Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sol de Jávea 4 stars

Avenida del Mediterráneo, 180, 03730 Jávea, Spain

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    We have visited Javea on many occasions and often admired the position of the Hotel, not any more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We refused breakfast because on the first day the coffee machine did not work and the selection of breakfast food left much to be desired. The bar failed to open at any time! there was an advert for the restaurant but I did not see it open or any sign of food

    This Hotel, 1 star!, is in a wonderful position, it overlooks the sea and a lovely sea front.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Unhappy with hotel Sol de javea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and cocktail bar were not open as advertised. Hotel refurbishments started during our visit and there was an excessive amount of noise. No hot water one morning. Noises carried through the building from staff talking to each other in reception and we were on 2nd floor!

    Perfect location for purpose of our visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    Right by the sea,but 10 to 15 minuets to bars restaurants ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very very basic,shower very small,room very small, could do with a big up date.

    Right by the sea,but 10 to 15 minuets to bars restaurants ,parking easy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Looking forward to revisiting after renovation. Won't be as cheap then !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift broke down on last night.......all part of the refurb.

    Great location. This hotel closed on the day we left for complete refurbishment. It will go from a 1 star to 4 star when it re-opens in April 2018 Not fair to rate it as it will be much better after refurb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    A basic hotel at a very affordable price. We had an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast at 6 euros a head was pathetic and not worth the money. We cancelled it after one day. The hotel was due to have a year long refurbishment and the present staff's future was uncertain. As a result they weren't that welcoming and although helpful weren't that friendly.

    The sea view from the seating area in front of the hotel. The price of our stay was well worth the money. Although the hotel was basic it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    OK
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no hot water on 2 occasions lack of English speaking person on reception. we required access to an outside line on the room phone as there was no instructions in the room the person available was unable to understand our request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    A little overpriced for a budget hotel, in my opinion but was perfect for what I needed for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertising on the site wasn't quite what I received in the room. I did not have a balcony or a bath tub. The room also didn't have a mini bar/fridge to keep things cold in. Breakfast was not very good (toast, mini croissants, sugary cereal, etc.) though the restaurant was very beautiful.

    For the area, the hotel was good value. The staff were very nice and the coffee in the morning was good. The restaurant has a lovely view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Great situation right on the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms needs work, there is damp and water marks. But it looked like they are working on the hotel and maybe they are next on the list.

    The hotel is right on the seafront, so book a room with a sea view. Easy parking either in the carpark or if full on the other side of the road next to the beach. Nice walk either way with many restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel at a good price but location and breakfast could have been a bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located mid way between the old town and the new and was a walk to either. The breakfast was ok but the bread etc. was tasteless

    The hotel was clean and tidy and the room was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the most drab, depressing, old, basic hotel room I've stayed in for a long time. In desperate need of renovation and redecoration. Didn't like any of it.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Clean friendly and convenient for relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facilities in room would have been nice.

    Hotel location excellent, between Javea/Arenal beaches and facilities. Easy walk to both, beautiful views of the sea and quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed. Dissatisfied. Felt misinformed and mislead by the information from Booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a standard room as there were broken facilities which when reported I was told...i f you want better you pay. There was no fridge. No phone for assistance. A Broken light. A Broken safe. The Shower barely worked. The air conditioner was so noisy it was unusable. Paint peeled off the wall onto my back when I leant on the wall. There was no fan. It was even difficult to open the door with the key. There was a hole in the door. There were 3 clothes hangers. The ground floor smelt of animals as they are allowed there. The lift was an experience in itself. The staff were unhelpful. We complained about our room and were upgraded for one night out of 4. That room did have working facilities and a view however was small and cramped.

    Nothing. O yes ...the bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Good location and nice view but that's all the hotel has going for it, wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic nothing hot on offer. Bed mattress should be replaced felt springs. We did complain they just turned it over. The shower head was blocked so completely unusable but they did replace straight away. The hotel inside is dated and needs modernising. There is parking for six cars if your quick but there is easy parking across the road by the beach. Don't think thus hotel is value for money.

    Sea view balcony room . Lovely fresh orange juice. Bus stop right outside hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    It suited the purpose of my visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I was a single it had a double bed in it so as it was a small room anyway it took up most of the space available. No view at all and I had the feeling that I was in the worst room in the hotel.

    No comment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Hotel is ok for quick short stop for sleeping but not long term stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd bedroom furniture, flaking paint on the ceiling and just needs doing-up a bit. Shower not very good and parts at the bottom the tray are missing.

    The hotel has great sea view and the bed sheets were clean and fresh including the floors in the room. Sink, shower and toilet clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    The location and price are the hotel's best assets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tired could do with some modernisation. No mirrors for drying hair.Bedding a bit shabby.

    Javea has a fabulous selection of restaurants lots within walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little attention to decorating standards within the room to up it to a higher class. However very reasonable in price for the two nights and comfortable and clean. TV in room but unable to find Freeview Sky or similar for English speaking programmes. Obviously no swimming pool as sea nearby.

    The location is excellent for the sandy Arenal Beach a few minutes away or walking up to the Port. A bus in each direction stops outside. We chose a balcony and enjoyed looking out to sea over the pebble beach. It was hot in July so air conditioning was welcome. A good choice of eating venues near by. Nice seating area outside and tapas available. Limited parking on site but parking on pebble beach opposite. Dogs are welcome downstairs rooms and although we didn't have a dog this is good news if we chose to bring one and can exercise it on the pebble beach opposite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Been to better and worse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame there's no pool!! The building is 'tired', needs a complete refurb. Would be nice to have a fridge, especially in the summer. Air con unit looked old, was above door at the end of a short passage. Had it on 5c most of the time, I would have expected to be really cold with that temp. but possibly because of age/location of the air con. it wasn't. Personal view only, stayed there 2/3 yrs ago, not much has changed!

    Location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Not the best of hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was too basic, no shelves or power points. There was no entertainment whatsoever in the hotel. They do not serve evening meals on Sundays and Mondays. We booked half-board which included a meal on Monday night but were told we would have to eat out in a restaurant somewhere. No restaurant closeby so we had to catch a bus into town! The dining room and the outside terrace were first class as was the service by the staff.

    The sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    A little rundown but very clean and comfortable excellent views of the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are hard to close which leads to a chorus of slamming loud doors early in the morning. The place definitely could use some refurbishments in the future.

    The location has a great view though it is a bit of a hike to get to restaurants and the sandy beach. The hotel is pretty old and tired but it was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked great (and runs even without the room key which I appreciated). We didn't have breakfast so can't speak on that but the coffee was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    I arrived by bus from Calpe and the moment I entered the hotel Sonia was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Sonia and staff were very friendly and Sonia spoke excellent English. I am a 74 year old widow and Sonia looked after me. The room had a beautiful sea view and Javea was excellent. I will definitely return to this hotel. I enjoyed my short stay. Sonia is an excellent Manageress and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Better Hotels Out There 1/5
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked half board but restaurant closed one of the two evenings I was eating there, promised a refund ... not yet received. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was very basic to say the least, Dinner was not much better. No staff there to check me out the next morning, no invoice provided as requested and no response to my email I sent on my return home.

    Staff as helpful as possible despite poor English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.2
    Appaling
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the front patio, (Astro turf) was filthy, covered in amongst other things flaked paint and used cotton buds. On entering our room, which was very hot, we were met with the used towels of the previous occupant still lying wet in the bath. The fridge didn't work and the air con rattled its way to reducing the room from roasting to warm. We had chosen the half board option and hesitantly went down to dinner at our allotted time. We were advised that the dining room was out of operation so would have to sit on the front patio. Didn't' bode well when the waitress scoped up a large cockroach and continued to squash it with a broom, followed by a man coming to mastic around the drain cover near our table, presumably the source of said cockroach. As you might guess, the meal was appaling, starting with a mixed salad, not much can go wrong with that we thought, wrong, the lettuce was black and rotting and this had covered other items on the plate like the tomato. Main course, fish, (I actually ordered chicken but was delivered fish), choice of accompaniment not offered, so into the unknown. Mine served with jacket potato which was dry but edible. The wife's with rice, don't know why but they thought only thing they had to accompany that was gluten free. Okay She thought let's see, the rice was so dry and over cooked, fried, I think, that it was in edible. The fish seemed too wet in texture to have been cooked through, so didn't bother with that. Okay a hungry night, but on to breakfast. My wife had brought her own Gluten free cereal with her, so what could go wrong? All that was needed was a bowl a spoon and a drop of milk! The bowl and spoon on the buffet table ok, cereal in bowl, pour the milk, the wife could not believe it the milk was off. So a coffee then, help yourself from a machine, cups to the side, turn over 5 cups all dirty with the residue of the previous drinks still inside. We gave up and checked out.

    The location provides a nice sea view from the front patio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.6
    The view from the balcony good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102,The bathroom,the shower head didn't work properly, the tiles and grouting were dirty, the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor. The bedroom in need of decorating, curtains in poor condition, no mirror in the bedroom. Room101, On entering dreadful smell of stale tobacco, which lingered even after opening the patio door and spraying with aeroso frequently. Bathroom, the shower didn't work properly and tiles and grouting in need of replacing, Bedroom, only two hangers inthe wardrobe. No dressing table mirror. Whole bedroom in need of refurbishment. We were not impressed by the staff standing outside the main entrance smoking, and the staff dress code of jeans and T-shirts. The entrance patio area very scruffy.

    The view from the balcony good. The bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airco is working, but cannot make the room completely cool.

    The location is great. Right next to the sea. Some bars, restaurants and terraces close by. Easy to park your car. Decent clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice room, slow internet, mostly german TV-channels
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really maeger, no fresh bread, no youghart, no eggs... The security room was often unattended with open door!

    Nice room, slow internet, mostly german TV-channels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.6
    Cockroach infested, tired and dirty hotel. Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the room, breakfast room and hall way. I caught 4 cockroaches whilst there and in today's age that is not acceptable.The first room we had (208) had holes in wardrobe doors, safe that was not secured to the wall,no fridge or hairdryer dirty and mouldy shower, no mattress covers and cockroaches. We were mived to 106 which was better and had fridge and secured safe but still no mattress protectors and still got cockroaches. Also found alive cockroaches whilst having breakfast. Sorry but this hotel is not worth the money and is most definitely in need of a major overhaul and deep clean. This tired is tired and needs to deal with cockroach issue asap. Wouldn't stay there and most definitely would advise people to stay away.

    Location was excellent and parking was easy and all restaurants and bars were in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.0
    Continental breakfast expensive at 6euros, coffee machine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Continental breakfast expensive at 6euros, coffee machine not working, we ate out along the arenal for most mornings, better selection for half the cost

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and helpful, location is good though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a trickle and really annoying.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, location is good though a car helps as Javea is quite spread out. The hotel is a bit tired and could do with a face lift but it was cheap and a good base.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and good value for the price. Ten minutes walk from Arenal restaurants twenty minutes walk from Javea and port, good bus service and a bus stop in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful base for exploring the area, not a destination in itself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At breakfast, the coffee was good but the choice and quality of food was very poor. There was hardly any parking on the hotel site, but space was available on the pebble beach the other side of the road. The bar/restaurant closed very early (for Spain!), at 10.30 p.m.

    The staff were friendly, but with very limited English. The tapas in the restaurant were excellent and good value. We had a double room with balcony, which really did have great sea views! The free wi-fi worked well in the room and in public spaces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.6
    would never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was dark and dingy - only one small window. Corridor in darkness. uninviting. towels didn't smell fresh. reception staff did not give enough info and were not always around when needed. The place was depressing.

    parking. easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    it was heaven ,no complants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing! only down side and nothing that the Hotel could have done aboiut ,was there was a Rock concert on Friday and Saturday that went on till the early hours so we had next to no sleep,Hotel staff who live close by were all moaning.I have had fed back from a friend who lives inJavea and they say that there are many complaints from residents,but this is nothing to do with the Hotel. Next time will book a room at front of hotel with sea view. Any one who complains must be what I call a seriel complainer who are generally looking for some kind of freebe!!!

    it was heaven ,no complants.staff were all great, room was great if alittle small but we only slept in it! wasn't sure how to work the a/c so didn't bother.Would happily recommend it to friends and will at sometime stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Never again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and very basic. Breakfast was a disgrace. We booked and paid in advance for 3 nights but only stayed one. Reception staff didn't ask or care why we were leaving early......

    The location was great. End of story!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic and not much choice. Could have done with a kettle in the room. Bathroom a bit dated.

    Courtyard out the front of the room was handy for the kids to play outside. Very clean rooms and staff seemed friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment but everything was in working order although a bit out dated did not like been charged 10 euro for 1 gin and tonic.

    The staff were really good and friendly the room was spotlessly clean and the location was good a ten minute walk to the beach and about a fifteen minute walk to the port the view from our room was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Hotel excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location within easy reach of restaurants. Near to port and beach. Good for walking. We stay at the hotel 3/4 times a year. Rooms are basic but clean and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Tired Hotel but great location & pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was cold in the morning! Hotel looks a bit tired

    We stayed here for a stop after driving from France. It was good enough and we had our dog with us so were happy with the facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.7
    Need some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Kettle in our room plus shower unit holder wasn't any good and had to hold shower in our hands.

    See view and walking distance to Port or Beach were resonable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, no-frills budget accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the evening no in-house room service or restaurant. So in that respect more like a B&B than a hotel.

    Simple but everything worked, was clean and beds were comfortable. Staff very helpful to get us an order from a local takeaway late at night. Restaurants only a 5 minute walk away. Pick-up point for airport shuttle even closer, but not at the hotel. Bus stop out front of hotel to go Port and historic town centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    For a 1 star hotel they do really their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 1 star hotel they do really their best. Formerly known as SOLYMAR the hotel is recently taken over and will hopefully see some upgrading of the rooms. The staff was good and everything was kept clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.8
    People nice
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the images on the internet. Breakfast poor selection. Would like hot drinks facilities in hotel room. Couldn't even get a cup tea at breakfast

    People nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect for a relaxing weekend and walks by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We wanted an accommodation near the sea and away from "tourist ghettos". The hotel i situated between two tourist centres - about 10-15 mins walk to either. We had a view of the sea from our balcony and could hear the waves lap on the shore at night. Not much traffic at this time of year. Friendly and helpful staff and a decent restaurant on the premises. We ate breakfast in bars 10-15 mins away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location but decor very tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of hot water but shower was poor, shower head hand held. Room was large but bed position meant there was little space to walk around. Flaking plaster on ceiling. Room safe not secured to wall but mounted on removable wardrobe shelf!

    Good breakfast and lots of hot water!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.1
    A good location for a short family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom and shower could have been cleaner and the shower needed some work doing to it.

    The hotel is situated in a lovely spot and is convenient for bars and restaurants just along the sea front.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Nice affordable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just think the rooms need updating.

    The hotel is in a great location, stayed here several times. Rooms are very clean and beds are very good. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.7
    Very basic hotel but ok for what we paid for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very dated, furnishings and decor need updating, breakfast was just about adequate

    Location excellent easy walk to Port and Arenal great for a 1 or 2 night stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    Holidays in Jave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we decided to have a dinner on the first floor in hotel. We took menu for 9.90 , when we finished the first meal, we putted our knifes and forks on plate. When waitress came she just removed dirty plates but knifes and forks she putted back to our napkins.. i think that's not okey!!

    Receptionist was very helpfull and friendly. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.0
    Lovely an warming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much just interior and room was tired and needed tlc. Clean and tidy. Also the fact tough in early November was given the excuse for the air/con not to work, was only on heat and not cool. The temperature was in the high twenties an evening was lovely and mild around the, 18 degree baffled by the excuse. plenty of mosquitoes so unable to leave the windows open I know was Nov but please, heating..

    The hotel is located on a main link between the port and the playa ideal, was under the impression that the road would to the rear of the property not so, but still a lovely location and surroundings and the frontage was very welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Booked on day of arrival, turned out to be a good choice for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has recently changed its name from Sol y Mar, transitional period with room we had due a refurb I would say.

    Beautiful view of the sea. Very clean room, chairs on balcony to relax looking at the sea. Comfortable bed. Easy free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    6.7
    Ok for a few nights to see Javea and surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for only 3 cars - other 3 were for staff - had to be very careful getting onto rough area across a busy road. No notice or apology for a completely disrupted night due to a wedding party.

    Good position

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    Great place for a couple of nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower ran hot and cold. The menu for dinner was basic.

    Facing the sea. 15 mins to the port one way and 15 mins max to the restraunts and shops. Great choice of restraunts close ro the beach. The hotel had a great outside terrace with sea view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.0
    Couldnt wait to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny single beds ,no power in the shower.Curtains hanging off the rails.Very very basic don't think I have stayed anywhere as poor since the 60s.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only real negative was that the check-in was very brief, not sure if it was because of the language barrier but there was no explanation of bar opening, restaurant times, breakfast, Wi-Fi, payment terms, room safe, check out times etc. We were just handed a key and that was it, We were only using it as a base to sleep so it didn't bother us.

    Great views, right on the beach front. Nice and clean hotel perfect for our quick stay, great location as just a ten minute (max) walk to the main beach with all the restaurants and bars. Also plenty of free parking out the front of the hotel on the beach front. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and a reasonable size. The fridge was on and cold, and a safe was in the room although we had no idea how to use it. The air con seemed to work okay but we didn't really need it on for our visit. Would happily return and stay again and would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    A reasonable hotel that could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paint on bathroom ceiling was peeling and some of the fittings were not spot on. No hairdryer in room. Room was comfortable but a little jaded. Generaly ok but a bit more TLC needed to make it really nice,

    bed was comfotable. Parked across the road Hotel was on the seafront Quiet area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.9
    Loved the location, and the restaurant food is excellent. The sea views are to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    comfier beds and pillows. The staff were not pleasant even though they didn't speak English they could have still looked and be pleasant. I think I noticed more as this was the first hols on my own. I must say the lady serving in the restaurant was lovely and she was the only one that smiled. And on my last day I think it was the owner that visited, and he was encouraging the staff to put ice and lemon in the drinks and he was lovely, which makes such a difference. I think it is all down to training the staff.

    The bed was very hard, and no choice if pillows, the ones provided were really hard.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent if your on a tight budget
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i would not choose it for a summer holiday as no pool however it fulfilled my needs perfectly on this trip.

    The hotel is basic but very clean, the staff were amazing all had smiles and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    A really rather pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this price point......nothing. It's all good!

    A large and clean family room, great shower and aircon. Really friendly and helpful staff. Well located with easy access to local amenities. Good coffee and pastries...... thank you, thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Most enjoyable especially as it was very last minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décor, shower holder didn't hold shower, no mirror near to socket for hair dryer

    Location, staff, lift, air conditioning, fresh towels, break fast. View

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Returning several times to this hotel in Javea.. Look forward to it everytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very helpful and friendly .. Basic rooms but more than adequate for what you pay for ...great value for money.Comfy chairs on veranda. Sea view rooms are superb..other hotels would charge more for the views from these rooms at front of the hotel... Location is excellent. why spend time in a room when the sandy beach is 10 minutes walk away or right across the road from the hotel if you prefer a rocky ground to set up your deck chair..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy pillows, lack of any toiletries (not even hand soap in bathroom), noisy aircon, grumpy manager, room safe cost 3 euros extra to use .... And I could continue...

    It was okayish, but have had better and more comfort in a UK travellodge for a fraction of the price. Good points -Lady on front desk was kind and there was parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    4.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    incredible that the owners keep this business so low-cost in such a potential place. Surely with a mid-investment they could upgrade to 4-5 star. It hasn't change since its opening more than 40 years ago.

    location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful: this hotel blocks the amount of your stay and then debit it again according to booking terms. Athorised amount can be blocked for indefinite period of time. Balconies are not actually separated - you can see your neighbours.

    Restaurant sfaff is really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Hotel good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel good value for money. Perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms terrible No wine in the bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.0
    Grand for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel served it's purpose.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was a nice quiet place. We only used the room for sleeping as we were there for a family wedding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is great. Beds are really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect overnight stay within reach of everything Javea has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No downsides

    Location to all amenities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Ideal for our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast staff attendance was spasmodic

    Convenient for both port and beach areas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Did the job and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel a bit jaded but clean so not a problem Breakfast uninteresting but lots of restaurants a short walk away

    Location and good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    A little basic, but great sea views and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little basic, but great sea views and very clean..good value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.9
    Would never go back. Advise everyone to keep clear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food or drink available. Room very poor. Decor dated in 1970. Shower dirty. Give this place a miss

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    If did the job, no more, no less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated. Restaurant food has the most limited menu I have ever seen.

    Location is fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: