Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Venta de Etxalar This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Carretera Pamplona-Irun Km 60, 31780 Etxalar, Spain

#3 of 5 hotels in Etxalar

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 741 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Avoid if there's a wedding going on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yet another wedding party! The noise, lack of service presumably because the hotel had not laid on enough staff. Fireworks at 11pm. Presumably the hotel knew of this booking months in advance. They should have let hotel visitors and/or Booking.com know so that travellers could then weigh up their options.

    It's location on the N 121 which was on our route to the ferry port.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent not dissapointing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a lovely and very friendly hotel set in a beautiful area. The staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Would certainly recommend this hotel for either a one night stay or a few days for visiting the area. The villages close by are beautiful and clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    Will be returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great Breakfasts and set price dinners. My 4 or 5th visit, my friends have been far more, we all love this hotel. The great staff make our visit even better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little on the expensive side. Could not order from the full menu in the bar.

    The room was large and quiet. Staff were lovely. Downstairs bar was convenient. Location was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the night we stayed there was a problem with hot water to the bath and shower.

    Wonderful suite with balcony and huge bed. Choice of 3 places to eat Restaurant, combinados basic menu and tapas in the bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    7.1
    Nice place on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was kind of high for the services. I think maybe that was related with the shortage of offer in that specific weekend, with a special event in the area (Behobia-San Sebastian running race). The room are not very soundproof...

    The location is good if you have a car, and the rooms are spacious and well kept. The breakfast was good in general. There was enough place to park, and the wifi worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Change nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite proximity of the main road the rooms are very quiet and sitting on the balcony listening to the nearby river is really relaxing. Food - the daily menu has varied options and is excellent value. Breakfast selection amazing. Staff - many of whom we recognise having visited the hotel over the past 5 years or so - very helpful and friendly. We always recommend the Venta Etxalar to friends and we will certainly be returning again and again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in a spacious corner suite, with a wrap around balcony. The room was well equipped and comfortable, with a good bathroom. There were several food options in the hotel, and the food was nice. Location very good for exploring the local Pyrenees, and good access for a day trip to San Sebastian.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel in beautiful secluded surroundings. Excellent for a short getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have a nice view from our room nor a balcony.

    The restaurant at the property was excellent. Food was best we had in Spain and great value. The meal we had there was worth the trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Amazing family room - one of the new ones this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing family room - one of the new ones this year. Really comfy beds, beautiful bathroom with separate bathtub. All very modern, excellent decor. The buffet breakfast is not to be missed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.6
    Great stopover, great location & fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good but head height is restricted in some parts of this family room, as it slopes into the eaves

    Family room to accommodate 5, very clean modern room, choice of restaurants for evening meal, English speaking staff & fabulous choice at breakfast! Great location, easy to find & plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    8.8
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't given the room described in our booking sheet, but the manager addressed this problem and moved us to a better room. I fell over on the slippery floor in the restaurant and, whilst the staff helped pick me up, no-one seem very interested in the fact that I'd had a bad fall.

    The hotel is a great place for a one-night stopover to/from France and Spain. The bar is frequented by locals which suggests good food to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    This is a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would add is that there was no mirror in the room and it would have been nice to have one as well as the mirror in the bathroom. This is minor though and I would not wish to mark the score down because of this as everything else was so good

    This is a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful setting. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, great shower, lovely view over the stream and the trees at the back. We ate in the snack bar, but the words do not do it justice, it was a great place to eat, not what we would classify as a snack bar, it was tasteful. We shared a pizza and salad had some drinks, it was all very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.2
    Good stop. Avoid Sundays if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a Sunday, it was like a zoo. Not sure whether it's the habit of all the locals to descend on the nearest reasonable establishment or not but there also seemed to be an event going on at the same time. In any case, it was chaos. Parking was hard to find at first. The bar was dirty, tables had not be bussed, and the music was too intrusive.

    The room was very comfortable and had a terrace overlooking a forest at the back. The restaurant was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. It also served quite an extensive menu from bar snacks to a full three course menu. The parking, although open, seemed secure enough. I parked around the back where it seemed much quieter and I could see the car from my room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    10
    Fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The beds are so comfortable. The hotel has all types of food on offer in two restaurants and a bar. Ideal location for travelling into /out of France. Beautiful location and great parking. Lovely staff.Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    10
    Nice stay in Etxalar Hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient situation right next to the road to Pamplona. Wonderful landscape around.Very clean and confortable room. Excellent salads for dinner in the restaurante.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed. Quiet room away from road if you choose mountain view. Restaurant is not fine dining but good value at 12 Euros for 3 courses, wine and water. Hotel is a short distance from a Via Verde cycle path.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    10
    Stunning location in beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault the accommodation apart from the bunk bed in our room for the kids - it didn't look sturdy or safe enough to hold our 12 yr old so we put the mattress on the floor.

    Lovely location, fantastic standard of accommodation. Buffet breakfast was amazing value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    8.8
    Excellent room size with large comfy double bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bigger choice of bread would help improve the breakfast experience.

    Excellent room size with large comfy double bed. The aircon worked well, as did WiFi. Breakfast was good with a good variety of fruit. Location is great for France or the Spanish coast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    9.6
    Nice place for a stop over Spain to France
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitos

    Really comfy bed, balcony, cafeteria was busy, food looked very appertising, good atmosphere. Food in the Restraunt was good and great value. Overall a great place to stop over. Views around the hotel were very nice. It was also very clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    10
    Reliable stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening menu for 12.50€ is not available Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. We were caught out by this on our last trip! There is only the expensive gourmet menu available or bar food.

    We have stayed here many times for its convenient location en route to France, big comfortable bed and air- conditioning, varied buffet breakfast and good value much improved evening menu.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Have used this hotel several times and will continue to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Romm was a bit too warm and I couldnt get the aircon to work

    We had an excellent meal from the fixed price menu. Big comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything 😊😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.3
    It was a good choice to visit the Baskian shore and the Navara area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to do at night.

    Nice nature area. Excellent diner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed and good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable bed and good sized room. Nice restaurant with pleasant meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Great Place Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The rooms were cozy, the washrooms were beautiful and modern. The food was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Super friendly staff!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly staff!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee facilities in the room for the morning

    Location friendly helpful staff at the bar when ordering food even though it was very busy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    9.6
    A great stop over while travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large room and very comfy bed; great shower; excellent evening menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to relax after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two screaming children.

    Great breakfast, staff are helpful & friendly. Scenary is lovely in the morning with a little mist hanging over the hills.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful suite in lovely setting.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee in room

    Superby equipped and designed suite with wrap around terrace

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    Good place to stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal menu can be limited

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    10
    Nothing to dislike excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Nothing to dislike excellent location...hotel....and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2016

    10
    Great Hotel Excellent food at reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything Great hotel , great room , great breakfast , great welcome , dont pass it by .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2016

    10
    Everything Will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything Will be back for sure

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    9.6
    Should have more stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    6.7
    Room was very good and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was the opposite of the room, dirty, noisy, a mess

    Room was very good and very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2016

    7.9
    Vegetables panache
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    French fries

    Vegetables panache

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    8.3
    We had room 210.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food isn't that good. I expected it to be better. Breakfast was okay however my boyfriend threw up after breakfast one morning. Restaurant staff could be very unwelcoming which made me not want to eat in the restaurant

    We had room 210. The view was absolutely beautiful in the morning and the room was clean. A good bathroom. The female receptionist was very welcoming and nice.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    10
    Very comfortable room and wide lovely bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable room and wide lovely bed. The biggest choice of breakfast I have ever had - a huge spread. Evening meal available in hotel also excellent and all good value

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed here 3 times now in room 211 in summer on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But what we had always looked forward to after a long, hot journey was the 10€ evening meal in the Restaurant, a chance to relax. However, this has now been replaced by a 'menu especial' for a whopping 25 euros. We ended up with an indifferent pizza in the Bar. This means the hotel is no longer value for money and we will look elsewhere next time.

    We have stayed here 3 times now in room 211 in summer on the way to or back from France to Spain for its convenient location, air con, comfy bed, buffet breakfast and garage for the car ( pay extra though)

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2015

    10
    An excellent hotel, whether passing through or staying in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    An excellent hotel, whether passing through or staying in the area. Very convenient if breaking long journey as very close to fast motorway connections

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    10
    Reasonable priced on a good location for crossing northern...
    • Couple

    Dressing table has light but no mirror. We have been in fourrooms at this hotel and they are all the same. You have to use bathroom mirror which can be a nuisance.

    Reasonable priced on a good location for crossing northern Spain. Very good rooms.

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2015

    9.2
    Excellent rooms, generous Spanish cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Measurement of content of glasses of beer (cerveza) in the bar is somewhat arbitrary, but this is a common continental practice. A mere quibble.

    Excellent rooms, generous Spanish cuisine.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    10
    My husband and I stayed for a wedding during the 14 of Feb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband and I stayed for a wedding during the 14 of Feb weekend. Even though it was rainy the whole weekend, we were snug and warm and loved listening to the river below as we slept. Beautiful place, wonderful food and great staff.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    9.2
    No hot water to basin or shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water to basin or shower. Receptionist did not know why.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    10
    The room and the food
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room and the food

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2016

    9.6
    Location, comfort, tasty dinner menu, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, comfort, tasty dinner menu, excellent breakfast. Our 4th stay here.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    10
    The beds were superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were superb Open till late

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2015

    9.2
    Convenient location for overnight stop near the border en...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location for overnight stop near the border en route north from Spain. Evening meal available and good breakfast.choice.

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable,good menu del dia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of hot food at breakfast.

    Clean and comfortable,good menu del dia.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    10
    Real Spanish hotel ,lots of charm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no swimming pool !!!

    Real Spanish hotel ,lots of charm and friendly staff.Reasonable prices ,good food .

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff, Brilliant set menu very good value i think...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hydro bath did not work properly and smelt terrible

    Friendly staff, Brilliant set menu very good value i think about 13 euro inc wine

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    10
    Quaint friendly hotel with perfect location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Quaint friendly hotel with perfect location and good value

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    9.0
    Lovely Staff great prices,a very well run place for ordinary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nowhere nearby.

    Lovely Staff great prices,a very well run place for ordinary travellers. Smart and clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    9.2
    Hotel and bar are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Restaurant food could be improved

    Hotel and bar are excellent

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2015

    8.3
    Old school Spanish roadside stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old school Spanish roadside stop. Great bar.

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2015

    7.5
    Convenience and Easy to find.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Convenience and Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Couple

    Everything. Cannot fault anything. Am planning a holiday there.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2015

    10
    Great location when travelling through this part of northern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location when travelling through this part of northern Spain. Warm welcome, comfortable facilities,good food and all at sensible prices.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2015

    7.5
    Liked cleanliness and comfort and general friendly atmosphere
    • Couple

    Liked cleanliness and comfort and general friendly atmosphere

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: