Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barcelona Universal 4 stars

Avinguda Paral.lel, 76-78, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#112 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 981 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly and went above and beyond to help when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and went above and beyond to help when needed. The location is ideal for site seeing and the roof top pool is an added bonus on a hot day! Couldn’t recommend more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Love Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is friendly and willing to help. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I particularly liked the rooftop deck with its magnificent views of Barcelona. We have stayed there the past two years and will definitely do so again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic 4 day break, perfect location with metro right outside the door. O
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests slamming doors early in the morning, sounded as though they were in our room.

    Excellent location. Very clean modern hotel, loved the rooftop terrace/bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location. A metro station was just outside the front entrance which made getting around Barcelona very convenient. Walking distance to the Barri Gotic, La Rambla, and two markets. Breakfast buffet had a wide selection to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    This hotel ticked all boxes for me.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can remember really

    This hotel ticked all boxes for me. Spacious room, super professional and friendly stuff. Great pressured shower. Amazingly comfortable bed. And good quality internet connection that won’t keep disconnecting everything you leave the hotel like in a lot of other places. Location is prime too. And breakfast always consistently good with a wide range of options. Will definitely stay again every time I’m back in Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent friendly staff, room overpriced along with pricey breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room 314 was very oppressive with the windows blanked out. breakfast had a good choice however for the hotel patrons way overpriced at 17 euros per person option to sign up for breakfast every day at the reduced rate of 12 euros however still not a great rate when you consider the room rate.

    Excellent helpful staff very friendly nothing too much trouble. Roof top terrace very good and reasonably priced drinks at the terrace bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Fine location, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds could have been better. also you could hear everything that was happening on the hallway and in the next room.

    The staff was very nice also roof top area, the drinks and food was very good and the breakfast was also nice the location was not to bad only few minutes walk to the main area. over all its a fine hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, 10 min walk from la Rambla, metro nearby,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, 10 min walk from la Rambla, metro nearby, very nice and helpful staff, great breakfast, clean and comfortable. Great view of the city from the pool on the rooftop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Best Reception + Good location that is it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oda olanakları düşük (no free water for coffee and tea-no slipper- also not enough sanitery wares) also gym must be open at earlier than 8 o'clock morning... For example 6 or latest 6:45.

    Konum (location)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for seeing Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an employee in the inside bar in the evening who was not very pleasant. It was a surprise compared to the rest of the staff.

    From our early arrival (10AM) to our departure, every staff member (except for one mentioned below)was very, very kind and helpful. We purchased breakfast with our room, but had we not, we would have still eaten there and would have been happy with the cost. The buffet was beautiful and well-done.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    I liked how clean it is and we also got a baby bathtub for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is the ToGO breakfast. Is a great option, but you pay the same amount of money as a regular one and you only get a few things - and the sandwich you get is a joke(bread and some cheese in it)

    I liked how clean it is and we also got a baby bathtub for my little one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Met my expectations and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee after morning! I was passing through and didn't expect the charged of $2.00 for a cup of coffee in the dining room. I didn't expect that to happen. I didn't eat in there. Other than the charge for coffee for a guest, everything else was great. I would still recommend all to stay here. This is an American thing with the coffee!

    Coffee in the morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    The metro (Paral-Lel station) is right in front of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    one needs to be careful with petty thieves. my friend had her necklace snatched from her neck in front of the hotel in broad daylight.

    The metro (Paral-Lel station) is right in front of the hotel and the metro L3 and L2 which has stops to the port, La Rambla, Passeig De Gracia for Casa Batllo, Mila; Plaza Espanya-National Art Museum of Catalonia/Magic fountain and the nearest stop to Park Guell; the L2 gets you to Sagrada Familia; also this is where you get the funicular to the Montjuic cable car. the breakfast buffet is awesome, with great selections and great coffee!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an inside room with no natural light which made the room dark but this is only a minor thing.

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant, cheerful and helpful. My mum was sharing the room with us and I really appreciated the divider between the sleeping areas, it gave us all privacy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a nice quiet area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to Las Ramblas is through the El Raval Neighbourhood which may appear a little dangerous but it is not too far.

    The hotel staff were so nice. When we told them it was our honeymoon they gave us a bottle of Cava. The area is nice easy to get to everywhere, the metro stop is just outside. There is a lot of good food nearby the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great stay in Barcelona
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds pushed together as a double. Very uncomfortable.

    Cleanliness, staff and very central. 10 minutes walk to the sea and 5 minute walk to La Rambla, Metro right outside the hotel. Easy to find and easy access from the airport on public transport. In room safe. The outdoor pool area was very pleasant to sit in with a bar too on the rooftop!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel good, bar / restaurant poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor service in the bar / restaurant. I had to find and approach staff several times in order to order drinks or food.

    Nice room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacy and had a really great and large bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing missing was a view from the hotel room.

    The room was spacy and had a really great and large bed. The bathroom was great as well. Staff was helpfull and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from our room - we overlooked interior walls and only when we opened the window. A bit noisy next to service elevator/area.

    Clean comfortable modern room. The Wolf Tavern restaurant food was very good with friendly staff! The front desk staff were very helpful. Heated towel warmer in bathroom was wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel, brilliant location, definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was excellent. Really good breakfast. Fantastic choice . Lovely room, quite spacious and good comfortable bed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel location superb. Adjacent to Para -lell Metro station and bus routes or easy walking distance to sea front and Las Ramblas. Roof terrace really nice. Small pool too cold to use in February, although some people managed to do a bit of sunbathing in the sun terrace area. Two small supermarkets next to hotel, with plenty of fast food outlets close by, tapas bars and restaurants. We went to a lovely Italian restaurant, La Bella Napoli, 5 minutes away. Good authentic pizza and a lovely Tiramisu (ideal for sharing).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Great facilities and staff made it a perfect stay for a family with young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were fantastic and really helpful. Kids facilities were great and the travel cot was beautiful and setup with a mobile which was a great touch. Many thanks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    All in all, it worth staying there during low season (mid Jan) with reasonable rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Refrigerator was broken, we asked them to fix it. (they did it quickly) Bathroom sewerage was semi-blocked at the 2nd night there was a bad storm outside, wind came inside the room through windows!!! The View was terrible!

    Bed was clean and comfortable Air-Conditioner was good Staff were mostly great! The hotel is only 10 meters far from Metro Having a great Bakery nearby you don't need to pay €12 for breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room without view.

    Room is spacious. Good variety of breakfast and cleaning staffs are polite and they do cleaning well. Staffs at the breakfast are polite as well as at the reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for exploring the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checking in we were informed that there was a 100 euro deposit which is returned at the end of your stay minus the city tax. That was quite a shock as at no point over the previous 4 months that this break had been booked was there a mention of a deposit or the amount it was either via email or on the hotel/booking.com websites. I personally found the beds (we booked a double room which was 2 twin beds pushed together) too hard but my partner slept well so it depends on how firm you prefer the mattress. Finally if you are a light sleeper ensure you request a room at the back of the hotel as there is noise from the street outside at all times of day and night! I didn't sleep well due to the constant din but I was prepared to sacrifice that for the outstanding view we had each morning. We are planning on visiting Barcelona again and despite the above negatives we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    We stayed in a standard double room and it was surprisingly spacious. We were in room 811 which had amazing views over the city and up the mountain. We popped up to the roof (we stayed in Feb so it was chilly) and again the view was spectacular. Had we stayed later in the year we would have definitely made use of the pool and top lounge area. The staff were excellent and you couldn't have asked for more from any of them. We didn't eat at the hotel as we personally found the prices expensive and there was plenty of other options in close proximity, ie, there's a Subway and McDonald's on the other side of the road or lovely little cafes in the surrounding side streets. If you want a hotel that is close a Metro station, walking distance to La Ramblas (10 min approx) and is centrally located for most tourist attractions then this hotel is ideal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds could have been a bit better, too stiff in my personal opinion.

    Breakfast was excellent, lots of different options too choose from. Rooms were nice, and staff was very friendly. Location was great too! Overall a good hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Gracias Barcelona Universal Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We have really liked cleaning and comfort. If we come to Barcelona one day, we prefer this hotel definately. Thanks to Barcelona Universal Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful weekend in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Breakfast was fantastic, great range of food items and very well presented. Staff were very attentive when I requested help. Best breakfast I’ve had in a European hotel! The room was very comfortable especially the bed. Highly recommend. On checking out the receptionist had noted it was my birthday and made a point of wishing me Happy Birthday I was really touched.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable January stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough choice for dinner menu. Needs to be extended.

    Central position. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Was very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a beautiful suite for no extra cost. Staff pleasant. Free afternoon tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    God frokost, seng, dusj, wi-fi, rom 818 og takterrasse når varmt nok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower in​​ the baththub, and no handrail/support. People might have problems with the access. Like in almost all other hotels, the reading light is not very good, specially not in bed. Slow checking out.

    The​ breakfast​, was very good, maybe but for the coffe. A lot of choices in a cosy, well designed brf.-room, not crowded. Very good bed in a good room. Large enough should it be a rainy day. Also exellent wifi. ​Good shower​,​ bathgel/shampo/conditioner on dispensers instead of mini-bottels, or even worse...​!​ We like that. The a/c was fixed promptly​ ​when notified. Friendly staff at the reception desk and at breakfast. Good location, but so are almost every other in this ​city, we presume. One bus-change or Metro directly to la Sagrada Familia...or just a good walk. Also convenient with bus 24 to Park Guell, via Plaça de Catalunya (El Corte Inglés/ la Rambla etc. etc.) and D20 to/from Plaça d'Espanya (airport buses) and Sants Estació (trains)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    A very nice, good value choice to stay in central Barcelona. Just dont plan on parking here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The basement car park is tiny and ridiculously tight to access, with lots of pillars and very narrow spaces. You will struggle to park any car bigger than a Mini here.

    Very pleasant clean and modern rooms. Good location just a short walk from the Ramblas and Old Town. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Overall, excellent value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Just right
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were group of 14 and wanted to go to roof top pool for a midnight swim which we were not allowed, I guess for our own sake 🤣🤣🤣

    Very nice and clean hotel with great staff who are very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat here at all just few drinks before dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel I felt like at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window view but it didn't disturb me.

    Very cosy , clean spacious room, fast wifi. Good breakfest . I felt like at home , it was my second time in this hotel and I hope to be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    slightly above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the new year celebrations the meal in restaurant was only average and wanted to charge it to are room which they said was complicated and wanted us to settle at the restaurant and the new year celebrations on the roof started at 11.45 the roof terrace was locked till then and they ran out of drinks at this bar very diasappointing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything was new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was new and clean. The room had a view. The reception staff was fantastic. It is a bit of a walk to the historical center, but it is right next to the metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently located, well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in bath for hair curler, the towel warmer didn’t work, laminate floor was raised up in spots. Didn’t change sheets for 4 days. Did not refresh tea service items. Prefer non glass glasses in bathroom. The manager at the breakfast was not very pleasant person, but staff was very nice.

    Quiet room, great view, comfortable bed, clean bath, breakfast was extra but well done.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Classy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is pretty perfect and a lot nicer than we are used to as we holiday frequently and like to keep the cost down, if I was nit picking I would say that we would prefer an electric shower and also that after requesting a 2pm checkout which we were given at no extra charge we had a cleaner knocking on our door at 10.40 am when we had gone to bed at 6am after being out clubbing. Then again they knocked around 12 and our alarm was set for 1pm.

    The room and bathroom were beautiful. We didn't venture much further in the hotel. It's very classy and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Great hospitality in a modern lovely hotel, Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness area is quite limited

    Great breakfast and spacious rooms with bath and shower in one. Daily cleaning. Lovely rooftop terrace with bar and small swimming pool. Located at busy avenue but noise was no issue

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    First stay in barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything good.

    Staff very helpful and polite, nothing too much trouble. Location very good , room good size and very clean. Would definately stop again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    If you book this hotel, you will not be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were not comfortable. However, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and suck it up.

    The staff is amazing! They all went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was pleasant. Danny who worked in the restaurant and at the bar was exceptional! So was the man who checked us in (I didn't get his name). The food and drinks at the restaurant were great and everything was reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet was perfect and so was the the location. There is so much to do and see, within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    The location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel refused to cancel the money for the last day breakfast although I told them one day before that I'm going to leave at 3 AM

    The location the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, in an excellent location with a great staff. Strongly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we were with a baby (1,5 y) the room was a bit small for the 3 of us, however, not at all uncomfortable for only 3 nights.

    Excellent breakfast, excellent staff, very good accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Location and staff were great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no natural light, the only window opened into a central shaft. Plumbing made noise every 30mins! Unable to sleep comfortably. For the price I would expect a window!! I would rate this as 3 star for North American standards!

    Location and staff were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel and would stay again but only if in a front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room we had was at the back side of the hotel and view was looking into other appartments and back yards. Friends paid same price got good front room with view to street.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean and modern and close to metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice and friendly hotel that we would return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit picky as I would like to have fried eggs with my bacon but not scrambled.

    When arriving we were gratulated as our country had just got to the finals in the soccer WC. Warmed our hearts that our nationalitities was noticed in that way. Good selection in the breakfast. We had not the opportunity to use the restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room for 3 adults, no natural light

    location was good. excellent roof terrace with bar, pool and sitting areas. friendly staff (especially Augustus in the roof top bar). didn't eat breakfast so cannot comment but did have snacks on the roof terrace which were nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    I will never return back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took all mony plus 100 Euro for the room guranty at the first day and promissed to return back the guranty after check out. At the checking out they promissed to return the mony back 3 days later. Their reason was " your creadit cart does not belong to this countary" I asked them to return me back the cash but they didn't accept I asked them to provide a receiped but they didn't provide.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Rusty tin of olives in minibar. 2. Mouldy bottle of orange juice ( mould under the bottle) in minibar. 3.Rusty cans of lemonade in minibar. 4. Poor information at check in not informed of free facilities i.e tea and coffee downstairs. 5. very expensive for what it was. 6. freezing cold pool unable to use.

    1.Security on the door at all times. 2.Quiet. 3.Location. 4.transfer details for going home already organised on time sheet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Easy access to public transport (Metro) and hailing a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hotel such as this one, I have to ask in the front desk what I think are basic necessities such as lotion and shower cap. They are not readily available in the room.

    Easy access to public transport (Metro) and hailing a taxicab. Very helpful staff. Quiet and clean. The percolator for making instant coffee or tea was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    An excellent few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks in the hotel rather steep!

    The location was ideal very easy access to surrounding areas. Pool terrace a huge bonus especially after hours of walking. Superb breakfast! Ask for fried eggs if you would like them! Very friendly staff throughout! Reassurance that your luggage if stored was safe! Due to ticketing system! The Aerobus from the airport brilliant! Runs every 10 mins and €5.90 per person one way - €29.00 one way per taxi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At this price range nothing... it was really nice.

    Breakfast was 17 euros, (in august) and it was propbably the best breakfast we ever eaten. You get cava, freshfruit. The pool on the roof was small but the bar next to it was great and we spent a few days just hangin out getting to know people and the staff was great and very kind

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay at Barcelona Universal. Can highly recommend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent pool area with bar staffed by friendly and happy staff. Brilliant breakfast buffet with something for everyone. Lovely air conditioned rooms perfect after a long hot day in town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect holiday and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cleaning was not good, it was messy and they didnt clean the rooms at all, just so it looked nice the 3 days we were there

    Overall we got a very good treatment, the facilities was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- Parallel station was extremely shady and felt somewhat unsafe; food quality surrounding hotel not great. Perhaps good if looking for nightlife, not so much with children.

    Staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious and close to metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly, helpful and always wanting you to have a good time. As a party of 5, we certainly enjoyed relaxing in the terrace bar with wonderful cocktails and a great location. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, throughout all the hotels we have stayed in. Fresh, clean and tasted wonderful. This place is certainly worth a visit and within walking distance of las ramblas, and the beach. Thank you for such a chilled break!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of room. One window and no wind, no kight from street. In room is qute dark, several small lights are not enough for this type of room. Towel heater is too close and it's easy to get hirt.

    Breakfast is excellent. A lot of things to choose for great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views of a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad odor in our room one day, but they took care of it right away, and I understand that city ventilation systems sometimes have issues that are hard for the property to control.

    Clean, modern facilities in a good location, convenient to the metro, tourist sights, and fun food and nightlife. Our room featured a nice view over the city. Rooftop bar and pool, also with views, were a big bonus in the summer, although the pool and deck chair area is pretty small and was therefore crowded during peak times. The breakfast buffet was yummy, and we were happy to catch a free beer tasting one afternoon. The staff was very helpful and gave us good recommendations for tapas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noise from pool 4 floors above and noisy guests (stag groups) throughout the night. Room window opened to central void , no natural light. Bathroom was in need of renovation, it had a cracked sink and it was very difficult to turn on shower. It was small and had a narrow doorway because the sink protruded from the counter.

    Great location, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A fantastic stay in Beautiful Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The Room had a great view of Barcelona, including being able to see The Sagrada Familia! It also had a Fridge , Kettle with Tea and coffee, and a Safe(which was very useful). My Daughter and I were very comfortable in our twin bedded room .The air conditioning was lovely to come back to from the heat outside and it didn't make too much noise. The self service breakfast was fantastic! They had everything you would want for breakfast and cakes too! My Daughter is Vegan and she loved all the fresh fruit, soya milk, Muesli with huge Walnuts, dates, sultanas you could add to it. There were various breads, a whole leg of ham, salami, cheeses, eggs(scrambled and fried),mushrooms with peppers ,beans, bacon (which was a little too fatty for me, but crispy and tasty all the same),fresh fruit juices, bottled mineral water and a really good coffee machine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Clean, Safe and great location in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Staff very very nice and helpful, our luggage was delayed 2 days and staff accommodated us with extra toiletries and universal outlet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    We buy from the reception two tickets for the Sagrada...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We buy from the reception two tickets for the Sagrada famiglia with 35 euro instead of 30- the normal price, and when we went to visit it, because of the hotel we had to wait for almost 1 hour to get in because our ticket wasn't good, was already validate. I am still here Waiting under the sun for them to rezolve the problem... :(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was very good including all staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very good including all staffs. Location is excellent just at metro station and in walking distance to Montjuic and la Rambla. Underground garage only for smaller cars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Close to Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise - needs double glazing. Pool smaller than expected. Toiletries in bathrooms could have been better.

    Close to Metro. Could walk to Ramblas and tourist bus easily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel can't fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms have very large windows that open fully overlooking a courtyard- quite dangerous for children so would be aware if booing with kids. Wouldn't put me off but would be forewarned,

    The staff - Wendy in particular were great fun- very efficient and did a fantastic job. Rooms were immaculate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location in the Gothic Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were a bit thin

    Location was perfect, Paral·lel subway literally outside the hotel, La Rambla just 5 minutes walk and the beach is no more that 10 minutes away. The staff were very helpful and most professional. The rooftop terrace with pool and a solarium is a nice touch and offers a spectacular 360° view of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room faced the street, and noise insulation was not good. There was a lot of street noise which made it difficult to sleep. My room was opposite the lift which was an extra disturbance. There was no room service as far as I was aware and I was not given information about the hotel bistro/breakfast room. My friend stayed in a five star hotel with sea views for the same price, so Universal was not good value in my opinion.

    The hotel was clean, the staff were all very pleasant. The location was an easy walk to the convention centre. Also close to the main tourist attractions, metro, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quicker check in..we did check in 15 people at once though. More mirrors in the bedrooms as some of the 5 rooms we booked only had mirrors in the bathrooms, so no where to plug in straighteners when getting ready

    Great rooftop bar for cocktails and great little pool perfect for hanging out with friends. Great size room 802 and facilities. Supermarket situated next door to hotel. Perfect location and wonderful city views from the roof!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to criticize. Special plus is the roof top terrace. Location is excellent, easy stroll to La Rambla or to the port, and into Bari Gotic. Excellent breakfast. Enjoyed 8 day stay, will come again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice base for a trip to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in had two single beds put together instead of a double.

    In good location close to Las Rambles. Quiet and nice hotel with rooftop pool and bar being a great bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times there was quite a lot of noise drifting down from the terrace through a central space onto which our window opened. It didn't go on too late however, and it didn't ruin our trip.

    The room was lovely, and the roof top terrace facilities (and the barman) were great, a fantastic addition to our trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Best Hotel In Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern slick hotel, rooftop pool/bar is amazing with views over the whole of Bercelona! Can see all the main tourist attractions from the skyline

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have given us more than one sachet of coffee, one teabag and one little milk each!!

    Lovely hotel in a good location. Room was comfortable with good air conditioning. Can't comment on food as I didn't use these facilities although if I went back I would. Drinks a little expensive but then so is everywhere in Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to explore Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself was great - rooms modern enough with friendly staff throughout. Location is first class being right next to the metro station, Rambla and the port.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a better bar more like a pub but that's being very picky

    The beds and room was great and the staff were very friendly and professional to

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we got a room with frosted windows only, did feel a bit cave like.

    Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was fantastic, lovely roof terrace - place to relax in the sun !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, roof top ideal and staff were briliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms did not have much natural light and were small. The triple rooms we booked were perfect.

    We were on a hen do & the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They allowed us to cordon of a section of the roof for an evening and bar staff were really attentive. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Barcelona Universal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: