Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spa Convento I 4 stars

Carretera Estación, s/n, 49530 Coreses, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Coreses

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1263 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not serve dinner until 9pm

    Do not serve dinner until 9pm so we drove to Zamora & glad we did it was a lovely town. Had a great meal in the piazza. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV on loud during meals. Why not mute it and just turn it up on request?

    Over the top decor. Whimsical. Worthy of many photos. Lovely room. Easy, free parking. Nice breakfast. Book it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to eat dinner at 7.30pm! Was unable to do this as restaurant did not open until 9.00pm. Too late for me as I had an early start next day. No booking agents give restaurant opening times on their site. Important detail I think. 🤔

    Different

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not serve evening meal until 9pm. If you include the spa in the costs for 2 or more people it can be expensive.

    The hotel is quirky and worth seeing. It's very grand with the different beautifully decorated rooms some as Medieval, Egyptian bar, comfortable sitting rooms and the Roman bodega outside. We stayed twice, the first time we had a lovely meal in one of the vip private rooms. The next time we drove into Zamora only 8 miles away for an evening meal. It's a lovely town & in Playa mayor we had a nice cheap meal including the local red wine which was gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom shutter did not close completely and the lavatory valve also did not work.

    The decoration of the hotel is very nice and original with different environments that transport us to different times in history. In the spa we are in a Roman temple, the restaurant has a medieval ambience and there is also an Egyptian bar. The common areas are decorated with lots of paintings and furniture like a 19th-century palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay another night.

    A truly amazing place, difficult to explain. Situated in countryside it is the most stunning place we've ever stayed. The photos on website give an idea what to expect. Must stay here and have dinner to optimize an experience you are unlikely to forget

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good for ease of access to main roads but there was nothing to do in the immediate area, but perfect for one night.

    The hotel is quirky and very different from usual hotels. Situated in a peaceful location with reasonably easy access to the main road/ motorway .The only thing that was a little misleading was the external photos of the hotel on the website, it appeared to be a very grand building with columns I fact the convent itself was a large red brick building and the grand building was at the rear and is in fact a bodega used as a wedding venue.Howevere the internal photos for the lobby etc were accurate and just as grand as portrayed the hotel room which we had was more modern but very nice even so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access and massage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the neighbor coughing all night and the other neighbor taking a shower. Walls are really thin. Although the Spa is nice, the changing rooms are a bit old and not so comfortable. Massage was nice but a bit too soft for me. Also I was supposed to have options regarding the kind of massage I wanted and they never asked which one I preferred.

    Breakfast was amazing, super complete, coffee was freshly brewed and eggs done by command.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm fairly positive that the hotel and facilities provided met our needs.

    One of the best hotels I have stayed at. A warm welcome at checking. Spacious room. Great restaurant. Superb value for money. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to family and friends and indeed have already done so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a business person, the working desk in the room is not very adapted as a work desk. Breakfast price is quite high compared to what was to offer. Pity

    A pity I didn't have more time to enjoy the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may well be on the site of an old convent, but the building is new and we felt a little kitch inside. The number of "religious" paintings was rather ott. The food was good, but the dining room staff had no English; there was an English menu offering what seemed to be different dishes to the Spanish menu and at different prices; and (in common with many Spanish hotels) they still cater for the locals, meaning that dinner was not available until 2100, which is not good if you have had a long journey and want to get tp bed!

    The location means it was very quiet. It was not expensive for what and where we were. And there was plenty of parking space. We found the hotel quite easily, as there were signs in the town adjacebt.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was warm for April and the room stayed hot even after sunset. The AC didn't seem to work very well so we had to sleep with the window open, which was no problem since there was no traffic noise outside. Neither I nor my wife could sleep continuously at night and we think it was the hardness of the mattress. Perhaps we were not used to it, but the result was two nights with intermittent sleep. Those two things, the AC and the mattress were the main reasons I did not give this hotel a perfect score.

    The hotel, as many reviewers have mentioned, is decorated with paintings, statues, artifacts, and each public room has a different design. Behind the reception desk is an actual retablo rescued from an abandoned church. There is a spa, which we did not use. The gardens around the hotel are well-kept although there is no external swimming pool. Behind the hotel there is an imitation of a Roman forum with statues, columns, and busts, which is used as a setting for weddings. The actual building is used as a bodega for wines produced on the property. The hotel is just outside the small, rather non-descript village of Coreses. which has no eating options. In the hotel there is a small bar/café/restaurant, which offers very reasonably priced drinks, snacks, and meals. A more luxurious restaurant offers more expensive and presumably more sophisticated meals. We did not try it so cannot attest to the quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went there specifically for the pool. Closed on monday. Tuesday turn up ...its not a swimming pool its a spa pool for water exercises. 30 euros each.errr no thanks. The hotel must have been designed by either the owners wife, or a first year design student. You have to go just to believe it. So kitsch.

    Good steak. Not much else !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting close to motorway but also far enough to be peaceful, good quality local dishes in restaurant, interesting decor in and around hotel, lots of parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited alternative restaurants.

    An oasis in the wilderness. This hotel was like staying in a mansion of the rich and famous. The spa was quirky in that you were directed by a staff member as to when to enter and leave each station (pool , sauna etc), but it was well worth the expense. The food in the restaurant was very good and included local dishes and wine. Ample free parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath fixtures were of high quality but the hand held shower was difficult to handle and keep the water from going out on the floor. Perhaps a glass barrier.

    The atmosphere was superb. It felt like I had stepped back in time and was living in luxury in the land of Don Quixote, so many antiques! Exploring the resort was a delight.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit out of the ordinary and quite eccentric in a nice way. The hotel accommodation is very comfortable. Free parking and Free good quality WiFi connectivity. The hotel is out of town but within an easy drive of both Zamora and Toro (both worth a visit). A good restaurant, and another in the village just 1km away. We indulged in a couple of visits to the spa with the 90 minute programmed circuit of water and steam treatments.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no option of using the spa by our own without someone guiding us. we had to pay extra for each person and they had no availability. After talking and claiming with the reception they gave us an appointment for going to spa with the monitor. This person was telling us when and where to go(pool,sauna etc). And after leaving us in each space the monitor was cleaning and preparing for closing the spa one hour before the spa was going to close. We never went to a hotel, staying overnight,where we were not able to use the spa by our own. It was forbidden to going without an appointment. We don't recommend this hotel as price/value is not acceptable.

    the restaurant ,the food and the waiters were amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the head waiter in the lower bar / bistro. We don't want to sound like we are moaning and maybe our Spanish isn't up to scratch but he managed to create a feeling / atmosphere that we were in his space and shouldn't be there to the point where we were not even offered a coffee or after dinner sweet.

    The unusual decor throughout the hotel made the stay a completely new experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access and massage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massage is too light. The masseuses must apply more force or ask the customer how they prefer because they touch your skin, but not your muscle.

    a hotel to relax. I enjoyed most of the breakfast, the swimmingpool circuit, and the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't do enough to make you feel welcome the swimming pool was closed Egyptian bar closed tv was on during the evening meal and it was poor value for money!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Espectacular decoracion

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public bar was a bit basic and didn't go with rest of hotel

    Spectacular decor. So much more than hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional staff, meal quality and nice facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meal at the restaurant was lacking and the staff not helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange location nothibg around at all

    Everything friendly, clean, food good and plentiful, great spanish decor and antiques

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La cama lamentable.tv anticuada.Calor insoportable en la habitacion

    Limpieza,Personal amable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful surprise. Amazing decor, great food,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is far of any place and It's a little expensive

    The design in general is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was excellent. And the restaurante too. It's in the middle of nowhere but absolutely worth a stay. Nice spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very unusual hotel and therefore NOT to be missed. We loved the house martins nesting outside our room and the bonkers interior of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication regarding the spa prior to arrival was bad.

    Interesting decor. Comfortable place enroute from Portugal to Spain

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New TV for the room please. Sound isolation is little bit bad.

    Building and facilities are really great. Great interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kuds cannot access pools

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant opens too late!! Pillows very uncomfortable.

    Breakfast,meals, interior design

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they didn't lend us use the spa

    I've booked the hotel because of the spa , but we couldn't use it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La almohada demasiado blanda y la televisión antigua .

    El spa y los alrededores

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wierd hotel in the middle of nowhere. Spooky

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -WIFI did not work. -Because of a Weding the weekend was really busy and noisy.

    -Decoration was nice and special.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in the middle of nowhere

    Excellent breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information from staff, hotel partially shut down as almost empty

    Unique

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The stay in this interesting (bordering on bizarre) hotel was well above our expectations. The furnishings are lovely. Our room had everything anyone could ever want including a very comfortable bed. The hotel was beautifully quiet with gently music playing in the public areas. There was plenty of parking was on site. When we checked in the receptionist who could speak English was not going to be available for another 10 minutes but the receptionist who was present used an electronic translator very effectively - she was a lovely woman with plenty of smiles and a welcoming manner. We've had some good breakfasts on our travel through Europe but the breakfast at this hotel topped them all - it was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant definitely needs improving. The barman was uninterested & more focussed on the television. You have to pay extra to use the pool.

    this was a most unusual & beautiful hotel. it was like staying in a stately home! The breakfast was lovely The receptionist was helpful even though she couldn't speak English & we cant speak Spanish she used google translate to give us information.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi is extremely slow and not good for business use.

    Good value for money, peaceful location, good transport links (with car), spacious rooms, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bei der Gesichtsmassage wurden beim Reinigen des Gesichts harte Papiertücher eingesetzt. Etwas sanftere Materialien wie Frottee wären angebracht gewesen.

    komfortables großes Zimmer und Bad. Sehenswertes und angenehmes Spa, allerdings etwas in die Jahre gekommen

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nada.

    Wifi bueno Increible decoración que te lleva a otra época, con réplica de cuados muy famosos. Habitacion grande y limpia. Servicio muy atento. Totalmente recomendable

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was not great especially the stone cold fried eggs (yuck!) at breakfast

    Very different and quite bizarre in a good way. It was worth staying for the experience of just being there. Bottle of good red wine included in the price of dinner. Staff were very helpful and happy to show us around the place.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and bed rooms had an odor of cooked food that I didn't care for.

    Incredible Spanish "kitsch" décor, fun to see. Liked the falcons in an aviary in from of the hotel. Quite the place to hold a destination wedding. They do about 70/year from late spring to early fall.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On two occasions, when I was alone in the restaurant, I requested that the television be turned off. The staff were decidedly against this and said so. This is a spa hotel, with what is said to be a good restaurant; I came for peace and quiet not to subsidise the bar staff in their TV watching. Breakfast was minimal on the first day (a Monday) though much improved on the second - and I have to say that the waitress must have been told that I dinn't want the TV on as music was playing on that day. I also was most disappointed that the spa was closed on the two days I visited (Sunday through Tuesday) except on Tuesday morning which was of no use to me. This should be made much more clear in the hotel's information both with booking and their own website.

    I was given what was clearly an upgrade with a jacuzzi and that was very much appreciated. The decor is fascinating and reflects a variety of styles. Reservation and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about the restaurant staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoracion espectacular Atencion del personal

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the loveliest hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact the pool wasn't available.

    The large comfortable room, the fantastic decor, the dinner, the quietness

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely ueber kitsch fantasy palace hotel. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Good wifi, ample parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was good but some dishes over-complicated and too sweet for my taste.

    Roman spa circuit with more features than a typical spa

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Hotel Spa Convento I traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: