Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spa Convento Las Claras 4 stars

Plaza Comuneros, 1, 47300 Peñafiel, Spain

#4 of 6 hotels in Peñafiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wednesday was not a good day to visit as there were No restaurants open in the old part of town but the hotel bar served good simple cold meats and cheese.

    Beautiful building. Good location for visiting the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incorrect information in handbook that said spa was free but we were billed for spa use upon departure! Alarm went off in middle of night.

    Courtyard and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are a little outdated and not terribly well designed. A walk in shower would be an improvement. Breakfasts were ok but the food could have been refreshed more often and hot food kept hotter. The restaurant food was a little bland. The bar disappointingly closed at 11 pm.

    The location was excellent and parking easy. Friendly staff and impressive central atrium.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed in the quality of the breakfast (lacked assortment and fresh goods) and breakfast room. It would have been great to be able to see some of the amazing surrounding.

    The building is beautiful and lovely view of the castle,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Converted modernised convent with the castle on hill in background. Outdoor pool and spa treatments available. My room had only internal wall view. For price not a problem. Decent breakfast fresh fruit and good selection of breads cheese meat etc. Short walk into the old town and restaurants. Excellent English speaking front of desk. Free on site parking. I'd stay again. Ideal place to stay visiting v good local vineyards

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See below

    room was spacious; the hydro shower was a bit tricky to use - they should have clear instructions right next to the shower or on the vanity instead of having to look up the "FYI" booklet next to the tv or calling Front Desk; the female staff at Reception did not know the name of the buildings and streets near the hotel when we asked for directions from the hotel to the highway; they point it out to you on the very poor quality copy of what they use as sort of a map for the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with dinner not Michelin Star potential a number of options not available Dining room not suitable for romantic evening. Other patrons used mobile phones very loudly. Breakfast room was soulless but food was good.

    Beautiful property & friendly staff, room comfortable, price reasonable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi a bit weak in the room but functioning well in common parts.

    The site is charming with all the features of an ancient covent. It is perfectly kept, the rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. Good service. Very easy and direct access to the town. A perfect location from which to explore the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This would have to be the most disgusting hotel experience we have ever had. The staff are disgruntled, rude and argumentative. We were a group of 8 and every single one of us had some sort of horrific experience at this hotel. Our room was unclean on arrival (clumps of long black hairs all over the shower & bedroom floor). The bathroom and bedroom was clearly not cleaned between guests - just sheets & towels replaced. The wifi signal is weak. The chicken & veal were served raw at their restaurant. When we spoke to the restaurant staff, they simply microwaved the entire plate (salad included) and it still came back raw. They constantly said yes to things without even understanding what was being requested, causing disappointment & confrontation. We will NEVER stay here ever again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small room.

    Setting beautiful, an old nuns convent converted to hotel, with a grand interior courtyard nicely decorated and used a lot by guests. In part because the rooms are small, which is my only negative on the hotel. Otherwise, nice location, ovelooking Peñafiel Castle, in this small town of Peñafiel in the middle of most important Ribera del Duero Vineyards and Bodegas. Nice swimming pool that we used, to cool down in the hot summer days. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing feel very spoilt ... Stay here

    Bedrooms & bathroom were roomy and very comfortable and the hotel and facilities excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit tricky to find for some reason, probably just us!

    Lovely airy building. Good food, though as ever the dining room is empty on an evening! Good size room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra to use spa and had to buy/wear swimming cap and strange sock type things. Suggest they change this - never had to do anywhere else.

    Beautiful building, tastefully adapted into a hotel. All the staff - especially Cesar in the restaurant - were lovely. Food and wine both excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to visit wineries. No information at hotel. Not possible to visit as it would appear only time is 11in morning as everything closes for siesta 😩😩Went to bar at 2.00 for glass of vino & tapas ! No tapas , we were advised too late at 2.00 & we should go to restaurant for lunch. Not open in morning for cofffee. No tea & coffee in rooms !! Town was like a ghost town everything closed during the day & not much happening at night.

    Beautiful building, nice room view of castle .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price of the breakfast - so went to a local bar/cafe.

    Location was very good, close to everything in the Town and quiet. Car park was adequate but may get full if a function is on. The bar was useful and free tapas with the drink. Excellent having a fridge in the room. Staff were very helpful booking a visit to a couple of vineyards for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was too low. Spa is a disaster. The hotel should not call itself a "spa" hotel! Wearing a swim cap and plastic shoes, reserving in advance, the fact that spa is not included in the price of the room - is unacceptable. We selected this hotel because it was mentioned to be a spa hotel, we were very disappointed.

    Nice and quiet room, comfortable bed. "hacienda" style lobby was also nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were the only diners in the hotel restaurant which was quite large and bright. Town was totally dead.

    Location was beautiful and the wine was super well priced - €1.50 for a glass of Protos :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were off season, so some of their facilities were not available. Restaurant very under populated, but bar with tapas popular and good

    Very interesting building. Amazing Central cloister with roof. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey food. Didn't use the restaurant. Sure it was good, but we are budget minded.

    View from our window of the castle and close enough to walk to old town area. Great secure parking--for a fee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As far as the hotel goes everything was good, no complaints

    Our visit to Penafiel was out of season but we found the Hotel to be very good. Not a long to do in Penafiel though

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertise bar & cafeteria, but no food served until 21.00. Breakfast a poor affair, that, that should have been chilled, cheese meats etc were not. The hot food dishes had no lids, the eggs were a dried up mess. €100 per night, never worth it. Classed as four stars, never.

    Parking, and room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having in the booking a double bed, the still gave us a 2 bed room, when I asked via this website the ignore me and when I have asked at the check out they couldn't answer neither as I stated another couple made the booking later than us and they got the big bed

    Historical building and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, limited selection of fresh fruit and cooked foods (scrambled egg,sausages) were cold.

    Central location. Lovely old building and nice pool area. Staff were very polite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Matress & pillows OK but an upgrade would vastly improve my lasting impression, pool times a bit restrictive (i.e. nice to be able to swim before 11am), breakfast a little too expensive @ €10 if you only want a light breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception on arrival wasn't very friendly but the colleague on check out was nice. Ventilation at reception and lobby wasn't very nice.

    Location of the hotel is faultless

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good breakfast, great location, good restaurant, good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and well located! Wonderful breakfast and nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bath mat and quite tricky to get out after having a bath, a little slippery! Didn't like the coffee!

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was out of action and bar food was below standard

    Dinner and the helpful waiter, parking, easy access to castle (by car), clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All Good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the town is almost dead

    central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa (massages) are not available every day

    Great location and views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, excellent breakfast and great service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant. Wonderful artifacts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called wine museum was a dead loss

    Friendly staff food magnificent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive

    Good restaurant /comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't eat there

    Didn't eat there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old convent turned into a spa. Great interior, great pool. On site parking (for a fee).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautifully restored building with a great pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Historical building, pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi intermittent

    Luxury, big room lovely pool and garden,classy décor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Great breakfast and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dangerously slippery bath-tub/shower!

    Very well located. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Perfect spot in Peñafiel with SPA facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in town and interesting and well maintained historic building. Breakfast good variety, but didn't try restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant could not serve us at dinner time due to understaffing.

    Very nice accommodations!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and charming. A great escapade place in the middle of a vineyards' region.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was mediocre food wise we were only 4 eating most items missing of menu !!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    todo en general

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great, so was the outdoor pool, and downstairs bar. Great location in a beautiful town with great restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, historical building, very good restaurant....excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room. Having stayed there before and had a lovely room this time the room was poor. Small and cramped, the bathroom door only opened half way (a wall radiator was fitted right behind it) so constantly knocking my arm as I entered. The view was of the castle, behind a large extractor chimney. Given that the hotel was almost empty, and plenty of room choice, perhaps this room is what Booking.com are allocated now?

    Beautiful building, secure car parking and a Very good breakfast, and the restaurant staff are very helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was pretty disappointing, the hot food was all cold and the choice and quality on offer was limited. The hotel did not inform me that the spa was closed at the time of stay which one of the reasons for choosing the hotel. Seems well suited to large groups rather than solo travellers or a romantic break.

    Room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel never fails to delight from the excellent staff and services nothing is too much trouble and the best nights sleep you will ever have in the most comfortable bed, cleanliness superb and an absolutely perfect location . Cannot rate this one highly enough and have experienced many different hotels from north to south of Soain.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Penafiel seems to close on Wednesday evenings. Could only find one restaurant open.

    Staff at reception very helpful. On site parking very easy. We had a comfortable room overlooking river.l

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in room , shower didn't work , minibar dirty. We were charged for 2 breakfasts when we were only there one night. All rectified when we complained, but not four star service.

    Beautiful hotel and good location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely spectacular, from the staff to the rooms, to the restaurant, this was just perfect. Located in town, Las Convento has an enclosed courtyard, perfect for kicking back, reading and sharing one of he local wines.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately mid September was freezing cold so we could not enjoy the garden or swimming pool.

    We stayed 3 nights at room 106, which has a window at the street side of the hotel, which was ok. We appreciated the atmosphere of the hotel, for the renovation high quality materials have been used, without being overdone. The room and decoration were pleasant and the beds extremely comfortable. As wifi was not sufficiently strong in our room we were happy to sit in the general areas, which are comfortable. As I brought my own drink I cannot tell if a lounge bar is available. Penafiel is small, but after visiting the castle and looking down on the village we had a look at the old square and all and were happy to spend some nights at Santa Clara's convent as our base to visit Burgos and Valladolid before moving South again.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool only open from 11.00. Breakfast restaurant was sole-less and not at the expected standard.

    Beautiful property, lovely staff and great swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This modern renovation of a convent gives a luxury castle feeling for a fair price. The town is in the middle of the Ribero de Duero wine region and is a great base to explore the area. The pool, spal and restaurant are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a spectacular view of the town's beautiful castle. The Spanish manager studied hotel management in Switzerland and speaks excellent French, English, and German. The staff is very professional and eager to please. The swimming pool is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We arrived after a long trip in 30 degrees and we were looking forward to a swim and relax by the pool however the pool doesn't open until mid June - no apology and there is nothing on Booking.com to say this. There are no facilities to make hot drinks we arrived in around 11.30pm wanting a hot drink in the beautiful cloister area to be told not available. In fairness we did not eat here as last time we stayed the food was not good and we had read other reviewers saying the same.

    This is a lovely property in a lovely position. The decor and Hotel looks the part.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities not as advertised withno swimming pool available. Noisy corridors and rooms. Shower leaked onto the bathroom floor. No restaurant available.

    Good secure parking, interesting building.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't realise it would be extra to use the spa, and it was difficult to get appointments.

    The hotel was beautiful, our rooms (there were five of us, so we had three) were all very comfortable and clean, the staff were lovely... and on the Monday morning, when it wasn't a breakfast buffet, they did the most wonderful Churros con chocolate. Perfect

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra cost for using the indoor swimming pool.

    Hotel was beautifull. Staff was very helpfull. We have tried the food in the restaurant and in the bar. Both very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no fee for parking

    : excellent food

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi didn't work in the room

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent situation, former convent. Close to the castle of Penafiel and other attractions.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Private and secure parking. Very good breakfast. Good size room

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wonderful atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building, central.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building and excellent facilities, including private parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds and pillows where on The hard side

    Nice Hotel, nice location, decent restaurant, lovely pool!

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Spa Convento Las Claras traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: