Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Torrecerredo 1 stars

Vega de Barrio, s/n, 33554 Arenas de Cabrales, Spain

Review score

Based on 180 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    8.3
    Amazing spot with excellent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms. Some rooms did not have view and without view would not have been as pleasant. We had a great stay however

    Amazing spot with excellent view. Lovely garden and patio off bar/ lounge. Very nice meals and excellent breakfast. They made us a picnic for our hike. We will return

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say enough good things about this outstanding family run hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. There's a garden patio with a fabulous view that's perfect for relaxing after a hike in the mountains. The food was exceptional. We hadn't planned to eat there every evening but changed our mind after the first day. The vegetarian meals were excellent. What really sets this hotel apart is the people. The owners are warm and welcoming and go out of their way to help meet the needs of their guests. They know the area well and gave us detailed information about hiking trails. Their staff is friendly, helpful and respectful. The location is great for exploring the Picos de Europa. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly and quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No swimming pool. The hotel is accessed by a narrow single track lane which requires care.

    The friendliness and service of staff. Always resourceful and helpful with advice. Stunning views of mountains and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, quality of food served for a breakfast was way above what you typically get in the hotels. Close to everything but without town centre noise. Friendly staff, personal attitude as hotel is not huge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    We recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The road which leads to the hotel is very, very narrow (for one car only), with steep slopes, so it is hard to pull over. We were lucky that we didn't meet anybody on this road. However, it is only 200 meters, so do not panic :) It was generally clean, but the hotel would need some renovation. The quilt that we were given was dirty, so we slept only under bed sheets which were clean. It was not a problem, because it was hot.

    This is a very small and cosy, rural hotel. We had a spectatular view to the mountains from our window. There is a restaurant in which breakfast and dinner are served. Breakfast was delicious. There was a wide variety of dishes, drinks and fruit. Everyone could find something to eat. In the evening it was possible to have something for dinner, even some easy things which were not included in the menu. When we arrived the kitchen was already closed, but as we were very hungry they made us something to eat. There is also a small bar, in which you can buy wine, bier and other drinks for reasonable prices. The staff speak English. There is a lot of parking space. There is a small garden in which you can sit and relax. We really liked our stay there and as we continued our trip to other towns, we thought that the best place to stay was Torrecerredo :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location with great views of the picos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with great views of the picos. The hotel had great facilities and the staff were very friendly and could all speak great English. The breakfast and dinners put on by the hotel were also very good. Would recommend to any couple interested in spending a few days hiking in the picos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent. One of the best views from a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor points - had to ask for hair dryer in room and not much tourist information on display - but both provided when requested.

    The view from our room - 207 was just amazing. Staff and owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. The evening meals were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great place to relax after a long day of hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Incredible views out the window. Extremely helpful and charming hosts. Unbeatable location for day hikes in the Picos. Great dinner. Lovely bar with patio. Most modern bathroom fixtures of anywhere we stayed in Asturias. Reasonably-priced and convenient laundry service if you've been traveling for a while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great setting, friendly with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Six guys on a motorbike trip this is a great venue with stunning views of the mountains.Very friendly english speaking owners who are very helpful. This is our second time here six mature bikers looking for a bit of comfort on route! Parking is on a secluded car park so no problem for parking the bikes. lots of early bars and restaurants to visit too, al reasonably priced. Good for groups and couples alike. We will be back next year no doubt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware, the access leading from the main road to the parking lot of the hotel is long and narrow and can be challenging in darkness.

    Staff was friendly and very helpful. We liked the location of the hotel in the outskirts of town (bordered by pastures), but less than a five minute walk from restaurants, bank, launderette, and food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    The room was large and comfortable and in good order with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor sound insulation between rooms. Extremely narrow access corridor on first floor. I could hear every word people were saying on the other side of the wall. Massive amount of noise with what seemed to be a group leaving between 05:30 and 06:30 made sleep impossible.

    The room was large and comfortable and in good order with a great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel, management and location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could fault anything

    Super energetic and welcoming owner operators. Fantastic mountain retreat with excellent food, staff and facilities. Best place I have stayed on my one month trip on Northern Spain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Can highly recommend staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super nice and helpful, dinner was amazing (especially with the view of the mountains) - we didn't book this in advance but decided after trying it the first night, to have eat in on our second night as well. Rooms were good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    A lovely stop over in tranquil surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has great views over the mountains and the owner was very kind in accommodating our late arrival. We just about made it for dinner. The place is clean and tidy; pleasant hosts who went out of their way to suggest mountain hikes in the Picos. We very much enjoyed our brief stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Cosy and friendly but no ventilation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loads of flying ants swarming in the garden. The rooms were baking at night with no oxygen left after a short while. The bugs, although noone's fault, made it impossible to have open windows and one can't but wonder why all that money was spent on the luxurious bathroom and not on an A.C. unit. Got almost no sleep at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel but most are in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sockets in the room so you couldn't even charge a mobile. The road to the hotel is very narrow and trying to reverse when another car is coming towards you is very difficult. No safe in the room which is a pain if you have passports, laptop, holiday money etc and you want to go hiking for the day.

    Location was right inside los picos de europe. Views from the room were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Superb country hotel near.the Cares Gorge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room also looked out onto the car park so some of the time our mountain view was obscured by large vans. We did not know that on Wednesdays there is no evening meal. We had been looking forward to our relaxed evening with delicious food, and were disappointed to have to go into the village for a meal.

    Our room looked out onto the mountains. We were woken.in the morning by birdsong. The evening meals were absolutely delicious and very generous. The owners did all the cooking and the meals were considerably better than a lot of expensive London restaurants. My Partner is 6ft 5' and I asked for a large room and bed, and we had both. This is an ideal hotel for a walking holiday. Very close to the start of the Cares Gorge walk at Poncebos, with many other gorgeous walks in the near vicinity. Plenty of outdoor areas to dry muddy boots and socks. There is a really pretty terraced garden and a well stocked bar and all the staff were delightful and friendly and with very good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Great view of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear people walking & talking in the hallways which woke me most mornings. Then bed wasn't very comfy & was noisy. The road to the property is very narrow we clipped a tyre on a rock one time & we only had a small car.

    The view from our room of the mountains, loved waking up to that every morning. Restaurant on site offered vegetarian options & the food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one thing that could have been better for us and that would have been having firmer pillows. Everything else exceeded our expectations.

    Beautiful location, lovely views and excellent food. You are treated like family with excellent service and very helpful information. Pilar and Jim really go out of their way to please their guests. They are superb hosts. I would highly recommend staying here. I hope to return again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and convenient for the Picos mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quirky new bathroom furnishings

    Very helpful staff with excellent local knowledge of Picos hiking.Excellent facilities and food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    We came here for our second time, and hopefully not for the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came here for our second time, and hopefully not for the last time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Awesome view, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect. The view, proximity to the city center, breakfast... Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is july and the hotel had thick comforters. Room was so small you had to jump between the luggage..no ventilation.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    The food was exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was exceptional! It was plated (and tasted) like it was from a 5-star restaurant... but for $18 ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely setting on a hill just out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be nice

    Lovely setting on a hill just out of town. Great friendly staff. Fantastic place to tour. Will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Situated in the Picos De Europa Mountains, ideal location for motorcyclists !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hair dryer's .

    Location is super, great family run hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly family run hotel. Great location. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Food and location were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    Food and location were excellent. All the staff there were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    We had an awesome hike in the Cares gorge and loved the food. We were happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dreary and dated. Just a bed and a wooden chair

    Staff, food and location were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and helpful. Delicious evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hair dryer would be helpful.

    Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without doubt the view from the property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very friendly staff. The rooms were good and the beds were comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Well done!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    They got the essentials all right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They got the essentials all right. Location, views, comfy beds, lots of hot water, the best 16E meals I have ever eaten, great hosts supported by fantastic staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Spent two nights here, and we really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spent two nights here, and we really enjoyed our stay. The view from the room was amazing, overlooking the mountains. Friendly staff, who all spoke good English. They serve dinner as well, which was so good the first night, that we decided not to go into town for a meal the second day either.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent, very helpful and considerate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and considerate. The evening meals were great value and a real taste of the region. The breakfasts were good with fruit and cold meats cheese available as was an egg dish omelette etc. You could also order a packed lunch if you were out for the day.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was fabulous - it was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In general the craftsmanship of the baths and rooms is not the best. They do what they are supposed to do. The bathroom was a bit cramped - however once we learned to work the shower it was hot with great pressure.

    The hotel was fabulous - it was in a great location. It was close to town and the hikes. The staff was lovely. Breakfast was a buffet with eggs made to order. Overall it was a great place. The view from our room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    Jim the owner and his excellent efficient staff made this 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The weather! Thankfully that was out of the control of the management so no complaints from me!!

    Jim the owner and his excellent efficient staff made this 3 night half board stay a real joy. The food, drink and craic (as they would say in Ireland) was second to none. The food was fresh plentiful and varied. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of cold meats (the most fabulous chorizo!! Thanks Jim for my gift!), cheeses, bread, cereal, eggs and most importantly...FRESH Coffee!! This was a 50th birthday motorcycling trip for myself and my travelling companion and the hotel was in the perfect location for the Picos de Europa national park. The hotel was up a track off the main road into Arenas de Cabrales and this proved to be a positive with the bikes being out of view. There's a short walk into the pretty village with a few restaurants/bars and several shops including a "supermarket". This location is a little over an hour from Santander and couple of hours from Bilbao so if you're looking for somewhere with a relaxed atmosphere in the mountains with good routes for both walking and motoring...this is your hotel. Once I've saved up enough for another ferry crossing I shall be back!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    8.3
    Staff were excellent - proprietors very friendly and have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have preferred tea /coffee making facilities in the room

    Staff were excellent - proprietors very friendly and have a wealth of knowledge related to the area plus excellent chef

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    We loved the big buffet breakfasts, the rustic bar, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the big buffet breakfasts, the rustic bar, the views of the mountains, the delicious homemade dinners and local wines, the friendly family-run atmosphere, the fact it was only 5 mins walk from the village, the kindness of the owners.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    All the meals were very good, so good we ate there every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All the meals were very good, so good we ate there every evening except the night the kitchen was closed.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    People people people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People people people. You feel like a family member.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    The location,( stunning views) the hosts and their sharing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location,( stunning views) the hosts and their sharing of information and local knowledge was invaluable.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Great location, gorgeous views, lovely staff who will make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, gorgeous views, lovely staff who will make you feel welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Run by a interesting British fellow, expect a lot of British...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Run by a interesting British fellow, expect a lot of British and international fellow guests. Great location for hiking the canyon trail.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like.

    Great staff. Great location. Great dinners. Great walks. Great wine. Great time.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location for walking in Picos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location for walking in Picos. Owners operate, speak English and Spanish and enthusiastic to recommend the best walks

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Very nice staff, perfect place for hiking tours;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice staff, perfect place for hiking tours; delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent staff Great location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Jim and his family made us very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jim and his family made us very welcome excellent food and good room.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Torrecerredo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: