Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Almuñecar Playa Spa Hotel 4 stars

Paseo de la China, s/n, 18690 Almuñécar, Spain

#5 of 16 hotels in Almuñécar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to buy coffee earlier in the morning. Need English version of their company brochure as want to stick with this hotel group in future as so good!

    Close to beach, fantastic large heated indoor pool. Extremely clean and organised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice Facility, Ridiculous Policies, Indifferent and Cold Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you read my other reviews you will see that I am generally very upbeat. However, this stay lacked some very basic things you would expect in a decent hotel and these make me disinclined to stay here again. I bring the perspective of having traveled over 2 million miles in dozens of countries, and enjoying lodging in all price ranges. 1. It was shocking that this room did not include wifi in the price. Seriously? This is 2017. We stayed in hotels as low end as 30 EUR per night on this trip and they all offered included broadband wifi. 2. The wifi "solution" was from an independent provider, Kubi, for 6 euros per day. It was terrible service. You had to set up a separate account with them, and then log in over and over again. Even worse, more than half of the time it was so overloaded that it was unusable- it could not render pages without a timeout. Ridiculous and unacceptable, to say nothing of the extra charge. 3. With one minor exception, the staff's comportment was dour, disinterested and cold. No welcome when we arrived, no personal engagement, no basic courtesies in human interaction. Front desk staff was quite happy to chat with colleagues while you stood there, but not even greet you with a "good morning" in any language. No invoice offered at the time of checkout. Nothing but blank expressions at the bar. You can't help but wonder if this is a lousy place to work since all the employees seem so indifferent to customers. At a minimum this is a huge training issue. 4. Booking.com promised breakfast included for 10.50 EUR. The hotel had no record and wanted to charge 23 EUR per person. For breakfast. Seriously. You can get a really good dinner in Almunecar for that much. Many hotels include breakfast for free. I must acknowledge that after several email exchanges with the booking.com support organization they offered reasonable compensation for the breakfast price disparity.

    Physically, this is a nice facility. We had a partial ocean view room. The room itself was attractive and clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was pleasantly quiet. Please note that we stayed in October when it is not busy in Almunecar and the hotel was not particularly busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a lovely relaxing stay with lovely views, magnificient sunset. Would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entertainment could really do with being improved, very suitable for children. Adult entertainment pathetic.

    How the Hotel was presented, it was as your photos showed down to the very bedspread which was really good. Beautiful setting, lovely food, nice staff, great facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Winter Beach break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adult time swim from 4pm was ignored for the indoor pool which was disappointing Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been good. The two lifts were not up to the job when the hotel filled up which resulted in lots of stair climbing.

    The location was very good, right on the beach and about ten minutes walk from the old town shops and bars. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a lovely treat of free cava. Good choice of food for the breakfast and evening meals.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    wonderful winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    sometimes long queue at reception. bar ambience is like a bus station café

    beautiful atrium, fast lifts, lots of outdoor games, good pool, spacious room, balcony with great view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel with good quality-price ratio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access for children <15yrs in the jacuzzis was completely forbidden. That was really not nice for them (outside temperature was not always high) and is not common in many other places in the world. It is better to limit the time the kids go in the jacuzzis (ie 5 or 10 minutes, or 1 press on the button) and mention parents are responsible for the kids and let children only in the jacuzzi under adult supervision and make the signs an 'advice from management', and/or 'enter at your own risk'.

    All was good: breakfast, rooms, facilities, cleanliness, location, parking, etc. We are very satisfied, but have one point for improvement: see '-'.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    Factor in extra charges for wifi / view - which is expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Advert says 'free wifi' - but it is only free for 30 mins per day Advert says 'with a view' - but on a checkin you are asked to pay extra 20€ per night for a view Advert says there is a gym - it is woe. Most of the equipment is broken, and there is no water provided

    Excellent location. good sized pool. Walking from hotel to beach cafe for lunch/ dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Beach is pebbles and no sand. Hotel a shortish walk to the main areas of Almunecar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdoor pool was freezing and no one dared go in it!

    Good size room, balcony with sea view. Indoor, heated pool. Breakfast was varied and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Pool was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffer was not too good.

    Pool was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were all very serviceminded and always helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very serviceminded and always helpful with a smile. The pool and spa was a nice suprise with warm cosy water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Easy on the mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was all ok

    Good breakfast, large bed, spacious room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic and Chilled Seavew
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff provided me a bottle of bubbly for my birthday which really made my day. And the location right on the beach with a seaview was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    5.4
    Location and breakfast were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spanish children running riot in corridors,taking over the ballroom and taking over the swimming pool(inside and out).

    Location and breakfast were good.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.5
    Directly by the beach and near the city center with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As many other places it was inefficently soundproof so you will be disturbed by others. It is nice but getting old and a bit shabby.

    Directly by the beach and near the city center with restaurants just outside. 2 big beds, too big almost.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.3
    Good location, something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor soundproofing. If people in room above aren't considerate, it's noisy. Noise levels in main atrium high if children shriek.

    Good location, something for everyone. Good value as room only, in October.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    8.3
    The rooms were lovely and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't access the "free" wifi in the public areas, and even if we could, you only get 30mins free and then have to pay. The hotel could do with a bit of a refurb, it looks a bit tired, particularly on the outside.

    The rooms were lovely and big. Two small double beds for two of us so we had lots of space to sleep! We don't have kids, but the hotel would be great for families. There seemed to be so much going on for the little ones. Staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in the hotel for a few days as we were planning our wedding nearby. We were so pleased with our stay that we have booked 20+ rooms for our friends and family for our wedding in September. It's not the best hotel in the world, and aesthetically it doesn't feel like a four star, but it's great value for money and has everything you need for a great holiday in Spain! Just outside the hotel is a cafe tapas bar called Orilla. Can highly recommend! Cheap good drinks, great tapas and friendly staff! They also had free wifi!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English speaking tv stations bar SkyNews is pretty poor. Paid for wifi internet is a bit cheap too. No changing rooms for swimming

    Staff Swimming Drinks Location price

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    10
    The staff was helpful and cheerful, the food very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was helpful and cheerful, the food very good, loved that morning start in the dining room, maids cleaned well daily, and our ocean view room could not be in a better location.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.3
    Great selection at breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great selection at breakfast, friendly staff. Indoor pool was great.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.1
    Spa is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is just one hour in salón only. Now and day almost hotels can connect in their room and no limit.

    Spa is good.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    6.7
    rooms were spacious and poolside was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    should not have to pay for wifi or parking.

    rooms were spacious and poolside was clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    Hotel generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant and food very poor

    Hotel generally good

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.8
    Meeting old friends who live locally
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not applicable

    Meeting old friends who live locally

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: