Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sotavento Beach Club 4 stars

Avenida Jahn Reisen, 3, 35627 Costa Calma, Spain

#12 of 44 hotels in Costa Calma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Borrowing pool towels very complicated - we had two apartments, so you need a key card for each to pick up towels, when you will also get a receipt and coupon; and when returning you need card, receipt and coupon to receive money back - so much admin for a simple towel...

    Modern facilities ( reception, restaurant, bar), good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think I was the only English person. Nothing at all written or catered for in English, everything was German which made me feel unwelcome and out of place.

    Nice private balcony with partial sea view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel but definitely not four stars. The hotel is for German tourists only. Everything’ is written in german. Although you are in Spain everything is in German all the activitis and hotel informationno must of the staff only speaks German no a single word in spanish or English. The food was bad, breakfast and dinner. If you are vegetarian avoid this hotel. If You don’t book all inclusive, you will have to pay extra to use the hotel facilities.

    Fuerteventura is a very nice place to visit. A hotel for German families.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that when we checked in they changed the rooms that had been allocated to us because they thought that there was 8 of us when actually there was only 4 of us but I had booked 2 appartments so that none of us had to share a bedroom. To solve this so called problem they gave us a 2 bed room apartment and a 1 bed room apartment, which in total could sleep 10 people, where is the logic in that!!! The truth is that they down graded us to rooms that had not been refurbished (as stated on Booking.com) because we are English! one of the rooms had drainage problems (we had to wait an extra 1 1/2 hours for that one, no doubt so they could relocate the current occupants) Do not bother with this hotel if you are anything other than German as you will not be made welcome.

    Nothing really!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The parking is weakly provided but at least there are some public spots on the street.

    Great location, Great Hotel facilities and friendly and helpful staff. The tasty and fresh food from the buffet could only underline fantastic holiday time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and juice machine at breakfast like in most all inclusive hotels, not the best, but you have a kitchen with a fridge and coffee machine so we just bought our own so it did not disturb us! Appart from this amazing croissants for a breakfast buffet, so really it is a minor complaint.

    Amazing kids club, we live in Germany so it did not matter to us that most things were offered in German but it seems all staff was also able to speak most languages and it is like the only hotel I could find with a baby club under 3 on the island! Very charming accommodation, amazing beach and pools, we did a day guided hike offered for free to the hotel (except a few Euro for sharde taxi!), we also drove to an amazing lagoon about 10 minutes from the hotel which is called Risco del paso an is probably the nicest place on earth (I added a picture)! I loved the fact that we had our own flat and kitchen for lunch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some kids club staff seem very annoyed by their jobs. Be aware this in a 99% German hotel from staff to guest. Nothing from the Spanish culture was felt and not much diversity in the guest staying there. Makes for a very cold atmosphere.

    We are very pick with the food and we loved going to dinner every night. The facilities look pretty much brand new. I am glad it had a kids club.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing at all to complain about room as large as was bed cleaned regularly pool was heated so could swim even in february.food was excellent different theme each night no complaints at all.we were only English there but I knew this would be the case before going it caused no problems everyone was friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Restaurant set up very poor, poor furniture type, too small for the number of tables in room space over crowded at peak times.

    Complex, staff, food & location fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism because it is what it is but it's worth noting that this is a German hotel. All entertainment and food labelling is in German. The on site store is stocked with more German biased produce. It didn't bother me at all but for some it might be worth noting. Especially if you're a family.

    Everything. Close to beaches great food. Great layout. Everyone was friendly. I had a one bedroom apartment and the room was perfect for me. I simply loved my stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love to see an English version of the daily newsletter for non German speakers.

    Helpful and enthusiastic reception staff also very friendly and helpful restaurant staff, special mention to chef Carlos.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We realise that this is a German resort, but it would be good to have an English tv channel, just the news would suffice, and a daily newsletter also in English or even French.

    The resort was very clean and of excellent standard, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. I would certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not mind, but it could be annoying that all activities are in German, as most visitors are German speaking.

    The appartment was clean and the food was good. Especially nice for families, but also for singles, as there are quite a lot of organised activities, for those who want it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is solely a German hotel, it shouldn't be advertised on a U.K. Site, all literature is in German only, when asked if we could have it translated I was told they won't, very poor service. All the entertainment is in German. We went all inclusive, when we checked in they tried to charge us more for New Years meal, then we tried to order food at the pool bar and was told it's not part of the all inclusive and had to pay ???

    The rooms were a good size

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a german hotel so it would have been nice to have some of the infos translates in english such as the program. Spa & fitness are not free.

    Very well maintain hotel, spacious units, nice pools and surrounds, very good design new building for the reception and common areas. Great breakfast and evening buffet. Close to very nice beaches away from the tourist crowd.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet would not work in our room and the TV was only in German and Spanish, not one channel in english. Also all the literature was in german and most of the staff only spoke german.

    The apartment was very clean and very close to the beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facilities. Clean if a bit worn. Food was plentiful, fresh and many choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Conversation with fellow guests not easy as my German language is limited!

    Extremely helpful staff, and helpful reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great reception staff

    great reception staff. very helpful. speak good english.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You better have a certain age before you go here. Food is terrible.

    The guy at the reception was really nice. Everything is well organised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tables in the restaurant too near to each other

    The living room with 2 sofas and balcony with pool and sea view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible restaurant. Like a work canteen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was poor, stones on the beach, bed and umbrella on the beach for extra money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't that comfy

    The breakfasts were really good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was pleasant.Everything's well organised.Highly recommend to everyone! You'll definitely wish to return!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like more english TV channels.

    Very nice breakfast.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment Type Z (2 adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    huge queue in the restaurant, small swimming pool for all activities and a lot of children

    very nice personal and apartment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    staff

    pools

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not working everywhere,not that much of activity for those who were not german or married with babies!

    Good structure for a 3 star hotel,not for sure a four star.sometimes the food was good,but it was international and not spanish!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's all German. Daily newsletter, Adverts about facilities, live entertainment, There are no English programmes on TV even which was a major disappointment especially for the kids. many staff couldn't speak fluent English. If they have advertised on English website (booking.com), one would expect the place have a more inclusive approach to clientele. Else specify language restrictions so one could be judicious & well informed while booking. Hardly interacted with anyone due to the language issue. Go there only if you are fluent in German. Location far south from airport, luckily we got by once we had the rental car, we could visit beaches in the north of the island, which have much better locale. Hefty charges for using gym, safety locker & local mini market Lastly, they don't do free cancellation. Once booked, they charge 3 days worth to cancel, So book only if you are sure

    Clean, tranquil, looks just perfect for a family getaway

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stuff was helpful but not everyone could talk in English cause the hotel is oriented only to German tourists. TV channels, menu in the restaurant, information booklets are all in German.

    Room was very clean and cosy with the wonderful ocean view through the window! Me and my family loved the food there as well! Perfect hotel, especially for the ones traveling with families, very good location!!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Almost exclusively focused on the German market - which is fine so long as you know that in advance. A value location. Accommodation and dining area is looking dated and 'well' used. Food: fine - with variety and volume but not extraordinary. No accommodation offered for a family of 5. Needed to book two apartments. This is a 'miss/fail'. Costa Calma area: Outside of hotel - the town has little to offer.

    costa calma location - excellent for beaches & windsurfing; a 'value' location with family. Beach access and beach itself. Service was correct/good. Rooms/ apartments a fair size for a family of four. The central bar, theatre, sports area is new and works well. The animation staff work hard to keep guests entertained. Kids club pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathrooms without ventilation (nor fan), not so clean. Strictly for German people, no international Communication in English, even internal ads was "only-german".

    Good position with a very nice beach! Appreciable international food.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This resort should have a brand "For German Only" ........ :( no body except reception stuff was speaking English ... In february very cold rooms ! small insects on kitchen table ...

    clean surroundings, nice view , heated pool in winter time ( 1 of 2 ) , close to nice beach

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the animation evenings were very loud especially beach party held by the pool due to bad weather. It would have been nice to have drinking water in the room and coffee in restaurant at lunchtime

    comfortable bed and spacious room...helpful and friendly staff...easy access to beach although best beach was in next bay it was only 2 minutes walk. Relaxed atmosphere for children.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no wi-fi availability in the room. We could not check my things back at work as we needed to do. very slow and bad wifi in the reception area. If not improved this item may turn us elsewhere. Moreover We asked for a plug for loading our notebook and they did not have any and the girl didn't move a finger to sort it out.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bad isolation between the apartments, you even can hear what neighbours are talking about.

    wee liked the room with the balcony and the view to the see, Wi-Fi was good. many activities for children - they enjoyed playing mini golf, tenis, football etc. good location, nice sandy beach was only 100 meters from the hotel. good food.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Inattentive staff, poorly prepared, and strange policy to pay at check in and not at check out as happens in all hotels. -Drinks can not be charged to the room & poor food variety at the restaurant. -One day before check out the maid did not change the towels. -Very poorly organized entertainment -Execrable WIFI

    Very nice suits

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All german,everybody speak only german ,too many children,food very basic.One morning forgot to do the apartament

    spacious apartament

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    My apartment only 10 yds from the beach and the great food.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there was just a public beach

    food, sport activities

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is only for german

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Sotavento Beach Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: