Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Villa Alicia Guest House

Conde de Ureña, 12, Malaga Centro, 29012 Malaga, Spain

#29 of 53 B&Bs and inns in Malaga

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    The balcony was brilliant, as was the location, staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was intermittent, although fantastic when working.

    The balcony was brilliant, as was the location, staff and value for money,but it was the balcony was by far the best thing. Being able to spend the last few hours of the day outside but in privacy was a blessing I didn't know I was missing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.5
    If the smell. Was not there...I would have enjoyed a lot more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a terrible odour like a blocked drain and we had to suffer through it...nothing was done...we were offered some spray for the bathroom. Some early morning noise of people arriving... Or going.

    Closeness to bus and restaurants etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    5.0
    Nice terrace for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we didn't get the room that we were booked for: we got a room with shared bathroom - room no.5 (no terrace, no windows, no view, a single cup for tea, a single towel) instead of a double room with private bathroom and large windows. We noticed them we'll be late and the owner left the keys in the mailbox. But it was the wrong room! We didn't like it; it was a bad experience!

    Nice terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    2.9
    Villa Alicia is the most disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property doesn't look like in the pictures presented on booking.com; cleaning services are extremely poor, breakfast is almost inexistent and the personal was impolite, rude and verbally aggressive. We left after the first night, even we have booked for 4. I do not recommend to anyone this property.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    Nice terasse for breakfast (2 roasted pieces of bread).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room nr.3 had private bathroom - all the room has odour of public toilet. So I recommend to take room with shared bathroom. Wifi was weak for skype calls. Other hotels in Malaga provided better wifi

    Nice terasse for breakfast (2 roasted pieces of bread). Lady at reception was excellent - she spoke good english and gave a lots of ideas what to do in Malaga!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    Delightful stay: lovely location and Malaga has far more to offer than just beach and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff efficient but not over-friendly: we missed a bit the "Welcome here" touch. This is possibly reserved for Spanish visitors. Kitchen is closed (locked) from 9:30 pm to 9 am which is a bit unusual. (Take your breakfast from fridge the night before if you are early risers!)

    Villa Alicia is roughly 5-8 minutes walking distance from the edge of the downtown area. There is a bus service but not frequent. To walk to Airport Bus stop at harbour area is a good 20-25 minutes. Location is wonderful: on a slight rise with views of castle and surrounding houses. Good facilities include a full kitchen, seating area on terrace to eat (breakfast can be booked the night before), small area indoors to relax. Room had small fridge for meat, cheese and milk - possibility of some self-catering. Our room - room 12 - had private balcony with super views and late afternoon sun. See photo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.3
    Malaga is a special city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff didn’t speak. Bathroom is down a corridor, thru a door, across reception and into a corner. I had to leave b4 breakfast and was told I couldn’t have ANYTHING to take with me... a non prepared banana or stale bread or biscuits would have sufficed. No tea n coffee making facilities. Room was way past it’s best with make up (I hope was makeup) on the walls via finger marks, paintwork needs redoing. I only stayed one night so didn’t ruin my fantastic trip, but glad now that I couldn’t make the 2nd night. A real shame, as with more toilets n sinks, smiles at least, paint and a ‘we can’t offer u a full bfast experience but u may take x y +z’, I’d definately return as it’s in a great spot.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Super room, great breakfast, sunny terrace, owners sweet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our shared bathroom was a bit far away in the middle of the night

    Super room, great breakfast, sunny terrace, owners sweet poodle, nearby parks, came across a neighborhood party on Friday night in the nearest one. Short distance to buses and ttains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful experience. One I would like to repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The hotel was so interesting and very arty, an unusual property, but had everything that you needed. I would stay there again and have recommended it to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    8.8
    I spent my weekend there, I had some issues and the staff solved them asap, they are really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was way too many stairways, it's not like I mind it. But there was a lot to reach the last floor. Also there was a lamp with a fake turtle shell as decorations, I barely couldn't handle it once I did seen because I thought it was for real....

    It was a pretty charming place, the staff was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay and really good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking facilities. There is only a single row on the road and spaces were always taken by locals.

    Breakfast is 3.70 p/p and is adequate, kettle in our room with tea and coffee did it for me!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    8.3
    Good accommodation, very close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent, and the fact that there was a kitchen and outside patio was great. It is very close to the centre. Very good local bars on door step which sell great Tapa's, very cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    6.3
    Interesting property, beautiful design, attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very far away from centre...or any restaurants or shops...shower room was tiny!

    Interesting property, beautiful design, attention to detail....rustic and authentic. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay in a very convenient location and very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of steep stairs to climb! Room 5 a bit cell like with no view and a bathroom across the hall.

    A very attractive house in a residential road only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Malaga. We had rooms 5 and 6. Room 6 is delightful, light and spacious with a good view and its own bathroom. A very pleasant and helpful owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    7.5
    Very pretty room (nr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive (we paid 85 Euro). For that price, breakfast should have been included. Was not impressed by the "multitasking" of girl in reception who was always on the phone, skyping with family when we checked in/checked out.

    Very pretty room (nr. 11) and great terrace. Beds and pillows were SUPER comfy. We chose the place to get to know another area in Malaga away from all the tourists. Can recommend Bar Pedroso in Plaza Victoria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    It was plesent and quiet. Nice size room on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thr aircon was an extra 5€ per night.And after walking all day it was located a little out of the way.

    The premise felt very secure. Only 8€ to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely guest house situated just 10 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely guest house situated just 10 minutes walk from the old town in a quiet street lined with stunning villas. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a lovely terrace for unwinding with a beer. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.9
    Basic, but comfortable, clean and lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The credit card machine was not working, and so we unexpectedly had to pay in cash. It was not a problem, but we would have taken out more money if we had realised this would be the case.

    Cheap and cheerful. Exactly what we needed and wanted for a late arrival and early-ish departure from Malaga. Simple and clean. Easy to access even with late arrival. Although we had a shared bathroom, there was never any waiting- it felt like it was all our own. Relatively quiet as it is somewhat outside of the city center, though still walking distance. Nice to be in a neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    6.7
    It's a beautiful villa, little walk from the center but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thought it was a bit odd to ask for a €5 charge a day to use the airco in the room. Also, we woke up a few times a night of itches. Not sure if there were bedbugs or just heaps of mosquito's. The shower switched temperatures all the time.

    It's a beautiful villa, little walk from the center but in a good location close to public transport. The room was very unique. Nice staff and a good kitchen you can use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    5.4
    Spanish style of the villa, cosy balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old bathroom. Really poor wifi signal. High prise for this kind of accomodation. Could live in hotel with better service istead. Expected higher level. Air condition was not included in prise despite it was installed in room. We would have to pay 5€ extra per day. Bad parking condition around the villa.

    Spanish style of the villa, cosy balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay for weekend, decent location, all in all i would stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning is an extra 5£ per day, and in 29+ degrees that would be a nice thing to have. Nonetheless, the staff will provide a fan for whoever might prefer it free of charge!

    Reception lady was very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was clean, basic no frills, exactly what we were after tho.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful base for Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No obvious negatives

    We stayed in a top floor room with its own bathroom and terrace. It's an easy 10 minute walk into the town and the bus stop is only a couple of minutes away. Peaceful location. Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    6.3
    Charming place, needs a bit more of organization
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even for this price, they could put a bit more effort on cleaning the common areas and the room terrace. Bathroom and room were cleaned daily but the dust could be seen anywhere outside those areas. I recommend to check that all keys are correct at arrival since I was given two for the bedroom and was locked out outside my floor at 23:00. Had to call an emergency number for somebody to come and unlock me. Check as well at arrival that the AC works and has the proper remote and that the tv remote has batteries on. Ours didn't....

    Excellent location, charming old house nicely decorated. Had a room with terrace which was very comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful considering some minor issues I had. Close enough to the popular areas but located in a quiet residential neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.5
    Having an en-suite room plus a terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice villa but a bit tired. Needs decorating and soft furnishings renewing. Also needs new locks on doors.

    Having an en-suite room plus a terrace. Option of having breakfast or not daily. Also having kitchen to use to prepare own food at lunchtime or evening, like a home from home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    8.3
    Characterful old style property, lovely rooms, friendly staff & only a short walk to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No access to wine opener after staff went home, unless your room is on ground floor! Woken a couple of times by noisy doors with guests coming back very late or leaving really early. Maybe they should be using door closing dampers to reduce the noise. Our en-suite needed an extractor fan. Area a bit noisy at times with barking dogs but maybe this is typical in a mainly residential area.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely first floor room looking west to evening sun. Nice compact fridge in room to keep drinks and snacks chilled. Large comfortable beds. Plenty of power points, lamps and furniture for putting clothes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant and cheap considering June in the middle of the city of Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So many stairs to get to our room and it wasn't mentioned on your information page. Also the person before us left their false teeth in my beside table, what does that say for the cleaning.

    Located near the square where everything was happening and the new port. We walked to the main station very enjoyable and took maybe only 30/35 mins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay in old Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could be a bit noisy at times.

    We enjoyed our stay in this simple guest house the staff were helpful and the sites of Malaga are a 10 - 15 minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    7.1
    More than adequate for a 3 night stay and reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having 3 keys for various doors, need more external lighting.

    nice character house, glad to have a heater in room, impressed with bottle of water left in the room plus kettle and tea bags (though not used), also a small fridge, most unexpected. Would have loved some English speaking channels on T.V. Very impressed that you could buy a Continental breakfast if desired, plus access to kitchen and washing machine. Very appealing to budget travellers. I was only there 3 nights, one major drawback for me was getting in and out of my room - too many keys, not comfortable returning at night. It was quieter than expected, there was an outside patio. I mainly used hotel for sleeping only, It didn't take long to walk to the centre (10 mins) There were buses, but time limited further exploration. Appreciated having a map given to me on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice , and a lovely 15 minutes walk to Centro Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I live not too far away in Malaga so the visit and stay in the City was a treat for my UK friend on holiday. It was a very attractive building and the bed, facilities were very nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    6.7
    Quirky property in an old quiet street. Nice staff, clean and tidy some areas could do with updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This older style property, in some areas, requires a bit of TLC although this appears is be on going. Vibrant colour schemes may not be to every ones taste. Great difficulty with parking which appears to be the norm in the whole of the city.

    The property has a Quirky vibe in a quaint old street. The place is kept clean and tidy with random art work many potted plants and Friendly staff. Nice continental breakfast at 3.5 euro. Medium walk to old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    4.6
    Malaga Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of stairs to climb but worth it to have balcony room.

    Tea making facilities in room. Use of Kitchen. Balcony. Cleanliness and friendly staff - Oxy the dog lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.3
    Very reasonable, pretty hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although breakfast was advertised as starting at 9, no one came to open up till 9.15. My room had a tempur mattress, which I don't like, finding them too hot.

    Attractive decor, clean and comfy. Lovely muesli or continental breakfast. Very relaxed atmosphere. Peaceful locale.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.9
    Good place for a first night arrival in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers in the shared bathroom were basic.

    Room clean and comfortable, nice terrace outside with tables and seating. Different breakfast options, reasonably priced drinks. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Villa Alicia: an oasis of calm in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Villa Alicia has a lovely relaxed vibe to it and is an oasis of calm after a day exploring Malaga city. My bedroom was beautiful with Moroccan style furnishing and Spanish colourful tiles on the floor and a view over the rooftops of Malaga. The terrace is wonderful and sitting there in the evening or morning is heavenly listening to all the birdsong. The staff were all Spanish and friendly, helpful and welcoming. They let me leave my bag there all day once I had checked out and relax on the terrace again before I left. From the airport, I took a train to the main station and then a taxi for 6 euros to the guest house and it was very easy. You can walk into the centre around the cathedral in about 15 - 20 minutes and it is an interesting walk past lots of different architecture and types of houses. It is not in a tourist area so is quieter and feels more authentic. I was travelling by myself and felt totally safe in the area at night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    6.3
    Great location, within walking distance of shops,restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't that impressed with the reception staff's attention to guests when needed.. Room was ok. It was more the type of accomodation that you would stay for only a night - 2 maximimum You can use the kitchen facilities but there is no oven or grill.

    Great location, within walking distance of shops,restaurants, public transport & the Port! Design of Villa Alicia is nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stop with a welcoming friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were great very friendly and made me feel welcome as I was traveling alone for the first time abroad so was nice to have someone with a good grasp of English to help me and inform me about the local areas to visit

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.9
    bed was very comfy in room 3 and staff were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it was a bit cold as heating wasn't on and dark and a little bit noisy at times as so near to reception

    bed was very comfy in room 3 and staff were helpful and good help to get around places, recommendations and ideas

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    8.3
    Recommended if you like something a little different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait over 20 minutes to check in, but the owner was very charming and helpful so was forgiven. Wouldn't want it to happen again though.

    Really liked the quirkiness of the place - not a hotel that looks like any other hotel. Had all the mod cons - and a lovely little balcony off our room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    6.7
    The charm of the beautiful old building and our cozy terazza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs absolutely some refurbishing! Old worn out furniture could easily be exchanged to give a fresher impression. Old building in Spain often means bad smell from tubes,a problem on the 3rd floor.

    The charm of the beautiful old building and our cozy terazza on the 3rd floor. Good kitchen if you want to fix some food yourself. Quiet neighbourhood not too far from the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi could be faster

    Lovely place just outside historic area , part of the local community so didn't feel tourist at all yet only a few minutes walk to centre for great bars restaurants and the harbour

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    8.3
    Great value for the money, like to have a minifridge in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was two single beds jointed together with separated sheets. Need to bring your own toaletries. Also they need to invest in new toaster as the one they have take ages to make one toast :D

    Great value for the money, like to have a minifridge in the room as well as tv and wi-fi. Cosy room with everything we needed and they clean it everyday. Nice quiet part of Malaga with easy access to the centre or beach. Love the balkony and all the decor, very quirky and original :) The receptionist Lola was so sweet and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    7.5
    Traditional Spanish Villa not far from bars/restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of drains in the bathroom, but this is no fault of the owners and just seems to be common in a lot of places.

    We had the room with a terrace which was lovely. The villa was very traditional which we really liked.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    3.8
    Very bad value for money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had a really old mattress and we could not sleep properly. There was noone in the reception when we arrived, even though we had informed about our approximate arrival time. After waiting for a long time, the cleaning lady heard us and she opened the door. We had to wait for about 1 hour in total for somebody to arrive at the reception. The bathroom was inappropriate, with the basin draining water whenever we turned the tap. Bed linen and towels were rather old and really in appropriate for a guesthouse. We paid 50 euros for one night which was unacceptable for the quality of stay they are offering...

    The building is an old Villa well located near the center of Malaga. Unfortunately, it has not been properly renovated

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant quirky hotel with nice plants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is situated up a hill- not very steep and not very far but a bit of a challenge for me at the end of the day.I am 71 and have arthritis.

    The bed was large and very comfortable.We could use the kitchen facilities if we wished or have breakfast provided by them.I also liked the plants.Malaga is a very impressive city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2016

    7.9
    enjoyed it. but don't expect all mod cons or a regular hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit overpriced. just a bit.

    this place has a lot of character. one of a kind. it made me feel really good -- great, relaxed vibe. and the old villa itself (although crumbling in parts) is very beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately some of the other guests were very noisy, and therefore only had one good nights sleep out of three as the sound travelled through the walls.

    The location was excellent, very safe and quiet neighbourhood, friendly local tapas bars close by and streets safe for walking home at night. With being a little out of the town, there was very little traffic or external noise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2016

    5.0
    We loved Malaga and will definately return. Villa Alicia is ok but wasn't friendly like I imagined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cushions and piece of fabric they kept putting on the bed every day smelt of sweat and dead skin. I tried to hide them but they kept putting them back on the bed. The towels weren't changed at all in the four nights we stayed. The towels we did have were old, very worn and faded and not matching. The staff didn't chat at all. Didn't seem interested.

    The balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    7.9
    Charming old Malaga villa with Haloween fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street noise, but it was a bank holiday!,mosquito problem, a suprise in October, and an odd smell from the en suite.

    lots of character, quite charming old villa- nice local bars and good value for money.Halloween in Malaga was fun!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    5.8
    Say no to room no 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I booked I've been told that I will get a bright room with big window. When I got there I've been placed in a room with 2 little holes near the ceiling (called "Windows") and a loud squeaky bed. Say no to room no 5, it's a nightmare for claustrophobic people like me. ON THE OTHER HAND OTHER ROOMS LOOKED BEAUTIFUL AND STAFF MEMBR WERE FRIENDLY.

    Location of villa is very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    7.9
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower need an update.

    Staff can give you some information about the city. Lovely terrace to have a nice breakfast in the morning or just relax a little bit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    9.2
    Great atmosphere and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were not the best, but still ok, and the pros are making this up.

    Location, design, and the value is great for the price. Friendly english speaking stuff. Common kitchen available for use. go for the balcony, worth the extra. Would choose again next time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place with some small niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the room I was in was right by the steps and above one of the seating areas so it was quite loud. Travelling alone it also meant I didn't feel comfortable leaving the window open at night. Plug socket was behind bed.

    Nice location off the main drag. Very pretty place with a nice terrace for eating on. Nearby shops, bars and takeaway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    5.0
    Great location but very basic facilities that are over priced for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities were poor, shared bathroom had no locks and was too small, Room wasn't cleaned every day Check in time was stated from 12.30 onwards but room was not ready at 13.00 and implied that I was too early

    Location was great for visiting the old town and within walking distance of most sites

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2016

    5.8
    Not ideal in many ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Arriving late at night was not at all easy to gain access despite instructions re. keys. Unlit flights of steep stone steps were also difficult to manage. Nobody at reception until after 9 o'clock so breakfast was quite late even if you were self catering as the kitchen was also locked from 10pm-9am. Inside was rather dark and gloomy; not like the pictures which give the impression of brightness and light. Much smaller too. A good few kilometres from the centre of Malaga which often proved tedious in the heat and at night. A lot of noise from traffic in the street and the street cleaners in the early hours.

    Staff were friendly and helpful if you had a complaint. All rooms were individually decorated and most were charming. Very quiet inside no disturbance from other guests. Located in a street of similar nice villas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.2
    Short trip to Malaga
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not far away from center, a quiet place, nice and clean room with air-conditioning, special place for smokers, very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you Esther!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    7.5
    Cozy place not far from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely neighbourhood and not that far from the city center. There is a nice terrace and it was very cozy to sit there in the evening or have a breakfast. Very well organized - we informed them about our late night arrival and we got the key from the safe at the entrance with clear instructions on how to reach the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.8
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many rules in the hotel

    Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place, with a lot of character, very arty and quirky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, very quiet, room was clean, most staff were helpful, balcony was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap clean bolt hole for visiting the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was alittle sparce

    Quirky and clean. Close enough walk to shops and cafes. Traditional Spanish feel to area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Relaxed and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful house and gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay. Hasta Pronto Villa Alicia!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Home away from home. Very cozy and treated like family. Deffinately coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    5.4
    staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty bed and old sheets

    staff and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    4.6
    Very quirky place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quirky place. Breakfast is a solitary coffee machine, piece of bread and jam and butter. Oh and an orange juice. Good 10 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    Location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The two rooms without bathrooms our little noisy

    It's a converted mansion with some Style of Malaga.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and great service, clean room and perfect view! Very close to center .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not

    Breakfast delicious and good vine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful room. The place gives an authentic Spanish feeling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.5
    Nice House
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    but a bit far from center

    Nice House

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.5
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Window cannot be closed. The window was facing to other building entrance and the noise was big because of this.

    Cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    we had a fabulous stay in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    lovely staff,,very helpful and place very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    8.8
    It was brilliant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was brilliant!! Above my expectations!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Pleasant old world accommodation - well described in previous reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Slightly old fashioned character

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    6.3
    It's a very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smells

    The building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    i like villa allicia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    villa was beatiful but doors and taps were old.

    location is near to atractives of malaga.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful location. Friendly staff. Great balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: