Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tropic Park 4 stars

Passeig Marítim, 68, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

#8 of 26 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothink to dislike

    Had fabulouse time lovely people could not do enough to please us food lovely plenty choice very clean dont take any notice to bad reviews iv stayed in lots hotels and tbe tropic park has been one of the best childten entertainer was great with the kids

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    To be honest nothing particularly wrong with this hotel didn't give it an higher score because have been in better.

    Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Food was very good, good choices available Good location, based in Malgret but also very close to the Santa Susanna side as well. The train station is close as well, would recommend if flying in to Barcelona to use the train as it is really easy and at 4.90 euros for the journey a cheap way to travel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you're planning to visit barcelona don't consider this area (Malgrat de mar) at all, you can maybe visit Barcelona just for one day of your whole stay because it's more than hour and a half there, and in the night there are no good connection. but if you're planning to stay in the region, then it's really fine.

    the facilities are ok, the swimming pool area and the breakfast was very good. and the beach is literally across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools could use a bit of an update, but really that's just aesthetics.

    Loved it here! Wonderful staff! Food was great and varied. Dining staff can't do enough for you! Entertainment directors lively and engaging. Premium room worth the extra spend. Super views. Nice unspoiled beaches just across street. In the heart of the action.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The aircon would usually stop working during the night. The beds were not that comfortable. The fridge is locked and you have to pay per day to use it. (Although in our case the staff provided it to us for free, once I asked about it.) Wifi is only provided in the lobby, you had to pay extra for internet access in the room, and the interest access only allows for a single device connected at a time. The hotel guests are mainly older people around (60+), but I think that this is generally the case for the area of Malgrat de mar. This wasn't a major negative as the atmosphere was pretty relaxed as a result.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with whatever questions you had, and would provide good recommendations for places to eat and things to do. The bar staff were great and are generally pretty fast. Drinks at the hotel bar are reasonably priced. The dinner buffet in the hotel is pretty reasonable. Our room looked aesthetically pleasing. Our room a nice balcony. 3 separate pools in the hotel. (one indoor)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    -

    The room is newly renovated. The hotel has animation for kids. The meal is very good, especially dinners. Each dinner (except Sunday one) is thematic: Spanish, Catalan, Gala evening, Kids theme with lots of candies, Marinera / seafood night, and Evening of cheese selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extra fees for parking and wifi in rooms (altough premium rooms were supposed to have free wifi), also extra fee for a room safe - 4* hotel should offer these services for free.

    Very nice hotel, clean and well equiped room, delicious food, great location close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is absolutely not 4-stars (merely 2 in my opinion). The hotel isn't located close to any train station (the nearest one is 1.5km). The buffet doesn't include any drinks. The hotel is old and not clean. There is no free wifi in any room. You have to rent the fridge if you want one. Choose somewhere else.

    -

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe in bar of ground floor is bad

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better room service,staff that speaks better english,air conditioning in the rooms,more free amenities,free wifi in the rooms

    The bed is comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice central location, friendly staff, food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very mediocre

    The hotel was very well located and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be noisy the pool side

    Staff amazingly nice, thank you Marta! Good price value € 115€ night Clean Frigobar Meals: very good quality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We only stayed 2 nights, the evening entertainment whilst we were there is aimed for old people. They loved it, we went elsewhere.

    We were upgraded to a superior room which was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clubs close by - too noisy with people shouting and being noisy sometimes till 5 am. Didn't sleep well due to this.

    staff extremely helpful and polite. Room made up each day with clean towels. Food very good, lots of choice and excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seemed very un-organised when we checked in. We asked for a double bed and got a twin. Which I suppose was not their fault but nothing was done to help us when we asked about changing. The rooms have absolutely no soundproofing. We could hear people talking in the next room, a guy snoring and the cleaners were on the corridor from a very early hour. Also the locks on the patio doors were very un-secure. When locked I could open them with a little nudge. Which was not good when we were on the first floor and our neighbours could literally step over the small partition on the balcony.

    The location was good. Close to the underpass to the beach. Lots of bars, supermarkets, restaurants etc close by. Room was clean. Shower was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - No SPA, no massages. - Drinks during lunch and dinner are not for free, even water. - During breakfast you can drink only coffee of tea for free. - Even if you would like to order a paid tea during dinner, they do not provide it. You can order it only on a bar. - Very expensive safe box - 42 euro per 9 nights!!! - Wi-fi is not for free and also very expensive - 28 euros per 9 nights!!! - Insolent blacky waiter in restaurant tried to harass me, persistently inviting me to drink something with him after dinner and gave me his What's up name. Disgustingly!

    Perfect location. Amazing clear sea and sandy beach. Tasty and varied cuisine. Very nice administrator in restaurant. Nice receptionists who were always helpful. Nice personnel on a pool bar. Very clean rooms and territory.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner Buffet is poor and limited. You need to pay for soft drinks as an extra charge!! Paid parking for guests’ cars, not enough parking lots. No alternative parking zones around. Payments are made in advance!!! No in-house directory leaflet.

    Excellent Location, Friendly Staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The main street is very noisy during the night . At the first two night was very bad .

    The kitchen has also gluten free bread for breakfast and the staff is happy to show all of the gluten free for dinner . Nice and good food :)

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were a group of six who booked online three rooms for ten days at this hotel. In my opinion this hotel does not even merit two stars let alone four! The lobby is shabby and smelly with no air-conditioning. Tables and chairs are placed haphazardly all over the lobby. Two old leather couches that have definitely seen better days 40 years ago are places in a corner in front of two elevators that groan with age every time they open and close. We had booked ourselves into the "premium rooms" as the pictures of the standard rooms were already dismal on the website. The reception staff asked us to pay for the entire 10 days upfront at check-in which we found a bit odd but did anyway and deeply regretted later. The rooms had been refurbished but that was where premium stopped. The air conditioner did not work and 5 minutes after opening the terrace doors the rooms were filled with bloodthirsty mosquitos. The pool was practically on the street and the rooftop pool was merely a tub on the sixth floor. The little balcony of the premium rooms overlooked the main street directly above train tracks. The noise of the trains passing every 20 minutes was deafening and there was little peace and quiet to enjoy on the puny terrace! In order to get to the beach you have to pass through an underpass that stinks of stale urine- the average age of the clientele is 70+ matching the entire ambience of the hotel. They have probably fond memories of the place when it was new (must have been 2nd WW days!). In simple terms everything about the hotel sucked and we were terribly disappointed. We went out for a stroll and found a hotel at the same price with much better amenities and realized that we had gotten the raw deal. We decided to check out the next day and move into the new hotel.

    absolutely nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff withheld our ID cards without asking us, just because there were other clients waiting.

    It was across the road from the beach and that's all about it.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very convenient for family with kids

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is slow. And even doesn't work. Strongly advise to improve Internet facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi is not very fast

    I have been in this hotel the summer 2015, very good service; very taste food and new room with the sight for the sea.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Free wifi doesn't work,had to pay 3euros for one day. Not acceptable in a 4 star. The food could be better ,more variety.

    Pool,staff in general

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very bad wi-fi

    animation team

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: