Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gates Diagonal Barcelona 4 stars

Avenida Diagonal, 205, Sant Martí, 08018 Barcelona, Spain

#354 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1805 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel, good food and staff friendly. Great location to local restaurants and shopping centre, Our rooms had see through glass to the shower room "handy if you want to watch your partner naked" Barcelona Tour Bus Stop right out side. Metro underground 2 Mins walk, Train 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn’t really as central as we would have liked, the pool was filthy! The room was okay - if you weren’t a couple the glass bathroom would have been awkward! We had a leaky ceiling on our last evening and the staff were so rude when we informed them!

    Not much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Cleanliness: didn't vacum clean the room, had glass on the carpet and dust in the furniture. Need to ask twice to clean the room. If you have respiratory illness I don't advise this hotel. Also the noise in the morning as the change the rooms was very loud and did´t respect the guests rest.

    The location, perfect. The bed confortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, next to the Metro Station and to the Taxi Station. Breakfast is good and tasty. The view from the rooftop is nice. There's a mall next to the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great, torre is in front of hotel, als othe shopping center is just in front of hotel. metro station few minutes away, i would recommend this hotel if you go there just for a sleep and see the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready at the advertised checkin time of 2pm. We had to wait an hour for the room to be ready. With only 24 hours in Barcelona, every hour was precious. The roof top terrace and pool were underwhelming and pool only a plunge pool - not as big as the photos lead you to believe. Check out at 11:00am was overcrowded and slow - approx 60 people at the counter with 3 staff members trying to check everyone in and out - more time wasted!

    Very comfortable bed and soft sheets. Large bath towels. Great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one helped me bring my heavy bags in. I tripped over them trying to bring them in and got a bruise. The room they gave me smelled like mold. I asked to be moved to a different room and they did which was the only nice thing. Room has carpet and dated furnishings. Water splashed everywhere in the bathroom because of the design. Housekeeping kept on trying to come in on the hour. Really terrible experience and I don’t recommend this place.

    Only thing I liked was the price but I got what I paid for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff was incredible helpful and really nice. They arranged an earlier check in for me, which was great! The rooms were really stylish and clean at all. The view from the rooftop was cool - i would come back anytime!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff were weird and a bit rude.

    Beautiful hotel, great location, but some of the furnitures are a bit old and in need of renovation. Some of the team members were really nice but a lot of them were weird treating you like you owe them something. The staff at the terrace bar are really nice though and the hotel lends beautiful bikes to their guests which is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the room is depressing, and the details of the facilities in the room are poor. No amenities provided such as shower caps and combs. The roof terrace was not as good as expected. Overall, it was not worth to choose this hotel economically.

    The gym is decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks amazing as do the photos but in reality nothing is maintained well and the rooms are not practical.

    Great location not in the thick of everything but only 10 mins on the metro to get into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negatives are that strangely when the rooms are cleaned daily, clean linen and towels which is great but the coffee cups and wine glasses we used were never replaced with clean ones?! Not a deal breaker but just a bit odd. The electric blinds are a little noisy so you can hear your neighbours opening theirs... but again nothing a cheap set of ear plugs didn’t fix. This is really a great hotel so don’t let this put you off for a minute!

    Great, varied and fresh breakfast, pastries fruits cooked breakfast all lovely, rooms are very practical, and spacious because the bathroom is walled in glass it makes it feel roomier, location is ideal for visiting all areas of the city... metro on the door step, tram down to the beach on the door step, shopping centre just across the road and Sagrada Familia an easy walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room as was unsuitable due the bath shower being to high to lift your leg over if you have problems with mobility. The second room was not up the standard of the first. The third was good except when you sat on the throne people could see from the building opposite as there was no blind on the window. Also building work was being carried out, dirt and mess was left around public areas. T V channels need updating as there are not uk channels ie sky news.

    Location some staff some food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel bar was more expensive than expected. Rooftop pool did not have enough beds/ bar tables could be alot more comfortable.

    Comfortable bed and very clean room. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke fantastic English. Location of the hotel is fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Details like plugs and desks that seemed tilted. Enhancement of the cleaning process (our used glasses were not replaced by new ones to the contrary they were dry cleaned twice!).

    Excellent location. 3' from metro Glories. Great neighborhood with super markets, clothing chains and cafeterias. Near exquisite local restaurants serving tasteful tapas, pastas and paellas. We got a warm welcome from the reception. Great view, comfort bed, good TV reception as well as WiFi signal. Thermostat, electric curtains that created a total blackout in the room and the fridge that fit 1.5L water were convenient and thoughtful of The Gates Diagonal's owners and designers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of Cleanness wasn’t what you expect for an hotel like this, cleaning services were basic (e.g. only changed towels, sometimes forgot to leave shampoos and bath gels -coffees and water were not replenished during our stay-, carpet wasn’t cleaned at all).

    Well located hotel if you want to escape the overcrowded and touristic Rambla. Room had a fantastic view, bed was extra comfy. To go there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I could hear all the other rooms. Sometimes they told me "bless you" when they heard form another room

    Nice and clean in the center of the city. Nearby is a huge shopping mall with nice food shop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel advertised a roof terrace and swimming pool .. in fact the main photo of hotel shows this.. It was the main reason for booking hotel, despite it being out of the centre of Barcelona. Terrace and swimming pool were both closed leaving us extremely disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was appalling! I paid extra for it afternoon I had booked £111 for three days!! It was the worst breakfast I’ve ever had at a hotel! I wasn’t happy about paying at all!

    The token and view was good and the sliding door for the bathroom was a nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures showed pool on rooftop, but discovered the pool was yet to be built.

    We arrived at 12. The rooms were ready. We didn’t have to wait till 2to go to our rooms. We were upgraded to executive rooms free of charge. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok, was disappointed that the rooftop bar & pool were closed for refurbishment & this wasn't mentioned either at time of booking or indeed my arrival, but after a very brief discussion, the manager, he upgraded us to a fantastic suite- a much appreciated gesture!

    Location, just a couple of minutes from the metro, comfortable, well appointed modern hotel with professional & helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disappointing - the staff member kindly upgraded us to the next room type for no extra charge when we arrived however when entering the room it smelt of smoke (even though it says non smoking room). The quality of the rooms finish was also poor - Our room was Room 626 and shower leaked heavily, no matter how hard we tried to be careful, and the fittings felt very old and like someone had been round the room with a polly filler and filled in the gaps around all fittings/sockets etc with no effort to hide the amateur finish. A real shame as the hotel and staff and room size and location are all great!

    The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly - and assisted wherever needed. The bed was comfy and the communal areas of the hotel were classy and kept well - breakfast was also good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the room fittings were poor Bathroom tap loose as was shower control - phone wires frayed and power socket in main room loose. Overall great hotel it’s just attention to detail in rooms that needs a little tic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff. Bad attitude from the shorter, blondish guy who checked us in midday on Friday March 16. Made fun of us expecting the rooftop to be open in March, and had an overall sarcastic attitude. I guess some people put themselves above the needs of the hotel and the guests, which means we probably won't be staying here next time. Bathtub does not fit two people; rooftop won't open until beginning of the summer. Nice and clean modern hotel.

    Good views from the room, location close to the mall. Slick and modern hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom walls were all glass without any privacy curtains, very uncomfortable and impractical if one is sharing a room.

    Location was good with the Glories metro station right next door and a shopping complex with a super market across the road. Friendly and helpful staff. Amenities included a kettle and tea/ coffee which is always welcome. The TV was huge, only a couple of channels for non-Spanish speaking guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit noisy - thin walls to the next room.

    Good modern hotel on edge of town centre. Helpful staff and novel lift system. Underground car park at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed but got two single beds pushed together. However, this was still not a problem. But I reckon if we did complain about the beds they would of changed us straight away. No negative comment at all.

    Our room was amazing the view was impeccable. The staff were absolutely lovely and just wanted to make sure we had an excellent trip away. The food was beautiful. The staff let us check in early and made us feel so welcome. Location is a like a 1/2 minute walk to the metro. However, if you like walking its managable to get to the famous locations. Amazing place would stay there again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked suit for the hot tub. Turns out the hot tub is actually a whirlpool bath, two totally different things. The whirlpool didn’t even work. Room not well equipped, supposed to have expresso machine, this was just a kettle.

    Beds very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not have any glaring disappointments for this particular room.

    The shower was amazing. - The water temperature was great - See through shower glass into the bedroom allowed for a very intimate setting. The view we had was also great. It exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness ok - everything is clean, but you can tell the floor and the furniture aren't super new.

    I liked our room, it had windows on both sides; it was very spacious. The bathroom had a bathtube which was a very nice change. We didn't take the offer with breakfast included as we found it too expensive and instead went to starbucks in the neighborhood. The hotel is well connected and not too far from main attractions in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff were amazing. Buffet breakfast wasn’t really any good. Hotel’s location is great. Wasn’t happy with my room view but as soon as I asked they changed me. Reception stuff were always helpful and smiley and very polite. All stuff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture and decor in the room was jaded, a bit shoddy - both bedside lamps were broken so we had to change rooms. Nowhere nice to sit and relax in the hotel as the bar was in the draughty lobby.

    Friendly staff and the location is central so easy to go places. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold when we arrive, and climatisation take some times to be active.

    Design, wifi, views from the room, nice bed, friendly staff. Views from rooftop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and pool at the top was not open although we went out of season (November 3rd) it would have been nice to see the view.

    This hotel was so lovely. Very central and easy to get all the big sites. From the hotel you can see the cathedral! There is lots to do around the hotel including a shopping centre opposite which has lots of great restaurants. The metro is extremely close which is useful for getting around city. Nice area and felt safe. Staff were lovely and even lent us a corkscrew!!! Room was nice spacious and comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Washing very uncomfortable, when taking a shower the water goes all out of the bath tab on the floor. The towel could get wet if you leave it on the bath hanger. The room was cold, not heated enough.

    Bed very comfortable. Coffee/tea maker in the room very useful. Position very central only 4 metro to the city centre. Also close to a big mall with a big supermarket and many coffee shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You guys need to work on the hot water for the Shower ! low starting (you can't be in a rush that day), and unstable. Unacceptable for that "quality" of an hotel. Bar has also poor product quality.

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast used to be better at the times of Silken. Travelers should be notified about the bathroom glass walls.

    nice hotel, very clean, modern, extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been visiting in November, and the rooftop terrace has been closed despite very good weather without prior notice. We have selected the hotel due to the nice terrace with view and pool that we could not use at all. Therefore we went to the neighbouring hotel where we could use the similar terrace.

    Breakfast was correct.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture in lobby really uncomfortable and impractical, especially if you are trying to have a business chat- like lying down trying to have a meeting! Doesn't really affect stay just means wouldn't invite clients to meet in hotel lobby.

    Staff really helpful and welcoming. Roof terrace bar lovely- fab views and food gorgeous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite expensive for what it was, the bedside lights were hanging of the wall and didn't feel we were told very much about the hotel such as the room service or bike hire.

    Very stylish room and very modern. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was lovely.also had a great view in comparison to other hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design of the Bathroom not so good, shower water leaking all over bathroom sides and towel rack hanging from ceiling not good and too much glass to deal with, dangerous during the night finding your way to bathroom.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The next door bar was very noisy if the window was open.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and there was a good variety. The hotel was located close to bars and restaurants and there was a good choice of both. We did not visit the mall across the street, but the shops are close if you want to shop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service on the roof terrace was poor. Not only did you have to wait a long time before someone would come to wait on you, but the quality of the food was disappointing and expensive for what it is. A young couple decided that the music was not good enough in the bar, so they brought their own. Staff didn't act. French fries undercooked, Steak overcooked.

    Loved to get an unexpected upgrade to a nice suite. Breakfast was good. Bed was excellent. Loved the view from the room, wide views due to the large windows with automatic screens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, including the manager, were the most inconsiderate I have seen. Their Credit card machine was not working and they insisted that i get cash as security even though Booking.com had verified my credit card details before. I would have normally gone and taken out cash but I was getting late for a meeting after a delayed flight. The manager would not budge. Finally after 15 mins, one of their machines worked. What i found funnier was that there were many more check-inns during the 15 mins and no one else was asked for prepayment!

    The Hotel has a modern feel to it but looks cheap though

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't the cleanest, and the hallways were badly lit, also the walls are paper thin, could hear the couple in the next room having a great time, but sadly on this visit I had no one with me to get my own back.

    good public transport links, Easy check-in, great rooftop bar setting, comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing.. reasonable selection but the hot food was greasy & very limited.. would have liked to have been able to order omelettes or other dishes. Wifi on roof bar was very weak, no adapters or chargers for phones. Bar people were not as competent or as interested as others in hotel

    I was booked into a "double suite" which turned out to be with two single beds pushed together. The room was modern, comfortable & clean but not as advertised. This was rectified the following day by moving me to a larger suite which by contrast was wonderful & far more comfortable, also with a standing shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Gates Diagonal has a good location for reaching inner city with L1 in few minutes. Nice view to Torre Agbar from room and roof top bar! Interesting interieur and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that our initial room smelled like sewage. I did not like that when I brought this up to the staff we were down graded like it was our own fault. We were told that the hotel was at capacity even though the lobbies, restaurant, and hotel bars were like a ghost town. The room phone did not work so all complaints had to be delivered face to face in the lobby. I did not like that my buddy and I had to take turns leaving the room if we were to have any privacy showering. The shower was seriously a glass box except on the door side which there wasn’t one. The floor was soaked after each shower. I did not like that there were stains on everything...seriously everything. It was like we were staying in 4 star hotel that simply hadn’t been maintained. I’d recommend a La Quinta in the states over this dump.

    The view from the overpriced rooftop bar was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was in bad condition Towel was not change,floor was dirty,even i took picture Thanks for Olga and Richard next day they helped us to move to another room They need to get renovation

    Roof bar We arrived late night and they did food for us even they supposed to be close kitchen Drink and food was aamzing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wanted full payment before giving room key Could not leave luggage at reception for short period after checking out No facilities to use

    Wanted full payment before giving room key Could not leave luggage at reception for short period after checking out No facilities to use

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with an upgrade wood was slightly rotted in places electric blinds were loud and torn. Kettle was old and broken. Bed sheets had holes in on one of the days. Towels weren't replaced everyday neither were the cups and glasses. Room doesn't have an information booklet. Limited information on TV channel. Cupboard doors were rickety and need fixing.

    Bathroom and overall style of hotel. Helpful staff and beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prices 18 Euro. Local cafe 6-10 euros drink prices too high compared to locals bars or restaurants- I would have liked to spend time on the roof bar but just too expensive

    Location is good, Room very modern and clean staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms in hard need of restoration. Very smelly. Lots of noice. And no privacy as staff just enter our room. The water had a swiming pool smell.

    Some of the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in the rooftop bar were little bit steep. Otherwise everything was perfect :)

    Absolutely stunning amazing views from our corner room on the 7th floor (room 723) quirky bathroom with great views, comfortable bed, light airy and spacious room, delicious breakfast, close central distance from various attractions and bars restaurants, great rooftop area and very helpful staff :) Place felt romantic and we never wanted to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had glass walls so wasn't the best in terms of privacy

    The Rooftop had great views. The beds were comfy. The temperature of the room was good and the lounge bar had friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only had one pillow each which was awful. The bathroom was an absolute nightmare, water goes everywhere. Our room service tray was collected and then left in our hall way a couple of doors down for 24 hours. We had no use of the pool on our final day because of a private party which we were not notified of previous and the only reason we booked this hotel was because it had a pool. Staff were absolutely useless. Trying to get extra milk for our room to have a coffee was a nightmare, we were sent to every bar in the hotel by the unhelpful receptionist, each telling us we had gone to the wrong place. Ended up ordering milk from room service which cost us £2 and although we advised we just wanted milk sachets we were bought a small pot of hot milk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness will have to improve!

    Very good breakfast, fresh orange juice and nice coffee! 29th was my bday, the hotel surprised me with a bottle of cava! That really made me feel happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception charged 4 nights for parking instead of 2 and when we noticed the mistake the lady wasn't even sorry for this...An apology would be appreciated.

    Excellent price performance ratio for Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, erm, no.. actually there was nothing we didn't like.

    It's just a really up to date hotel, friendly staff, towels, bedding, cleaning happened every day, it was just a pleasure to be there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found a chewing gum in the window shades! That is really disgusting and disappointing! Almost 200€ a night just to find an old chewing gum in the room! I couldn't look at it anymore... i could not believe that room service did not noticed it. I have also noticed that the room lacks soom privacy... it tall buildings next to it, it is easy to see through the big windows unless you put the blackout all the way down... Also had to wait 1 hour for room cleaning. I have also found a roll of duct tape under the bed. Really? This hotel has all it takes to be an amazing hotel but it fails in the smallest details.

    Good location and fresh and new design and style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Remaining hair in the bath tub ruined everything.

    Not in the very center, but just 5 min walking distance to the subway and 10 min to most attractions. New building with large windows, nice room. No:1 we liked is the delicious apples at the reception :) The room was clean except one problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location- need to take the train to go anywhere as there is nothing around Staff could be friendlier Pool a bit unusable as in the middle of the bar area

    Rooms spacious and comfortable Close to a metro line Rooftop bar with nice view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact we wasn't made aware of maintenance work going on in the rooms opposite ours which had me awake on my very first morning early. However they made up for it by upgrading our room to an executive suite for the rest of our stay.

    The hotel was AMAZING! staff were super friendly and very helpful and the location for me was just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit rude. Pool is very small. Beds were two separate beds moved together and the middle hurted back, we had chosen one big bed from the options while making the booking.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff could have been a bit friendlier, the bed wasn't that comfortable and parts of the room looked a bit tired and in need of fixing (telephone wire broken, mould round the bath, broken blind etc)

    Modern hotel, loved the rooftop pool and cleaners did a great job of the room everyday! 5 minute walk to the Metro and tram which was extremely easy to use and navigate. Overall very good value for money, really enjoyed our time in Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were problems with the room keys on the 9th floor which was a minor inconvenience

    The staff accommodated our request for twin beds and were helpful when taxis and metro went on strike. Location was a few metro stops from historic center and in between major sites (sagrada familia and park guell) accessible by bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV did not work, small table lamp was broken and even the sharp pieces of bulb were inside hanging. The hotel staff is annoying for checking so many times the room. We opened the door and let it be open for them to not knock so much. This is one of the hotels where you feel that after paying a lot of money nobody cares.

    The hotel is right next to shopping center. Rooftop area is cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I hated that the cleaning staff walked in without knocking...they did it every day, woke me up one day...interrupted a bath another day.b That was really awful.

    The staff was excellent: friendly, helpful, informative.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was scruffy, tatty and dated! Nothing like pictures online, air con didn't work, bathroom light didn't work, maides/ staff where walking in room without even knocking on the door first, bed is like laying on a concrete slab. Blood and stains all over the carpet in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A few very small complaints. After checking in and getting into the room, twice a staff member tried to enter the room and the knock on the door was so quick you had no chance to shout anything out. One knock and the door was open. Then of course they were all very apologetic after they realised someone was already in. Not ideal when you are getting changed in your room after a flight.

    Standard 4 star hotel in Barcelona, friendly staff members. Nice roof terrace and bar even though the pool is tiny. Great location on the Diagonal for Primavera festival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks run down . I stayed at Silken in 2011 and having returned 6 years later, i was disappointed in the maintenance of the building...our rooms and hallways looked tired and run down Room service ended at 11pm, we landed at midnight and slept hungry as no places to eat

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid more to have a room with a nice view, but I got a room on the 1st floor with a terrible view on the Novotel hotel. The receptionists were not very helpfull when I had a problem to contact our friends next door by phone - finally I gave up. TV - only spanish channels, room tidy but with no wow effect.

    I really like the location of the hotel - the turistic bus stop was just next to the hotel. The area is nice and safety.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could definitely do with updating the televisions at the hotel. Watch out for street crime. Far too many pickpockets and opportunist thieves in Barcelona. Such a shame!!

    Good hotel. Location is OK but there's not really any good bars/restaurants nearby. New shopping mall opening across the road which might change this. Good links to main tourist areas. Overall very happy with our Barcelona weekend. Lovely atmosphere in the evenings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy in shower. Weird fabric sliding door that offered no privacy when sharing a room with a friend. Opaque glass would be better. Staff slow in replenishing breakfast food. Beds a bit uncomfortable.

    Upgraded on arrival. Extra space and seating area was good. Good selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Don't bother getting the breakfast if you're staying on the weekend. We went at different times on both the Saturday and Sunday and both days juice, glasses and food ran out without being refilled or checked. They also ran out of tables at one point. During the week breakfast was fine and kept on top of. We were quoted a taxi price of 35 Euros to get from the hotel back to the airport by the staff member who booked our taxi when infact it was 50 just for having three pieces of luggage? There weren't as many sun loungers as we thought so we couldn't relax on the roof. Not very many traditional food places to eat nearby.

    View from the roof was really nice. We got upgraded for free and had a view of the cathedral which was incredible however I dread to think what a smaller room would have been like for the money. Close to the metro station which we found very easy to use and the cheapest method of transport. Close to a very good modern art museum which was free on the Sunday.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Gates Diagonal Barcelona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: