Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Italia 4 stars

San Carlos, 13, 07157 Port d’Andratx, Spain

#2 of 6 hotels in Port d’Andratx

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Overall an enjoyable experience, but we think there are better places to stay on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The taxi drops you off in front of the hotel at street level - its a hike up two flights of steps to get to reception, and its not clear what you should do to call reception to get someone to pick up your bags. The facilities in the room were OK, but not great. We had a Royal Suite and the hanging space in the wardrobe didn't allow for knee length dresses which was a poor design feature. The bathroom is open to the bedroom, meaning little in the way of privacy and the light from the opaque windows in the bathroom floods into the bedroom in the morning, which may impact the sleep of some. We had problems with the air-conditioning and the bath taps (no cool water and then after it being "fixed" no hot water). Hopefully these will be addressed for the future. Concerns over the hygiene of some breakfast items - cheese, smoked salmon and meats not covered and flies were about. Particularly bad was a bowl of dried fruit full of fruit flies which swarmed off when approached.

    Lovely views and good location - just a short walk to the main strip of bars and restaurants. The food in the restaurant at dinner was very good and the atmosphere is very special - lovely views of the port and we had an excellent guitarist as entertainer. The staff are all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay with stunning views and relaxing ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The indoor jacuzzi is only heated during the colder months, so it was a pity that we could not enjoy it during the peak summer time. The jacuzzi can be used during summer, but the fact that the water is cold and that it's indoors makes it an unpleasant experience. The hairdryer in the bathroom and the spa bath were out of order and was not fixed during our four night stay there, despite the technician on duty having a look at it.

    Fantastic and romantic place to stay where the staff caters to your every need and where you can relax, enjoy the stunning views and just get away from it all. We got a free upgrade about which we were very excited and grateful and our stay was made memorable by all the attention to detail and incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming attitude of the staff. Our room was beautifully furnished and incredibly comfortable and the air con was a welcome relief from the humid heat outside. Breakfast is a highlight, since you get to enjoy the stunning ocean view and I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that they had no problem catering for my special dietary requirements due to my Irritable Bowel Syndrome. If you love swimming, the hotel's pool is another highlight. The turn down service at night with the complimentary bottled water every day was also appreciated. The hotel has its own private beach where you can swim and snorkel and it's very well located, since it's only a short(ish) walk away from all the best restaurants, cafes, supermarket and shops. All in all definitely your money's worth and we hope to return to stay there sometime in the future again when we can afford it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Understated, friendly luxury in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    I could not recommend Villa Italia more. Understated luxury with very comfortable, exceptionally clean facilites decorated exceptionally well. All staff, especially Rafael in reception, were very friendly and helpful and appeared to take really good care of all guests. The gardens, pool and location is perfect in beautiful Port D´Andratx and the view from the balcony and restaurant is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful views but space for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rather slow Internet, too many stairs and no Elevator (only for 1 Floor), the 'Royal Suite' was just ONE Bedroom with enough space for a Sofa (not a Suite at all), but the Balcony was spacious. Prices are quite steep, for the small room size and level or rather lack of comfort.

    Cosy place, beautiful view, excellent Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very nice. Lunch and dinner were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs over cooked for breakfast. Our superior room should of had a king size bed and Not two singles pushed together.

    Fabulous staff and fantastic setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Very restful with lovely views and all comforts. Will certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure re provision of tea / coffee making facilities in rooms some had it but ours didn't but am sure would have been sorted had we asked as nothing was too much trouble. Coffee at breakfast would have preferred cafetiere of fresh coffee.

    Location. Helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Cleanliness of rooms and all public areas. Quality of decor. Quality of food. Bathroom fittings and provisions. Wonderful views of Port . Breakfast buffet top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful views from our first floor room, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dislikes were a little noise from Reception on floor below room but nothing too terrible.

    Wonderful views from our first floor room, breakfast was plentiful and fresh with cooked options and freshly squeezed juice on offer. Staff were friendly, pool area was relaxing and general feeling of whole hotel was very chilled. Restaurant (which is run separately to the hotel) was very busy - we only ate lunch on one occasion by the pool and it was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is not the hotel for you if you have difficulty with stairs as there a quite a few here. No problem for us but I imagine it could be tricky with a pushchair. This is a very minor point though as everything was truly splendid.

    We love this hotel! It's the second time we have stayed and it was just as perfect as the last time. The staff are amazingly friendly and our room was beautiful. We stayed in one of the two Royal Suites which are very large and have private large balconies overlooking the port. The location is super convienient for walking to the port which is moments away. The pool area is small but never crowded and the food is just superb!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    great hotel, probably not worth eating there
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant was pricey and food a little bland. Breakfast good, but a poor choice of fruit and no "real" yoghurt, only Danone Obviously, as with other reviewers, there were a lot of steps (113 from the road to our room and the lift doesnt start till halfway) Staff very good and helpful No separate bar, and at weekends when restaurant is full, there is nowhere to have a drink eat 200 m down the hill where there is a plethora of restaurants (especially the ones one street behind the front)

    Location, staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Stunning location . Parking can be tricky . But if unable to park ring bell gor help at front door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is built on several levels . Not a place for those with any mobility issues . Just one small lift between reception and first floor level so you must be prepared for dealing with plenty of stairs everyday . Cleaners are great but early each day to get in and clean etc often knocking doors by 9am for access . A bit too early when on holiday.

    Stunning location . Well run . Very helpful staff .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was not great for such an expensive hotel. Cheap orange juice and yogurt, poor selection of pastries. No "real coffee".

    Excellent location, some lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Elegant repose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were a lot of steps, my husband had just had a knee op but being younger we were okay - not sure about others who may be less nimble. But there is a lift

    Well managed and beautifully appointed hotel. Very restful stay and lovely guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much could have been better for us but if you have mobility issues this is not the place for you, unfortunately. There are a lot of steps which can't be avoided despite a chairlift to Reception level and another lift which only partially takes steps out of the equation.

    Peaceful atmosphere in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel.

    Hotel Villa Italia is a lovely place to stay. Facilities were superb, very comfortable. Breakfasts delicious. Very close to sea, restaurants, bars all within walking distance. Will visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Friendly staff made such a difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The friendliness of the staff from the front desk and in the restaurant to the girl who cleaned the room was exceptional. The hotel is lovely and the views from our room fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good (coffee especially) we had lunch one day and dinner another, both meals were excellent. The view from our room was spectacular, can't fault anything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Spectacular location but needs tweaks here and there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The construction of the hotel into the hillside made it tiresome and difficult getting to our room which was at the top tier having to use 4 flights of stairs (and outside so if it rains you get wet!) because there is no lift. This was especially difficult carrying suitcases! Meals in the hotel were expensive and menu not inspiring so we tended to eat out at the other many restaurants along the waterside. The outdoor pool was very cold and in the shade most of the time so this needs to be reviewed as no other guests used the pool at all the during the 6 nights we were there. No car parking facilities which we understand is difficult due to the hotel location but nevertheless still a problem. The only other bug bear was we were told because there was a wedding, the restaurant would be closed that evening. So guests having paid full whack to stay at the hotel have to eat elsewhere ? Not good or professional ! Rooms need a nespresso coffee machine if this is to be a 5 star hotel.

    Wonderful location with panoramic views of the sea and marina. Hotel decor and ambiance was attractive, comfortable and appealing. Staff were very attentive and accommodating. Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful. Very clean with fresh aromas left behind by cleaning staff. Rooms were comfortable and views from balcony were amazing. Complimentary fresh fruit bowl available poolside on a daily basis.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Amazing Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    service sometimes in the reception - but restaurant staff were fantastic.

    Everything! such a good stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    the food and staff were 5 star we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lift from top to bottom . Not good for people 70 years plus.

    staff where great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic can’t wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are hard work!

    A lot of steps difficult for people with mobility issues. Fantastic views and location . Staff amazingly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Excellent - perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints excellen

    I have food allergies and they never prepared anything that I could not have. Attention to details was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Wonderful Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant position as able to walk into Andraix. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position and amazing staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Bathrooms dirty mould on floor of shower and basin food very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms dirty mould on floor of shower and basin food very expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    A hotel with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    View was immense

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great views, but be prepared for lots of steps to upper rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number of steps we climbed to room 225

    Staff, cleanliness and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    A lot of stairs to be taken if travelling with small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs to be taken if travelling with small children or elderly travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Excellent half board option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside service

    Excellent half board option

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.5
    Spectacular views of the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 128 steps to our room

    The view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    '
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps up to the room . 110 to the bedroom we were in

    Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds joined together

    Every meal was delicious, amazing location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    The position of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The steps! Lots of them. You need to be fit.

    The position of the hotel. It's just out of the main part of the town so no noise but still near enough to walk down to the see front.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    Stunning views from the sea view rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV - only 2 entertainment channels in English. (14 in German - how can this be proportionate?). Told the hotel I would love to return, but they will need to improve the TV situation - important for a solo traveller. Lots of steps - not suitable if this is a problem.

    Stunning views from the sea view rooms. Great food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner). Also took the Sunday lunch - just superb. Staff fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 204A bathroom floor very dangerous when even small amounts of water present larger shower mat required Wash basin not very practical

    Staff very friendly and helpfull Marter on reception especially helpfull Food and dining room service very good

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Location beautiful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of steps but we are pre warned on website ! Only thing I could improve on is the pillows. The bar / sitting area is a little dark and bland - it could be a more welcoming area. Seems a missed opportunity in such a stunning location.

    Location beautiful .Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    10
    Lovely location, friendly staff, spacious well equipped room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Only gripe for me was no tea making facility in the room, but that's a British 'issue' not a hotel problem.

    Lovely location, friendly staff, spacious well equipped room, beautiful view, restaurant food exquisite.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    Location, Views, Quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Suite - isn't really its a suite - It was two bedrooms ( one set up as a lounge, but with the single beds still in it) with a corridor between them.

    Location, Views, Quiet room

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    everything was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool was too cold;shame really, as I love swimming and we stayed for 4 nights.Also, the spa pool was also very cold-I was informed that this was because of 'bacteria'-however I am sure that you would actually see guests using water facilities if the temperature was raised!

    everything was just perfect.Location,room,staff,food

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel in a very quiet location but within easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel in a very quiet location but within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The staff in this hotel go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. There are quite a few steps here which we did not find a problem but less mobile people might. However, the views are well worth the effort.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The peace and quiet and the view over Port D'Andratx...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peace and quiet and the view over Port D'Andratx were fabulous. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We loved the stairs that so many other visitors didn't, it adds to the character.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    It's the best hotel in the fairly small, but lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service from staff is very hit and miss. The lady on the front desk on the last day was so helpful. Others were unhelpful.

    It's the best hotel in the fairly small, but lovely, port of d'Antraitx. Love the location. An old building with contemporary decor, so quite charming.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    This is a lovely, relaxing and peaceful hotel with wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a specific table for my Birthday dinner overlooking the port and when we arrived for the meal, we were told the table was no longer available for us to sit at - this was dissapointing but not as disappointing as the reaction to whom we think was the Restaurant Manager. He asked why we had to have that specific table and he suggested a table in the back corner. We actually left and didn't eat there in the end as we were not happy with how he treated us. He was the only person in the whole hotel who we experienced this with, everyone else was absolutely fantastic.

    This is a lovely, relaxing and peaceful hotel with wonderful views and an excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    The views from the bed straight out onto the bay and from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to the rooms was through the eating area which could be a bit offputting at times.

    The views from the bed straight out onto the bay and from the rooftop solarium were amazing. Very friendly staff and lovely location.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    9.6
    Large room overlooking the port, lots of light, very quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was uncomfortable but manager says new bed has been installed so when you visit, it will be better.

    Large room overlooking the port, lots of light, very quiet, super staff, great breakfast on sunny terrace with water views

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Room was quite small but adequate fo a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite small but adequate fo a short stay. A lot of stairs

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice indoor spa but water too cold

    excellent location very comfortable room with great views terrific staff always ready to help

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    We loved the customer service, Oscar and Marta were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the customer service, Oscar and Marta were exceptional and made us feel like at home. The setting and the food was also very nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    the staff were amazingly helpful
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the staff were amazingly helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Great location and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and good food

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location , very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was perfect

    Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location , very friendly helpful staff. Vey clean and extremely relaxing . Can't wait to return

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    The ambience and the dining experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only a good trip , no complaints.

    The ambience and the dining experience.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff, good and comfort of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steps!!!

    Staff, good and comfort of rooms.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: