Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sol Barbacan 4 stars

Avenida Tirajana, 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Spain

#18 of 166 hotels in Playa del Ingles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at Sol Barbacan. We would stay again if we return to Gran Canaria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gripes, really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Didn't eat at the hotel in the evening so I can't comment on that.

    Bed was very comfy. Great choice of buffet breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Rooms tidy ,great balcony with view and sunshine,pools great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very much not to like,I thought prices for food and drink slightly expensive but it didn't have any bearing on my stay.

    Rooms tidy ,great balcony with view and sunshine,pools great,no problem getting Sunbeds,staff and entertainment good.location good with plenty restaurants to choose from.entertainment staff v good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Family of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily activities were limited and the night entertainment was poor. The pool bar prices were expensive in comparison to the resort including snacks for children.

    Property was extremely clean and well maintained. Apartments were well equipped including the kitchen. Pool facilities were excellent with plenty of beds available all day. Pool towel change every day was a nice touch. Cleaning lady on level 4 was very friendly and always very accommodating which made our stay more enjoyable. Location of apartments for a young family were ideal and in walking distance of both resorts. Food was good at pool bar. We were allowed a later check out of 2 o'clock free of charge which was appreciated. Wi-Fi signal was excellent throughout the property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    2.5
    everything was ruined by the way we were mistreated and even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are gay ourselves, but were not into being in the mother of all camp sleazy eighties gay area's with the most irritating people that do all tricks to get you into their restaurant or bar, ruining your evening for the 2nd time. We ended up at Burger King of all places. We ordered a Super Meal, the manager acted as if he had never heard of the Super Meal, being too cheap too place it on the menu, only put on billboards all over the place! Also, they are beautiful, but OMG what a collection of the most sleazy outdated terrible islands!!! Inhabitants for 99% depending on tourism for their income but treating you like trash. We didn't hear so many claxons in our entire life. The attitude and ways I have only experienced it in Egypt, coast of western Turkey. At least, it is NOT the way the mainland Spanish do it! The Canary Islands stand apart in this. Especially traffic and getting people in their restaurants, maybe it does work with the majority but not with us.

    everything was ruined by the way we were mistreated and even refused at the prepaid dinner. And ever more nasty and sour "a refund is impossible". 30 or 35 euro we're talking about! The marketing department and the chain management will get crazy I hope, wasting such a simple opportunity to do the right thing for so little money. Problem: My friend had the same length of shorts, which were allowed obviously, since I had shorts the same length, and a lot of guests, with very questionable clothing, also had very little elegance whatsoever. But my friend's shorts, was decided by the manager, though from a fancy brand and not used as swimming shorts, were loudly and with a lot of drama considered as "swimming shorts". It was inappropriate and he was refused at the restaurant, while we had a prepaid dinner, nothing was told us about any sort of dressing code, we have 10 A4 papers with all kind of rules, but nothing about a dressing code. And then it was far from the chiquest places we had stayed before, and NB the terrace of the restaurant we were gonna sit was NEXT to the swimming pool which closed at 18 hours because of the restaurant. Then, if the manager had taken us apart and had politely, in a normal, whispering and friendly way, asked us if it was possible to go and change the shorts for long pants we would have done that. Now it was extremely rude and loud, and heard by at least half the restaurant. Even the waiter was giving us a face like "oh no, not again". We felt so embarrassed that I told the waiter that if they didn't reconsider and/or make their apologies immediately, we would not eat there at all. The waiter answered extremely rude: "well, I think that's than even a better solution". He had seen us coming from the hotel area, and seen our prepaid dinner voucher. Beside that we had a room above the terrace with all the cigarette smoke coming into our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    We loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about the Sol Barbacan

    We loved everything about this hotel. The location absolutely perfect for the Yumbo Centre but not too close to be disturbed. The room was spacious, clean, well appointed and modern. Facilities amazing with beautiful pools and a great value restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to clean the room (a bangalore) in the early afternoon. When returned, they only changed towels and made a bed but the floor wasn’t cleaned at all thus left sandy and dusty. And perhaps we shouldn’t have epected it but the glasses we used were left unwashed so by the time we left we run out of all the glasses. Next time, we will choose a hotel room rather than staying in the bangalore.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is not new but it’s in a good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room safes are very old and you need to pay for the key at the reception. I was too lazy to do that and after few days I have regret that. Somebody stilled 400€ !!! from my wallet which was “safely” stored in my backpack which was in stored in my travel bag. I have reported this to the reception but unfortunately no reaction from hotel management. I admit that this was my fault because I didn’t put my wallet in the safe, but at least a small regret would be nice from there side.

    Hotel is not new but it’s in a good condition. Nice recreation area with several pools. Specially I like pool where kids under 16 are not allowed so you can enjoy peaceful moments. Perfect location next to Yumbo Center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for a family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s odd the hotel didn’t provide baby items such as a baby bath or potty - these had to be hired from another company. I feel that a family hotel in this price bracket should provide these items for free. Also, mattresses were not the most comfortable.

    Beautifully kept property with lovely heated pools. Great staff, especially at the kids club. Bungalows are perfect for families.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower tends to overflow due to the low edge so had to be careful not to flood the bathroom!

    This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Sol Barbacan and it is always a pleasure. Everyone is friendly and the facilities are excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Better locaition of our appartment, litle road nois.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Better locaition of our appartment, litle road nois. Other than that good. Staff was weary friendly and two smal fixes in the apartment whear corected quick. Thanks, will stay thear next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Lovely change for us to relax and be waited on, shame the weather was not better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved the bungalow we were given. We wanted a quiet location ,just as we requested, we were given what we wanted. House keeping was good, fresh towels and bedding supplied. The bar staff became as friends, always there for us. The restaurant supplied us the meals we wanted and there was a good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Was a good choice. Definitely stay here again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was only 5 minute walk to centre. Decent places to eat and drink on hand. Good price and rooms were nice and clean. Staff friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Great breakfast menu, great staff in a restaurant (really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were stains on fresh towels, sometimes dishes were dirty. There was a cockroach in my bathroom.

    Great breakfast menu, great staff in a restaurant (really kind lady, especially for children), big black cat living in a lobby, nice big apartament, nice view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Would love to stay again. It needs more promotional offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For €100 a night I think a breakfast could be included. Also, for such a good hotel-the area for entertainment is small. It should be on a larger stage to get it to the next level

    The pools , the sports areas and the bungalow surroundings are first class

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Had a great time but unsure if we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Service in the lounge was dreadful, lovely staff but no hurry regardless of the number of people waiting :-( The pools were lovely, but a lot of the activities involving the children were based in the Don Fernando Pool which doesn't have a shallow end and therefore if your child couldn't stand in 140m of water they couldn't join in without armbands etc, that was frustrating. The other pool was briliant!!

    The cleanliness was superb and the accomodation spacious and airy well furnished

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in classy hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throwing balls in the pool by mainly German tourists can be off putting when you are trying to do lengths! The other two pools are leisure pools so that should be done there.

    Large balcony and space at pool and enough sun beds to go around! They also have a hotel cat who is friendly and adds to the nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great facilities in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 good size pools with an extra smaller adults only pool. Onsite supermarket is handy. Bungalows are very spacious with your own private terraces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daily entertainment was ok, however entertainment team was working very hard. For vegetarians food was ok. Not much choice.

    Very clean room. Plenty of swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    A hotel in the center of Playa del Ingles with class and the finesse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We can't really complain on anything. One day the floor became a little bit sticky from the high concentration of soap - the cleaning staff wanted the floor to be too clean!!

    Sol Barcaban is expensive but worth the money. We payed 2500 Euro for one week (4 people). Everyone is very polite and service minded. You can definitely notice that the staff loves to work at this hotel. They are relaxed, professional and always there to help. After staying here you will easily understand why it's so popular. One good thing is that they also offer quality activities for everyone - kids, adults and old people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Animation team very poor. Kids club only suitable for small kids who like to do drawing - mine wouldn't do it . Heated pool was still cold. Lots of very miserable Dutch older couples.

    Nice being able to watch the children easily from the apartment as they all look down on the pool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    The ultimate blend of self-catering and hotel accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Our second visit. The best of all worlds for self catering, with an excellent restaurant with fixed price buffet or a la carte if you don't want to eat in or to venture too far. Staff super friendly and helpful. Everything kept very clean. Perfect central location for shops etc and 10 minute walk to the sandy dunes and beach. Couldn't ask for more!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely bungalows in nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not close to the beach. You need a car to get there or take a taxi.

    Lovely bungalows in nice garden. Very clean and well taken care off. Nice swimming pool and good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Location is excellent for the Yumbo and staff at reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Although I booked and paid for a double room, I was treated as a single booker and given what is probably the worst room in the hotel. It took four days to get a decent room more in line with what I paid for. One day my room was not cleaned for no reason, and rooms seem to be cleaned only very well when you change rooms.

    Location is excellent for the Yumbo and staff at reception are nice. Hotel rooms are nice and a decent size with a good terrace unless you are at the lower floors at the back of the hotel. Buffet is acceptable for the promotion price. Easy for public transport or one of the car hire companies.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found beds very hard .Not enough electric sockets.

    Great facilities. Lovely staff.Cleaning every day.Had small leak from air conditioning and was fixed immediately.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and the bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the bungalow

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Super time with the kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was a ll lovely!

    Great with my kids!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, great hotel, great food, highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Location, staff and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little overpriced for what it is

    Location, staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Central location, nice sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They started playing music quite loud at the pool at 10am.

    Central location, nice sized rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotels on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I’ve stayed on the island couple times, this time was different in terms of location, hotel and staff you had there. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location and wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning at 1030am we are woken up by loud music coming from the pool.

    Good location and wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    dinner buffet was quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dinner buffet was quite good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel. Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing! It was a perfect stay.

    Excellent food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Sol Barbacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature for the adult pool to cold.

    Lovely clean bungalows set around beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    everything excellent except bar prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    alcohol expensive in the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Computer breaking down to the advantage of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole atmosphere "full stop" com

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing pools, super views from room, great brekkie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing pools, super views from room, great brekkie.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    The accommodation is amazing gorgeous inside and outside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation is amazing gorgeous inside and outside the hotel has a very good breakfast place and we are looking for a next stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    fantastic would happily recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    too many ants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The Facilities in the apartments were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Facilities in the apartments were fantastic...microwave, coffee maker, toaster etc... much better than in previous apart-hotels I've been to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    This is a second stay and they did not dissapoint. We will be definately coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    Excellent friendly and accommodating staff, excellent breakfasts and great facilities. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    My boyfriend was very happy shame we could not get a week there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we could only get a booking for four nights but we had two nights in a quiet bungalow and two nights at a poolside bungalow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great location, great pools, lovely bungalows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Better evening entertainment- was very ad hoc.

    Stayed in the bungalows- very clean, good size and gardens beautiful.. really great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    If you have to stay in Maspalomas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rest of our family had breakfast included but we didn't get it through this booking.

    Great facility for families with kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Great apartment hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    3 pools Mainly good for families but welcomed all guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Green grass and pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Green grass and pools.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location, staff were great, clean grounds would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps into the hotel and back out to the pool area and apartments.

    Great choice of swimming pools for the kids and they were heated aswell.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay at Sol Barbarcan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof terraces on the bungalows were nice. Grounds very pleasant. Adult only pool a definite plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved everthing about our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.3
    Tired facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's very tired - badly needs some investment. We left early. The Star rating is wrong....

    Staff were super helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could be a bit better equipped

    Great with 3 different areas of pools. Nice with the private rooftop on each bungalow.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    Great local ion, lovely spacious bungalows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great size of bungalows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Bungalow (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to book for next year and it was a £1000 more

    Enjoyed everything beautiful place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Stayed in the bungalows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed in the bungalows. Great space, two bathrooms, welcome waters and sweets on arrival, great location, Fab gardens, great pools, comfortable sunbeds, great staff, restaurant, bar, pool tables, facilities overall, pool towel changes, shop, great reception staff, parking. We enjoyed it all.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, gorgeous clean rooms, huge balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friends who paid the same amount had a smaller, darker room...ground floor accommodation definitely not as good as apartments on upper floors!

    Perfect location, gorgeous clean rooms, huge balcony and brilliant view!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Hotel complex is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel complex is great. Not too big, not too small. Clean, modern, quiet, very green and well maintained. Staff are very polite, friendly, attentive. Nothing was too big or too small for everyone you had to deal with: reception, cleaners, chef, waiters, bar people, security - everyone. Lifts are plenty and never had a problem getting to the top floor and back. Three swimming pools for every taste. Food is very nice (the chef was fantastic) and every night you can find something you haven't tried yet. Very close to everything and very central. Special thanks to Sita, German, Jesus and Juan and 2 breakfast ladies - they were more like friends we have known for a long time. Definitely coming back.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    nearly everything, food, restaurant ,pool, entertainment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Morning staff seemed a little short some times ,but in all fairness to them they were very busy ,Maybe an inside bar would be nice but outside bar & staff excellent ( liked patio heater, nice touch )

    nearly everything, food, restaurant ,pool, entertainment crew All excellent Grounds kept lovely

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    The bungalow was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Many groups with old men sitting and drinking beer. Drunk people in the restaurant. (We only had bad luck I guess, and this has nothing to do with the hotel, but it's not fun to eat with your kid when people are really drunk a few tables further down in the restaurant.) Not so many families with kids. + Don't forget to bring your own wettex, scotchbrite and soap.

    The bungalow was nice. The roof terrace was beautiful. Very good cleaning. Lots of old people that mostly stayed inside during the day, so we were often alone in the pool area even though the hotel was fully booked. The dinnerfood and breakfast was delicious. The china food evening was surprisingly delicate. The kids club was appreciated. The staff was very service-minded.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food in the snackbar was below expectations. That is puzzling considering the breakfast and the dinner in the same restaurant are excellent. The cost using the laundry facilities is a bit steep.

    Great location. Well maintained hotel. Excellent staff. Great service and always with a smile. Nice rooms, all with view of the pool. Laundry facilities.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.6
    Aparments are up to date and beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps the early beggining of the pool shows in the morning.. A bit annoying. Besides that nothing else.

    Aparments are up to date and beautifully decorated. Clean and with all the cookware you might need. Air conditioning works perfectly. The apartment has a huge terrace that provides in most of cases, or at least my case a beautiful view of gran canaria. Staff, from reception to housekeeping amazing. food and amenities of the hotel were really good. A place to come back with out a doubt.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    10
    Have stayed at sol Barbacan many times over the past 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Have stayed at sol Barbacan many times over the past 20 years. It is a lovely spacious family friendly place! The staff are lovely and always very helpful. The new pool area is fantastic. We hope to be back again soon. Caroline Devitt.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location with plenty of shops and restaurants near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No double bed, only two single beds pushed together was the only significant negative. Very minor but shallow shower tray meant the floor always got wet.

    Great location with plenty of shops and restaurants near by. Friendly staff, excellent cleaners and room cleaned every day, and always clean towels when required. Three swimming pools, sports facilities, plenty of very comfortable sun loungers and space. Good and varied buffet meal available in the hotel in the evening if you don't want to venture far. Large balcony, free air conditioning, very well equipped kitchen area, excellent strong shower and always able to get just the right temperature, free TV with several channels. Lifts and everything else always worked and maintenance people checking things all the time. Useful to have a small hotel supermarket. Great to have a working wi-fi in the room. We also looked forward to and really loved the cheerful entertainment team with their 10.30 Good Morning wake up song and their great dancing to Chayanne's Madre Tierra song!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Very good service upon arrival to the hotel - we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Despite I was reminding the hotel staff at the reception that Oct 10th was my wife's birthday (I did it 3 times: during the check-in, the day before the Birthday and on the day of Birthday) and asked if something special (a small piece of cake or a bottle of a sparkling wine) could be organized, nothing had happened :-( , which was the first time in our active travelers' life that our Birthday remained without hotel's attention..

    Very good service upon arrival to the hotel - we arrived very late (at 01:00AM) and a prepared dinner was awaiting us in the fridge, plus a bottle of wine, which was very nice! We also liked everyday's cleaning and appreciated amenities' cleanliness. Entertainment program was good as well as the quality of the food and drinks. Very friendly service at the bars and in the restaurant. Hotel's location is decent and car park was mostly available.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Everything is absolutely positive, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything is absolutely positive, comfortable and well-equipped apartments, nice staff, very good restaurant a la carte, not a lot of kids (calm), good location, free parking. Were met all requests - thank you! A nice surprise - wine and fruit waiting in the apartment - thank you as well. If Gran Canaria - necessarily Sol Barbacan. I hope to see you next year.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Large swimming pool - fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred a double bed instead of twin made separately pushed together.

    Large swimming pool - fabulous Excellent location Friendly staff Magic shower Great apartment over looking pool

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, food excellent, very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, food excellent, very accommodating. The rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels supplied. The animation team work really hard to ensure you enjoy your days around the pool!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no kitchen starter kit (to do the dishes).

    Perfect location! Best wifi, unlimited, fast and everywhere! Clean ++ A welcome gift (bottle of wine & fruit) Front desk in Spanish, English, Dutch,...

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    The pool was fab and the breakfast and dinner buffets were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sofas/chairs in the apartments werent particularly comfortable.. little dated.

    The pool was fab and the breakfast and dinner buffets were amazing value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    hotel very kindly gave us an upgrade to a bungalow, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel cat was not overly friendly!!!!!!!

    hotel very kindly gave us an upgrade to a bungalow, which came with a free bottle of wine, which was very much appreicated by the mrs!! thank you sol barbacan, you will be seeing us again at some point in the future

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    We stayed here from the 6th-13th September in a 1 bedroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here from the 6th-13th September in a 1 bedroom apartment. Room: The room was spacious, the bedroom consisted of two single beds pushed together with a double wardrobe, and safe (extra payable at reception). The beds were very hard and thin mattresses and gave me back ache. The bathroom had a big walk in shower and sink with separate toilet. Hairdryer, shampoo, soap and shower gel provided and replenished each day. The room was cleaned each day and the towels changed as frequently as you liked, with the bed being changed once in the 7 night stay. However I found the floor to be very dirty and in need of a good deep clean. The kitchen was a good size with everything you needed. The only thing it didn't have was an oven and washer. Everything else was provided... Pots, pans, glasses, cutlery, microwave etc! The balcony was very spacious and came with 2 chairs and a table and 2 lounge/ sunbeds, with padded cushioning on. To ensure you have sun on your balcony all day- request a 4th or 5th floor room. Also, request a room NOT in the 'horse shoe' / centre as the balconies looked tiny!! The only thing we missed was an iron and ironing board.... However we rented one at reception for an extra charge. Pool area: Clean, plenty of sun beds with cushioning padding. Jacuzzi was nice and the pools were fantastic too. Bar/ eating area: We found this extremely over priced..... 18.90 Euro!!! for 4 (large- bigger than the small plastic glasses but smaller than pint glass) Fanta's!!!! My advice would be to buy your own drinks from the supermarket rather than pay these silly prices. Food was OK... Apart from the waiters could do to learn to smile! :-) This was the only part of the hotel that really let it down, waiter service/ attitude and price! Reception: Fantastic gentleman who checked us in. (Small male, slim build, dark hair) he couldn't do enough for us! So friendly and helpful. Plenty of information at reception.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was very fresh and clean with a very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When we were checking out, my wife asked at reception about a late checkout, we were told that we could stay in our room until 6.00 as we weren't flying till 9.00 that evening. However at 2.00 the phone rang in the room to say we had to leave the room immediately, which we did, however I'm glad that we didn't have a final day on the beach!!

    The hotel was very fresh and clean with a very helpful reception. We easily found our bungalow, which was immaculate. The bedrooms were small, but everything else was fine.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    We asked for quiet sunny apartment and got it, great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to stop me going again.

    We asked for quiet sunny apartment and got it, great. Three pools helped to spread the load, roof on villa to sunbathe in evening was lovely, more quieter times. Hotel and leisure staff were very good, would go again.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    The Hotel and room were always very clean, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    The Hotel and room were always very clean, breakfast was fresh and plentiful, we had a couple of evening meals and the food was always prepared to a high standard. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.4
    Politeness of Reception Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was warm and I had to ask for beans to be heated more on one of the days. Only ate there because we were half board. The bed we had was terribly squeaky and very uncomfortable. The TV channels which showed anything in English was either the news, sport or horror channel.

    Politeness of Reception Staff. The design of the building, the grounds, pool etc. was nice.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: