Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tajo del Águila - Complejo Turístico Rural

Tajo del Águila, s/n, 11639 Algar, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Algar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    I like Tajo del águila as it is set in a rural location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I you don’t like hiking or walking then don’t go as it is a very steep yo get to the attractions the complex could do with a bit of TLC the outside table had seen better days the boundary railings are hanging off the archery compound is full of mud and the walkway lights have been kicked and broken so quité a bit of TLC.

    I like Tajo del águila as it is set in a rural location and the little houses were perfect for a rest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Fun, relaxing weekend. Excellent staff and activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like really, just that the cabins have very poor lighting and gives way to the imagination of creepy crawlies lol

    The cabins were what is expected in a rural tourist camp like this, but I think if they were just a little more modern looking but still with the rural feel to it it would draw more people. The views are magnificent and the activities are very good, the staff was excellent at all times. It was very good value for money. The only thing was that, the cabins can be a bt daunting for people who don't lie creepy crawlies lol, not that they were all around, it was all quite clean but it gives the impression that there are more because of all the nooks and crannies. They could make the cabins a little more modern on the inside and keep the rural look on the outside. It was a lovely weekend experience though and like I said the staff and people around were very friendly. If you can head down to a restaurant called La Posada del Duende please do, lovely food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Had a great time with friends and children but the place could be so much better.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Houses could be cleaner and updated a little. Also extra cooking /eating utensils would be good. Houses need to be aired better, as smelt damp. Beds need to be better. Opening time of restaurant would be good too.

    View, price of activities and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Will be visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was broken, as was the chair but the chimney. We didn’t even complain about it but we did have to fix it every so often as it would give in. It was very cold at night as the heater wasn’t working and although we had the chimney on it would burn down at a certain time so it was quite noticeable. I guess you need to know what type of property you’re going to. Other friends stayed in a cabin and it was more modern I guess it depends on individual preferences.

    We stayed in one of the Houses number 4 to be exact.The views were completely uninterrupted. Amazing! The house was clean, the kitchen had sufficient supplies except for an oven which we had planned to use. However we used the BBQ instead which was rapidly delivered to us by the staff. Everyone’s overall sensation was that everything was clean, we didn’t even see one bug!! We walked everywhere, to the restaurant on site for breakfast, horse riding etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Retreat with stunning views.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish there were more signposted long senderos, walks that we could have made use of.

    Firstly we stayed in a cabin; adequately equipped with a compact combi microwave but no hob. Moved to stone cottage for fun to use the fireplace. Location is stunning; enjoy the sunset then relax and lose yourself by stargazing. Restaurant onsite and in town are fine. Arrive with favourite food to eat at accommodation because the views are breathtaking and it would be a shame not to make the most of them. Must add went kayaking with our dog - first and memorable time!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Already planning our return visit. Totally awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing location with great facilities. We especially enjoyed kayaking on the lake and the local restaurant / bar on site was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful site, stunning views. Disappointed about one staff member we spoke to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were not great, beds were squeaky. Main issue was with the lady who worked there, who was very rude. After travelling 5 hours to the hotel, we were given a below par room and asked to change due to squeaky beds and the toilet smelling awful! After going back up to the reception we were sent back down to check the room next door (which was smaller and no better). By the time we had got back to the reception the lady was just about to go home. We asked for an upgrade, offering to pay the balance which was outright refused without any specific reason (just saying "not today, tomorrow"). Whilst I understand people want to get home, it was really poor customer service. No access to lake from site unless partaking in the activities.

    Beautiful scenery, extremely tranquil but we were there out of season and only one other guest on site. Bungalows and homes looked great. Big swimming pool Cats and sheep on site can provide you with entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    we will definatly be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the sports equipment was warn and needed to be renewed and there were no ridding hats.

    The staff especially at the restaurant were fantastic and really friendly .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Breath-taking! A real disconnection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't really find anything to complain about, only a few suggestions. The following could be added to the complex to further enhance the experience: more shaded areas for the hot summer months & hammocks outside the cabins would be great!

    Extraordinary natural scenery with uninterrupted views from each cabin. The restaurant staff were the best, making you feel at home and well looked after. The starry sky at night is unbelievable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.3
    Need a car for everything and not ideal in hot weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in wooden "superior" cabin and not sure what was superior about it. The exterior aircon unit made the whole cabin vibrate which was rather disturbing. The shower/toilet was all one floor with a drain, meaning your feet/clothes would get wet everytime you went to the toilet. No kettle in the room, was told to use the coffee maker to warm up water but then I got water with coffee particles.. Microwave grill would produce burning smoke when the grill was used. Cleaning products = bottle of bleach. So couldn't wash plates/cutlery. Pool opens at midday!! How late! Plus poor facilities at pool with all the umbrellas is very poor condition. Unless you fancy a hike need to take car to the pool and hotel restaurant - which was closed during my first day. No snacks unless bought on-site are allowed in the pool area which has its own small kiosk (which was also closed! Yet lifeguard told us off) All in all wouldn't go again in nice weather. Looks more like a cold weather resort. No BBQ allowed after May which we weren't aware of beforehand. Reception staff very slow.

    The view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The horse-riding stables did not provide us with hats, so safety could have been a bit better.

    It was quiet and peaceful, a perfect location to enjoy the nature and wildlife all around. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable, able to explain in depth about the flora, fauna and surrounding area. Plenty of activities to keep both adults and children busy, and in particular, the trip around the embalse was fabulous!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    Great over night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed, only open weekends at this time of year

    Location was great for visiting ark batural. Accommodation was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Our weekend at Tajo del Aguila
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be more comfortable

    Staff with great attitude towards making you feel welcome. From the receptionist to the activities staff to the restaurant personnel. All lovely people.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    We were travelling by bicycle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling by bicycle. So we took a cabin at the top of the hill. Sweet cabin. It took a while to walk into town and back for dinner as the hills were too steep to ride.1.5 k Beautiful spot.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.8
    The location is great the little town Argar next to the ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation are not very good but the beds are worse

    The location is great the little town Argar next to the Tajo is a life saver because restaurant is closed .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    How clean it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How clean it was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Peace and tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and tranquility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly no complaints :)

    Loved everything about it!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Our happy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visit Tajó every year. Love the scenery. Be prepared to walk uphill as the restaurant and most activities are at the bottom of the hills.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Had a great weekend with my grandson and my dog will surely repeat
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facility in the rural home

    The staff especially at the restaurant, the food was excellent and the location and scenery which was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    The beds are very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very uncomfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant had lovely staff, good food at good price. Could expand menu though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows😥

    Views, activities and restaurant! !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    relaxing get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 6 nights

    all was great

    The two bedroom house was convenient and comfortable for family with kids under 10 years old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Awsome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Perfect hotel, very friendly people, awsome views, great restaurant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the cabin

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    It's a relaxing getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a relaxing getaway! Awesome views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    Everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds Restaurant closed

    Everything else

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Everything was fantastic, staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road conditions and could be uplifted as a beautiful place

    Its location and views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Great rural break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies!! they were everywhere. Suppose it was the time of year.

    Place was amazing great views friendly staff and friendly atmosphere in the town .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    View good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Hostel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horse riding canuing

    View good food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    The place is breath taking and stunning and my girls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -Unfortunately the pool area could do with a good painting and clearing on the walls and surrounding area. -I understand not having wifi at the cabins as its a time to unwind, however the wifi at the restaurant wasn't working and should be available for emergencies - I can't fault the horse riding experience as it was absolutely fantastic, however as a mother being extra precautions I would have preferred them giving my children horse riding hats for protection. The ride is very slow, however there is rocky terrain and I did worry the whole time that they were protected sufficiently. These however are minor faults, on whole the experience was incredible 😊

    The place is breath taking and stunning and my girls and myself were in our element. The activities were fantastic and the horse riding experience was just amazing

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location and excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi!!!

    Beautiful location and excellent views. Restaurant food was high quality and good value for money! Higly recommended mini break. Lovely quality time spent with my family. Activities were excellent!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    the activities very well priced, restaurant too, lake is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds could have been more comfortable, and I do not use microwave so not much to cook in.

    the activities very well priced, restaurant too, lake is gorgeous, enough not to get bored and be out of the cottage.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Quadruple Room we stayed in at the Albergue could have had a TV, which would have made it more comfortable. Additionally, it was unfortunate that this particular long weekend, the Internet access was down and there was no Wi-Fi. We were looking forward to at least having Internet access via Wi-Fi at the Albergue. I realise part of the point of Tajo del Aguila is disconnecting from reality, and this is definitely an excellent place to do it (having been a total of four or five times by now). However, technically it would be easy to wire up each of the 20 cabins to a local network to provide Internet access via Wi-Fi. It need not be fast - just enough to check e-mails every now and then.

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, even opening the restaurant on Sunday night for us and another small group. The food available at the restaurant is very rustic and absolutely brilliant, with fantastic value for money as well. Four of us could eat three-course meals (with two desserts shared) for about €50. This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the Albergue and the Quadruple Room we stayed at (with another couple) was well structured (two rooms interconnected by a bathroom). The staff didn't mind our friends bringing their two cats to stay with us, since cats are allowed at the Albergue rooms (dogs require cabins). Though the room could have benefited from a TV, the large hall at the entrance to the Albergue was comfortable with plenty of seats and tables for us to sit at. In terms of activities, the areas to walk are really nice and quiet and with just enough markings for you to know you're not getting lost but not so many that it feels like a street pavement. This time we didn't go on the canoes or paddle boats (which are excellent fun), but we boarded the Algar I boat, which gave us a tour of the entire area. We also really enjoyed riding the horses around Tajo del Aguila. The nice thing about these three main activities (walking, canoeing and horse riding) is that each one takes you to different places around the area, so it is worth doing everything.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    This place is amazing if what you want is to switch off and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This place is amazing if what you want is to switch off and relax! We were a family group of 10 with 4 children under the age of 11.Great facilities,lovely staff.Everything very clean!We loved the activities availabe!! Especially the horse riding!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    5.0
    Restaurant was fairly priced with good food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Based on a steep hill throughout the complex. Added to that they do not allow you to park your vehicle next to the house. You are asked to unload and park next to reception where you have to walk a steep hill.

    Restaurant was fairly priced with good food and service. Friendly waiter and waitress.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    6.3
    Spectacular views, cosy accommodation, great food at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant closed from Monday to Thursday, no leaflets or information on hikes etc, place looking a bit run down.

    Spectacular views, cosy accommodation, great food at restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful views and plenty of fun activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were pretty basic, although this was to be expected in a budget youth hostel type place. The bedsheets were quite old and ragged and although I'm sure they had been cleaned they didn't look that great! Don't expect luxury, but still great place for a rustic rural retreat.

    Wonderful views and plenty of fun activities. The restaurant was very good and also quite cheap, as well as being the perfect spot to have drinks while watching the sun set over the lake. Good wifi connection, which was a bit of a surprise in such a rural spot. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    The place was amazing, views were beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could of been bigger accomodation

    The place was amazing, views were beautiful

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.3
    Spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Situated on a hill so needed to use the car a few times, especially with children

    Spectacular views

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    Enclave natural
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enclave natural

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too Spartan. Not even a kettle in the room

    Fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.3
    Restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a superior cabin but it was very small and beds were very uncomfortable.

    Restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    The place is perfect for children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds

    The place is perfect for children

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Location, fireplace and the nature walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed

    Location, fireplace and the nature walks

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.3
    Great activities and spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi available

    Great activities and spectacular views.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb location. Loved watching the sun go down over the lakes. Tranquillity

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.7
    Location and style of cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Litter and disrepair.

    Location and style of cottage.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    i liked all the facilities and food of the restaurant is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    i liked all the facilities and food of the restaurant is fantastic. The staff are all great and helpful and will return next year.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    The view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view and location.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    8.3
    The scenery, the staff and activities were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds were hard and creaky, the pillows were the most uncomfortable ever.

    The scenery, the staff and activities were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.8
    The views from the cottage, the facilities at the resort,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cannot think of anything bad.

    The views from the cottage, the facilities at the resort, the food at the restaurant, everything.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: