Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio Valderrabanos 4 stars

Plaza de la Catedral, 9, 05001 Avila, Spain

#8 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4316 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, exceptionally clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy

    Beautiful hotel, exceptionally clean. Lovely decor and great bathroom. Great location. Left a little child pack for son which was great. Would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great location , excellent rooms.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking, especially for a car with roof box measuring over 2.3m tall

    We had a room for 4 people, which consisted of two bedrooms, one with a large lounge area separated by a well equipped bathroom. The windows were large and plentiful with an outlook towards the cathedral. Air conditioning was first class and the location was just perfect for wandering around this very lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable visit
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Big rooms. Optional parking available upon request and availability. Nice restaurants and shops nearby. Avila is breathtakingly beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Avila (Castilla León) 3 night trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms (the first one was very disappointing) but the one we moved to was great. The weekend rate is quite pricey, even without breakfast.

    The second room we moved to was excellent. View of the cathedral from the window. Some of the staff were very helpful. Clean and comfortable room. Nearby parking for just over 1 euro a day at the weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very quaint hotel, excellent central location. Would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the location, we chose to park our hire car outside the city walls (only €1.05 for 24 hours), whereas the city parking was over €18.00 per day. Hotel staff were very informative and helpful and it only took 6-7 minutes to walk back to the hotel, so I would recommend that option.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff and an excellent location ..literally in front of the cathedral. Homely feel to the hotel, with lovely fluffy towels and very comfortable beds and pillows (and a great hairdryer!). Excellent value for money. My daughter and I had a really enjoyable stay, with the city walls, bars and restaurants on our door step.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking associated with the hotel. But there is cheap street parking available inside the walls. If you time your trip right, there are daytime and nighttime (20:00-10:00) hours when parking is free. The restaurant inside the hotel serves poor quality food. We had the menu of the day and we would not recommend it.

    Great location, inside the walls and adjacent to the cathedral. The hotel is quaint. The room was clean and very comfortable. The bed especially was very comfortable, the best we had in all of Spain!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    An OK Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have a kettle to be able to make a hot drink. When I enquired about it I was told that I should be going to the hotel's cafeteria. This was going to be very costly for us. Most places they provide a kettle or hot water at least. Also the food at the hotel's restaurant was disappointing and having a completely untrained young person to serve, it added to the not so nice experience.

    We stayed at the Palacio Valderrabanos for 3 nights. We had a nice room with view of the Cathedral. The bed was confortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for this classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Restaurant for breakfast was O.K. but for dinner it is below the standards of the hotel.

    + Good location inside the walls near the cathedral + Classic older building + Clean and comfortable rooms + Efficient if not friendly check-in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was more than we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated in the centre of the city behind the famous walls. There are many things to see such as a walk on these walls which are to say the least impressive. Then cathedrals and museums take a pick they are all lovely. Food is great and not expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate for overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my husband is registered disabled I asked for a room with walk-in shower. If the hotel had replied saying this wasn't possible we would have chosen another hotel!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby parking was expensive

    Good location close to the cathedral and city wall access. Staff were efficient, room was ok. Breakfast was very good. Lounge was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A very interesting city, well worth a stop-over for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking on nearby street was OK at €1.00 per day, however be sure to park in the direction of flow of traffic for that side of the road!! A rule in Spain and subject to a fine that we were unaware of until too late.

    Brilliant location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Like living in a fairytale castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room. It was huge. The view was outstanding. I felt like I was living in the castle and looking out over my kingdom. So much fun. Really long bathtub. Perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Traditional spacious hotel convenient for castle and town but parking off site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in room. waiters in restaurant seemed rushed and unable to take time to explain menu. Car park a walk away so Ned to drop off luggage first.

    Traditional design and nice areas to sit. Quiet rooms with lots of space and easy to the castle and city for walks. It stated parking available, however this was in nearby car park and directions not given prior to arrival for drop off of luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Local Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Quiet, comfortable, good sized rooms, good “menu del dia” dinner. Amin looked after 8 tables & the bar with great efficiency & courtesy!Good location for Antequera Ciudad train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Avila - interesting cathedral marred by parking disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is advertised as having Parking. It does not have its own parking facilities but recommends a car park over a mile's drive away outside the city walls. However, that car park is well run and is only 200 metres walk from the hotel.

    Great location in front of the Cathedral. Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Reception staff seemed quite unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff seemed quite unfriendly. with my booking I had requested a double bed, but we were giving two twins instead. When I asked about it they weren’t helpful at all. The booking says they have parking, but it’s actually a public parking which you will have to pay for (approx 20 euros per 24 hours).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    An exceptional bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Palacio Valderrabanos rates with the best Spanish paradores at half the price. My room was spacious and lovely with all amenities - even wonderful shampoo and soap. Breakfast included every kind of delectable pastry and a berry tart, along with fresh fruit, jamon, eggs, and good strong coffee. Sitting rooms flooded with sunlight and comfortable sofas drew guests for quiet conversation. Staff welcomed me and helped with my suitcases. This hotel is next to the cathedral, just steps from a walk along the top of the city wall. Next time I'll stay for more than a day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.5
    We would not stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionists (2 men) were not very welcoming. They did not smile at all, did not welcome the guests and were generally disinterested. Also the bed was terrible! The matress was so uncomfortable with springs sticking into our backs!! A shame as the location and cosmetic look of the hotel were good.

    The location was good and the service in the bar/cafeteria was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    It could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 3/4 months in advance. We were celebrating our anniversary. There are two option to book for a double room, the cheap one (twin beds) and the expensive one (twin beds or double bed). We paid for the expensive one. I requested several times since I made the booking that I wanted double bed. They gave us twin beds. They said there were no double beds available. It was pretty disappointing when I checked on bookings and I could see that they were still offering the 2 options for the same very day. Besides, the tone of the blonde reception guy was a little bit pedantic to us. So, don’t bother about paying more for the double room, because, as they told me, they have few of them, and they were gonna rid out of them as we’re not as economically interesting as having twin beds. For the price we paid I would recommend other boutique hotel, just 2 minutes nearby. I expected Palacio Valderrabanos to be a little bit more professional. As they still had empty rooms, and I have the screen shoot to prove it. I don’t know what I check that because it annoyed me even more. Some times an apology is just not enough, as the moment is gone. Maybe, the employees should receive some training about how to keep client happy.... if there is not additional cost for the hotel and also the client paid for what i was asking for

    The hotel is lovely, and the location just perfect. Good breakfast, nice ham and fresh orange juice. I loved the artwork in the head bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Location in Katedral Square, Balcony with table & chairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking remote from hotel and drop-off of luggage at hotel tricky (hotel in pedestrian area but no-one told us we could enter that area to drop-off our luggage).

    Location in Katedral Square, Balcony with table & chairs overlooking old town, Doors/window opens wth shutter for security,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    The staff was polite, willing to help, both in reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been staying 4 days in room 309, on the top floor. And these are my sincere opinions, although I do not usually leave negative comments, but I have not seen the things that I have seen in my room in hostels, where you pay 7-8 eur and you also have breakfast included. It may be that the hotel is nice on the outside and has very large reception and huge hallways, but this does not affect your room at all, and I leave this comment since the hotel boasts a 4 star quality, when it is not: 1) The double room for 2 people, although I have been alone is small. 2) The walls show signs of dirt in several places, they are blood stains or something similar. 3) The bath tub was burnt in a place with the cigarette, it is a big sign it is impossible that it is not seen by the cleaning staff. 4) The air conditioned at maximum power does not work under proper conditions. It has been necessary to leave it on almost always to keep the room a little warm. 5) You can not walk barefoot around the room as it leaves you feet frozen 6) Breakfast is very poor for the price of 9.90 euros. Better to go out and have a very good breakfast for 3-4 euros. 7) The walls are very thin, you can hear all the noise, people who talk, go to the bathroom, having sex, watching football, etc.

    The staff was polite, willing to help, both in reception and restaurant. The place is nice and beautiful, is an old castle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Amazing city would love to return sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    The location was excellent. The total hotel was amazing. Parking in the green lines was great 1.05€ for 24 hours. A ride on the Tuk Tuk in the evening is a must do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended, a superb hotel - I really enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I traveled to Avila by motorcycle and there is no secure parking available on site (despite asking for same when booking). The only parking available was in a public parking lot quite a distance away.

    This really is a proper quality hotel - from the efficiency of the staff to the standard of comfort everywhere. Well situated in the city perfect for visiting the local attractions. Good food too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was out to a small inner patio that just had extraction pipes in.

    The location was excellent, right next to the cathedral. Our room was lovely and clean with comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Great old hotel a stone's throw from the central cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are paper thin. You can hear your neighbors and everything they do, both on the same floor and above you, and people in the hallway and the elevators. The facilities are great and everything is beautiful, but for sleeping more comfortably it would have been nice to have had a bit less noise. Otherwise, it's great.

    The location can't be beat, you can practically touch the cathedral from your window. Unique experience to stay in a very old, restored palace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location, room just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit disappointed with the room, we payed extra for a comfort room, but really there was not too much to fancy. Bed not too great. The best were the towels. Would consider this a very basic room.

    Location is just perfect right next to the cathedral and main square. The area and outside of the hotel is fantastic and its just nice to sleep in a historic building. We were lucky to park just in one of the streets next to the hotel, which was very convenient. As well enjoyed one of the local festivals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location for visiting the beautiful Avila
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is off-site and it is a little confusing trying to find hotel location to unload luggage.

    Superb location for visiting Avila. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel in front of Avila's cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in the room yet, so it was a bit chilly, but it was not at all a problem to sleep there.

    The hotel is located in a historical palace. Fantastic location just in front of the cathedral. The room was very big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor lighting in the room. In the main area of the bedroom there are only two rather dim bedside lamps. Doing anything between sunset and sunrise is difficult- reading, checking maps, packing. A couple of lampstands would make a world of difference in the otherwise lovely and spacious rooms.

    The historic building has been tastefully converted. It has all the conveniences and comforts that we have come to expect in the 21st century but it has retained its character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in perfect area with wonderful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with great breakfasts. Loved the location in view of the the Cathedral within the walls of Avila. Safe Parking lot very close to Hotel. The let us check in very early great for full day of sightseeing within and on the walls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception were not good in English (four star hotel!!).

    Hotel is in center of village. Parking just outside the walls is cheap and easy in the afternoon. Rooms are spacious. Good beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly Positioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities in room were minimal. No kettle or free bottled water. We had booked room with bath but only had a shower.

    The bed in this hotel was the largest and most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    The perfect stay in Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really that i can point out about my two experiences with this hotel. Every box i can think of was checked off for a great experience. I highly reccomend this hotel for a perfect day/night in Avila.

    The location at the center cathedral plaza was superb. The hotel itself is very cozy and is extremely clean with convenient amenities. The staff was also very helpful and keen with advice on avila.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Fresh orange juice at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an old palace that has been refurbished. Nevertheless, rooms don not include acoustic insulation.

    Fresh orange juice at breakfast. Single rooms with balcony. Perfect location in front of cathedral and half a minute walking to other main buildings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    the holtel room had the biggest bed, i guess a super King,,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too quiet, a little backround music may have taken the quietness way, which was like a liberary.

    the holtel room had the biggest bed, i guess a super King,, fastastic, nice gifts for the kids on arrival

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Fine hotel in a very central location right beside the old cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find out how to drive to by car - a little sketch map on booking form would help.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Looked out hotel window onto old cathedral and city walls. Good breakfast. Nice to be in an old building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and town for a short stay, but if history isn't your thing there's nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that there is no parking asthe hotelis within the old city walls and right on the cathedral square, so parking is at the underground car park close by - east and convenient but remember to budget for it

    Central location and comfort unbeatable, step out of the door and into the catherdral square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Unique hotel with top breakfast in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit awkward across the town but inexpensive

    Excellent room - characterful and individual with antique furniture. Fantastic breakfast - array of home baked, local food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Central stay in Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the staff had other things to do than serve. One or two downright surly

    This nicke converted palace hotel has spacious public rooms with comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI not good at all very weak and the parking driving around to find the place even with a GPS not easy then had to leave some suitcases in car as there was no-one to help carry them to hotel which had to be parked outside city wall and you pay for that separate from the hotel It was 19 Euros.

    Breakfast was wonderful location great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    What an amazing palace!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all!!

    It was a beautiful palace transformed into a luxurious hotel and it was amazing. The location could not have been more perfect - directly across from the Cathedral - and within minutes from everything else. We'll def stay there again should an opportunity arise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay in Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tough because of the excellent location in the heart of everything but not too bad as we were able to drop off our suitcases etc and check in and then head back to park the car and take a short walk back to the hotel.

    Very nice hotel in a great location, in the same small plaza as the Cathedral (which should definitely be visited as well). Within short walking distance of many restaurants and shops as well as the wall. The room was spacious and clean and the children got their own welcoming packages; a very nice detail. Great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.6
    Do NOT STAY HERE in summer!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and no fan available. It was nearly 40 degrees outside and 45 degrees inside the room. It would cool off at night if the windows were open but then we couldn't sleep for all the noise on the street and the mosquitos. The hotel advertises having air conditioning when it does NOT. I have never had such a bad nights sleep. 2 nights we stayed here.

    Location was great, it's right next to the cathedral so it's very central. There is a lovely restaurant at Las Cancelas that has really great food and good service. I wish we had stayed there. Avila is a lovely town and I would definitely come back but not to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking but underground public parking not far from hotel. Easy to find and secure.

    Location. Great old building but rooms in newer section. Next to the wonderful Avila cathedral. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Young lady at the bar was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi continuously cut out. Scrambled eggs had a stange taste.

    Young lady at the bar was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved all the lounging areas. Appreciated the goidies for the kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Avila hotel with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more inspiring. Nearest car park cost around £18 for 24 hour stay

    Comfy beds, excellent location next to cathedral and city walls, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Well worth it. Amazing, perfext location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ok, but I felt could have been better. Not sure why. A bit overdone, microwaved pre-prepared dish? Salad dressing was nice!

    Location, very helpful staff, comfortable bed, good shower, beautiful public rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was not very good but the temperature was 38 degrees.

    Everything. Lovely hotel. Excellent helpful staff. Good value dinner offer 3 courses for €21. lovely rooms. We had a balcony and were able to sit outside and enjoy the views of the town. Good breakfast. Parking was nearby. Probably the most beautiful town in spain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Location but don't come in a heatwave when A/C is broken
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C was broken, and with no fans in the room it was near impossible to sleep. Room was tight, view limited or none (to those who face inner area) Bathroom was nice, but all plastic (wall tiles, bath). No cold water to cool off from the heat.

    Location is great, if you don't need parking (must walk to parking lot outside the walls of the city) Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great location, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was very quiet and did not have much atmosphere. Veggie options were non existent however the chef made me some pasta ! The breakfast for a four star hotel was disappointing , the scrambled eggs were really horrid, but the second morning we asked for fresh fried eggs and they were lovely so ask for what you want and you will probably get it.

    The hotel was beautiful lots of pictures and interesting things to look at. The lounge area was stunning. Extremely comfortable beds, we even noted the name of the mattresses they were so good! The parking was outside the city walls. A five minute walk from the hotel and 1 euro for 24 hours !!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We were VERY impressed with the hotel. The location was brilliant, the room clean and well designe. Avila was the diamond in our road trip around Spain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location in front of the cathedral and shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic for a 4-star hotel. There was a lot of bird poop on the lounge chairs so I couldn't really sit on the terrace. Room Service wasn't great and they spoke almost no English. Still, I would stay there again.

    Perfect location in front of the cathedral and shops, restaurants, pharmacy, ATM within just a few minutes' walk. Lovely sitting rooms on the main floor. Room was bright and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Treasure in Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise rising from the streets below, but otherwise very happy.

    Stylish, classy establishment in the hub of Avila. Lux bathroom and facilities. Bars, restaurants very close by. Main attractions an easy walk, and it is a lovely city to explore on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Love and hate ! But worth the visit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is advertised as four star, more of a old fashioned three star in rooms. We were hours trying to figure out the airconditioner , later we were informed that it operates from central system and is only turned on in season. For us mid May 30 degrees meant boiling hot room even when windows open ! Room very dated style and certainly not "superior double" two small sngle beds pushed together !

    The best situation inside the walls of Avila,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    I loved every minute! The hotel was in the heart of the historic centre, an unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished we could have stayed longer!

    The hotel is a former palace & retains lots of beautiful features, tastefully blended with modern facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel but USELESS WIFI
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Useless wifi. It was truly dreadful. Speedtest app showed a 0.04Mb/sec upload speed this morning with a ping latency of 736msec! (Similar results on repeated tests). Yes, virtually unusable for anything. Dreadful given the hotel makes a point that you can get wifi everywhere. Sure but it's useless!!! I asked about it in my first hour there & a guy was going to restart the modem but, not surprisingly, it made no difference.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Our choice for Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is near perfect. Located right next to the UNESCO world heritage cathedral. Our room was first rate and the staff was helpful with everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was hot and thermostat was broken i think although, I kept it off but central heating somehow kicked in. Thus i had to open windows...but since i was facing inside, there was this pipe that made noise every 10 minutes... good thing is i was really tired from the walking & following the processions, so slept well, despite. Staff seemed like they were just there to work and I did not see any "passion" for their jobs ...if you know what i mean :-)

    location is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Overall reasonable stay in Palacio Valderrabanos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Reception staff had poor language skills - I don't expect fluent English but for a central hotel in an important tourist city they should be able to cope with the minimum needed to check-in and check-out 2. NO PARKING - we were directed to an underground public car park which, thanks to the combination of one-way streets and pedestrian zones, involved driving around town and was then difficult to find.

    central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    The hotel name and the experience do not match
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small bed. No soap in the bathroom? No parking (maybe some arrangement should exist with the nearest public parking facilities?). Breakfast not worth to mention - the taste of the scrambled eggs was strange (too dry?), not so much varieties or it was not replaced on time due to huge load (like no bread).

    Excellent location. Nice decorated common areas.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.9
    nice room, great location, lovely view of the cathedral spires and storks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    The breakfast was not anywhere near the standard expected from a four star hotel. When we arrived at 915 the buffet was almost empty. I had to go and ask the kitchen staff to replenish the table. There was on,y one cut up fresh fruit, pineapple and no eggs at all. The orange juice, though it said was freshly squeezed was not.. I checked with staff .... Coffee was also very poor

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    Truthfulness - It says 26m2 the room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Truthfulness - It says 26m2 the room size. Well, including the walls maybe ? From the photos, it looks much smaller than 26m2, and the actual room, yes, much smaller than 26m2. So, fortunately, at least there are something true, which are the photos. Though the actual room is much older than the looks on the photo. Lift - Lift is really old. You have to pull the lift door open like an ordinary door to enter the lift. Furniture - furnitures are really old. Base of Toilet - The bast of the toilet was not really cleaned and has stains and hairs. Water Tap - The water tap is absolutely tight, really hard to handle. Soap Container - There is no soap container ! Parking - You have to park the car outside of the city wall, in a parking lot called El Grande, which would costs you 18.65 Euro per night !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff but beware of the price being increased during your stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ended up paying much more than the price advertised on Booking.com and that's even without the breakfast.

    Very friendly, polite and professional staff. Great central location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.0
    Its not what it looks like.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole floor smelled after toilet and inside our room even more. The wifi connecting was horible , mostly it didnt work. The beds where so hard that I needed a masseur when I came home.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an issue. You can unload but then have to pay for parking at a distance from the hotel unless you can manage to find a place in the zona verde. Staff were polite but not particularly friendly. Awful noise all night of people arguing in the apartments facing our window and a drunk in the street outside. Not much character or atmosphere to the place.

    Central location on cathedral square.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Excellent situation, good value
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really

    The hotel is smack in the centre of Ávila, next to the cathedral. It's spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The interior is splendid, the rooms of a good size and the showers HOT!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    PERFECT LOCATION FOR AVILA VISIT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say really, and I'm a well travelled person. The foyer, public area and corridor décor was a little on the "kitsch" side for my taste but fitted the character of the building and the place.

    The appeal of this hotel is its prime location: a small square right next to Avila's wonderful Cathedral and main shopping area. From there it's a short walk to what Avila offers the tourist: including Basilica San Vincente, birthplace of Saint Teresa, medieval walls, art gallery, numerous bars and restaurants, including an excellent restaurant a short distance away. Alternatively, there is a good restaurant and café in the hotel. A former palace, the hotel entrance lobby, building and rooms are very spacious. Our room was comfortable and well equipped, including inexpensive mini-bar, and offered very good value for a September stay. The staff were very professional and welcoming. A very satisfactory one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location for visiting within walls of Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Parking at hotel. Had to park outside walls at 49 euros for 3 days. Most inconvenient if you have alot of luggage to cart up and down..

    Excellent location for visiting within walls of Avila. However

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Handy for Avila We had to move here from Apartment centro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit tired- water stain on ceiling and musty smell, curtains rather old and needing replaced.

    Handy for Avila We had to move here from Apartment centro swing which we had booked for 3 nights as it was too hot and had no air con so the air con was a big attraction.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Historic old city well worth a visit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small thing - I would love a bigger softer pillow!!

    We have visited on a few occasions and have enjoyed the ambience of this lovely old building situated in the heart of Avila. What a privilege !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Great location hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They free wifi is a joke. Just possible to check mail. Not possible to watch netflix on my ipad. Or youtube. Download capacity just 0,11 Mbps upload 0,13 Mbps which is medieval. Everytime you have to log in as well.

    I booked 2 hours before my arrival a room for 2 persons. I arrived late and got a tiny room (304) wih just one bed for one person. I was too tired to complain at that moment as i arrived late after a long trip. I was travelling alone but booked for two persons as the price is the same. Next morning i got, upon my own request, a standard room for 2 persons. I was not offered any compensation for the night i spent in a room for one person. Like a free breakfast or something like that. Which i think is strange also because the first night the rate was 80€. The hotel has a very good location but the public spaces are old fashioned. The elevator is very old and the worst part was that inside they play a very short repeating part of the four seasons by vivaldi. I was also surprised that dogs are allowed in the hotel. My neighbours had a huge labrador dog. For a four star hotel i thought it was strange that they provide a typical spanish pillow which is very uncomfortable. Tv has only spanish and french channels. The lady who checked me in was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Room was huge with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This wifi had an extra log-in with the room# which wouldn't work on my iPhone 6. If say there's not reason to be so complicated!

    Room was huge with great views. Very comfortable for me and my parents.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful exterior, excellent location but interior very disappointing. Would not book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor very tired. Bedroom was 2/3 wallpapered and left unfinished. Interior was a mish mash of styles not in keeping at all with the beautiful exterior. Stayed in much superior 3* hotels. Would not book again.

    Excellent location. Exterior beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Do estacionamento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do estacionamento

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palacio Valderrabanos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: