Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Best Sol D´Or 3 stars

Camí Del Racó s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain

Review score

Based on 673 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly and comfortable and very quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for toilet paper.that was one thing they never gave every day.

    Bed was very comfortable the towels were changed ever day. There was a great selection for the breakfast.the place and area very clean and quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud animation, music, karaoke till 12 p.m. Bad smell in the bathroom and at the ground floor

    Excellent linens, buetiful territory, close to the sea, good meal, marvellous panoramic view from the restaurant, very wide beach and clean sea in La Pineda

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't very varied. The entertainment was aimed at children most nights.

    The hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious. Staff were helpful and polite. The pool area was clean and well maintained. All inclusive was really good and included a lot. Great location by the beach, la pineda is a beautiful beach. Easy bus routes to Salou, tarragona and portaventura!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is too small for the size of the hotel. We visited at peak summer time but restaurant crazy busy at times

    Location was amazing, 5 minute walk to the beach and prominade, halc hour walk to salou. Room was basic but fine and air con worked. Night entertainment a bit hit and miss but definitely give 100% for effort. Drinks in hotel reasonable, we were half board.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's nothing I didn't like. But a bit of refurbishment wouldn't go wrong.

    The hotel is huge. We were on the fourth floor Room 472 overlooking the pool. It had a nice balcony with two chairs and table. It was quite pleasant to sit and have a wee drink late at night listening to the entertainment. The bedroom had 3 single beds and were very comfortable. So it was quite a big room. The wardrobe doors were difficult to shut. One of them wouldn't. I would advise going down for breakfast about 8 and 8.15 otherwise it will be absolutely mobbed. Our first day we went down about 9 am and the queue went down the stairs. There were lots of children in the hotel. This is the first Hotel I have stayed in that I haven't heard any noise during the night or first thing in the morning and that includes folk moving furniture about. Not a sound did we hear. That's a first in any Hotel. I would definitely stay here again. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. Last but not least, the Hotel is in an ideal position. Situated in a quiet part, but only minutes from the Beach, Shops and Restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice pool
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one member of reception staff was friendly and helpful Food is very poor quality Restaurant staff very angry all the time, no manners, no politeness Evening entertainment could do with some updates Children animators only inviting and speaking with children who speak Spanish

    Nice pool Good location - 5min walk to the beach, shops and restaurants Nice size rooms Balcony Comfortable Air conditioning in rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    The location was very good, close to the noisy and stressful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available, even though advertised, took 2 hours to park. Having to queue to get into the restaurant, which was then so busy, you had to queue for everything again. The very poor evening entertainment, which was unbelievably loud until midnight.

    The location was very good, close to the noisy and stressful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location: near the supermarket and not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difference between fact and booked bed type in the room; absence of the fridge in the room; technical condition of the room: almost collapsed wardrobes; very poor wi-fi connection in the room/reception/restaurant; housekeeping: the linens hadn’t been changed even once for 5 days, the shampoo is not provided in time, the housekeeper enters the room whenever she wants, even if you ask her to come later; very long queues in the restaurant.

    Good location: near the supermarket and not far from the beach; very good food; interesting evening entertainment program.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    In general
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Waiting lines for breakfast and dinner, although we were staying not in the highest season. (However, need to say that the stuff is always helping to find a table) I would suggest more coffee/tea stations, as had to wait for 10-15 minutes. The rooms require refurbishment (at least new linen, towels and blankets) Our room had a strong smell of mold (#363) through out the whole stay The most bothering thing were the evening entertainment shows until midnight. This is absolutely not convenient for families with kids.

    The Hotel is perfectly located, 5 minutes walk from the beach, shopping area, aqua park, bus stop. Good selection of fruits for meals Quite pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    I would come there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed in this hotel 15 years ago and now again I decided to go there. The rooms are big and clean. Staff is helpful. Pool is a bit small but was not over crowded evev in high season (we were in beginning of August). The beach is in 3 min walk from the hotel, and is free. Bus station is also in 3 min walk from the hotel, so you can easily go visiting other cities of province Tarragona

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff. Really nice corner of La Pineda. Only a few steps away from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the restaurant could improve the system because finding a table could be tricky, but it was a busy time of the year

    I arrived a bit too early but the receptionist found a room that was ready so that I didn't have to mess around leaving my suitcases anywhere. The breakfast was busy but really nice, had all sorts including freshly prepared pancakes. Staff in the bar and reception were helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the time we were in the hotel we were not allowed to use the airconditioning. And this was not mentioned when I was booking for this hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent. location ok, nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    We are thinking to rest there again!
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Really close to the beach and to the transport stations, good food, interesting evening programs, swimming pool for kids is safety, large and well-situated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Would not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were friendly and polite. All the the other staff were almost rude, like bored at their work. Too small pool and it was crowded like ... With a better pool area hotel would raise its bar.

    Food was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    4.6
    A hardly two star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is still in '80s. The smell in the room is awful. The mold smell is everywhere. The water was dripping from the ceilling in the bathroom. The breakfast was the same everyday. The grill man didn't make the omelettes. This is hardly a two star hotel. When I was a child I have been in more luxurious summer camps. I forgot about ants crawling everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.1
    in general good value for money..would return if minor updates were made
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast menu good but cooked food only just warm needs to be hotter, more coffee and tea machines required,decor needs updating and attention to maintenance,odour from toilet.

    good choice in restaurant, cleaning staff friendly and efficient,swimming pool good location of hotel good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Last minute deal excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we got we have no complaints worth the money all round

    The food was better than expected we went b and b to be safe and ended up having the buffet tea 3 nights, plentiful and good choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    very crowded at the restaurant

    The hotel is close to the beach. There is a gym. Good food. A lot of fruits.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were very clean and great complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food we paid all that money and the food was terrible for the English

    The rooms were very clean and great complex

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Rude staff at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff at the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Food,location,clean sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool

    Food,location,clean sea

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Great location, the kid's loved it:-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Free parking places nerby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi. Bad and expensive coffee in bar.

    Free parking places nerby hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    very good value for money, location excellent overall its nice, pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff is not smiling, hotel is a bit noisy, food not the best

    its a bit outdated but very very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't speak English

    Yes Everything was good happy with everything but nobody spoke English but it was OK we got by ..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    The smell in a bathroom not so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The smell in a bathroom not so good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Cozy old hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy old hotel;) Good grill in restaurant (chef Igor)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.5
    It's one of the hopeless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.2
    One night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Russian is the main language, old fashion room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms and not much for kids in territory

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.6
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded and chaotic, strictly for families who can't control their kids

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Location near beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and poor pool bar food menu

    Location near beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a thing

    excellent all round

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Overall good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated but good value

    Location and pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    Enjoyed our week here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in late september

    Location, front desk has staff at all times, pool was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    didn't like the room that we were allocated ,went to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pool is small and the shallow end isn't very deep I like to swim lengths in the pool not suitable, no litter baskets from you enter the hotel to you reach the pool, had to use the reception area as the wi/fi isn't great at times any were else in the hotel ,was staying in room 141 no sign for the public toilet only found it by chance

    didn't like the room that we were allocated ,went to reception spoke to Maria and asked for another room it was no problem, we were then given a room on the ground floor beside the pool very comfortable and clean ,the staff were very helpful and friendly gym was ok all equipment was in good condition and working food was good ,restaurant staff were very efficient advisable to avoid the last 45 minutes at breakfast and dinner as their can be quiet a long queue waited about 10/15minutes on a table, 5 minutes from the beach would certainly stay again highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    5.4
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old broken furniture, very old TV (my grandma has one of this), no refrigerator but ants in the room, strange smell from the bathroom drains. If you are "lucky" to get a room with pool view don't be too happy. The music is very loud until midnight. Even if you close the window the impression is that you are on a stage. Ground floor rooms smell of mold. Breakfast is like a 1* hotel in Romania. Cheap food, cheap drinks, don't expect to eat something traditional like for example jamon or natural. If you don't like russians try to avoid this hotel.

    Friendly staff. Good position, close to the sea and close to the bus station (Barcelona Airport, Tarragona, Parc Aventura).

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.7
    1. Location of the hotel: close to the sea, bus stops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The hotel is not a quiet place as it was presented: Rooms facing the pool get a lot of noise from the pool&entertainment program. The rooms on the side street face another building - looking in neighbors windows, they also get noise from nearby pool. The hotel would be much better place without the amusement program and all the loud music. 2. Humidity and mold in the first floor rooms: Upon our request we were relocated in a front side room (front side of the hotel is the most quiet place). We got much bigger room for the same price: very big and comfortable beds. However, the room smelled like mold and there was a large amount of water under the beds (due to some condensation or similar). We asked for cleaning lady to collect the water two times during our stay. MANAGEMENT SHOULD REACT IMMEDIATELY REGARDING THIS ISSUE! 3. Same choice of food for breakfast every day: Please try to introduce different selection on food per day. We had the same breakfast for 5 days. 4. The hotel needs interior revamp: The reception and the lounge area should be modernized since they are old fashioned and uncomfortable. 5. Small pool for the hotel's capacity

    1. Location of the hotel: close to the sea, bus stops and city center, yet quiet area of the city 2. Sea view from the restaurant and the green area/palms in front of the hotel 3. Kindness of the reception staff 4. Very good food-compliments to the chef-needs more variety 5. Option to get very good lunch for additional €12 6. Individual (per room) reservation for sauna and Jacuzzi 7. Trees and shadows around the pool. However, one could not relax and read a book there due to the noise around the pool.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    friendliness of hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only problem was a lot of the food in the restaurant was only lukewarm

    friendliness of hotel staff close proximity to beach,bars,restaurants and buses

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    Good food choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The baby high chairs really need a tray for the front. My daughter does baby led weaning and this really affected her eating.

    Good food choice

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff on reception were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff on reception were really helpful. It felt really relaxed, safe and family-like.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    3.8
    At least wifi was available at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very dirty rooms, especially bathrooms

    At least wifi was available at the reception

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Kind and helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No so much variation of the food.

    Kind and helpful personnel. Location close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.1
    Hotel was clean in good location and room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were not very helpful and pool was mostly shaded

    Hotel was clean in good location and room was comfortable

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: