Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silken Alfonso X 4 stars

Carlos Vázquez, 8, 13001 Ciudad Real, Spain

#8 of 12 hotels in Ciudad Real

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1744 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    A good hotel to stay in Ciudad Real for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person at the front needs to learn some English. Breakfast about average

    The location next to the main square is excellent. Parking on site if you are capable to get the car into the lift. If location is important to you this is your hotel. You feel safe here. Big bathroom with bidet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel right in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the heart of the city. All the "High Street" shops in short walking distance. Great shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to access by car. Onsite Parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, difficult car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The underground car park is terribly tight and awkward for parking. Entry is via a car lift. You need to do a 4 point turn on entry and it has large obstructing pillars (to support the hotel above!). Large car - impossible. Medium car - difficult. Small car - possible.

    Large comfortable room. Excellent position near Plaza Major. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little difficult to maneuver car in and out of sub parking area. SUV with have a difficult time getting in and out of the car elevator.

    Right on City Center Promenade. Parking available with easy access to hotel. Room was very clean and bright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I did not like are minor issues: I reported in one morning that the water is continuously running through the tank into the toilet. In the evening I saw signs that someone but not an experienced maintenance person tried to fix it, without success. (Since the toilet wouldn't flush, after a few attempts I fixed it myself as it was easier than requesting a different room.) The blanket on the bed is thin, even with the bed cover, and there is no extra blanket - in the winter it would have been good to have one. There were large spots on the carpet in my room (some guest probably has poured something there). It would probably be very hard and expensive to remove it, but seeing it continuously it did not add to feeling comfort.

    This hotel is probably the best in town (or one of them). The services and facilities are accordingly nice. The double room including the bed is comfortable, not big but spacious enough for a short stay. The reception is OK, not particularly fast. Breakfast choice meets the 4-star level: At least three kinds of each of: ham, cheese, salami, fruits, cereals; multiple sweets, three hot items (scrambled eggs, sausages, fried ham), several kinds of fruit. Breakfast room is spacious. The elevator is pretty fast. Design is enjoyable. The train station is an about 20-minute walk (but it is advisable to look at the map before leaving the station). The city campus of the University is about 20 minutes on foot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Convenient, modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think I spotted a spare blanket - but the room was just about warm enough (outside temps were down to zero at night)

    Smart, modern hotel Decent buffet breakfast included in price Complimentary newspaper Dead central - main square was <100m

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in a very good location and is pretty good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit old (covers and mattress), but not to the point of being uncomfortable

    The hotel is in a very good location and is pretty good. Amenities were excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Hotel looks OK, beware of bad rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was too small and had no daylight. I can imagine we didn't get a top room (the price was really low) but the room must be substandard for this hotel. The beds are really hard. The water saving measures have gone way too far. To flush the toilet properly we had to add water from a glass, one flush is probably way less than a liter. Showering takes a long time, you can see the pressure is OK (the tap runs nicely) but once you switch to the shower it's as if the pressure vanishes.

    The hotel is at an excellent location. Parking is only feasible in the hotel's parking basement. Prepare to have your parking skills tested, you enter an elevator and just to get out of it requires a couple of nonstandard manoeuvres. The rooms have an adequate inventory.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better; I shall want to stay there again when I return to Ciudad Real.

    This is an excellent hotel and very highly recommended for visitors to the lovely city of Ciudad Real.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in nice part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a lot to dislike with this hotel

    The reception staff made you feel very welcome The hotel was what you would expect of a four 4 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Ciudad Real is worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the car park a nightmare because of its layout. There is a pillar which makes getting in and out very difficult. I wonder how anybody with a larger car would cope. The location in the pedestrianised centre defeated my sat-nav when I approached from certain directions.

    Very good value for money, 4 star facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Comfortable, but located in a street forbidden for cars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a street forbidden for cars, and there was a public work there, so it was hard to get to the hotel and the parking was full. During the night the public work did not stop, making too much noisy and disturbing our sleep.

    Close to good restaurants and good shops. Room was very comfortable, and receptionist was very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Although the hotel was really good, I had to park the car in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was really good, I had to park the car in an external car park as theirs is too small for large cars. it would have been nice they stated this during the booking process as i would have used another hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a wedding to go to and i needed to iron my suit but there was no ironing board and the iron wasn't the best.

    The bed was very comfy and the room in general was clean and in good condition.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    IDEAL LOCATION FOR SIGHTSEEING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE SAFE WAS BROKEN. IT DID NOT BOTHER US BUT I ALWAYS LIKE TO SECURE PASSPORTS ETC BUT I HAD TO KEEP THEM WITH ME. IT DID NOT SPOIL THE TRIP AND WE DID REPORT IT TO THE RECEPTIONIST.

    BRILLIANT LOCATION GOOD FOR SEEING THE TOWN. FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF. GOOD TOILETRIES. LOVELY BEDROOM QUITE LARGE. GOOD BREAKFAST.WI-FI. VERY FRIENDLY TOWN.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    Interesting lobby
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small and located on the commercial Street, therefore it was quite noisy, especially in the morning. The parking it's hard to find- there is a lift near the entrance, but you cannot be sure to have access on this pedestrian street. There is an underground parking at a supermarket nearby, but not easy to find either.

    It is indeed very central, but a bit difficult to find, and located on a commercial pedestrian street. The lobby is interesting: a mixture of old style (rocks pavement, fresco) with modern touch (golden wall?). Good location for those Who come for city visit and shopping. Quite nice breakfast with fresh fruits.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location, a spacious quiet room, clean, warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff opened the door in the morning without knocking even though we put the card outside do not disturb. The other minor downside is there was no pillows, just a bolster which isn't great.

    Great location, a spacious quiet room, clean, warm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    7.5
    Good **** Hotel in the center of Ciudad Real with all te well known shops in the same street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was to warm to sleep well even with the windows open in december. We did not use the airco to cool the room down for health reasons.

    Nice room good price. In the middle of the center of te town with town hall car parking for 8 euro 24 hours at walking distance. Many possibilities in the center to have a typical Spanish breakfast from 3,50 euro. Not the town for a historical trip but just to enjoy and have a nice time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast with powdered egg. They turned everything off at 10.00 with people still sitting in restaurant . Poor selection and quality. Badly stained carpets in bedroom and toilet broken. Also carpets on landings worn and dirty.

    Great staff on reception. Parking great and location right in centre of town. asked for pillows and extr towels And they were provided immediately. Free wifi in rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Best Rest and Relax at Downtown SILKEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky, The bathroom was not really what I expected compared to other silken. The level dropped quite much, I will say to a 6/10

    I really was able to rest. The bed, the room, all in total was a good balance and the location of the hotel is ubsolutlely the best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With current building works nearby it was difficult to locate the hotel. Arriving by car we had to park on a pedestrian precinct to enter the hotel and get access to private parking. This was by means of a lift to an underground car park with very tight spacing for access.

    Apart from the parking this was by far and away the best hotel we stayed at during this current trip through Spain. Absolutely no complaint whatsoever.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    The best accommodation of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about here.

    It was a great place to stay right in the centre of town. The facilities were excellent. It was also cheaper than most of the budget accommodation we booked during our holiday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Ciudad Real is very interesting city, go there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Floor, safety box broken

    Situation, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult to access

    Good location. Warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Friends trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Excelent location and breakfast, in a hotel in need of some repairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs renovation, specially wc's.

    Excelent location and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Ciudad Real was full of new experiences for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotle parking was a nightmare .

    Ciudad Real was full of new experiences for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect hotel for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value, lovely size room and convenient position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    it was really confortable, well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was really confortable, well located!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    The dimension of the room, there's no such thing as tiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dimension of the room, there's no such thing as tiny rooms with insuficient space for suitcases for example

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower pressure at all

    Everything clean,nice location,lovely breakfast nice room size

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one flat pillow! Bed a bit lumpy

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed. Missed fitness options. No parking help in spite of the location in a pedestrian area.

    Breakfast was good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    WIFI did not work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI did not work

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The position was excellent, parking was underneath the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpet in our room was a little worn & stained, it could do with replacing but only a minor glitch.

    The position was excellent, parking was underneath the hotel and the staff were helpful. Lots of eateries nearby. The room was comfortable and exceptionally good value. Room plus parking & breakfast was about the cheapest we have found in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    4.6
    Location was great, staff was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything: poor insonorisation, all the equipments and amenities belong to another century, the lifts are not on the ground floor but on the 1st, etc. The entire building needs refurbishment.

    Location was great, staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    8.3
    the hotel offered everything we could want for breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although there was a little seated area in reception it appears the bar had closed. It would have been good to have a little nightcap before retiring to bed.

    the hotel offered everything we could want for breakfast, the coffee in particular was really good. From a machine which ground the beans for each individual cup. Should we return to Ciudad Real in the future we would certainly consider this hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.6
    The cleanliness.
    • Couple

    When i booked the hotel was described as pet friendly, but on arrival we were told dogs were not allowed. Fortunately the receptionist was very sympathetic(our dog is very quiet and she loved her!!!!) so she wavered the rules. I think it's essential when advertising pet friendly accommodation that you as a company confirm this with the establishment before advertising.comfotable

    The cleanliness. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and delightfully presented.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    the location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Its unbelievable that in a hotel like this the rooms do not have an electric kettle to heat water to make tea or a drink. also no coffee or tea in the room. Had to get hot water down at reception desk.

    the location is fantastic. right in the centre of town, by the main square, restaurants and shops. Staff are helpful and the overall cost was very very good.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    Great location, parking availiable under hotel, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, parking availiable under hotel, friendly & serviceminded staff with language skills. Large clean rooms with great terraces and lounge furniture. Will definitely come back to Silken Alfonso X and Ciudad Real, which was a nice town.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Very comfortable and at €40 for a double room, outstanning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find as building work on adjacent site hid the entrance.

    Very comfortable and at €40 for a double room, outstanning value. Location in centre of the town.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    5.8
    Location and had parking but it was access was difficult...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 4 star hotel there was no restaurant, no bar, no pool and the towels were threadbare. More like a Spanish hostel than a four star hotel.

    Location and had parking but it was access was difficult especially with a big car!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Location of the hotel was perfect, just off the main city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None of my request concerning bed preference and parking reservation had been confirmed or declined by the hotel, so consequently none was provided. I think the hotel has a problem communicating with Booking. Arrived in town during saturday procession and since my parking reservation was declined ended having to park in the street. Usually wouldn't complain about such thing but since apparently everybody was at this procession the streets were packed. Ended parking a kilometer away from the hotel. While I was in the parking adventure the hotel managed to charge my credit card for the stay without even asking or me seeing the room first which I find a rude way of handling your guests! My iphone was unable to join their wifi network, and it usually works fine on other networks.

    Location of the hotel was perfect, just off the main city square. Good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Location in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed rather hard but I do have back problems.

    Location in centre of town. quiet room with good aircon. Clean. excellent en suite. Secure underground parking with direct access to hotel floors

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Many things, unfortunately: A) we arrived at 1 AM, my wife pregnant and my 6-yr old sun sleeping. The clerk did not even bother to help with our 6 pieces of luggage B) beds horribly uncomfortable and hard, pillow too soft and thin C) towels old, torn and ugly D) bed linen dirty and with holes

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    Several requests have been made before our arrival with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Several requests have been made before our arrival with no response from the hotel, including parking that in the hotel they said we could use the public one for same price but it was the double. Also we should have been informed before arrival that it was a public festival during all night long (until 07:00) on the hotel street, and we asked for a quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    5.0
    It is nicer the building outside than the rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the rooms too small and old fashion. The bathroom was destroyed because the water from the bath came out into the bathroom floor and got everything on the floor destroyed and wet. The shower very bad.

    It is nicer the building outside than the rooms .

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.0
    Position,parking,large room,good breakfast, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Position,parking,large room,good breakfast, good value.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.5
    kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too hot room. In January I had to wake up at 3am to open the window, and left it opened during the night

    kind staff

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    Great location, quality and value for money , will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No room tea/coffee making facilities

    Great location, quality and value for money , will recommend.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    situation ideale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    situation ideale

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    5.0
    For the price was ol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking b cause we hace a big car and was a complícate the parking the test was pk

    For the price was ol

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    The underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The underground parking

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    location superb and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    aitcon not too effective

    location superb and staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.0
    It had a roof and walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room wi-fi inefficient bathroom small it's in Ciudad Real, which is not a nice place to visit

    It had a roof and walls

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike! Perfect!

    Everything! Amazing price, clean, comfortable, big room, amazing bathroom!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is well situated in the town centre and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is well situated in the town centre and quiet. We did not eat in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    6.7
    Location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy early morning, and electrics need attention

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is good.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Silken Alfonso X traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: