaloppe Milanese but instead of lemon it was on a thick paste of cheese sauce. Head waiter argued with me that this was the meaning of Milanese. Rice with mushrooms starter was like baby food and lacked flavour or texture.

    The position overlooking the promenade was wonderful as was the room. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. Room and the housekeeping staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised parking available but not reservable. We arrived late afternoon to be told parking full and we had to just find space in the town

    Location excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Santander at its best, late season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed as it was outside of the summer season, no problem as there were plenty of good ones near by.

    The room was upgraded on arrival, parking was easy, the staff were helpful, the views from the room super,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Staff not great but location of hotel excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were not friendly. When I had a complaint they did not deal with it well. They tried to fob me off and made the stay less enjoyable. Tapas weren't great. Too much bread in most of them

    Convenience of hotel to beach and restaurants with ease of access to Santander by bus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    A pleasant hotel in a lovely seafront location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't access the WiFi.

    Nice spacious bedroom and bathroom. Super location overlooking lovely promenade and beach at the classier end of town. Good value cafeteria for snacks and breakfast, with very pleasant cafeteria staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Great view pity about staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly , spoke throughout our check in in Spanish amongst themselves. Staff at breakfast exceptionally sullen, not even a greeting. Would not stay here again simply because of staff.

    Location excellent , beds comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its tired. A 3star with 4 star price. Bathroom pipes blocked so bad smell when you had a bath. Reception staff unfriendly. Careful, there are rooms without a view!

    The location is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.3
    Zero parking at the Silken-Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is less than honest about secure parking as it is too small for most cars and it is next to impossible to find somewhere to park near the hotel. My car was almost towed away by the police as I couldn't find a space anywhere!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.5
    How to make a lobby & an entrance more accesible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected a double bed in our reservation and got 2 beds. The service lady was very polite and accommodating the putting together of the 2 beds with comfortable fittings under the sheets. The entrance needs modification. As an Architect I can solve the design problem at no cost. Too many unnecessary used steps. No clear wheelchair and handicapped access. I can walk, I don't need to stumble.

    The view was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    Five stars for comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smiles usually help. There weren't many about. Cafeteria had poor service

    Five stars for comfortable bed Four stars for room and view Three stars for the rest of the hotel Two stars for the reception staff One star for cafeteria

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    If we're back in Santander we will use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was a nightmare the car park linked to the hotel was full. to be fair it was a local festival weekend and the weather was also spectacular

    we could walk on to the beach in minutes. we were able to watch a huge firework display from our open windows which looked out on to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Great location facing the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to park anywhere nearby for most the day. Overall cost far too high. Breakfast poor value for money at 14.5 euros per head.

    Great location facing the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Highly recommend for Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Right on the beach near good restaurants and bus transportation. On City Bus Tour route with easy access across the street. Did not have breakfast at the hotel but did have a nice breakfast at restaurant across the street on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.4
    Okay, but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room Max. 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dated and tired decor. The manager spent most of his time on the phone ignoring us. The customer should come first, always! The rotating front door is extremely difficult to open.

    The location was directly across from the beach and there happened to be 1 room available without our having a reservation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.3
    By far this is NOT a four-stars hotel as claimed in their website.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room: hot at night, non-attractive to the view and uncomfortable. We complained at front desk and clerk said that WE choose that precise room and the photos about its condition where on the website. Bathrooms: tile grout with mildew and some of them broken. Staff: unfriendly.

    Nice view to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Good Accomodation - poor staff in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in restaurant were rude and unhelpful - particularly the senior man on duty. On Sunday night they were rude, slow, arguing with each other and we left the restaurant without ordering - went to Hotel next door who welcomed us and our Euros150 spend. Coming to breakfast on Monday - it was little better as the same team were very unhelpful. Real Shame - let the team down!

    Fabulous Room, wifi , reception staff, and location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    4.6
    Horrible Reception ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room Max. 2 Adults
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible service, the rudest reception staff we have ever seen. Even if the hotel location is the best ever I would not choose the hotel in the future due to its poor service level.

    Great location, one of the best spots inn the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    5.4
    Great location ... But not so great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The room service staff were extremely rude. The room clean wasn't great. The air conditioning only worked sometimes. We travelled a long way from Australia for a family reunion and were very disappointed with your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: