Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sol Principe 4 stars

Paseo Colorado, 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain

#19 of 52 hotels in Torremolinos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1420 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    big room big resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    too many guests too little facilities , had to fight for loungers by the pool . did not cater for people who don't eat pork or seafood

    big room big resort

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay at Sol Principe! Good VALUE for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far away from the resort's centre, but this can be a huge advantage as we were far from the noisy centre and the hotel is spacious with big pools ( you won't find this big pools in the resort centre where everything is crowded)

    We appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel in general and the room ( daily cleaning of the room). The room was comfy with great sea view and with big balcony! Nice romantic room! The facilities were great: big pool with plenty of sunbeds, warm water. The food was very tasty at breakfast and evening, with variety: sometimes we had even sushi ( good ones) and jellies. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the receptionists and the photo team ( friendly, they even offered us a free photo session and the photos were amazing). Many thanks to everybody at Sol Principe!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food...Great location...The rooms are a little bit small unless you get an apartment...Otherwise really clean...great staff and again great food!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all inclusive was not very good the buffet food got a bit repetitive and the drinks selection was all the cheap drink unless you asked for it, but found some of the bar staff trying to give you cheap stuff even after you asked for the good drink as if they where told to do it, for the amount of money the all inclusive cost it’s not worth it.’

    Spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    From start to Finnish was horrible.had money snatched out of Are hand by bar staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude to English the pool was freezing and so called life guard not watching .The food is horrible all I could eat was toast and that was about it . The entertainment was shocking. Well the hour of so called entertainment 😂 I have stayed here before and it was nice but now I feel the English are not welcome not only in hotel but Spain Everywhere we went people were Rude this review I will never come back is by nicola not peter

    The room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice facilities and location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long lines at check in and ability for early check in. No fresh juice at breakfast.

    Breakfast food not very good and very difficult to obtain pool chairs. Not enough staff for check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast, the facilities, also the place is good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of vegetables in the morning. You should consider the option of paying only for dinner, not for lunch and dinner all together.

    The breakfast, the facilities, also the place is good for people with reduced mobility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    One night stay before the flight from Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason we chose the hotel for 1 night stay is for our son to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool (as outside pools were too cold in May), however, when we arrived we learned that the pool is already closed at 6 pm! There was no mention of opening hours in the description of hotel facilities in booking com. Also, the hotel is very plain, boring design and empty hallways, bare walls, there was not a single painting in the room! Beds were also not very comfortable. Poor value for money for what you get. E.g. just before we stayed in Vincci Estrella del Mar hotel in Marbella (5 stars), the price per night was almost the same but the quality, style, design, breakfast, size of a room and comfort was incomparable..

    Proximity to the beach and seaside promenade as well as to the airport. Flamenko show in the outdoor pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bed- it was 140 cm for 2 grown up persons, it should be 160 cm. The breakfast area should bebfurther duvided into smaller areas,

    Excelent breakfast and pool, good room with view to the pool and sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    It had a great pool area with a nice cocktail bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too firm:(

    It had a great pool area with a nice cocktail bar! Loved it!! In addition, they had music playing every evening in the lounge. Definitely a place to come back to👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Great time in Sol Principe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful as the pools are, the water was cold despite warm weather. Children pools were even colder than the large ones. The reception could be organized more efficiently - the staff was fantastic, super friendly and very helpful though! Not having a kettle in a room may be annoying for some and if you want to rent it the cost is 6 Eur/day! The entertainment was outdated - this could be much more fun amd engaging.

    Everything else! Wonderful stay, great hotel and facilities also for kids, swimming, playground, kids club, rooms were very clean and cleaned daily. Good selection of food, nice and fresh. We loved the hotel, the lovely staff as mentioned, the beach right across the street. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but you need a taxi to go main areas. Location not great ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful.. Luggage room not very safe .. Each time I went in to leave bags and collect bags people in rummaging in suitcases.. Could have been their own bag but no hotel staff to over see.. Other hotels have a porter takes your bag and you get a ticket for collecting you bag

    Room and pool area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    At quieter end of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stated parking available. Tried to charge 24€ per day. parked in public car park first night. 15€ but 11.10€ for residents. We then discovered there is loads of public parking on the seafront

    At quieter end of town. Nice Bars on beachfront to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A perfect break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system was confusing and we had to ask for help and it went off and on by itself which was frustrating when you are very hot!

    Everything was easily accessed, and there wasn’t any unnecessary delays or confusion. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful including the cleaners. Drinks were reasonably priced and the everywhere was very clean. We were very happy indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the curtesy room for 5pm had to wait 20minutes then only had 20miinutes to use it! There was 2 of us so felt very rushed when the receptionist kept ring the phone! The room was very nice and had a nice view but unfortunately the lift backed on to the room and being on the 11th floor there was a constant drone of the lift from early morning!

    Good choice of food and drinks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has nice location and nice room, but the check-in process is very very slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in time is very time-consuming. They should speed up this part.

    I like the location of this hotel. It is very close to the beach. It is not far away from airport so it is very easy to get there by driving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Food, drink and facilities are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con.

    Food, drink and facilities are great. Location is prefect with lots of bars and restaurants near by that are amazing value. I like that there is a separate pool area that is quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded place. Very loud at night time due to entertainment. Quality of the room.(room 513) No facilities in room for tea/coffee.Breakfast time was crazy with the amount of people. Reception is always busy except really early in morning. Indoor pool cold.

    Facilities for kids. Clean. Pool bar. Good selection of drinks/snacks. Wifi. Staff. Breakfast. Would recommend all inclusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Huge hotel complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, not really prepared for a child they just put an extra bed which was eating all free space up. Lots of people, quite noisy not really what we wanted to have.

    Very child oriented lots of possibilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Principe
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ok but fairly repetitive, we found the soup was only luke warm and always of a thin consistency. We had few evenings when it rained so it was unsuitable to have the entertainment outside, because of the volume of people it was almost impossible to get a seat in the lounge to be able to see anything. We had to use buses and taxis to go anywhere as the Hotel is a little bit out of the main area .

    It was close to the beach. We had good views from the balcony which was on the 8th floor. The staff were very friendly and gave us any information that we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    car parking not included and at 24 euros a day it was very expensive, when we stayed the car park was empty but each day we had to try and find a parking space in the local area which proved very difficult but we were not willing to pay the extra, long check in and check out q's, our bed was a double and was ridiculously small and very uncomfortable as were the pillows. so we didn't get much sleep, they advertise a mini bar but this is untrue there is just an old dirty fridge that didnt work, although they did get this mended for us, drinks and food at the hotel is super expensive and not in line with the local area.

    Hotel very clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was amazing and the choice was astonishing, facilities are very good and clean and there's lots to do for children and lots of entertainment, I'm not sure I would want to be around during the school holidays as we don't have kids and I can imagine it would be manic, the area is lovely as are the beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy with stay will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment can improve. Felt it was aimed for older people.

    Happy with most of the facilities which was what I expected and food was of a good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.0
    excellent hotel and facilitaties, but the best thing the hotel has going for it is its staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't complain about anything as I would be doing the hotel and especially their staff an injustice, they were superb

    great hotel in great location, food was amazing , so many deserts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel love the fact that they have baby facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to boil water for baby bottles they want to charge 6 euros a day for you to use one!!!! Can you please just put one in the baby room. Only other fault is checkin took ages 30 minutes standing in a Queue with a hungry tired baby was not fun!!! 5 people behind the desk but only 2 people checking in other 3 staff looking lost!!!! Was a joke really!!! Other than these 2 small issues hotel was Amaxing

    Excellent hotel love the fact that they have baby facilities.... entertainment team are lovely food is good and overall service excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Good restaurant (buffet).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of noise coming from clients in the room above us (even after midnight). We had booked 2 rooms months in advance for our family, but our rooms were not next to each others. And a room that was given to us was occupied by other guests. We could enter their room with the keys received at the reception.

    Good restaurant (buffet). Nice facilities for kids. Friendly staff. Hotel near the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Location was really good, in front of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathtub is from a really slippery material that can be dangerous for toddlers and elderly people.

    Location was really good, in front of the beach. Swimming pools where nice and big, next to pool bar and also had 2 children pool which was perfect for my toddler. Staff where really helpful and had many activities during the day and evening for all family. Playgrounds are close by and a supermarket is just in front of the main door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaners noisy also a lot of guest Breakfast so busy hardly table we found, small room .

    lovely sea view room,pool,public lounge and bar,friendly staff ,very clean .Secure hotel entrance right near the beach and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location (next to the beach, many entertainment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge hotel with lots of entertainment, which often means noise (music,...) until 11pm; the restaurant is often crowded and the food is rather basic.

    Great location (next to the beach, many entertainment options in the area, 1km from the train station, 10mins from airport, 20mins from Malaga city,...), comfortable room, nice swimming pools, good price for what you get.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Not a pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Child's bed placed in a room for clearly two people very very cramped.Arrived wednesday evening good check in then on saturday evening meal had side dish of calamari and seafood got food poisoning very ill bed ridden v weak until Wednesday morning

    Maid room service. Dining good layout v busy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Overcrowded, raining, all inclusives being pests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcrowded, noisy hotel with all inclusive mentality making local town a total ghost town, especially if it rains before May. Guests let staff down, late night drunk domestics, you can hear every word and every neglected baby morning till night. Pot smoking in entrance and breakfast with a thousand pushy people, been to a lot of places but this one is bad save the staff.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.8
    FOR THE PRICE I WOULD RATHER STAY ELSEWHERE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I DIDNT LIKE THAT THE STAFF DIDNT SPEAK MUCH ENGLISH, THEY WANT YOU TO PAY FOR ALL THE DRINKS EVEN THOUGH YOU ARE HALF BOARD. THEY DONT SERVE WATER AT DINNER, YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR A BIG BOTTLE. THE FOOD WERE REPETITIVE AND NOT A LOT OF SELECTIONS. NOT ENOUGH TABLES, GUEST HAD TO QUE UP FOR TABLES TO EAT ON. THE NIGHT ENTERTAINING WERE NO GOOD. THE INDOOR SWIMMING POOL WAS SUPPOSE TO BE HEATED BUT STILL COLD.

    THE ROOMS WERE COMFY, EVEN THOUGH STAFF DIDN'T CHANGE SHEETS FOR TWO DAYS AND HAD TO BE TOLD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, great food, lovely pools. Fridge in room. Staff very helpful for my coeliac daughter. Beach across the road and lovely walk into Torremolinos centre. Would love to come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and a great singing convention with friends and other choirs
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as there were hundreds of us going to an event in the hotel at 8pm, the hotel could have arranged for the evening meal to start earlier as most of us went elsewhere.

    lovely view from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Within walking distance of the main town. Bus service just outside hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Long check in. We found the hotel to be quite bare and bland in that there were no plants, tables, pictures or anything like that around the hotel to brighten it up. The bar was too clinical...white everywhere. It would have been nice to have a kettle and an iron in the room. Aircon was stuck on heat.

    Very good choice of food for hot and cold breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No one ever explained the facilities to us as we usually stay there just for a night either arriving or departing to the airport. This time we stayed to relax after arriving and would have liked to know about the other property next door which we had access to.

    3rd time here. Love the location. Now they charge 11 Euros for parking and we were disappointed by that - the parking lot used to be full and now it's empty. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Extremely dissappointed and surprised at Sol allowing this to get so bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures for an economic room showed a balcony not only was there not one but a door opening onto a flat roof so couldn’t open it incase somebody came into the room had to keep curtain drawn all the time as every other room looked into ours no wifi or parking without paying extra couldnt even get near the hotel to unload staff unhelpful moody long queues at reception took 30 mins to check in without any apology for the long delay totally disgusting not the usual Sol hotels attitude to customers

    Room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very large resort so quite busy and noisy. Lots of groups of teenagers partying all night! Hygiene standards are not the best...drinks glasses were not washed and towels were changed rather haphazardly.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was copious and room (we had to change because first room was not what was booked) was large with a nice terrace and sunrise view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast buffet was good there are lovely common areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds could be a bit better when it comes to a 4 star hotel. One evening, my son (aged 18 and had his own room) found a note of sexual offerings. There were no others we talked to had received similar notes, so my question is how was it found that he was living alone in his room?

    The breakfast buffet was good there are lovely common areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground parking too narrow, with uncovered metal AC ducts on one side of the wall. easy to get your car scratched. Not enough staff at checkin counter during peak times. Took some time to get our rooms. Even to ask questions, need to get in a queue to access reception.

    Breakfast too good. Location awesome. Plenty of space and large pools. Spacious lobbies and sitting areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect! Great for relaxation and lots of bars if you want to enjoy nights out too,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, clean comfy rooms, polite lovely staff, available sun beds, beach front hotel. Couldn't fault any of it , bus ride to centre of Malaga only €1.50 just 25 mins away and well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, modern hotel with lovely view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy, hectic place with kids running around and lots of noise. Always line-ups at reception, even with 3 or more at the desk. Breakfast bacon was fatty and not crisp, hardly cooked. No croissants, but different kinds of buns. However, when there are so many guests, it's expected to have fast food. The hotel was really great in all other ways, so these are minor things.

    Beautiful hotel close to the beach. Amazing view with balcony. Buffet breakfast had an extensive variety of food, though nothing really outstanding. Clean, modern rooms. Good Wifi. Good for families with kids. Okay for adults, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    It is an average place for those who do not mind the crowd, but likes the beach and the nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed is of medium comfort, the bathroom was ok. Unfortunately, the light cannot be adjusted more sophisticated, no intimate light is possible. We didn't know that the hotel is so big, and so many people will be there, for us it was too much.

    Average breakfast, English tomato, omelette etc, unfortunately, no fresh orange juice. We had breakfast on terrace, because inside was very noisy. The view was nice. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Glad when we were leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to be moved from our room due to ceiling in bathroom nearly collapsing,next room smelt strongly of tobacco and the view poor.Breakfast was a joke did not replenish items as finished coffee, fruit, fruit juices some breads. Staff at reception hard to speak to as there were always large queues and would not recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Costa del sol in march
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool outside not open and parking was empty but had to pay for it .it should have free or cheap parking for residents.

    It was clean .Buffet in morning had plenty of choices ..location was good as not as windy as other parts of costa del sol

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    This is just an average three star hotel which even charges one Euro for local calls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 28 nights

    Poor internet service as it would go down regularly. Only two English TV stations; sometimes only one. Room was very noisy with lots of sound transference from hallway and adjacent rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Love this hotel and of course will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a standard room in main hotel, when we got there we were put into the smaller ?? annexe that we think was previously self catering rooms. These were clean spacious and comfortable, but we would have prefered to stay in main hotel. Dining room very noisy

    Clean and comfortable. Nothing to dislike. We have stayed many times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Genuine review from a londoner
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i did not like; The breakfast was not great. The selection was small and the taste was abysmal. 80% of the guests are older aged, so this may be an uncomfortable environment for young adults such as my self. The outdoor swimming pool was closed which was a let down. Lack of communication between myself and staff due to my lack of spanish and their lack of english! Although the spa was amazing, it was slightly overpriced. The checking in process took about half an hour considering the fact that there wasnt a queue! Apart from that, everything else was fine.

    The hotel was BEAUTIFUL. The view was amazing as well as the facilities. Staff were constantly cleaning. The gym was well kept, the indoor swimming pool was nice (all though it could have been a tad warmer). The bar was really nice and reasonably priced. This hotel is extremely child friendly. The spa was very excellent. The check in is 24 hours and staff are always willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Overall, it's not a terrible place, just large and industrial. 2 or 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Clearly the hotel and Booking.com don't get along. They tried to apply a surcharge on arrival, saying "Booking.com doesn't count your children!" though the children were clearly listed in our booking. Apparently "this happens all the time with Booking.com." They picked this fight at midnight, after we'd traveled all day and arrived with two young children. We did not, in the end, pay extra, but we were irritated by the experience. 2. All three outdoor pools and all children's activities were closed the week we were there. Even the staff seemed surprised that there were no kids' activities, as they directed us to the Mini-golf and kids play area, only to find that it was closed. 3. Rooms (especially bathrooms) were cleaned with some kind of a chemical that was horrible smelling. What is that??! And why?

    1. Location was good - close to the beach, walkable to restaurants, and a short taxi ride into Torremolinos. 2. The buffet was large (if not special.) Good for big groups and non-foodies. 3. Happy hour (5:30-6:30) is a good deal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Fine hotel near the sea, nice starting point for running.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is often a long queue at check-in, due to the fact that many guests arrives in groups by bus. The Wi-fi works fine, but you get warning that the Wi-fi security is outdated. A lot of floors are slippery when wet, and it rained a lot. Very helpful staff, but several did not understand English.

    Stayed there in February for running, many possibilities for running on asphalt and gravel. Food is good, lunch buffet has varied selection in hot and cold food, and fruit. Half Board, and we could choose to eat lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast sausages tasteless .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast sausages tasteless ... no meat in them . plates cold. Ryanair tactics ..what happened to guests free car parking... How many Hotels charge staying guests for parking...Parking should be free ...Think about elderly guests .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely time and would return if certain improvements were made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels in the room. The hotel catered for every nationality except the British

    The room was lovely, breakfast was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Good, but in photos looks better than in real life; turistic area that lacks authenticity
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It looks much better on the photos that it does in real life. Arcades are not free and very very expensive. Food in the bar was very bad. Area itself does not offer anything but bars and restaurants. Restaurants lack both quality and authenticity.

    Clean room, big bathroom, good breakfast. Staff super friendly and always very helpful. It's just by a very big beach. Easy to get to Malaga by public transport if you are prepared to walk 10 mins up the hill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Alright place to stay, clean and friendly staff, though mostly 50+ people:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool outside should be warmed up outside season, poor selection of allergenic food like gluten free. The bread selection should be more nutritious

    OK breakfast and beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Over-worked staff with long queues!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was not great. Over 30 min queue to check in and out! Breakfast was over 40 mins wait. They gave us wrong room type so we had to queue a 2nd time to rectify. Staff over worked and not always friendly. Food was average but good drinks package for all-inclusive. We went in Feb so can't imagine how they cope during summer months.

    Nice hotel with good facilities. Great location by beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Nothing better than this could be found around
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold indoor swimming pool (in winter), wifi could be much better, charge for safty deposit box.

    Beach view and access, fabulous breakfast with various options (including hot meals), lunch, and dinner, polite and helpful staffs, cosy beds, great cleaning service, extremely good heating system, fast check out, very spacious hotel with outdoor pool (thought we didn't use the outdoor pool hence no comments ), live music show towards the evening, we had also the chance to enjoy a Spanish dance performance (that was a special night and not for every night), free TV and wifi, secure

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    It was good enough for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (-) The beds/mattresses are unacceptable for a 4-star hotel! Very cheap base and hard. No proper double-beds. (-) The constant loud noise (ding-ding) made by the elevators! - 24h - you can hear them in all hallways and rooms. I would not be able to sleep without my earplugs. (-) The ventilation/aircon was not working (switched off for winter?) - but you could also not leave open the balcony door at night for ventilation as it was noisy outside.

    It was good enough for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Very impressed with the hotel and it’s facilities however rooms could be modernised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with improving and the corridor height on the first floor is very low there was some lights bulbs out and this made it even worse I think some modernisation to the rooms would be good and tea and coffee making facilities In all rooms should come as standard in a 4 star hotel !

    The hotel staff are brilliant and very friendly and always attentive. Lots of great facilities in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful thanks for a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved a balcony facing the sun and tea making facilities in our room .But neither of those ruined our stay with you we were well looked after we had a great time thanks to you all.

    Room was big and beds were comfy .the staff were exellent and worked really hard we would recommend this hotel to anyone close to the town and other attractions railway and bus stops nearby .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We have been at the end of October, the water in the pools was a bit too cold.

    Everything was OK. The accommodation by Sol Principe totally worth the money. We had only breakfasts there and they were always tasty and nutritious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Good for people on holiday who enjoy company from other...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not my type of hotel, too much focus on mass tourism, therefore I would not stay here again

    Good for people on holiday who enjoy company from other tourists and like organised entertainment, easy access to the beach, very close to airport and easy taxi ride into Malaga.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Large friendly 'factory'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor restaurant was quite large, not really cosy. It's not so romantic for couples because of the size of the place. A lot of old people during our stay off season.

    Friendly staff, especially at the reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location, pools and choice for food. Not so impressed with room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioning in room, fridge was leaking, bedding was low quality and tv only had a couple of channels with English which were bbc news and cnn.

    Good choice for breakfast, great size swimming pools, great location for beach and local town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    The first relaxing beach vacation we have had with small children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls at the children's camp are wonderful! The pools are beautiful. If you have small children, this resort is a good idea. They are super kid friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight mix up on arrival re our room but the quality manager supplies a bottle of cava and chocolates to make up for it😁😁😁😁

    Great pools and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    Rude rude rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rude staff, rude manager, extremely rude dinner lady who checks you in for lunch and breakfast. 1,400 EUR for a twin room with an extra bed for 4 nights - a shambles.

    Pool activities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, but the overall experience in spoiled with bureaucracy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cash free, should you need beach towels you need to place cash deposit. Should you need your towels changed, you are prompted to pay €1. Cash only. (consider that we paid €450 per night. Generous. You have to show you paper arrival card upon entering to a restaurant every time. You have to pay for drinks in cash there unless you register your card and collect another paper card to carry. Be prepared for queuing ang for long walks within the resort.

    Pool is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff is not very pleasant, I have been required to pay the safe in the room with extra charge. The sun beds are very crowded on the swimming pool space being difficult to find space. The food is good but too many fried things, very less grill or healthy food. The waiters are not very careful doing everything in a hurry, everything having a fast-food taste. All drinks in the hotel, either on pool bar or in restaurant are expensive, sometime waiting time being quite long > 10 mins The towels for pool are paid with a small fee in the beginning (10 eur / towel) and if you want to take a new clean one during the stay you need to pay 1 eur for exchange.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Really nice caribbean pool with warm water, perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nice caribbean pool with warm water, perfect for relaxing. Very friendly staff and all sorts of activities to keep you entertained during the day. Proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice but Pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was small and outdated. For the money you pay, I expected the rooms to be a little nicer/ more modern. You also have to pay for some of the services; game room, lazer tag, mini cars for kids, wine at dinner, etc. For all-inclusive, you'd expect to not to pay anything extra.

    We arrived very late, around 0100 am and the gentleman at the front was very nice and waited for us. We had a room with a sea view and it was worth it; beautiful! The location to the beach is perfect, the pools are amazing and the pool bar was nice. There are many stores and restaurants nearby. The buffet selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner was nice, but if only staying for a few days. We stayed for a week and there was not enough variety or change in food so we ended up eating out a couple times. The shows were also nice but get very crowded; I would recommend getting there early!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a triple room but no space to even walk around the beds! The hotel had put two single beds together then pushed another single bed at the foot of the other two. It looked like a jig saw puzzle of beds! Unacceptable as I paid over £900 for a 4 night stay. It was unimaginable that myself, my sister & my 15yr old daughter could sleep in this claustrophobic room unable to pass each other around the beds. To be honest, the room was too small to accommodate two beds let alone three. The evening half board buffet meal was very poor. This year the hotel offers a 5 Euro per person supplement if you want to have a seafood & sushi buffet in another of their restaurants but this wasn't good either. There was not even a salad bar. Not a lettuce leaf to be seen! It just looked like an attempt at making extra money for the hotel. It would have been good to have had the seafood buffet then run back to the main restaurant to get some salad! I have stayed at this hotel before & enjoyed a beautiful big room & good food (my last visit had seafood & sushi included with no extra charge). Sorry but I will not be returning.

    Swimming pools were good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Typical place good for families with children,without anything you can remember untill you die
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Too crowdy.Everydays fight for a swimmingpools beds..It is like factory ,you wont feel any incredible,unique climate

    A lot of activities for children.Nice,clean swimingpools.Good localization,near to beach and the centre of the town.Quite polite staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast and dinner, big hotel with many facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is not really working, the pool area is very crowded and you need to reserve a sunbad early in the morning if you want a place.

    Good breakfast and dinner, big hotel with many facilities, kind staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Rooms excellent and beds comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to have night cap in lounge bar due to it being a childrens playground at 11.30pm. Whilst it is great for young families I feel small children should be in bed at a relatively reasonable hour.

    Rooms excellent and beds comfortable. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay in Sol Principe :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably just that the hotel is really huge and popular, in June it was almost full, in high season it may be a bit crowded ...

    Great pool area! Food for such a large hotel was really tasty, very good selection of everything, everyone should find something for themselves. Rooms quite clean and well maintained, very comfortable bed, we had a room with balcony and side sea view. The hotel is in a good location, right on the beach, but there are so many things to do on the property that there is no need to move outside. It was a very enjoyable getaway!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt appreciate the comment of the waiter when we went for lunch on the first day. Almenara told me off for using my phone on the table. I think that was rude and out of place and spoilt the experience in day one. Also we didnt like the cocktails at the bar. We were recommended the mango mojito but it didnt feel like a proper cocktail. For the price you pay for that I think that it is an insult that in a four star hotel you get something which its clearly pre-made and not made from scratch.

    The hotel is clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly, specially the lady on check in and Raul at the pool. The room was comfortable and spacious. We loved our room terrace, the sea view was just decent. The buffet was generous and offered a wide variety of choices. It was extremely busy at all times, staff in the kitchen and restaurant did an excellent job on a daily basis.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sol Principe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: