Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunotel Central 4 stars

Gran Vía De Les Corts Catalanes, 570, Eixample, 08011 Barcelona, Spain

#297 of 528 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5379 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.6
    This was an excellent hotel where the staff were so helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast does what it says on the tin! However, there is a tendency to serve things cold that might be expected to be warm eg baked beans.

    This was an excellent hotel where the staff were so helpful from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. It is central to the main shopping area and has a network of buses and underground close by for getting around.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    9.2
    Had a great stay at Sunotel Central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the cost of the buffet breakfast is a bit more expensive for the option of food available. It was still delicious and filling and the I found the kitchen staff very friendly.

    Had a great stay at Sunotel Central! We got a bus from the airport with a stop just across from the University and this is only a short distance walk to the hotel. We were met by a lovely staff member at check-in and found the rest of the staff (from cleaning to hospitality staff) very friendly and accommodating. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. There was a coffee machine in the room but we didn’t know how to use it to get hot water for the tea available. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and rooms were quiet with the closed windows. It is located close to metro stations, a short distance from a laundromat, restaurans and a nice walk to the famous La Rambla street. The buffet breakfast was very filling with enough different options. Price was reasonable for the accommodation but I think it is slightly high for the buffet breakfast. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    7.1
    The price and stars is not according quality and look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are not cleaned well. Looks like stuff should try harder as it looks like two stars hotel for the cleanness. Breakfast were always the same, not much variety. Interior is not nice, a bit old school, common spaces are tight. The price is high but the feeling is simple.

    I liked the location and helpful stuff. Stuff at the restaurant was friendly. The size of a room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    6.7
    Angel the receptionist was extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was really cold. The tea and coffee supplies weren't replenished. Very noisy on the last night despite booking a quiet room...Nightclub/disco??

    Angel the receptionist was extremely helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    7.5
    No fuss place to stay in Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite small but big enough if you are just using the room for sleeping and a base.

    No fuss place to stay in Barcelona. Walking distance to great sights and good eating spots. Nice roof top to cool off and relax.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath/shower seemed to leak leaving a large puddle each time on the floor

    Location. Nice, quiet dark - black-out curtains - room. Friendly helpful staff. Good sunny area on the roof with pool to relax.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    9.2
    Love the Location and View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there were extra pillows in the room, free water bottles, better quality soap/shampoo etc. Also including breakfast in the price would be a nice touch.

    This is the 2nd time I stayed at the Sunnotel in the last two months. The view from the pool balcony is breathtaking, almost reason enough to go back. I love the location, easy to get to by bus, and easy to get to the airport and back. I also love that it’s close to the beach and Ramblas but not too close, it feels quieter and less touristy. It will always be my place to stay if I’m ever back in Barcelona!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location for week stay in Barca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture a little tired, breakfast expensive

    Roof top pool and hot tub, great views over the city. Location approx. 10 minute walk from Plaza de Catalonia and Rambles. 2 minute walk to nearest metro station. Lots of 24 hour supermarkets and cafe/bars local to hotel. Room balcony on to Gran Via, good doubled glazed doors with no street noise in the bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    We will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hotel bar but that is minor as the hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants.

    The reception staff are amazing. Super helpful. I mentioned very briefly while checking in that this was an anniversary trip and the next night we had a complimentary bottle of Cava delivered to our room. The hotel is very central.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Time of our lives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent location in the heart of the city centre, very nice breakfast. Also beautiful view from the top of the building where the pool is located.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our first visit to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really,

    On arrival we were greeted by Angel, he was very helpful and gave us a lot of information which was very helpful, A big thank you to him.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    I’ve had a good stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeper might need to pay more attention to clean the room detailed and completed.

    I’ve had a good stay in the hotel. The location of the hotel is spot on the city centre. It’s easy to get to most of sight spots by walk. Also there is the airport coach stop near by the hotel which is so handy. The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Was good and I will consider staying there again when next I visit Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    previous stays I have always had a room with a view, this time looked out the back which is not great and I guess someone has to end up having this view

    Coffee machine in the room is nice touch...especially when you get in late at night. Location is great, very central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location but old environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture and environment look a bit old and wasted. Hard towels were not comfy to use. The room door doesn't isolate the sound at all.

    Friendly staff, good view and awesome location. I really like the big shower and make up mirror in a bathroom. 24 check in was also a really useful feature for us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Overall - good value. Nice hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being woken up by rooster/ dog at odd hours and farm aromas occasionally in the air.

    Close to train station and easy walk to beach front. Overall a nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Uber Convenient, Very Friendly and Good Comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really.

    In the heart of the city. Right next to supermarkets, restaurants and recreational areas. The staff was very keen and upgraded me to better room in same price at arrival. Good place, great vibes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    When we checked in around noon ,we were told our booking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we checked in around noon ,we were told our booking was for a very basic room without windows and natural light which was not stated when we book the room at Booking.com. If we prefer a room with window we will have pay an additional Euro 15 per night. Not that it has a nice view because it overlook some other roof tops and nearby buildings. Also if we take the latter room it will be ready immediately otherwise we have to wait till about 2:00 pm. Since we have 3 nights, we paid for the extras. This was also told to the guest checking in immediately after us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Ok , great area as close to where we needed to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double door to balcony did and would not lock so entrance to the room from adjacent terraces buildings was possible , this was reported but nothing done

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great all around, would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin so noisy at times with other guests staying at the hotel. Rooftop pool small like a kid's pool.

    The receptionist were all so nice. The rooms were very clean and had a cleaner in every day to change towels and make beds. The shower was a beautiful walk in shower with a rainforest head. Nespresso maker in room with normal tea and mint tea. Location was brilliant. Our room faced the back of the building which meant no noise from traffic (just guests)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A variety of Breakfast. Was lovely to have fresh bread items everyday. The room was lovely as well as the room view. The hotel was located in one of the best locations in Barcelona.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice amount of natural lighting and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator closest to our room didn't seem work. During our stay, there was a thunderstorm that flooded our room. This caused some personal items to be drenched. The overnight attendant laid down many towels as a tentative fix. The next day they cleaned our room and fixed the leak rather than switch rooms. It was cleaned very well.

    Nice amount of natural lighting and comfortable room. Close to the metro station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    It was the perfect location for us👌 and staff fulfilled all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great. Thanks

    It was the perfect location for us👌 and staff fulfilled all my requirements and pulled out the stops, the desk staff where very helpful indeed and we will definitely stay there again, it was our wedding anniversary so on my instruction they arranged a bottle & flowers with a lovely message to my wife!! Perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.0
    Helpful forthcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful forthcoming staff. Upgraded us to a larger front balcony room. Great restaurant recommendations. Excellent parking in basement garage for moto at reasonable cost.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.9
    24-7 receptions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small. I asked for a twin room, and they charged me €78 extra to upgrade the room, and it was still tiny. The AC didn’t work, and they did nothing to fix it the first time we asked. The second time though, they changed our room. There was no tissue paper in the room and no shower cap. They provided only two small and smelly towels. For the price we paid I expected way more than this.

    24-7 receptions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Good sized room with a good shower, fantastic location close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room with a good shower, fantastic location close to the centre of Barcelona. Rooftop pool was perfect and it didn’t feel like you were in the centre of a busy city. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major deal, but the elevators won’t take you down for some reason. More importantly however they get you up.

    Staff was very helpful. Rooms were large, and they had a great cappuccino machine in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Booked hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke on first day to slip.in.three inches of water ,yes there had been a storm but you generally don't expect water to pour through the vents and flood the room,The main.problem was that my luggage was soaked,Passport ,tickets all.clothes and underwear dripping wet and stained from.dirty water ,Reception refused to even come and look.ad he couldn't leave desk,ItTook 24 hours for and a complaint to booking,com for someone.to come and resolve situation, ,Thankyoul,Eirvin and address how I was to.leave hotel with.no.bag,I received might free and New bag.but the frustration of the preceding 24 hours being told no one could speak to me was awful ,It

    Booked hotel.because of location.and outside pool,Also reviews good. Am.puzzled as even.before disaster struck the foyer looked tired and shabby furniture,uwelcoming reception staff and hotel nowhere near a four star,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    A super convenient and nice hotel in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While we were there, they were having trouble with some of their lifts not always working properly. This was a bit annoying, but since we were on the 2d floor, we were able to manage.

    This property is in a great location in central Barcelona and easy to get to many main attractions by just walking. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast every day was really good. The room was ample size, nice and very comfortable. They have a roof top pool and jacuzzi that was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    A nice little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable unfortunately

    It was spotless, the room well sized and the pool on the roof was nice. It had a good size bathroom also which can be hard to find around Barcelona

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay with easy access to city sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the hotel was a little dated. Expected it to be a little more modern.

    The hotel was centrally located for me to access all the places I wanted to see. Had a roof top pool although I did not get the chance to use it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very very pleasant stay with all supplies needed within 30 metres, food, liquor, convenience and a B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room compendium with what is available

    Space, mini bar available, close to convenience stores &, bars & cafes. Genuine welcome and attention given. Gave an upgrade as a lovely surprise. Balcony into main Avenue with buses, taxis & hire bicycles Main avenue but still soundproofed. Full sized elevator

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location use out of the central part of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft but staff happy to provide extra ones when asked.

    Breakfast was good with variety of choice. Dishes were continually being replenished. Staff were friendly. Hotel is on a busy road but double glazing worked well. Close to two metro stations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the centre Easy access to the hotel from the airport shuttle bus Friendly staff Lots of options for breakfast within short walking distance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Old fashioned property in a great location but rooms are tiny.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are old fashioned and extremely small. Standard rooms barely space for one person let alone 2. Work space/desk also small. Room rate is too high. There is no restaurant or bar

    Great location and pool sun/deck is quite nice. Comfortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we got was very small, but we were moved to a larger room later. The room and the toilet can be cleaner. We could hear the sound of the toilet every time it was used in the nearby rooms.

    The location of the hotel is perfect! The staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good. The pool on the roof is nice and calm. We found the room very small and requested a larger room and we got it. We had a nice stay in general at Sunotel Central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    I like the view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is that the 5 floor I was was that you were listening to the other in the next room. unfortunately the rooms are built with plasterboard or some other material that sounds like each other because there is no sound insulation.

    I like the view !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    Completely dissatisfied
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse ever hotel didn't recognise my family members I had already booked in so I was charged extra

    I didn't enjoy it worse ever hotel I had stayed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was out of operation for duration of my stay. Think the hotel was slightly pricey. I was not prepared to pay 16e per person for breakfast each day.

    Nice room. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location is spot on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    perfect location and reception staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a problem with leaking water from the ceiling of the room on 2 nights which disturbed the nights

    location and pool area on roof to escape the city heat

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Good basic hotel with swimming pool and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite basic, with very few light and the fridge was not working well though difficult to get real fresh water

    Having a swimming pool in summer is a real plus to relax after a day of visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the pool but it has a very strong chlorine smell.

    The hotel is in a brilliant location close to Los Rambles,Gothic centre and even the beach though I did get lost getting there and back. We generously got an upgrade by the team at the front desk who were all great. Breakfast was brilliant and a highlight. We found many great restaurants within two blocks of the hotel and a very cool wine bar. Having parking in the building was a godsend as Barcelona is a very busy place Highly recommend a stay in the Sunotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Great experience at Sunotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly, very helpful, gave great recommendations and directions. We arrived early, so we went out to explore the city, had lunch and later sat by the pool to chill out while waiting for our room. It was our wedding anniversary and we received a bottle of champagne, very meaningful touch. Thank you for making our stay very special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I recive the room was not ready but when I should to leave they call me by reception the cleaning staff come with 1 hour before....why ????

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Sunotel Central was amazing perfectly located in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunotel Central was amazing perfectly located in the centre of Barcelona and great hotel details. To top it off they also gave me a bottle of cava for free because it was my birthday. Couldn’t recommend this place more highly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good for the money and we will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was the lack of safety rails on the access to the swimming pool and hot tub. Fine for young people but we were unable to enter the pool or hot tub due to the lack of hand rails. I did point this out to staff.

    Nice mid range hotel situated 15 minutes from city centre - nice breakfast and facilities. The room was well appointed and serviced daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location , rooms , excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great , nothing negative to comment . Maybe the parking could be at a better price only .

    Great location , rooms , excellent staff We were upgraded to a room with Gran Via view , thanks so much again to the excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Great, would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    More diversity in the breakfast and more work put into it!

    The location is excellent for those who want to walk most of the trip. But even then, there is a short walk to next metro station! The rooftop has a pool which is very good if you want to cool you down after a long day!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Clean , the location was great , walking distance from the...
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not any dislikes

    Clean , the location was great , walking distance from the old town , Ramblas, gothic area , plaza d Catalunya 3 metro stop close by, so also easy to visit the more distant parts of town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, the pool on the roof it is a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They did not provide slippers and a bathrobe while they have pool in the location.

    Very good breakfast, the pool on the roof it is a good opportunity to revive yourself before a a sleep in the afternoon on warm days. The position is very good, very close to metro station, to aerobus station and to the street with good shops. There are some mini markets around with 24/24 schedule. The room is good size and the cleaning services were ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great central location for Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk was very helpful with recommendations and printing boarding passes. Roof top pool was a treat.Great location with easy acces to metro and busses.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks old and in need or a refurbishing The shower was dirty. I am bald so hair in the shower was definitely not mine... Expected more from the breakfast

    Location was great Staff was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall a good experience, would probably stay here again should we visit Barcelona an other time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing between the rooms could be better. We were bothered by a group of girls talking in the room next door on one of our nights. Ironically the sound proofing towards the street is really good.

    Nice breakfast buffet with great variety. Very kind and helpful staff. The room was nice and clean, and it was well maintained. Aircon was working well without being noisy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The breakfast was comprehensive and included great pastries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was comprehensive and included great pastries. The Swimming pool on the rooftop was a godsend on really hot days. Easy walking distance to shops, transport and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, neat and clean room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blackout in the windows and the cortins needs a upgrade..sunshine come through very early morning!!

    Great location, friendly staff, neat and clean room. Fantastic for a short stay. Can walk to Place de Catalunya.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff was super nice, the location very good, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not really a 4 star hotel in my opinion. You don.t have the breakfast included for the high price you pay, the pool was small, the maids didn.t clean everyday the room, they forgot to put new teas and they took the card from the light support. Sometimes one of the elevators wouldn.t work.

    The staff was super nice, the location very good, the room nice, the wi fi was fast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattresses were not of high quality. The double bed was a little small for me and my wife, and we are not big people.

    Super clean. Great location. Amazing room on the top floor with a balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean and spacious with a great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were a bit temperamental but apart from that the hotel was great

    Clean and spacious with a great breakfast buffet. Close enough to all the sites of Barcelona for an easy walk in this amazing city. Really quiet at night as well...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are lovely and the air con was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sadly couldn’t pay for a late check out as the hotel was busy, unfortunately, there wasn’t any shower rooms or facilities to freshen up before we departed after using the pool and the only toilets in communal areas were located on the 8 floor. During our stay my friends got trapped in the lift and the alarm in the lift did not notify reception luckily they had their mobile phone on them, this also meant we had to walk up and down the 8 flights of stairs which is very difficult as my friend and I are both heavily pregnant.

    Rooms are lovely and the air con was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous stay at Sunotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower facilities in the hotel for people to freshen up after check-out, when you have a late night flight. The only shower available was next to the swimming pool, with no privacy.

    Lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean. Rooms were cleab and comfortable. Roof top pool and jacuzzi, amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Loved our stay at sunhotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay at sunhotel. Perfect location and would stay again. Roof top pool was a lovely Touch to chill after a long day exploring Barcelona. Brilliant stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Walking distance from subway stations and bus stops that would take you anywhere in Barcelona. Kind and helpful staff. Really enjoyed staying at this property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underground carpark was tight.

    Ideal location for shopping and sightseeing. The room had everything you need and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our keycard wouldn't work and the receptionist came straight up to our room to rectify it. The rooftop pool and sun lounge area were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent place to start yours Barcelona exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mainly I was disappointed by the bed- it was way too soft for both of us, was impossible to lay straight, in every position my body was curved. Also the pillows were too stiff and high, all together with curved bed you get quite a bend,

    Surely, location is number one priority of this hotel, besides there was a nice and helpful staff, that made us possible to change the room, balcony giving a glimpse on the University’s tower. Swimming pool was good, not very big, but still giving the necessar relaxation and comfort .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service. I liked the roof top pool especially as it was quiet at 10am. Perfect for relaxing. Room clean and comfortable. Hot and powerful shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Reception ladies so so helpful and knowledgeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Reception ladies so so helpful and knowledgeable. Food was excellent. Water in reception area. Pools clean and plenty of sun beds. Rental of towels a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Barcelona is a fantastic city and can be quite expensive, so a reduced rate made the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints but iron and ironing capability in the room would have been handy.

    Staff very polite and helpful and parking was a lifesaver with my having a registered disability. Very good value for money given Barcelona isn’t cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff. Clean and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bar area.

    The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel was very clean and the terrace pool area was a perfect place to unwind and relax away from the bustling city. Excellent location to all sight seeing places to visit. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Great option for Barcelona stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is ok - we didn’t end up using as much as we thought.

    Great location - close to everything without being in the main touristy drag. Very quiet rooms which was nice. Lovely and attentive hotel staff. Complimentary champagne was a great touch!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. But would have appreciated a little kettle in room as l don't drink coffee. I couldn't find the toilets in reception.

    Staff very helpful & friendly. Great location. Superb breakfast good value too! Aircon worked really well. Comfortable stay! Although did miss a couple of comforts a good find and Would come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    I won’t be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the air con did not work properly was extremely frustrating. We raised this to the staff for the first three days in a row and had to get a fan. The air con finally completely broke on the 6th and 7th floors causing complete discomfort. Had the staff looked into our first three complaints, maybe we wouldn’t have experienced that hellishly hot and sweaty night. The pool is tiny and the optional breakfast is very expensive at €16 per day! Our friends stayed in a hotel about 10mins away in a taxi that was lovely, I’ll be staying there next time.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Since we didn’t spend much time in the room to have to pay such high room tariff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average for price paid

    The bed wasn’t comfortable and it moves easily. One single pillow for each person and if AC off did experience damp smell coz poor ventilation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were too thin so we had a broken sleep each night due to noise within the hotel, luckily I had ear plugs to try and drain the noise out, so I recommend to take ear plug or the hotel offer ear plugs to guests

    The location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent. We were on the move trying to see the city day and night. We felt safe. Room was very com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location was ideal.We were able to walk to centre and access all our needs. Staff was helpful and pleasant, although we only spoke English we were suprised that staff spoke sufficient to make our stay pleasant. Breakfast served a variety of dishes, I consider it well prepared and presented. Buffet style service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower was faulty. The knobs did not work properly causing no cold water and extremely hot water. Called for assistance,they made it work but were unable to explain how the knobs work in English. Staff unable to speak English clearly.

    The location of the hotel was great, and their breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Before booking, read all comments here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never expected such a small outdated room for such money. I was feeling like I am not in Barcelona, but somewhere in India's barracks. Felt like being robbed, but officially.

    Nothing except location. This hotel really needs to be closed for renovation.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunotel Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: