Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mi Refugio 3 stars

Carretera de Villanueva de Algaidas a Cuevas de San Marcos, kl 7.2, 29200 Cuevas de San Marcos, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Cuevas de San Marcos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Idyllic place on the top of a mountain with spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast: in Andalucia I expect at least "iberico jamon" with the breakfast, not on ordinary ham. Nobody of the staff speaks english - despite their goodwill to try to understand what you're trying to explain. This gives a lot of misunderstanding when discussing the menu, practical info, ... Sauna & wellness infrastructure wasn't working because of renovations.

    The panoramic landscape view, as well from the room as from the swimming pool or the terrace. The large size of the junior suite appartement with balcony. Very well cleaned rooms and comon areas. Perfectly functioning airco. Usefull with temperatures above 40° !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely rural retreat in the hills of Andalucia in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room cried out for a Kettle and some utensils. Although the cooking facilities have not been usable for some time a kettle and some cups/plates/cutlery would have been handy especially with children. (they did provide them but we felt they should have a set already in the room). I suggest they provide a kettle. It was also disappointing the Spa and Indoor Pool were unavailable as they do not open them in the height of summer.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. They helped us with the local area, places to visit, what we could expect at the places we were visiting. The owner was great to talk to and answered questions we had, if you get a chance to meet him or his daughter then you must chat with them. Staff assisted in providing items needed in pour room especially cutlery and crockery. The views were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Rural retreat with all the comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely views and pool area. Great for nature lovers: the pool area was a magnet for birds. Barn swallows, red-rumped swallows, house martins, common swifts, alpine swifts, crag martins, goldfinches and bee-eaters all seen from the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful and unforgettable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guard dog was a little too shy but I think we became friends after giving him our ham from the breakfast table.

    The location, location and location! Nice and beatiful hotel on a very beautiful location in the countryside high up on a hill above the clouds. We enjoyed this place very much! The hotel is also peaceful and quiet and has a very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but a few things let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food! The chef was ill apparently all week so the first meal we had was from a very limited menu and was not very good so we ate out the rest of the time. The day we left the chef was back and we had a decent paella. Also the indoor pool and spa was closed. The beds were hard but this is a matter of preference.

    The hotel itself is very appealing and has some fantastic views. The room was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff, particularly the girl on reception were very helpful and friendly. It is set off the beaten track and very peaceful with a decent enough pool set in a well kept garden.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Good for a stop-over - would not stay for more than 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very poor - raw chicken for the children and food did not come all at once - my co-travellers had their food 45 minutes before mine which looked like it was preheated in the microwave. Spa/Indoor pool appeared shut which was unfortunate

    Views are tremendous - this would be a very suitable stop over point but it is very remote. Lovely swimming pool. Alumendra the receptionist was very helpful and sorted out the rooms for the children. Staff extremely helpful but clearly the hotel was understaffed. Rooms (junior suite) beautiful and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    stunning property, worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are a little dated

    stunning views. the photos on booking.com don't do the property any justice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Loved this place. Fantastic for getting away from it all. Spectacular views. Staff are exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Silence!!! Perfect retreat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Rural retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely location. Very tranquil. Beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.5
    The peace and quiet and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa wasn't open

    The peace and quiet and the view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Wow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We disn't like that we had to leave!! 10 thumbs up for this hotel and its staff!!

    Wow!! Amazzzzing!!! Beautiful lication, fabulous and friendly staff that were super accomodating and flexible! Lovely food in the restaurant, clean and elegant roomsand not at all expenssive! We are definitely coming back next year!!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location, friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, friendly and helpfull staff. The views were stunning. Good size rooms with comfortable beds. Great place to base yourself to explore the surrounding area.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, the mini suites are very nice, spotlessly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool should have been cleaner, no cushions supplied for the sun loungers.

    Lovely hotel, the mini suites are very nice, spotlessly clean, great location overlooking a massive valley, nothing around the hotel for miles if you just want to chill out. Nice food but not enough choice with the half-board menu.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.7
    The view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service and Food should improve ! (Rezeption is good) - they offer you more than they are

    The view from the balcony

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Browse Hotel Mi Refugio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: