Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of URH Palacio de Oriol 4 stars

Avenida Cristóbal Murrieta, 27, 48980 Santurce, Spain

#2 of 5 hotels in Santurce

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1401 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    We use this regularly for our ferry crossings, and have done over the past 12 years. Need I say more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot, Breakfast was a bit basic, but adequate.

    This is a good place to stay for 1-2 nights especially if you are travelling on the ferries as it's only 4-5 Km from the ferry port and it has an underground garage to leave your car in, great if it's loaded up with luggage. It's also good if you want to go into downtown Bilbao as there's a train station just by the hotel and it's about 15 mins on the train. The restaurant is OK for an evening meal, but there are others within walking distance if you want to explore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Once again I cannot rate this hotel too highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again I cannot rate this hotel too highly. After a very stressful experience with our car breaking down and poor customer service with the breakdown company we had to book in for a third overnight stay in as many weeks. The reception staff remembered us from the week before and made sure that we were as comfortable as possible, knowing that we had a very long drive home the following day. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel in Santurce.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    This was our third stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    This was our third stay at the hotel. This time we had a problem with our car which on arrival had to be towed away by a breakdown service. The following day the hotel was very kind and allowed us to keep our room until 2 pm while we were waiting for news on our car and also offered to phone the breakdown service on our behalf. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The reception staff have always been very friendly and helpful and it is very close to the ferry port.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. We stayed in a junior suite which was very tired and dated. Very hot in the room as none of the windows opened and the air conditioning was barely functioning. Bathroom was very modern and spacious. There was also some building work taking place which we were unaware of. Staff were quite friendly and food very nice. Not somewhere I would choose to stay again but as mentioned, a good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Could and should have been better
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a quite room BUT trains were running past the room every half hour, very very noisy. Room had very very strong smell of cigarrete smoke. Severe problems with lift - only one working which constantly needed a member of staff to re programme it. Booked a room with a shower, there was a shower OVER the bath. My wife has a back problem and was unable to shower because she could NOT climb over bath side.

    Staff were great, breakfast very good, bed comfortable, room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A lovely place to recharge your batteries after a long drive through France, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground car park is really cramped but better than trying to find a parking space in the town,

    A lovely hotel in a fantastic location, we didnt expect such a luxurious room for such a great price. The evening meal was also great value. A perfect stopover if you want to catch the ferry to Portsmouth as the ferry port is about 10 minutes drive away. You can enjoy a lovely quayside walk too, only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    A good experience and would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for departure for Brittany Ferries. Good welcome from reception. Rooms comfortable and clean and more than adequate for the one night. Private underground parking was a real bonus. Outside space and access to walks by the estuary. Cafe/bar/restaurant area and staff a little disappointing. Evening meal and breakfast was ok. Still doing some improvement work on floor three but not intrusive. Overall a good stay and we would use them again for an overnight stop before ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Always a pleasure to stay there. That was our third time. Very easy to reach the port .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking very tight and not well lit. Pillars were painted black and in my opinion should be white or yellow to enable cars to manoeuvre safely.

    excellent accommodation. bright and airy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing Last Night of our Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff in the evening were efficient but not very friendly. We did not go for breakfast.

    The reception were very helpful even supplying a map of where the ferry port is located. The drinks terrace is a fantastic place to sit and watch the sun go down as the boats come and go. The evening meal was good value with water wine and bread all included along with 3 courses for 15 Euros per person. On site secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    From outside the hotel looks very impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    From outside the hotel looks very impressive. The room was clean and comfortable and the reception staff polite and helpful. It is close to the ferry port which is an extra bonus. We haven't eaten there but there are plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel good location to also visit Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar/restaurant staff

    The hotel is lovely, we had booked a deluxe room with terrace and our room was exceptional, clean spacious and a great bed. The only down side was the restaurant/bar area, at breakfast only 1 of the coffee machines was working so queues for tea coffee. and in the evening trying to eat in the bar was impossible to try and get staff and when you did they were unfriendly. However,Housekeeping team were fantastic and the reception staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and with lots of unique character. Excellent and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little further out of town than we were expecting but using the Metro was easy and inexpensive.

    Wonderful history of the building and its origins. Was once truly palacial but now an elegant hotel. We appreciated the underground parking too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely return !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome extended to us on checking in was excellent ...the hotel manager came over to wish us a pleasant stay . We didn’t actually eat at the hotel , but the bar had a lovely terrace overlooking the harbour and we enjoyed sitting there . The room was very comfortable and impeccably clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Very disappopinting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For €720 for 2 nights it was extremely bad value. The room decor was terrible with the worst paint job I've ever seen. OK the European Rugby Champions Cup was on but does this allow for a 400% increase in prices? To add insult, we were asked to pay extra for breakfast (no thanks) and for car parking (no choice). Oh - and the bar closed at 11pm.

    Location good for transport links to Bilbao City Centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Well recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were so pleasant and friendly. Really professional. Dinner fixed price menu excellent quality . Location for the ferrry is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    The building is on of the most luxurious I’ve ever stayed in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh water served at room, mini-bar is not filled although a small cooler is available. Breakfast is simple, no fresh vegetables were served. More to be evaluated as good 3-star hotel than average 4-star one.

    The building is on of the most luxurious I’ve ever stayed in. The room was clean, dinner was good, recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    A great experience in Portugalete/Santurtzi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Toilet/shower facilities were only OK. could be better. - Breakfast too expensive.

    - Very nice decoration of the public spaces. A special place to stay in! Amazing views from high floors. - A 5 min. walk from the metro, 2 min. from cercanías - We had a high floor room, so it was very quiet. But the train passes right by the hotel so I imagine lower floors might suffer some noise. - 5 min. away from the Vizcaya bridge. - Recommended for those who have already seen Bilbao's city center and are looking for a different experience in the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in Bilbao
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was good, the surrounding area is very interesting. Perfect for a business trip there, definitely Palacio de Oriol is a solid option for the next visit in Bilbao.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    A convenient hotel for the Brittany Ferry port with views over the port and a good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the convenience of the hotel for Brittany Ferries . We had an excellent dinner . The hotel was welcoming and comfortable. There was underground parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Goodvalue and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfectly satisfied

    The roasted turbot was disappointing as the fish had a non crispy black skin and as such was rather off putting. Some input from the chef would have helped as the fish itself was nice but could only be got at by painstaking surgical procedures. The breakfast was very nice and very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    That booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That booking.com gave me one price and the confirmation email had a different price. I had already told my family the prices and had to pay much higher ones in the end. However, everything at the hotel was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Stayed 1 night prior to catching ferry to Portsmouth. We booked a premier room very spacious with balcony terrace overlooking the sea. Secure underground parking is good but expensive. Restaurant was not bad. Breakfast nice variety of choices. Will definitely use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    A good pre-ferry experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I come from Manchester, but Santurce is the ciity of rain.

    Location.Close to town centre and ferry. Comfortable superior room. Friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast and evening meal. Efforts obviously being made to develop and improve the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Ok as a stopover location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite small and not well illuminated and very dark.

    The meal in the restaurant was the nicest we have experienced at this location. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.8
    Pics of hotel looked great but we wont be rushing to stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged 15 euros for parking, it is impossible to park anywhere near the hotel, then another 20 euros for our small dog, bit like being MUGGED, and because we had the dog we were put in a basement room which had been or still is a smoking bedroom ,the curtains were smelly from smoke. The only reason we stayed was it was getting late when we arrived and the rain was torrential.

    we had the set meal for 15 euros, very good meal, value for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little limited. Muesli would have been a good addition. Bar cafe area wasnot very inviting;.

    Bedrooms were amazing, very elegant and roomy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Hotel lovely but parking is very difficult.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for disabled was not policed and being abused by non-disabled guests. Parking too tight and no lift for disabled guests as we had to park on lower level and then walk up steep ramp with difficulty as my husband has two walking sticks.

    Room was great and brilliant terrace and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with parking , near the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the railway line which passed just below our window. At night the line carries large quantities of freight to the nearby dock, this is not a problem if you sleep with the window closed.

    Very handy for the ferry to Portsmouth and the metro into Bilbao.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.8
    Won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful, though we were facing the road you could still hear the railway that runs between the hotel and the dock, the so called sea view.

    Room was clean and warm. Parking was secure though at a €15 charge per night expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.6
    Freezing and Foodless in Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional 15 eu to park not mentioned when booking. This should be made clear as it adds 25% to the cost of a standard room. Very cold cafeteria area which is the only space available for guests. Pretty much un-staffed. Eventualy 1!! Small fan heater was provided for the whole cafe which promptly blew the fuse!! If it hadnt been so cold it would have been funny. No restaraunt food available until 20:30!! When you arrive at 15.00 is no joke.

    Close to the ferry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Alovely hotel but leave you dog at home!!!
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the room when we stayed overnight in February 2018 was 63 euros....which was a fair price....I thought being charged 20 euros for the dog was a bit steep!..Also car parking was 15 euros which is probably average and had to be paid as there was no other parking.

    The hotel was situated in a good location for easy access to the ferry port.The staff were very helpful.Although the hotel had an old façade it had a very modern bright interior.The evening 3 course meal at 15euros per head which included a bottle of wine and water was excellent.Also the bar area was a nice place to relax and led onto an outside terrace...a bonus in the good weather!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Not good on our second visit as previously mentioned, I doubt we will be staying there ever again.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A member of staff in the restaurant who served us at dinner was very abrupt and quite rude, slamming the plates on the table and made it quite clear she was very unhappy to be serving us. I didn’t like to ask for some butter for the bread ,which I know is very rarely served in Spain so I went to look at the condiments very close to our table and she shouted across the restaurant in a very aggressive tone ‘Si!’ thoroughly embarrassing me. A couple on another table left gesturing to us what a terrible evening it had been. I know the adjacent bar was extremely busy and the two staff on duty had to serve both the bar and restaurant, obviously understaffed but it was not our fault. Our friend mentioned it to the manager on duty but was just told to fill in the suggestion questionnaire. Very disappointing as we had a very enjoyable stay there only a couple of months ago on our return to the UK but I don’t think we will be staying there ever again I’m very saddened to say.

    Very comfortable good size bedrooms, food in restaurant quite good and excellent value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.3
    Will not stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pet friendly rooms are a ridiculous trek away in a labyrinth of corridors at the back of the hotel immediately adjacent to and within earshot of the busy railway line which runs from the port area into Bilbao central! Not suitable for anyone seeking peace as the next door TV could be heard as well.

    Convenient location to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent locationS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, could have done with more staff on in the evning to cope with the bar and restaurant.

    Excellent, safe parking on-site. Very close to the Brittany Ferries terminal. Easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    10 minutes to ferry terminal - possibly needs updating, but good value for money, safe parking
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rail track outside rear of hotel - trains finished at 22:30 & started at 7:00 ish - not to much of a problem as we were checking out at 8:00 am - sound proofing quite good

    Food in resturant basic but excellent value - bar prices very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Everything except smelly bedroom
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In spite of request was put in a smoking room apparently people with pets have to put up with smokers smells ( should be made aware at booking)

    Everything except smelly bedroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot drink facilities had been removed . This has been one reason for selecting this hotel We are now considering if is still suitable

    Bed was comfy for Spain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.0
    Convenient for ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked railway which was noisy, when mentioned I was told only superior rooms are at the front of the hotel at a cost of 25 euros!

    The hotels was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Adequate, but nothing special. Great for the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly Booking.com advertised , with a green banner, breakfast included, the hotel said it was not. When I wrote to booking.com they said this meant I could buy it! Since when has included meant you then have to pay. I wrote to Booking.com, but never got a reply. A couple of days later, the green banner was deleted! Strange ! We paid for breakfast, which I think Booking.com owes me for. It was OK, nothing more. Train noise is awful in room 309, they start at five in the morning.The hair dryer was very dirty. Overall an adequate stop, but I will look to see if I can find better places, without Booking.com's help. I was a big fan, but no longer.

    Easy to find, very quick trip to the ferry- reception was helpful, as were all the staff. Room was large and comfortable, and clean. Bed was big and also comfortable. Good shower ang big, soft towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    perfect break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    train passing under the windows of the rooms . In the weekend it was more or less ok, mainly passengers trains with less noise. From Mondaymorning cargo trains passed on regular base with rather big noise

    very good location to reach the port area. Also very nice walking area alongside the port and the river. Good area on walking distance. Good kitchen, excelent wine . Staff very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Good proximity to port but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building has a grandness about it but this is lost as soon as you walk inside where it seems as if the entire building has been kept in a timewarp with many of the fixtures and fittings showing extreme wear and colour erosion. If this was restored to its original standards, I am sure it will be an impressive building once again. Also did not like being upsold a upgrade because I wanted to keep my car secure in the underground parking where it states on booking.com that parking is free. This is not true.

    The bed, linen and pillows, and proximity to the port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for the ferry back to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for the ferry back to UK. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The cost was more than would normally pay for a hotel for one night but it was well worth it. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Will choose same hotel next time will visit Bilbao
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is close to a raiway station and when windows are open there is some noice.

    Very fast wi-fi. Quiet hotel. Nice view and very nice location. Walking distance from super market and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Great for stopover on way to ferry terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere in local vicinity to eat

    We just stayed the one night en route to get our ferry from Bilbao. It's very grand looking and you cant miss it. The address says avenuda Cristobal murrieta but no Cristobal in the address which was a tad confusing but very easy to find hotel and very easy drive to ferry terminal. Unfortunately not really anywhere to eat in the area other than hotel restaurant. We'd had good lunch so just bought snacks and fruit for the evening. We looked at the hotel restaurant menu but it didn't appeal. Great, secure underground parking fir €15 extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel offering good value for money, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoyed that prices varied so much from day to day. Had we stayed one or two days later the room price would have been approx 35 euros cheaper. Bit frustrating! Annoyed that I was charged 30 euros for parking my car and small trailer overnight - extra 30% on our bill!

    Very pleasant hotel offering good value for money, excellent facilities, and a luxurious stay. Only 10-15 minutes drive to Ferry port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    The Hotel is the best we have stayed in a long time,overnight stay for the morning ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative feed back

    The Hotel is the best we have stayed in a long time. Cleanliness, comfort and friendliness of all the staff. Many restaurant’s & cafes are a short walking distance. Breakfast great. Great location for overnight stay for the morning ferry. Hotel very close to the Brittany ferry port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Will do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel for overnighting to catch the Brittany Ferry. Terminal only 10 minutes drive away, very easy route, ask reception for map. Their menu del dia dinner was extremely good for very reasonable price. All together a most enjoyable stay, good room with harbour view and friendly helpful staff. Secure parking underneath hotel was euros 15 per night and a bit tight for large car but managed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, Convenient and did the job for us
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every-thing was OK, but the food we had (lamb) i could not eat. The next table to us in the dining room had the same response. They need to source their meet from GB !!! sorry.Comfortable Other than that. Not too much wrong.

    The convenience to the Ferry port. Views overlooking the bay, and easy access to a few shops. We would stay again overnight because of the Ferry terminal being about two miles up the road. It fitted the bill at the end of our holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    3.8
    Will stay somewhere else next time we are catching the Bilbao ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had not been cleaned properly. There were used toiletries on the side of the bath & a big blob of black goo in the bath! The mirror was only wiped over to where the cleaner could reach. The balcony looked like it had not been cleaned for months. Lots of rubbish strewn about. We complained and they knocked our parking cost off the bill. I should have asked to change rooms but we were too tired after a very long drive. The breakfast was awful - we decided to eat elsewhere. Could be a lovely hotel but I think they need more staff to clean and to run the bar & restaurant.

    The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    Will not be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of damp and drains. Air conditioning made the smell worse but was necessary because of having to keep window shut with trains passing right outside. No info in room.

    Proximity to ferry port

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    The design of the Hotel (old Palace).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the last floor, right under the roof, and it was extremely hot. The air conditioning didn't function properly.

    The design of the Hotel (old Palace).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay; pleased to have lovely walks in both directions and beautiful weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No mention of a railway station beneath our bedroom, although the trains did not run all night! Main discomfort was a very bad smell coming from the plumbing during the night, we had to keep the bathroom and bedrooms door closed; it was almost unbearable to enter at night!

    Breakfast excellent, beds extremely comfortable, bathroom good. Staff very helpful and obliging but very busy. Good views from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location for port, nice size rooms ,it is a hotel that holds conferences can be busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked twin beds, on arrival told we had a double bed. Not suitable when travelling with brother. This was sorted. Told no need to make reservation for dinner, arrived at dinner to be told "fully booked". There was a conference on and delegates had priority. Food is available in the cafeteria. The hotel was full, breakfast was busy and there were only 2 coffee machines which created queues. 15 euros to park

    The large bedroom comfy beds and large bathroom. Good access to Port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel near ferry port, town & good transport links to Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all as expected.

    Good location for ferry port & also a short train ride into Bilbao for sightseeing day. Secure parking was an important requirement.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    Functional, good evening meal and near to the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 member of staff available on the check in. The hotel was full and it was chaotic as there were not enough staff to cope with the demand. We checked out the night before to save time to get to the Ferry. We asked how long to get to the ferry and we were told 5 minutes. No, it was 17 minutes. The night reception gentleman was lovely friendly and helpful. Not the same for the day staff. We had to give up on breakfast as there were so many guests there was not enough food out, tables to sit at, etc. Sorry but poor.

    The room was clean and functional. We upgraded to a view of the 'docks'! Easy to find and good long walks along the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Very good for Portsmouth ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem to have a problem with the lifts, 1 not working, 1 restricted to 4 people so very, very long wait if on 6th floor.

    Very good hotel, with parking, for Portsmouth ferry overnight. Good restaurant which serves Spanish food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed in the room but we only slept there so didn't complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star hotel as you would expect. The room we were in was damp and in need of renovation. The hotel needs repainted

    Bed was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    The welcome was warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was warm and friendly. We had the benefit of an upgrade so we felt spoilt! The hotel was in a good location overlooking the bay, which was not beautiful but was interesting...We would recommend this hotel highly. The food was excellent as was the service and the price of the a la carte was terrific. We will be back...as Mr Schwarzenegger might say...!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Improved once checked in! 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was terrible when we arrived! Grumpy lady who hardly acknowled us, was more pleasant a few minutes after we checked in when I braved her again to ask a question, but she is definitely not good for front desk work! The young Asian man on the Desk in the morning shift was excellent, but sadly first impressions make an impact and we were not impressed at all on arrival! No help offered with bags, just a bit like a TV comedy show on how 'NOT' to treat arriving guests!

    The view was fabulous and the breakfast was very good. Restaurant staff we lovely and the the hotel restaurant was easily accessed. They were certainly generous with serving portions for the dinner meal as well. Great location out of the main trunk area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.3
    Unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottom of the curtains were covered in nasty, smelly, black mold. No alternative room was offered nor any recompense for a dreadful night's stay. Poor value at £100 a night.

    Closeness to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat nav could not locate this hotel, nor was it on the tourist board signs for other hotels. Also, the hotel name is displayed so small and somewhat hidden, that it is not at all apparent by driving past. Underground car park very tight, even for a smaller 4x4

    Location. Easy drive to the ferry port. Walkable to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Overnight pre ferry in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout was unusual with car parking below and the reception on the 5th floor. We were in a different part of the hotel on the second floor! The lifts were not good with one out of service and one with a sign saying no more than 4 people should get in it! The room we had was down stairs and along a corridor AFTER we got out of the lift. There was a smell of dampness and disinfectant the purveyed especially in the long blank corridors. We wouldn't choose this hotel again unless we had no choice for some reason.

    We needed to stay near to the ferry at Bilbao and this was close(ish). They prepared a route planner taking us to the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is pretty good and worth it;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit on the expensive side.

    Breakfast is pretty good and worth it; The location is nice (just beware that you have to go back uphill if you come by train); It's in Santurtzi but walking a couple of blocks takes you to Portugalete which has some nice bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Our spacious bedroom (we were upgraded) and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is good for people taking the ferry, but it's not easy to find if you don't speak Spanish or don't have Sat Nav. The hotel appeared to be understaffed. The man in charge of the bar and bar meals was tremendously overworked and no other waiter could be found.

    Our spacious bedroom (we were upgraded) and the view. Sitting on the terrace. A good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with many failures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not in a good shape. Lifts were all broken down and some customers became stuck. A problem with so many floors for different areas ... Parking ,.. reception ... Dining bedrooms. Dining expereince was interresting. Nearly everything on the menue had run out even though we were 1st diners. Saving grace the alternative food was good and as a set price including wine did redeem the dining experience a little.

    Was in a good location fo rcatching ferry from Bilbao next monring

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Bed & room fine, close to ferry, staff variable some pleasant some sour. Set menu mixed, pasta or gazpacho ok , steak run out so sea bass instead, not well prepared, house wine awful. Parking secure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for the Ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a little expensive.

    Great location close to the ferry. Good secure parking but Eur 15per day. Beautiful room with a wonderful view of the harbour. Good food and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Super bedding, the staff were fantastic, i left my Kindle in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super bedding, the staff were fantastic, i left my Kindle in my room and they kindly delivered it to the port personally!!!!! We will be back whenever we stay in Bilbao.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel, pleasant and helpful staff and ideally located for easy access to the port of Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was adequate, but not quite on a par with what we'd experienced in Bayonne!!! Was it freshly squeezed orange juice? and where was the Pays de Basque speciality of cured ham? Direction from staff on where to find the hot breakfast would have been appreciated. Overall the hotel was good, although the decor throughout did seem a little spartan/ overly minimalist!!!

    On arrival the welcome and service by staff, particulary in the bar/restaurant was exceptional. Our lunch was very good value for money. We chose carefully from the inclusive menu for dinner, having been advised of problems with the temperature of the food, by other diners. Our food was more than acceptable. The bedroom and en suite facilities were spacious (we opted for an up-grade), very clean and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large terrace attached to the room was spoilt by the fact that it had not been cleaned for some time. We don't smoke so the dirty ashtray on the terrace just proved the point and added to the disappointment. Even the metal furniture on the terrace needed a wipe over. However the views were great. The room itself was not too bad but the shower head was broken and kept falling off. We ate in the restaurant and wished we had not. Soup arrived cold but was not meant to be. The main course was just as bad. We did not finish the meal or the wine. On the positive side the hotel itself looks very good as you approach and is very close to the ferry terminal. The large outside terrace is well used by locals and is a good location. Drinks were surprisingly cheap and the staff friendly. We would most likely stay again but our expectations would not be so high.

    The room location overlooking the harbour and position only 10/15 minutes from Ferry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    aCONVENIENT HOTEL FOR THE BRITTANY FERRY BUT THE SERVICE AND RESTAURANT FOOD COULD DEFINITELY BE IM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE RESTAURANT AT THE HOTEL. THE FOOD WAS VERY POOR BOTH IN THE EVENING AND BREAKFAST. ONE OF OUR PARTY WAS UNABLE TO EAT THE MEAT ORDERED!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    business stay in Santurtzi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the housekeeping forget to makeup my room once. laundry comes next day and not as advised the same day.

    Personal is very friendly and kindly effort to solve all guest requests. rooms are good equipped and internet is fast and free for all operation. breakfast tops the typical Spanish choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    Dining and Parking good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally booked standard room but it overlooked railway station but room was large and spacious . We though it may be affected by noise so we though we might upgrade to a superior room as parking was included in room rate. Very surprised to find the superior room was quite a bit smaller by about 30 percent and not superior but we were tired and just wanted to eat and go to bed.

    Dining and Parking good. Convenient to Ferry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location for joining an early ferry timing, without the dash from Bilbao city centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking fee was too costly.

    Convenient location for ferry. Nice local town which allows the travellers to base themselves local to ferry (for an early start), but still have a pleasant evening without having to travel into Bilbao itself. Nh are a consistent hotel chain with great internet performance, good breakfast and a good room standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    A well placed hotel in a gracious building with a huge terrace overlooking the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell in the corridor outside the room

    Large clean room, big bathtub with lots of hot water. Good heating. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: