Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo Hotel 4 stars

Avenida Torcuato Fernandez Miranda, 26, 33203 Gijón, Spain

#21 of 44 hotels in Gijón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 659 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite noisy if you had any windows open due to traffic. Bike parking was expensive as we had had 3 bikes in each parking bay

    Great city centre central position right in the middle of town very close to bars, shopping, tourist parts. Rooms were very good and staff excellent. Breakfast was 1st class. We had access to underground parking for shopping centre for the motorbikes (if a little expensive as we were charged as a car)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest not much I love Spain

    Loved the town. Very Spanish. Family atmosphere. Reminded me of what the Costa Brava used to be like. Where the hotel is situated had a very nice feel. I was there for the 5 star horse show which was unlike any horse show I had been to, just super fun. It was a Nations Cup show my horse was competing. The weather was great. The show was fun even if you didn't own a horse. Great atmosphere. I would love to visit the area again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike here.

    The location of the hotel was perfect, just a short walk from the beach, bars and restaurants. There is also a lovely park area to walk through directly opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    We've stayed for 13 nights and no one from the staff engaged with us, the staff were focus on the arrival of the bullfighters neglecting the long staying guests in the hotel. I can not tell you the name of the Hotel Manager or any other manager as I haven't met any. Very disappointing hotel.

    Only one person at reception seem to care about our stay, I think her name was Malena, . Also a girl in the breakfast room (Laura) was attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything! But some people might find it bland as all the rooms on our corridor looked identical! But all in restful muted colours.

    The premium rooms are not much more expensive than basic rooms but have extras that make it worth the extra expense- bigger rooms, large comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is very efficiently run and has excellent breakfasts. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the beach but that makes it a quieter area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Would be a nice to have extra.

    Fantastic location within walking distance to everything Gijon has to offer. Room was clean and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - very slow wifi (Maybe the slowest wifi in Europe - maybe it is the same for Gijon/Spain) - not soundproof door to room (noise from corridor) - little worn facilities (e.g. bath had one spot 1cm x 1 cm which was evidently corroded)

    - very well breakfasts - capable staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great breakfast, secure parking, good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gluten free options if you ask

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Go for the superior room if you want a kettle in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly small. Rooms not cleaned regularly.

    Breakfast good, many choices. Hotel is very convenient for central location and close to coast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La cama incomoda en pendiente lateral

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it would have been nice to upgrade me for free instead of having to pay extra each night

    everything is good...almost very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect localization, nice and clean apartment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could only get bar food in the evening in the hotel.

    Location was good for a city stopover. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View was't great from our room(view of apartments), but another side of hotel is a very nice park.

    Nice Lobby, comfy room,huge bathroom and clean. Yummy breakfast. Got the room with promote price.Nothing to complain, everything is good :)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel staff at the reception. They weren't interested in providing information sought after but rather pointing few things as a matter of fact only, for example, places where good dinner could be have. We were directed to a couple of restaurants right next to where a round out is with busy traffic and with no charm. The city has fantastic range of bars and restaurants where one could easily find much better offerings. However the female receptionist we talked to didn't have courtesy to mention it all. Perhaps the hotel is not no where near these exciting city centre. We will never return to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OK but falling short of what expected of 4*. Lausy wifi system. Good breakfast buffet but some equipment (eg. espresso machine) not commensurate to number of guests ...

    Great location. Some staff kind and diligent. Overall good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is limited by 500Mb/day.

    The room is big and everything is new and clean. Good breakfast. Convinient parking. There is also free parking around the hotel but it's dificult to find a free space. The hotel is in walking distance to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is far from city center not convenient for leisure My open door card didn´t work properly twice

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La falta de Restaurante no "Fast Food "

    La atención en Recepcion

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is old

    I liked the location of the hotel, there is a park in front of the hotel, and its only couple of minutes walking from the beach

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air con didnt work properly

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bar

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: