Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sur Málaga 2 stars

Trinidad Grund, 13, Malaga Centro, 29001 Málaga, Spain

#45 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4904 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a rom with a strange window ti a narrow backyard. Hated the view but everything else about the hotel is fine so we accepted the view.

    Great location. East to find. Close to shopping port and Picasso museum. Wonderful friendly straff. Breakfast fresh and nice. Malaga is well eorth visiting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean, friendly, value for money breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to put in a bath mat, and a mini-bar.

    The rooms have recently been refurbished, but the photos on the web page had not been updated, so this was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Some drawbacks you might expect in a 2 star hotel, but it's a great location with parking available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small recessed window so room dark . Weak one-setting A/C. Beds not very comfortable. Only one pillow. No safe or hair dryer in room (but available at reception). Only one socket in bedroom for chargers/appliances etc. Noise from neighbouring room's TV. Garage parking space difficult to get in and out of.

    Location is excellent. All very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful with any queries - with good English. Having car parking (13.50 per day) so close to the old town was great. Cold drinks at reasonable prices from reception. Room available despite arriving early before noon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Good except the situation with drilling the wall near the guest car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you reserve parking, they send the map. But do not say that you need to drive by the pedestrian street. So, getting to the parking is something! You have to drive by a pedestrian way and although they sent a map it was difficult to find. When we came to the parking at the day of our departure, they were drilling the wall just near our car! The car was partly covered with the tissue but not completely, and it was all covered with dust. We complained and went for a brief lunch. When we came back they still were drilling, but our car was not covered with the tissue at all! When we went to the staff to complain again, he was unfriendly if not to say rude. Although the parking lot was completely empty except for 1 car, we were forced to leave the parking exactly in the time of our check-out. Using a hairdryer switches off the electricity in the room. Quite noisy in the street during night time - impossible to sleep with open windows.

    Location was quite good - just near the center and not far from the beach- 15-20min walk. The breakfast was provided for additional 5 Eur and included cereals, cheese some fruits and plane yuogurt - not a lot of choices but for a reasonable price. There is a parking in the hotel. But you need to reserve it in advance as the places are limited. When we arrived (midnight) the staff was really friendly. However asked us to park in the least convenient place although others seemed to be available - it took us around 20 min to get there passing other cars and wall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Retro charm in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very nice staff, excellent location, close to bus to/from train station and airport and few minutes to town centre. Tourist information centre at the end of the hotel's street. The hotel's ammenities are a bit classic/retro, but it does its job as a budget hotel. If you only like modern design, don't go there. If you like the charm of old classic furniture, choose it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Three nights in the lovely City of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels

    This is a two-star hotel, however, the hotel is excellent in many ways. I believe it is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. It is not perfect for example the towels need renewing as they are quite thin and rough. Also, no bathmat is provided and the danger of slipping when leaving the shower meant that we used a face towel as a bathmat. These are small but important points that should be solved. On the plus side there is a breakfast available and although it is a continental breakfast it is excellent value. At 5 Euros per person, it is really first class. The staff are very helpful and the reception is manned 24 hrs a day.No fridge in the room, however, cold drinks are available for 1 Euro per item at the reception. Again, this is very reasonable. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and some building work was going on in the back street. This was quite noisy but stopped about 18:30. A good value hotel for a short break in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Some what satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to turn in your room key when you leave. The key controls the rooms air conditioning unit and lights. When you get back to the room it is very hot.

    It was within walking distance to all attractions and the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A good night’s stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly check in, helpful staff. Comfortable, clean room and a good choice of food for breakfast. The hotel is well placed for all the attractions of Malaga.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice, well-located and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room and no drawers. Limited English language TV channels.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient and within walking distance of the city centre. Breakfast was good and the free WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfortable and clean for a reasonable price. The hotel also has private parking(13.50 euro a day, that’s good price for parking in Malaga) Many nice restaurants in the area! Wifi worked well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the above comments, everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not very cold, my friends had temperature controls . No extra pillows or blankets in my room but there were in my friends room. Overbath shower only. My friends had a walk in shower cubicle. Guess I drew the short straw.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Close to everything but with no view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was terrible - just a wall less than 2 meters away and the neighbours' room window! The window was small and in a corridor - almost no day light in the room.

    Close to everything. 10 minutes to the bus and train stations and 5 to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.5
    Best Malaga stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window. Not much daylight comes in to the room so appears dark most of the time.

    Location is very central. Everything is walking distance. Spacious bedroon. Spacious bathroon with big bath tub. Hotel facilitates our needs - eg. Provided hair dryer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Central hotel, excellent for the whole area..particularly the delights of Malaga....Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a happy customer otherwise would not keep going back for short and longer breaks.

    The hotel is situated 5 minutes for harbour/ Marina....central for shopping, enjoying harbour and 15 minutes from beach and beach bars. Opposite is La Antigua which is great for food and a cold beer after a journey /flight. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable about the area.. The rooms are clean and everything you need...not palatial (that is not a criticism)... But why pay a fortune for palatial when you can be out enjoying fabulous Malaga. Many people think only of Malaga as the airport but there is much more to explore...Picasso, Thyssen, the beaches, food and bars a plenty. Have stayed many times and will go back again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very handily located for the train station and the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to a delayed flight it was after midnight when we arrived but it was no hassle to the staff who recommended somewhere that was still open on a Sunday so we could have refreshment. Very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monotonous breakfast. Like, really, every day the same stuff, for the whole week? 🙄 But we survived 😊

    Clean, super great location, friendly staff with good English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Location location can’t be beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Incredible location! Close to everything and airport bus just around corner. Hop-on hop-off bus stop a few minutes away and the best tourist information office a few steps away. Just great all round

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    A Quiet Gem in Malaga's Business Area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only regret that l couldn't stay longer. The location was a bit separate from the activity at night but the staff and facilities made up for this.

    First: Staff. Enrique, Diego and Jose the concierge/deskmen were all fantastic. Dressed like gentlemen. Well mannered. Helpful, gracious, efficient. Professional and patient. Also the service staff in the breakfast room were so froendly The hotel is small but elegant in a modest/modern way. Updated anf fresh. You don't feel like you are in a budget place. Ok the rooms are a bit less snappy But! They are spacious. Compared to others l saw on my journey thru Spain. Breakfast at 5€ is a fair deal suggest you get there well before they close it at 11 to have time to digest your food and go for fruit as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Location location in lovely Malaga!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok value - hard boiled eggs would be a nice addition.

    Incredible location - five minutes walk to the Malaga central area. Five minutes walk to airport bus stop. Great restaurants right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for old city and port visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast is instant. Real coffee is available at the cafés in front of the hotel

    central location between the port and the city centre. Getting to the hotel parking is a little tricky as the road directions have changed from Google map, suggest calling the hotel ahead for directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    OK!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds - VERY hard, VERY. I solved this problem by myself, but it needs some attention to this question. The walls are really thin. I had a silent room, but I heard everything what was going on in the rooms and the corridor, so...

    Thanks to all the staff (Diego, Miguel and others - sorry not all of the names I remember), all my little problems were solved immediately! The breakfast was good (but only cold). All women were polite and in good mood in the cafe. PERFECT location. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    love my stay would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    in bath room no shower mat had to use towel in shower and door stop in bath room I kept triping on it

    its the 2nd time we have stay there love the location it great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    We stay here when my husband has hospital appointments. Stress free stay.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tricky finding car park access... suggest that hotel provides clear written directions on how to get to car park.

    Very comfy beds Car park right by reception and access is direct from hotel. Great breakfast. Nothing to find fault with. Taxi rank just around corner. Super bar with great food and tapas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The beautiful hotel in the perfect location, willing staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which is possible to point out is the poor quality of the bed.

    The beautiful hotel in the perfect location, willing staff, good breakfast, cleanness, help with booking the taxi,good price for accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    central clean and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in room or no hairdryer we diod not ask for hairdryer but got extra pillows when we asked

    location central excellent rooms very clean and staff very helpful great value did not have breakfast but loads of places around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Location and mattress were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast - every morning the same menu, without any variation :-). We found a daily liners (new one) on the floor.

    Location and mattress were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Felt absolutely at ease there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent location, good breakfast/buffet , clean room and bathroom friendly personnel -spacious parking inside hotel and cheap in comparison with city parkings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and would recommend you stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little trouble finding the car park.

    This was the perfect place for us to stay! It was centrally located. We could walk to the beach and the sights. Extremely good value! Our room was as if it were new. We were on the third floor. An internal view but quiet and we weren’t in the room much except to sleep so was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise - constant noise from air con units doors being slammed late at night and reluctance of management to sort out a booking error. Will not recommend

    Helpful reception and off street parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money. All was excellent except for the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid room 108 - it sounded like the garbage trucks and then men on the street were in the room. I’m from a noisy place in nyc and this was still tough.

    Super clean and nice. Hot showers Clean beds and spotless bathroom Convenient location to everything- bus station, train station, touristic area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money - close to the waterfront and city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC can only be on or off, there is no remote given to make adjustments The rooms are not 100% soundproof to the noise of the hallway.

    The hotel is in a great location to explore the city Breakfast is offered for a reasonable price to start the day with basic food items. Clean and spacious rooms. I would stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel but stop advertising triple room option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking option for 1 room/3 adults (apparently 3 twin beds) was actually a twin with a camp bed with child-size mattress. Completely inappropriate for adults. Hotel was not helpful in rectifying this despite lots of empty rooms and the possibility of moving a bed and/or full-size mattress in.

    Good breakfast and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall cannot be beaten.Reasonably priced & spotlessly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have always found the mattresses too hard for my liking. Also take my own pillow!

    Fabulous hotel -clean - close to all attractions & friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 205 was a little dark but very spacious and great shower

    Location! Really central to everything - the shops, the beach is only 10 minute walk, port 5 mins. Great bar opposite with value for money drinks and tapas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent safe location right in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new towel, all of the ones I got were quite old and hard. A little more attention to detail with the cleaning would have given this 10/10

    The location is AMAZING and so safe.. it is ideal for people travelling alone. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a city base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, very central. Plenty of bars nearby. Also a bicycle and Segway hire place next door. There was a taxi rank, just around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location - good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit hard. The man at front desk insisted in seeing my passport. In other hotels in Spain my driver's license issued by a EU country has been enough.

    Spacious, quiet room with big bathroom. Breakfast buffet was average but quite OK for the price. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Very expensive local phone calls made from the room. No mention of it anywhere. We even asked at the reception desk if we could use his phone to inquire about our lost luggages and he said that we could call from our room without mentioning those extra fees. -hairs on pillow

    Well situated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed looking around Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. In Nerja they provided us with these even though they weren't provided usually.

    The hotel was well placed for exploring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    This is the 5th time I have visited Malaga and have stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the 5th time I have visited Malaga and have stayed at Hotel Sur each time. The staff are pleasant, the rooms are very clean and the hotel is situated in a great location for the beach and for the old town. I had breakfast there for the first time, it was lovely and only 5 euros.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Just what was needed, basic but clean, good location and a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just there for one night prior flying back from holiday else where in Spain and the hotel was exactly what was needed. It was basic but clean, inagood location and a reasonable price. Would also be good for a short city break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    I would recomend this hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one thing could score the hotel down, that is some noise could be heard from next rooms (shower running or people towing suitcases down the corridor). Not a deal breaker but something the hotel could look into.

    Very well located hotel, close to the city centre and the harbour. Rooms and hotel where clean. Staff was polite and always willing to help and accommodate any requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel ,near centre easy walking into main area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like good value for money

    Comfortable bed, bathroom a good size, cleaned everyday,able to borrow hair dryer from reception, able to get bottled water, tins of drink from reception. Would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value, superb location, clean and modern plus a breakfast for 5 Euros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need a quicker toaster :-)

    The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Malaga. The hotel was spotless and modern and ideal for what we required

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was ideal for city site seeing and main promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Half the rooms face an internal well, rather than the street.

    Central location. Close to sites and bus service to airport - though taxis cheap. Staff all very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a couple of nights, but this is a BUDGET hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room, but got a triple. This would have been ok, if we had been able to open the wardrobe! Third bed was in the way. No hairdryer and didn’t like having no room safe

    Excellent location, spotlessly clean and friendly, helpful staff. Ok for a couple of nights

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.0
    Great location, good for one night but lacking in charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My twin room was Spartan with nothing attractive or comfortable. It was a bit like staying in my childhood school.....a convent.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean. My twin room had everything that one needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a little hard and we would have liked a higher pillow or extra pillows

    location great. Room quiet away from Main Street noise Parking on site was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very nice and friendly and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and it was very cold, we had a problem with the air conditoner.

    The staff was very nice and friendly and the location was perfect, right in the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms aren't soundproof, so you hear plenty noise from the street, hallway and other rooms, but it's like that in all of Spain.

    Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Newly renovated rooms on the third floor, very nice. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should caveat by saying that I was really ill and hence ended up spending far longer in the hotel than I intended to. The rooms are v basic - probably not ideal for spending a lot of time in. Bathrooms were tiny. Had to request hot water for tea from the restaurant.

    Location super convenient. Good restaurants etc. Around. Staff (especially the housekeeping - special shout out to her for checking on me when I was ill) were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    The property’s location was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property’s location was fabulous. Easy access to the shops, historic centre, beach and bus/train station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing bad to say.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very kind, I really like them!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind, I really like them! The location of the hotel is one of the bests, it's close to everything! The rooms are nice, the breakfast is pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, not great night’s sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. The walls are paper thin, and the hallway outside our room was all marble /tiled, so we heard people stomping back down the hall to their room (and every word of their conversation) at 4am, then 5am, then we heard people wheeling their suitcases out while leaving at 6am and 7 am. A rug or some carpet in the hall would help, im sure! Also, our room was very outdated - it was clean and fine, but old pine furniture. The hotel is being refurbished though and the updated rooms looked nice, so I’m sure it’ll be lovely once it’s all finished - I guess we were put in a cheaper, older style room, which was fine as we only stayed one night.

    Staff were friendly upon arrival and check-in was very quick and easy. Great location - near to coast and only 10 mins from old centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A Comfortable Stay at Hotel Sur Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    The staff at the reception and breakfast room were very helpful, friendly. The location is great - and really close to restaurants and shops. It's also within good walking distance to Paseo Del Parque, where all the bus stops were - if you have to catch a bus (in my case, the earliest at around 6:35 am) to The bus station or to the airport (it only cost 3 euros and takes about 40 mins or so). The selection for breakfast was very good, and for 5 euros, I would rather eat at the hotel each morning. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, and the bed was very comfortable - the room had an air conditioner unit as well as heating radiator - so you could adjust accordingly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in the center of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been staying in this hotel over the last four years. I have noticed that the price of the room has gone up quite considerably but the services have dropped. The bed was a bit hard, the pillows were flat, but staff were very helpful. They quickly provided extra pillows as we requested them. Towels were small and no carpet towel was provided at all. No soundproofing, we could hear our neighbors snoring and speaking. It’s a shame because with the great quality of staff and the excellent location, the hotel could be one of the best hotels in Malaga

    Excellent location. Right in the city center. Everything is close, the airport bus is just across the road. The gentleman at reception spoke very good French and English which made communication easy. This is not common in Spain. He always provided an excellent service. We arrived in mid morning, and we were able to access the room. We really appreciated that mainly that we hadn’t slept the previous night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great value and location for a short stay in Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast was average, however for the 5 Euros it was more than sufficient for setting you up for the day, other than this there wasn't anything to not like about the hotel.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, and it was clean, tidy and the staff were friendly. The rooms are large and smart. The bathroom was very good. It was very easy to get to all major attractions from the hotel within ten min walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Good service at reception and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were aware of people passing along the corridor at night and in the morning. The corridor is uncarpeted and the bed was just inside the door so there isn't a great deal of noise insulation. This wasn't an enormous problem - it's more of a niggle.

    Good service at reception and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location but request a room away from the alley if you don’t like noise.aà
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy as the room backed onto the alley where garbage was continually being collected and motorcycles came and went. The Easter processions were on multiplying the noise factor causing us to check ou5 early.

    Great location to access the city and the hotel was 3xactly as advertised.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    enjoyed being in the city plenty to do and places to eat shopping easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the guy on reception wasnt very nice when we arrived a bit grumpy and not very helpful thankfully he went home and other staff member was ok bathroom was a bit smelly had asked for a double room and was given twin beds was no view as such just building and some kind of fan thing

    liked that it was central for shopping going out for food plenty to see nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Delighted with location and service all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you need a hairdryer you have to request at reception and return when finished. Not a major problem..just a little unusual. A bath mat/towel for floor near shower would be a good idea as tiles get wet.

    Great location between the sea and the city....both on the doorstep. Ideal that it was on a pedestrianized street. Cafes and restaurants available right outside the door. Though I didn't use it the hotel has a very nice carpark from which you walk right into reception area...all under cover.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated, tv function limited and bathroom amenities not the best.

    Location is amazing and parking is literally the next street over. Breakfast was basic and cheap. Enough for what you need. Reception staff at check in very welcoming and explained what to do and see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clear windows in the bathroom. Booked a three bed room and had to sleep on a very uncomfortable cot.

    Great location, near the port and centre. Friendly English speaking staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Description not accurate! Rudimentary, to avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The package announced on booking wasn't accurate. Instead of a triple single bed room for 3 people, they gave us a double room with 2 single bed, telling us that they would bring a folding bed after we call the reception. The room was clearly not done for 3 people, we even couldn't put few luggages on the floor. The personal was not friendly at all. After asking them a solution, they gave us the next room a bit more big, but near the cleaning room, it woke up us since 7am. Rooms are very small, old, and uncomfortable. Only 1 electric outlet for 3. Cleaning was incomplete, towels and soaps weren't renewed. To resume: noisy, rudimentary, uncomfortable, unfriendly, and small. Lead to wonder how they got a star.

    The location was great. Parking on premises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    The Hotel is in a fantastic location close to all the sights of the old town, the castle and the beach promenade but is in a quiet side street. The bus from the airport stops just round the corner and picks up on the other side of the main road and only costs 3 euros each way. There are so many bars and restaurants its difficult to choose which to go to but we visited plenty and had a nightcap at the little tapas bar opposite the hotel entrance which was really nice and did a good G&T! We had long walks along the beach promenade and up to the castle and stopped for tapas and drinks throughout the day. The Hotel was excellent for our 3 night stay, comfy bed, powerful hot shower and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    You can get what you want of Malaga city from this point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no view from the window.

    The room was quit and straight, with enaugh space and facilyties. The hotel is near to Almega trainstation (direct to the airport), a "paradise"-parkavenue, the beach, good restaurants and many interesting places. Breakfastbuffe´on the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a fridge would have been nice

    It was well placed with good access to marina and old town. also convenient to airport bus and metro/train. staff were helpful, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.5
    Great value, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value, close to everything. Front desk open 24 hours, important for our late night arrival and early morning departure a day later. Informative and kind front desk staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Hotel for a City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No English speaking TV channels not a major problem though.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, nice clean room beds comfortable, perfect for a City break. We would book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no tea/coffee facilities in the room or indeed in the hotel after breakfast is over. Not good for us brits who like a cuppa when we've been tramping the streets.

    The location is excellent. The reception staff are very helpful. The hotel is spotless. What more do you need?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was solid like a rock but that's fine for me...oh but the pillow... I don't get it! One long pillow for a double bed?! It doesn't work!

    Location is perfect! Stone's throw from city center, airport bus stop, cafes, everything... really great location. Second time we stayed here. Staff really helpful. Clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn’t recommend staying there as the hotel doesn’t offer much and you could stay at a betterhotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t comfortable, when we checked in and checked our room we saw it was two single beds pushed together, when I confronted the man at reception he said the hotel does not have double beds, just 2 single beds together. I was very disappointed because it states on booking.com twin beds/double bed. The next morning I checked a room opposite our one because the door was open and it had a double bed inside so I went straight down to reception and it was the same man coincidentally as the day before, so when I said you know yesterday when you told me you don’t have double beds here(as I said this, he was nodding his head of approval)I checked room ... and there was a double bed inside so why did you lie to me yesterday that you don’t have double beds here?? He paused and just looked at his computer screen for maybe 6-7 seconds not saying a word then he said would you like that room to which I replied of course and we moved our stuff straight away.

    I liked the location was central to everything and close to the beach, also cleanliness was a high standard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Belightful staff, perfect location, ideal for a long weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    Very helpful staff members. Lovely and very generous buffet breakfast for 5 euro's. Perfect location for all of the 'tourist' sites and the Tourist Office at the corner of the steet. Perfect stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to visit old town and historical monuments and very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff.Good location 5 minutes walk from old town and harbour and plenty good quality restaurants and bars nearby.airport bus stops less than 5 minute walk from hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 lift & no hair dryer in room, although you could get one from reception.

    Great location, short walk from where the airport bus dropped us off. At the end of the Main Street, short walks to main sites, restaurants & bars. Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: