Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Usategieta 4 stars

Maldaburu Bidea, 15 (Bº Gurutze), 20180 Oiartzun, Spain

#3 of 10 hotels in Oiartzun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy to find and not a place you'd stumble across but hotel sent excellent instructions on how to find the hotel.

    A little haven of tranquility in a busy part of Spain. A good alternative to trying to find somewhere in San Sebastian as it's only 15 minutes from the city centre. Excellent and good value food - especially set menus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is not to like about this place?

    Spacious room with comfortable bedding. Bathroom was good. Excellent staff who were extremely helpful and engaging. Excellent breakfast and a great restaurant for lunch/dinner if desired. Beautiful and quite location but handy to all that the region has to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No disabled parking near hotel entrance, but we were allowed to remove bollard and drive up to door to unload and let out disabled driver.

    The Coissants were toasted to order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in a wonderful location but should be enjoyed in the summer or autumn. It rains heavily in the winter, spoiling the enjoyment of the surroundings. It is poorly sign-posted from the road but worth finding!

    Beautiful rooms and excellent restaurant for an evening meal. Breakfast was also excellent and cooked fresh for each guest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for hotel generally is just across the lane, though we did get parked right at the steps to reception, as it was not busy. Information about parking was not clear. My husband was not happy about there only being lift access to our first floor room, because of his need to know about emergency exits in case of fire. There was an exterior staircase, but it was not available for use as the outer door was kept locked, because of security issues. For this reason we will not stay there again.

    Comfortable, warm, spacious room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from motorway and quite difficult to reach at night !

    Great place on top of the hills the waiters is great food excellent , room really roomy and confortable and they are really accomodading with dinner timing...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel. We came off motorway having travelled from France using our SatNav. Unfortuntely, the road we were being directed onto was little more than a lane up the side of the hill. We didn't trust it for the fact if we were to meet any oncoming traffic and the 'road' literally was a broken up lane way and quite overgrown.. (Road would have been easily passible on a motorbike!) Fortunately, we turned around and started again and found premises no problem using Google Maps.

    location, premises, gardens, our room, service, staff & food all beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very quiet location. Very friendly greeting from staff. Beautiful views from bedrooms. Excellent breakfast. Didn't dine as restaurant closed on Monday evenings, but menu and wine list both very good. Comfortable bed and good shower with good toiletries. Good range of reading material in several languages. A most pleasurable smallish hotel, and one I look forward to re-visiting. Very near to San Sebastian and the very pleasing town of Honderribia.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could be easier to find, but not sure how to do that!

    This was a wonderful stop and an excellent hotel. It is difficult to find. Do not give up!! We arrived to a late lunch and treated to a great menu, assisted by Mariann. Free wine included! Followed by a wonderful dinner and then breakfast. Went for a run on the country farm roads and tried our bikes on the hilly(!) surrounding area. Sonya was also very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was finding the hotel, the location was good but not easy to find.

    We were delighted with our stay here everything was superb wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the most stunning location with lovely views across to the mountains. The lady on reception, who also served us an excellent dinner, was very pleasant, friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and very attractive with many old original beams and features, and the bed was very comfortable. A Sat Nav is essential to help find this hidden gem. Use the GPS Coordinates and have faith they will guide you there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can slightly see and hear the highway nearby. Breakfast could be a bit more special, for example homemade cake

    Very green environment. Big room and bathroom - nicely decorated. Very friendly staff everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view into the garden. The breakfast was delicious with fresch fruits and orange juice besifde fresch cheese. The dinner was excellent as a menu. The atmosphere in the house is quite, relax and it´s comfortable to be there. The service at the front desk was also excellent. In my opinion a four star hotel. It´s a pleasure to be a guest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems encountered apart from a short delay locating the hotel which would have been easier if we had not booked at the last minute and failed to read the directions that were emailed.

    We were travelling by car and decided at the last minute to stop en route. We arrived late and locating the hotel by GPS coordinates in the dark took two attempts but was successful. For us parking was fine. We found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed a very good breakfast. Our room was spacious and provided everything we needed for a restful night to recharge our batteries. We thought the garden well kept and enjoyed a post-breakfast stroll enjoying the view. For us driving from the main road to/from the hotel added very little distance/time to our journey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was billed as a small friendly hotel. It looked like part of an anonymous chain. The road to it was difficult and there was no way to drive to other places easily from it. The food was poor. It lacked character.

    The room was comfortable with a pleasant view. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little off the beaten track-you would need a car. No vegetarian option in the restaurant.

    Very comfortable and spacious room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    surprising

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The whole place is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    difficulty in reaching the place at nighy

    le restorant et le exlent service du restourant!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maravilloso hotel y alrededores.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up to the Hotel is difficult,however once there it is well worth the effort.

    Staff very helpful, lovely hotel,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really a great place - located in a very scenic setup with valleys and hills. Will go there again...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a challenge to come to the hotel because of the road conditions.

    Everything was well maintained and stylish.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location worth going off the beaten track for and a superb dinner. Large spacious room with a powerful shower.Great value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not far off the motorway but up a country lane beautiful old rustic house. Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast. free parking Will stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of town and difficult to get to by car

    The staff. The views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lived up to description. Marvellous gin and tonics with juniper berries !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air condition is a little noisy but it's fine as well

    nice staff, very beautiful view on the mountain. The room is really big and good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access was not easy, although expected as per hotel previous communication.

    There were mosquitos in the room. Real pain to sleep. The rest was great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing except difficult to find - the hassle was worth it

    The outstanding service and the wonderful views

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do not eat at the restaurant for dinner. It was by far the worst meal I've had in Spain. From the service to the food to the fact that they tried to serve us a corked wine. Which I then saw get served on the next table after we had sent it back!!! The breakfast was nice though.

    The place was really clean, the rooms spacious and the property well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast very good, with fresh orange juice. Big and nice room although a bit noisy at some points since next to the Reception Desk.Very beautiful surrounding, with really nice and well kept garden. Would definately recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's very difficult to find the hotel the first time a person goes there. The road is very rough. So it's not a good location if you want to go out at night.

    Beautiful setting, well appointed & quiet room. Very helpful & polite staff. Outstanding breakfast buffet was included.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a charming country hotel. English talking stuff. Welcome explains everything with a smile. Quite place and we had good sleep for two nights. about 20 minutes to get to San Sebastian. Very good restaurant and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road to the hotell was under all critic. The food in the bar was so and so (and you had to eat there as either of us wanted to go down the road to the main road again). Sitting inside the restaurant was out of the question as it was to hot inside.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady that looked after us for the duration of our stay was really experienced, spoke perfect English, very very helpful and the dinner and breakfast that we had was excellent on both counts. The bedroom and facilities excellent in comfort and style.It was such a shame we only there for l night but will certainly try to return.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely rural setting, real comfort and luxury at a reasonable price and the food is fantastic. The staff are friendly and professional. I would definitely recommend this place - if you don't mind not staying in San Sebastian, come here and your 100euros per night goes a hell of a lot further.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are superb and they cannot do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent cuisine

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nice excpriant .. and very nice place

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful staff, family atmosphere, a simple but very good dinner and amazing value.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really enjoyed our five night stay excellent management lots of tips regarding places to visit, excellent food would recommend

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mainly a wedding venue.

    Rural enviroment.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioni g did not work properly

    Fantastic.quiet and food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the lady on reception was outstanding, friendly, helpful, she couldn't have been better

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Diner very poor

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    15 minute drive to San Sebastián.

    Beautiful grounds. Wonderful food and staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No laundry.

    Room was so big and spacious, with spectacular views and private balcony. Food in restaurant was very high quality. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wonderful location - beautiful in the mountains

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, great views, comfortable room with character, dinner and breakfast fine and staff friendly, helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A more comfortable and bigger communal seating area is needed

    good quality food well prepared. very pleasant and helpful staff.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Usategieta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: