Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universal 3 stars

Recogidas,16, Granada City Centre, 18002 Granada, Spain

#80 of 125 hotels in Granada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3953 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    We had to spend a lot of time in the hotel due to the rain, but it was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a bit noisy, both from the street outside and internally. The lift was rather small and made a lot of noise when it stopped.

    The restaurant was good value for money. The location was very central and convenient. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was in a great location - we walked everywhere from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only criticism is that you could hear everything - i.e. people in their bathrooms, people taking showers in the early hours of the morning, and I could not find a comfy pillow

    Hotel was in a great location - we walked everywhere from here. There is a nice square not far with lots of restaurants around it. We had breakfast in the hotel on the day we were leaving, waiter was friendly and breakfast was good price. We had a two bed room which was a good size for 3 adults, room was kept clean and beds made everyday. Young gentleman on reception was very helpful - he printed off my tickets for me for The Alhambra.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location for exploring Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could sometimes hear noise from the adjacent rooms and traffic on the main road which wasn't a big issue for me but could be for lighter sleepers or those who like to sleep early.

    Perfect location, very clean, excellent value for money, extremely helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed having coffee each morning at the cafe on the 6th floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Very good just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was better than we expected so easy to get to right outside the hotel full chauffeur for our car they took it parked it and brought it back within 5 minutes when we we're leaving.we will be booking again next May

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included in the price. However they have a cafeteria which serves decently priced coffee and toast which makes for a quick breakfast. There are other cafe options around the hotel as well.

    Good hotel for those planning to visit the Alhambra. The property is about 6 to 8 minutes away from the Isabel Cathedral by walk. There are frequent shuttles to the Alhambra entrance from the Cathedral. The staff were very helpful, they allowed us to leave our bags for almost the entire day after checking out. While leaving we were in a hurry to get to the bus stop and one of the guys at the front desk (unfortunately forgot to ask his name) made sure we got there in time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Solid Amenities. Clean. Good style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views from the upstairs restaurant. Cheap delicious breakfast (no eggs but that's no biggie). The front desk staff was very helpful. My single room had amazing water pressure, great hot water. Small but useful bathtub. Comfy bed. I thought the private parking lot was a good deal. I walked everywhere. Great Central location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    Excellent value for money in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making in room would be good and mini bar or even water in fridge

    Very friendly helpful staff (reception restaurant cleaners) Immediate attention to problem with shower. Choice of excellent tapas with each drink

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy. We could hear everything from our neighbour room, sneezing, coughing, talking, moving chairs and bags... And the party group on Friday night did not let us sleep at all. Also, the reservation information on Booking.com was not very informative, if not misleading. We wanted to book rooms with breakfast and parking included on our Andalucia tour. At this hotel, none were included and it was not possible to cancel the reservation once you had done it.

    Central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel universal - Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is very basic. Only one available plugpoint to charge personal electrical equipment and that was in the bathroom. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Also, walls are thin so you can hear the people in the rooms next to you.

    Location is excellent and my room was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A perfect area to stay, clean hotel and good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath was very awkward. Nothing to hang on to when getting out. No tea making facilities.

    Beds were very comfortable. Great roof top bar with view of the Alhambra. Good prices. Great bar staff. Beautiful croissants for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean, modern hotel ideally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electricity plugs were over our heads. And there was no place to keep our phones other than on the bed

    Comfortable and clean room. Beds and pillow in particular were extremely comfortable. Nice layout to the hotel and it was very conveniently located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed here a few years ago. We like the hotel and it’s position in Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners cupboard was next to our room and every morning at 6am we were woken up by the cleaners. Also there was a pneumatic drill drilling from early morning and most of the day and evening, and a workman banging. Not a very relaxing time!

    The hotel was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    I have stayed at this hotel a few years ago, it is co
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners cupboard was right outside our bedroom door and at 6am every morning we were woken up by the cleaners ! There was also a pneumatic drill going from 8am most of the day and evening plus someone working banging. We did not have a very relaxing time!

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was very central to what we needed to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very central to what we needed to see. It was an aged building but it was spacious and it was clean. The staff are super helpful. Our air conditioner wasn’t making our room cool enough and when we raised it, we were initially told it wasn’t faulty and spent another night sweating it out. The following day we raised it again, this time Sergio came up, checked it out and confirmed the system needed to be looked at. He offered to move us, when we declined and asked for an electric fan to supplement the aircon, Sergio went on the hunt for one. He went to another hotel to do it. Ever so professional and obliging. Everyone from reception to the roof top cafe and people who came to service the room were all friendly and always helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, 2 min from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not very clear or explained in the website, we had to drive around to finally find out it was just opposite to the hotel. Parking overprice too.

    Great location, 2 min from city center. Very friendly and helpful reception staff .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Non Spanish speakers might experience difficulties in communicating with the staff.

    Recently renovated room. Good location, breakfast at the hotel cafeteria (not included in our room rate) is good and reasonbly priced. Great value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Very well located near all amenities and historic sites. Bonus of a rooftop cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was quite small with just a view of a wall from the window but for the price we paid it was fine and the location and catering made up for it.

    Not many hotels in this price range have a rooftop cafe and we did use this for breakfast and snacks as the prices were reasonable. Views of the Alhambra and mountains were a bonus. The hotel was very well located near bus routes, the cathedral and the major shopping centre with many restaurants and bars in walking distance

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff is super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not so comfortable and the window is too small for a three star hotel. Besides, the room is also a little bit small.

    The staff is super friendly! They helped me a lot with patience and kindness. I really appreciate that! The location is very good, close to everything. The room was clean with everything I needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money stay in Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had room 207, which was very quiet, overlooking a inner court. Room was spacious and had all comforts including a mini fridge. Very good location, a few hundred meters from Plaza Nueva. Perfect for a short stay in Granada.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Avoid last floor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was super noisy because the restaurant was above us we could hear chairs moving late night and early morning. No free parking, you have to pay 15 euro daily

    The staff are amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel comodo,limpio y muy bien ubicado.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No era cama de matrimonio sino dos individuales unidas.

    Hotel comodo,limpio y muy bien ubicado. La cafeteria en la azotea estupenda. Confortable and clean hotel.good location and it has a bar rooftop

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Definitely worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a three star hotel I was not expecting it to be good but it was amazing. The staff were lovely and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Its only minutes away from tourist destinations and it is surrounded by food places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Right in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a room away from kids. Hallways are narrow

    Right in the city center. You can walk anywhere. Clean room/bath, combo safe, parking if necessary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Central location, would book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolation of the windows could have been better. You could hear the traffic on the busy street quite good. Elevator was quite small and squeeky. The lamp on the ceiling couldn't be turned of completely. Airco made a lot of noice.

    The central location! Cafeteria on the rooftop! Most comfortable beds and pillows of our entire trip! Would book again, but I would ask a room that is not on the streetside of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location in new city area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 electricity plug in the sleeping area, the other was only in bathroom only. It limits if you are more than 1 person in the room. There was no fridge in the room. The space in the room was a bit limited.

    Good location in new city area. Lady at reception was very friendly. It is fine for 1 night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Location - Central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    Excellent location, the road leading to the hotel is marked no entry/ restricted access, however it’s ok to drive down as Hotel take Car Registration Details. Valet style parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location to explore Granada from!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a little modernisation but wasn’t an issue at all.

    Location was perfect. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    location good, but hotel just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    did not like the bedroom, dull and sparse

    was not impressed with the place on arrival, but bar and cafe upstairs were a nice find. room sparse and dull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Unexpected comfort for that small money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor food options onsite (cafe on the top floor with small choice of food, no breakfast). Single poor working lift. Noise from cafe in the evenings (we lived on the 5th floor).

    Best service/price ration in our trip! Firm *** hotel for the price of hostel. Location on main street, 25 minutes by foot to Alhambra. Extremely clean. Air conditioning was working fine. Will prefer the hotel for stopping in Granada next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Alright for a budget stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable. No tea of coffee making facilities available in the room. Bathroom was small and awkward to get in and out of the shower. It wasn't clear if there was a bar/breakfast available. One of the rooms near us smelt like there had been guests smoking in it. We stayed for 4 nights, I would say it's more suited to a night stop over.

    Location in Granada was good to get to all areas. Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay for a short visit to Granada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly next to the cleaning/storage room, so we were woken up very early by the sound and smell of detergents.

    Central location, availability of parking for only 15 euros for 24h compared to over 40 euros in other nearby parking houses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in central Granada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money, we paid less than 50 EUR for one night in a double room. Convenient location, in the centre of the town. 20 minutes by foot to Alhambra. Friendly staff at the reception, they also provided the baby crib. Underground parking (additional payment) is just across the street which is very convenient. Rooftop bar is also nice and a good option for a takeaway into your room, if you're travelling with a baby :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice terrace on the roof for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to hold the shower head while showering.

    Great location, nice terrace on the roof for breakfast. Receptionist Julia was super nice and helpful and recommended me a lot of nice local restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    very good. I can recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is better if sound isolation from neighboring room is improved. Private car in central area of Granada are restricted. If,you come to hotel by private car, please check how to reach there. GPS sometimes leads driver to road where traffic is restricted.

    Hotel is located at center of town. It is ideal location for tourist. Staffs are very kind and friendly. Price is reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Hotel is situated in commercial street, few minutes away from city centre on foot. Parking with reasonable price is across street, staff parked our car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is perfectly positioned to see All the Granada...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The hotel is perfectly positioned to see All the Granada sites. The staff were professional friendly and helpful. All the information they supplied was accurate and perfect for our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This place is a gem. Not much to look at from the outside but the rooms and quiet and clean. The reception desk is very helpful and the rooftop restaurant serves great coffee in the morning. Centrally located, you are only a five minute walk from the cathedral, and there are quality restaurants all over, as well as ATMs and shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great value hotel in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small but that’s what we’d expect for the price . The shower was excellent and wonderful towels.

    We wanted a value for money room in the centre of the city and the standard of cleanliness and space for the money was excellent. Well positioned for both new and old town. We walked everywhere. Staff on reception very helpful when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Good tourist hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, very cramped bathroom. Only 1lift which only took 4 persons or 2 with luggage. A lot of young people stay here as it's convenient for the bars etc so they are quite noisy.

    Ideally situated in the centre of the city. Garage parking opposite. A short walk to the tourist road train, excellent value, 8 euros for a day. The terrace bar on the roof of the hotel is great for breakfast & serves food in the afternoon & evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for a visit to the Alhambra and the city sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found the bed a bit uncomfortable.

    The location was excellent and the car parking just opposite. The tourist train stopped a few minutes walk from the hotel. Friendly staff in the cafeteria and they put the butter and jam on the tostada for you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location, friendly staff. Would repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plug sockets needed in the room. I had to charge my phone in the bathroom!

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Small but comfortable room. Ideal location for visiting the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Met all expectations and more.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Parking close by. Very close to major parts of the city. Excellent value for a city hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Suited our needs very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of food/drink in cafe could be better. Noisy sometimes at night (external) but that's the price paid for city centre location and worth it. Rooms a little tired but perfectly adequate.

    Great position. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value, clean, comfortable, efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. The location is not in the center of the tourist stuff, more in a commercial district, in case that is a factor in the choice.

    Front desk has strong English skills and was very helpful on tourist information. Very fast check in. Breakfast room on the top floor has peeks of mountains. Efficient valet parking. Very clean room with fridge and body pillow in closet!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel looks very used.. wifi didnt work

    great location- walking distance to all major sights and the bus stop to la Alhambra. Valet parking to the garage. very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value at 40€/night. I'll go back again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room they assigned me was aside the elevator and extremely noisy. As the TV didn't work properly I have been upgraded to a family room which was perfectly quiet.

    Staff extremely helpful and attentive. The really go the extra mile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Stayed at the hotel to visit the Alhambra Palace. Great location and lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bath and a saggy mattress but only there for one night so didn’t matter too much.

    The cafe bar was really useful and the staff were very helpful, parking our car and eve taking the luggage to the room. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the bed was small, barely room to walk around the room. The TV was very cheap quality and could only be viewed from certain angles. The bath tub was dangerous to get in or out do to two probs: (1) tub bottom was nothing flat and very slippery. (2) bad design of the glass do that could pose a danger getting in or out. The heater was loud and the room was noisy since it was below the restaurant/bar

    Location was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were noisy at nights. No sound protection so we found sleeping difficult.

    Centrally located hotel at the heart of the city. Easy access to all the main sightseeing sites, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not able to get the WiFi signal in our room, so we had to go down to the first floor lounge to connect.

    Quiet, clean, comfortable. Great location in the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Holidays in Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating you cannot put the temperature below 23 degrees, only turn it off.

    Staff very helpful, location is excellent, value for money, cafeteria, midday checkout, they hold your luggage for earlier check-in or checkout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    Not a happy experience the bed was confortable and the location was great woudnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a joke, very dangerous tiny , a bath half size and to get out of it you hat to put your foot on the toilet ! The front desk clerk was very rude, she took our car keys for the parking and never told us we had to pay 15 euros a night for it. Our leys didn’t work we sat for half hour on the floor while they were trying to open it, they never apologize ! The bathtub wasn’t clean after our first day there the bed was half made.

    The cafeteria on the top floor, the bed and the location very central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    2 positive things: location and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absolute deal breaker is the noise coming from the staircase. There is no sound isolation. People walking, talking, closing doors, you hear every sound. We could not properly rest. On top of that, the receptionist was completely indifferent. I would not recommend this hotel.

    2 positive things: location and comfortable bed. Walking distance to everything. We did not try breakfast as it was not included in the price, but rather walked to a local café/bar just down the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.0
    poor reception almost as if "oh booking .com somebody cheap"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no kettle for morning coffee no plugs in sink or bath no shelves to put underwear shirts or jumpers neatly away nowhere to wash a glass but supplied with a fridge ? steep marble floored fire exit

    good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    good enough for the short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is too small, mattress/bed was old and made noise every time i moved, no privacy since the walls are very thin so you can hear what is going on at your neighbors and in the corridor. no options for breakfast.

    location is very good, clean room. stuff is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.0
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom and not so clean. There were stains in the pillows.

    Great location. Parking is a plus but using it is a bit complicated. They let us check in earlier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Great Stay in Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in Granada. Near everything. Staff was great and friendly. They helped me with printing any documentations. The property was in an ideal location. Wifi was strong.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel, good location and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Let us check in early and held our bags for the day after we had checked out. The rooftop bar/terrace was great for beers, light bites and a view of Sierra Nevada.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Universal is a top choice for Granada, Spain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good!

    Hotel Universal was an exceptional hotel. It felt very upscale, yet the price was very reasonable. The location was near everything in the central city and it was easy to walk to everything we wanted to see. It was very safe for night time outings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have it own air conditioner thermostat, because they did turned on the central heat and the room got so hot

    Amazing location, very safe for a alone traveler, walking distance to a lot places, very good customer service. I recommend to anyone. I will stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    was great to be in Granada
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it is not a complaint but the room was very hot as it had central heating and we could not control it, but we opened the windows all the time... blankets should be covered with a quilt cover fully as some people would not like to touch furry material ..or maybe other type of quilts / duvets can be replaced with the current ones.

    friendly and helpful staff, in the centre of the city, close to all restaurants and bars, shops, touristic places, nice terrace with a great view of the Alhambra and mountains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    relatively close walk to airport bus for Granada and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room's window looked into many others (of hotel and not) so privacy could be an issue as well as air circulation - like looking out into an elevator shaft

    relatively close walk to airport bus for Granada and easy walk to all the main historic attractions of Granada or close enough to get a public bus to the more distant ones

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff in the restaurant. not friendly and we did not feel welcome. very little English spoken

    We liked the location. the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    Granada itself made up for the hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't too clean. Cushion and mattress very hard. The front desk staff very unfriendly. Not welcoming.

    The cleaning staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for visiting Granada which is absolutely fascinating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for view but only had small window looking at wall . No kettle . 😩

    Second time we've stayed there so must be ok !! Staff friendly and helpful .. even those with limited English . Rooms clean and comfy , ideal location .. 5 minute walk to cathedral etc . Nice little bar / cafe on 6th floor .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Close to historical monuments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff had poor English, some had better.

    Right in the city center. You can discover many places by walking. Not too expensive. Clean and comfortable room. Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money if all you need is a bed for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we asked about breakfast on the 1st morning in the bar / restaurant on the top floor we were told very abruptly that breakfast wasn't included. We didn't go back into the bar!

    So central that you could walk to all the sights of the city. Restaurants and shops were also within a couple of 100 metres.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    The location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small. The first one we got had no view and was the size of a matchbox with view on a wall. I asked for a bigger room as I was not feeling good in that room. The new one we got had a street view and was the size of a shoebox. The hotel in general was very noisy from the street and other rooms. There was a ceiling light in the room that could not be switched off. To have perfect darknes to sleep you had to take the card out of the switch and completely cut electricity of te room.

    The location and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    I enjoyed Granada it is a beautiful city and my stay was not long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view from window only walls . The bed was uncomfortable and the dividing walls were thin and you could hear everything. But the price of room was good

    The room was clean and new ,the bathroom was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    The location was key.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking.Although very close to the hotel,directly opposite,It is not well signed and when you get to it ,it appears to be closed.The method of access needs to be made more clear.So saying that there is other parking available close by for very little more money.

    The location was key. Ideally placed for an easy walk into Granada.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    Noisy rooms - don't stay here if you want a good sleep. Central location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy as you could hear the toilet flushing, shower and hairdryer from other rooms. The pillow was really hard. We couldn't work the TV and and rang reception for help - they were completely useless. Rooms were small. I would not stay here again.

    A good.central location. Clean and and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Driving to it was stressful when coming the wrong way down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving to it was stressful when coming the wrong way down the street as you cannot turn into side pavement easily and it took us a long time to turn around through the one way systems of granada.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    A most enjoyable time in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An explanation from the hotel regarding road access to the premises during the day would have been most helpful as this is closed to normal traffic.

    The hotel was in a good location with plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity. The bus stop to the Alhambra was easy to find. You can walk everywhere from the hotel if you wish.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    brilliant stay and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough storage and lack of power points only two in the hole room

    super location right in the middle of the city good for the shops resturants and the Alhambra palace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    a good base for exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the cardboard cups for coffee and brandy when we went back to the hotel after dinner!!

    Everything in the room worked! TV had BBC World, which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: