Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vila Mar 2 stars

Pais Basc, 10, 43850 Cambrils, Spain

#26 of 102 hotels in Cambrils

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Quiet location off the main sea area but only 3-5 minutes walk to sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Northing, we love it all.

    This was our 4th visit, each time we go back we are greeted with a friendly welcome. Our room is cleaned and towels changed every day. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Love staying at Vila Mar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow on the bed was so hard, it made my neck ache. I requested a quiet room but was given a room on the front of the building overlooking a road and next to the elevator. No signage for instructions in English on arrival made entry to the hotel following an evening flight difficult. Little English is spoken but didn't detract from my stay.

    A family run hotel on a side street close to the town and in a good location for the bus and train stations. I was assigned a spacious room with a private bathroom and a balcony. The room was comfortable and clean. A good breakfast with plenty of choice was available. I wasn't expecting much considering the price but was pleasantly surprised and found the hotel to be very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities not working. Heating turns off when you leave the room, leaving it freezing cold on return. Took hours to raise to a comfortable temperature.

    We paid extra for a room with a jacuzzi bath. We informed the staff. 2 days later an engineer confirmed that it was broken. We never received an apology, and the hotel refused our suggestion of a very modest discount to reflect the fact that the jacuzzi didn't work. The attitude of the staff was the worst I've ever encountered at a hotel. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good breakfast with tasty bread and several options to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason my favourite Catalan TV channel 3/24 was not working on TV, just blue screen. Stairs at the entrance could be an issue for people with heavy luggage, although it was not a problem for me.

    Very good breakfast with tasty bread and several options to choose from. I was on a bike trip and it was no problem at all to leave bike overnight in the garage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    3 star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another enjoyable holidays in Vila Mar. Staff is super friendly and always helpfull.Hotel is located close to the centrum and to the beach. At the corner very handy super Mercado..and fridge is in the room:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant place))
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A simple and hearty breakfast. Comfortable room with air conditioning. The hotel is convenient to all important points: train stations, stops, shops, beach. Very caring and pleasant owners of the hotel! Thank you!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast which was included was fantastic. Great choice of food. We had booked a double room and it was very large with a massive bed and also had an unexpected bonus of a terrace outside our room with chairs, table and sunshade which was wonderful. Great air con and it was really, really quiet even though there were lots of guests in the hotel. Fab location as only 10 minute walk to the beach and there were restaurants land bars literally round the corner. A supermarket opposite too. We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great brekkie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad point for me was that the bed cover had stains on it which left me wondering if it had been washed. I didn't use it because of the heat but it would have been better to have one without the stains. Other than that I enjoyed my stay.

    Lovely place in a great location. Room was spacious with great air con. Breakfast was lovely. Thank you,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite loud inside of the room. Whatever was happening in the corridor was heard very well inside the room (very thin doors)

    Very helpful owner. He cancelled one night for us without any penalty or charge when we asked (we had to shorten our holiday). Nice location, very close to the seaside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    I would definitely repeat staying at this hotel should I return for the bike race, which is likely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main receptionist could have smiled a bit. He came across as a little grumpy, but he did help with all we asked for.

    They gave us extra early breakfast at 5am as we were there for a cycling competition. Great detail. We also had a garage for the bikes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    let there be light!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light system. The key for the electricity in the room needs to stay plugged in. If you leave the room without the keys you are locked out. There was not a light switch outside my room for the corridor, so it became a bit difficult trying to keep the room door open to see enough to find the switch across the hall. Serious design fault! though not a problem for most room I think.

    Very comfortable room and bed, wonderful big bath, everything one could need for one person. Lots of parking around the hotel. very central. supermarket right outside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Almost ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have walking difficulty and all uphill from town. Unable to get taxi except at rank. Some staff have only little English. Would have liked a bedside lamp.

    Breakfast buffet excellent. Quiet residential area near enough to walk into Centre. Lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Short distance to Bus & Train stations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable Hotel, near to shops /restaurants and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice if they had Tea/Cofee making facilities in the room ( even just a kettle). Would be good if there was somewhere to hang wet swimming costumes/towels etc.

    Breakfast was very good, always replenishing the food, good quality coffee from a Machine. Nice new clean modern hotel, Air con in the bedroom, also a fridge. Clean towels everyday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    This Hotel should be 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - some update on the canteen furniture should be done. Chairs dragged on the floor were waking us up every day

    -Airco in the room was almost new and very handy on those high not normal in September temp. -Tarrace on the roof -Cleanest -Small fridge in the room and hair dryer -Great value for money. This Hotel should be 3*

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    A Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rated 2* but it should in my opinion be a 3* - the hotel breakfast was a good selection and the staff were always helpful and the beds very very comfortable. There is a sun terrace but no pool but that was not an issue as the beach is quite near. Good AC nice shower in a well kept bathroom. The hotel is well maintained. There is s supermarket less than 2 mins away. A ridge was in the room but no safe to put valuables away. Thank you to Alex on reception and all at Vila Mar (well done)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Very good two days in Cambrills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all very good and we would stay there again! The owner and staff were excellent. It was a great location close to Park Pinaret to see Julio ! The breakfast was good as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Staff and room were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and room were excellent. No view but private garden area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Muy bueno!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendy staff, clean room, good location and breakfast Personal amable, una habitacion limbia y una cama comoda, desayno bueno

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay. I can only recomand it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roof terrace is great. They name it solarium.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great lay-over on our travels through Spain on our bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - was all lovely

    Very friendly and helpful staff who welcomed us and our two bikes. Clean, comfortable and peaceful - highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had been recently painted and still smelt strong.

    Very clean and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good and clean good local facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff even provided secure parking for my motorcycle

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor parking

    Very nice people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    2.9
    A great find. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so good . Healthy and substantial. Looked forward to it every morning. Also close to beach and shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice atmosphere, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could have been better, no sea view!

    Nice atmosphere, clean. Lovely roof terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Close to the best beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Friendly personnel, good location close to the downtown and the best beaches

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and clean lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning street noise

    Comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel was excellent in every way

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    formidable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tot excel.lent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    A good choice in Cambrils
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location a short walk from the sea. Secure parking for my motorcycle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Friendly hotel, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lovely, fridge in room, owners friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    No internet in the rooms, only by reception and canteen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet in the rooms, only by reception and canteen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.1
    Simple but very clean accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and air conditioning

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.7
    Parking was 300 meters from the hotel, small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 300 meters from the hotel, small rooms. Slightly over priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    El hotel en general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    El hotel en general

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    The bed is comfortable 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is comfortable 👍 Breakfast is good😋 The terrace was so relaxing👌🏼 All is good👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    The hotel was very, very comfortable and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was very, very comfortable and nice. The room is big and cosy and bathroom is warm and clean.The personal is very attentive, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was rich and healthy. I planned to stay only 1 night but stayed for 3 as I was captured by warmness and real comfort! Location is perfect 4 min from the port with lots of restaurant, 6 min from the beach and 7 min from train station. Many supermarkets and places for shopping are nearby. Im really satisfied with the hotel and Cambrils!!!!! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    10
    Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awesome. Very helpful and polite staff. Proximity is great as its close to the town centre and its close to everywhere I needed to go to. Great breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    Central location , Excellent breakfast choice, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe coffee making facilities in the room , although the coffee machine in the breakfast room was accessible all day long.

    Central location , Excellent breakfast choice, friendly staff , family run and very good value for money. I would highly recommend this Hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Only 5 min walk to the beaches, good breakfast, we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some mould in the bathroom an the A/C smelled really badly, once we accidentally switched it on. But we don't need A/C anyways...

    Only 5 min walk to the beaches, good breakfast, we had a real fridge (not only minibar size) in the room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Everything was ok, the location, the room, the stuff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was ok, the location, the room, the stuff and breakfest. I liked all about this hotel and if we'll go again in Cambrils, we surely stay on Vila Mar.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    3.3
    Beach, sea and sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaners did´nt even come every day - dirty. Location is not good - in the center of town and for what you then balcony - sweet room!!! -behind supermarket. Breakfast was poor and same all days and not enought food when were lot of guests. On the first floor there was the smell of canalisatsion sometimes in the room.

    Beach, sea and sun.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    We booked this hotel a couple of weeks before the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Air conditioning felt a bit old ... you know when it starts to smell a bit. Or this room was a smoking room before... -Breakfast was included, but it was mostly sugar and carbs. However I think it is the case for most places. -We got a ceiling leakage in the shower during the last evening. The staff fixed it, but left us with all the dirt, water and smell in the bathroom. We didn't ask for a new room and we didn't ask to clean, but it would be nice if they could show some extra care, so that we could use the bathroom properly.

    We booked this hotel a couple of weeks before the trip. Everything was expensive or fully booked. So we didn't have much choice. What we liked: -Ok value for money in Costa Dorada. -Spacious room. -24/7 reception. -Wifi is quite good in the room. -It is about 10-15 minutes walk from the beach, which was fine with us. Overall quite basic, but quite ok hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms could do with a little updating.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a good location. Breakfast was delicious especially the pastries.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    Near to all the major restaurants and life but back far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't have a bad experience. Paying 12€ per day for parking would have upset me but I was lucky and next time I'll come by train! Hotel is walking distance from train station.

    Near to all the major restaurants and life but back far enough to be quiet at night. I manage to find a parking place free and free if you understand my meaning. This could be a major problem.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    4.5
    handy for town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cold room no where comfy to relax.

    handy for town

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    room comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room comfort owner drove us to our airport shuttle pick up when taxi didnt turn up terrace garden on fourth floor

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    Very quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very quiet hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.0
    It's a home-like experience - one could live in that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The stuff could speak a little more English.

    It's a home-like experience - one could live in that building.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: