Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Real 5 stars

Plaza de las Cortes, 10, Madrid City Centre, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#84 of 351 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1181 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.0
    Don't start all that lark!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Don't start all that lark. Where are the keys to the Lorry? I'm trying to get on and you took my clean pants Really really luvly it was

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Hilarious throwing pancakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Yes they all danced when the singer was there and had a real giggle at the red haired man in the swimming trunks but stopped when he started to cry I wouldn't have thrown the pancakes but it was hilarious when it landed on her head!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Location was fantastic right in the heart of Madrid and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite we were in needed more sound proofing as we had a man next door who was obviously working and spent all night on his phone, presumably to someone in a different time zone, the walls were not thick enough.

    Location was fantastic right in the heart of Madrid and close to the museums and shops. Staff were so helpful any time we asked for anything. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    great location , but not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the hotel looked tired and not a 5 star hotel that was advertised, the safe was very difficult to use, we had a limit of two coffee pods and milks a day, the lifts felt old and unsafe . just looked a little run down

    A nice location , a good view from the room, a decent sized room and lots of space , close to the local bars and restaurants, also close to the main shops and tourist areas ,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    We opted for a suite on the 5th floor so had a 2 level room with a terrace. Outstanding room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceeded our expectations in every way.

    Beautiful hotel conveniently located a few blocks from the Prado Museum and other key Madrid sites. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Left luggage ina taxi which was never returned and hence reduced length of my stay in spain. I would advise to always book taxi through hotel and take the name of driver and the firm should anything happen.

    Location super and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location, close to everything, with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exceptionally expensive breakfast which (my own fualt) I had thought was included in the price when I booked creaky floorboard and leaky shower in the room - not good for a supposedly 5 star hotel The hotel was really lovely and we had a great stay but compared with other 5 star hotels I have stayed in this was not quite as sumptious

    Brilliant location, close to everything, with lots of restaurants within a few minutes walk helpful staff large comfortable room Excellent in room air conditioning Good breakfast, both buffett and hot served meal to order

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Utter disappointment. I would Rate this hotel 2-3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and unfriendly staff. We had to beg to have cofffee sachets in the morning because we have booked via booking.com, which does not include coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Should have been 5* but due to poor organisation/work being carried out at the hotel it disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were doing building improvements so there was a temporary reception with no welcome drink as suggested as the water jugs were empty (the welcome drink was water!) No welcome bottle of water/wine in the room. The bar within the building was also closed, half the hotel was out of use. When paying for 5* you at least expect to be told this in advance. They also put all families together at one end of the hotel (I think), we had babies at either side of us so didn’t get much sleep - they could have planned sleeping arrangements better. I have young kids too so it’s not the fault of the family, babies cry, but it would have been good to spread us out a bit.

    Staff were good. Room was nice and perfect location. The pool at the sister hotel was wonderful (as was the Urban hotel, wish I’d stayed there).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great spot, just be careful to request a room fronting on the plaza and not on the air shaft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the front of the building faces a fascinating plaza, the rear is basically an air shaft, and our room was at the lowest floor in the corner. For us the interior of the room was great, but the exterior was not. Also, the room proved to be noisy with sound from the neighbors coming through the floor and wall. Be sure to ask for a "room with a view".

    This hotel is in the perfect location to explore Madrid. Nearby is the Prado Museum, and you can easily walk to all the interesting plazas and neighborhoods.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Location was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was by far the noisiest hotel I’ve stayed in. My son had a room above the garages... he had zero sleep! I was next to the gym in an upgraded room because my original room had no internet...and also next to laundry! Be aware that the pool is not on site and the terrace is on the outdoor public area where kids jump their skateboards! Not a 4 Star by any means.

    Location was ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel! Would be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear some noises coming from the neighboring rooms and the corridor.

    The cleanliness. The location. The staff. The value for money and The complimentary champagne in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was not working properly. It didn't receive all the advertised channels which was a shame. They should publicize, more, the fact that the streets around it's immediate area are all banned to normal traffic, although it doesn't seem so if you can't speak Spanish! They will, however, contact the local authorities to ensure you do not get a fine.

    Nice room with a comfortable bed. The secure overnight parking rate is very reasonable given the on street prices in that area of the city. All the other little touches in the room were what you would expect from a top rated hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say there’s a pool, but you must walk 100m down the road to the sister hotel to a pool that’s about 6m long with only 3 sun chairs. Not great really.

    Clean rooms, great location. We got two connecting rooms which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel in the heart of Madrid. The staff were so helpful and friendly! The room was incredible with a super comfortable bed. Would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The location and the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many things: It was undergoing renovation and there was no indication of how to get it Despite advertising a restaurant it was closed for August - not mentioned on website The bar was closed The swimming pool, despite being listed on the lift as on the 6th did not exist, the pool or a 6th floor there was only 5 floors The lounge was a building site No one told us the pool was in another hotel 200 yards up the road Breakfast was €50 for the 2 of us when you could get the same for €20 100 yards away. It is not a 5 star hotel

    The location and the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    TERRIBLE. Go to Vincci Soho up the road instead. Did a night there and magical experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for four nights. Room very standard like three star hotels we have stayed in. Front desk extremely rude and dismissive towards us. The most overpriced food and drink you could imagine 10euros for two cups of tea at the hotel restaurant. The gym is tiny and limited. They advertised they had a pool and they do not it is an uphill walk to another hotel to use the pool which is very different to having one yourself. The bath and shower pressure is sporadic and sometimes a drip. Also we spent the night getting woken up by a person trying to open the connecting door between our room and his room and being very noisy and banging and on it yelling. The lifts feel like they are about to crap out and jolt terribly are also tiny. On the upside it's very quiet in a nice square and good location. However one night a roof top bar beside us kept us up all night. What really got us down is the rude service and overpriced drinks.

    Location was really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    I like the hotel and will recommend to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    network, WIFI is not good, speed is slow.

    Great location, easy to access all the good site seeing location and a lot of restaurants nearby. Room is nice, clean and good size. Very nice staff, and lobby with ice water and candies.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a central location, we loved every bit of our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, but it could have been a bonus if the swimming pool would be in the same building.

    Rooms are super clean, spacious and nicely decorated. We had a nice view with big windows which you could open. The staff at the hotel is extremely nice and helpful and the location of the hotel is excellent! We really loved our stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, really comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit outdated decor. First room provided hadn’t been cleaned. The mini-bar contents of the second room provided had been tampered with. Rooms aren’t soundproof. Staff were knocking on the door from 8:30am on the day of checkout (not great when I’d been at a festival the previous night and didn’t get in until the early hours of the morning). Advised that I’d have to call concierge on the day of checkout to see if late checkout was possible. The phone didn’t work down to reception to confirm this. Another staff member knocked on the door after securing late checkout to check on the mini-bar items well before agreed late checkout time.

    Great location, really comfortable bed and pillows. Fantastic view. Provided upgraded room in response to first room being dirty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located in Madrid for visiting...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located in Madrid for visiting tourist sites. The staff are really helpful. This is our third stay in the hotel and we will return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was located at sister property around the block. Room furniture was a bit dated and not very functional.

    Great location. Very helpful staff. Two story room with two bathrooms for four of us fit our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is in a great location but could use changes in sound proofing rooms & shower cubicle door
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms was very audible. The shower design, with a half glass door, doesn’t keep you warm during the shower & doesn’t prevent the bathroom floor from getting wet all over.

    Its location was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location is fantastic Neat place They kindly agreed to change the room to a better view with no additional charge They also agreed to keep the luggage till we come back They have coffee machine and we ask for a boiler and they brought it The business lounge downstair is good for work, they offer free juice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great rooms, new furniture and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the stairs in the lobby so we had to carry the baby stroller every time we use the elevators.

    the location and the plaza in front of the hotel. the staff they gave us great restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    a well-situated five star hotel; very good value, and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sofa bed (which the children slept on) is not very comfortable.

    The suite is on two levels and has a balcony, which is a nice extra. Also, there are two bathrooms, one on each level. The staff are very helpful and professional. An excellent hotel, and perfectly situated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, helpful staff, 2 bathrooms between the three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space for suitcase in bedroom at upper level, very small.

    Great location, helpful staff, 2 bathrooms between the three of us was very convenient, terrace was great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good for the price we paid. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit shabby (chipped and stained tiles etc). Could do with a revamp. Gym was a disgrace. Exterior of hotel very shabby. Breakfast room was extremely cold on two of our four mornings. Breakfast overall was excellent but freezing room was very uncomfortable. We had booked a double room and received a twin room. Beds would not stay together. Not good enough.

    Very good value for money overall. The bed was extremely comfortable. The most comfortable I’ve ever slept on. The breakfast staff and food were excellent The porters were very helpful. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    This Hotel should not be a five star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel should not be a five star hotel. Did not have a room with air conditioning. Rooms were ugly, one of the bead sheets were stained. I would give the hotel a 2 stars at best. The only good thing about it is the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful immaculate professional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the workman making noise in the morning but not the hotels fault and the room was very hot at night.

    Everything. Stunning hotel in excellent location within walking distance to Retiro Park and all main attractions. Professional friendly helpful staff. Always ready to help. Lovely large 2 floor room with excellent shower and 2 sinks in the bathroom. Complimentary drinks and sweets at reception. Comfy bed and lovely bedding and perfect towels. White company toiletries. Beautiful decor. Immaculate room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the pillows and the sofa were very comfortable. There were double sinks and a bidet in the bathroom. The mosaics displayed in the hotel were very beautiful. The hotel is very close to many tourist attractions, especially to the art museums. The breakfast was simply delicious. The eggs were cooked to order. We also enjoyed looking at works of art while having breakfast. The lobby is very close to the pick up area for taxis and cars and it was easy for us to locate the drivers. Check in and check out was very smooth. Requests were attended to very promptly. We liked the expresso machine and a kettle was provided for us when we asked for it and we were also given teabags.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    In over all it is nice hotel with excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the room size and in room stairs, the breakfast not a 5 * hotel variety and level. The hotel lobby is very small You should expect 4 stars level

    It’s historical building with excellent location, the reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Quick museum visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was useless and too small to call a gym . TV could not be watched from the bed

    Great location and comfortable room/bed. Rooms were old fashioned with steps to a lounge area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Negatives outweigh the positives
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as advertised booked a split level room, 416 looked like a box room at the end of the corridor next to fire exit without a split level. Problems with the room safe looked like Del Boy had sold the hotel it in the late 80s (not great as it took 3 times to report before it was fixed 90 minutes lost on my 1st night) No kettle/tea or coffee in the room Gym was small free weights 2 static bikes 1 cross trainer more than 3 people in there would be uncomfortable. 5* hotel maybe 20/25 years ago but now more like a 3* hotel desperate for a make over.

    Location centre of Madrid could not fault Space to place clothes coat hangers a plenty, multiple draws.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    Close to the main city square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not a five star hotel as advertised, There is no real value for the money being charged. I will not go back to this hotel. The in room dining menu selection was shocking and the quality of the food was not good.

    Close to the main city square

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Quite clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does not have steam room and outdoor swimming pool. Breakfast was ok, not big variety. Hotel looks quite old but ok.

    Quite clean. Excellent location. If you need to be in the center of madrid, i can recommend you. if you need luxury hotel, choose another one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.2
    Ok but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights were not working in my room. The manager told me no solution is available other than to stay until next day morning !! Also facility is old

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    Staff at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is amazing as well as the collection of antique mosaics and vases fit for a museum. Location is superb. If I come to Madrid again, I will definitelly stay at the Villa Real Hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    comvenient and pleasant hotel to look around Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing special

    The location is excellent to look around the city by walk or Metro. Taxi is always waiting in front of the hotel, so there was no hustle to hail taxi at exact time to get to the airport upon departure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for art gallery triangle and park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat staid and didn't especially like split level room, with space around the bed a bit tight. Decor of rooms rather gloomy.

    The staff were particularly helpful when I left my phone in the cab on arrival at 1am and also assisted with an insurance claim when I didn't recover my phone. As I am a light sleeper and affected by traffic noise they allowed us to swap rooms to one with an interior view which was very quiet. They made no fuss at all doing this which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Good central location, helpful friendly staff, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleep disturbed by other residents talking and listening to music at night.

    Very comfortable room, well appointed. Staff extremely helpful and courteous. Good location for walking to sightseeing locations such as bars, restaurants, parks and historic buildings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Well located hotel with large rooms available at reasonable cost given hotel rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi performance was patchy

    Location. 10 minutes from Retiro Park in one direction and same to Plaza Mayor in the other. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large duplex rooms available also with terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Most delightful stay in Madrid Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    l was 3 hours early but was given a room right away. The room had a balcony and was ample inside, with a little sitting area. Location was excellent and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was also delicious and l will not hesitate to recommend the hotel . Taxi rank right outside the hotel ready to take me to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Our stay at the hotel could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was perfect for my needs and budget. Staff was very helpful. Excellent value. Collection of ancient mosaics and urns was sensational.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    First class hotel right in the heart of Old Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff here! They take those extra steps to really make you feel welcome and at ease. Wonderful location too, close to Prado,lots of good cafes & bars and Atocha train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Walk to nearby Prado, Thysen and Rena-Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was grreat.

    Great value for a 5 star hotel close to all sights and transport links. Breakfast was amazing value also with fantastic freshness and presentation. Complimentary cocktail when we arrived was a great gift. PJ & Una

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in central Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is well situated and has a wonderful facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar served excellent food. It is just a short walk to museums and many restaurants serving a great variety of food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff and location. Worth the price point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are noisy when shutting so hard to sleep and bathrooms need an upgrade.

    The hotel front desk staff was incredible. They were friendly and offered incredible restauTant recommmendations. My little group is high maintenance and they bent over backwards to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Villa Real surpassed my expectations!
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    Love this hotel! The location is wonderful. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, well appointed and had enough outlets. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant dining room and it was delicious. My granddaughter is vegan and the staff brought her almond milk and vegan cereal (without any reminders) in addition to all the delicious fruit at the buffet. I hope to return to Madrid and certainly would stay at Hotel Villa Real.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay and looking forward to the next
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast orders were often wrong as they weren't written down.

    Very welcoming staff who are always happy to help. Great variety of great quality food at breakfast. Spacious and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Staff were excellent, location was excellent, the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were excellent, location was excellent, the facilities weren't great and quite misleading you have to walk up the road to use the swimming pool and gym in the other hotel which is very small. The pictures make it look like the pool is actually part of the hotel. The hotel was old fashioned, not a problem but did not warrant the 5 star. as a frequent traveller this does not live up to 5 star it would be a good 4 star. The sister hotel however 'Urban' where you use the swimming pool is a 5 star

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    Hotel DOES NOT HAVE A POOL. information was wrong in Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no pool in the hotel. Despite booking web site says it does. There is a pool service you can acces in ANOTHER hotel three blocks from this one. A real miss from Booking.com. Make sure you provide accurate information about thehotel. Then to Contact a human being by phone took ages!! A long wait for a nothing because the problem was not solved. First time disappointed by Booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Short and comfortable stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a 'room with a balcony', got a loft suite with balcony. The upstairs bedroom was small and the staircase leading to it extremely narrow.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Madrid short stay to get too final destination (!e) Alicante region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar could be open a little later.no pool on premises we thought Thier was supposed tobe one on site had to use a pool a walk away at a sister hotel not ideal.

    Good central location.very good food from the bar.all hotel staff very helpful, and very knowledgeable about places to visit and how to get Thier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel had placed small things that made us feel special. For example placing a personal welcome card in the room. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were large and with everything that made the stay enjoyable. Location is fantastic.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    So good when a hotel is even better than remembered from before
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can think of.

    From porter meeting us on arrival by car, welcome at reception, complimentary drink, immaculately prepared and comfortable rooms and beds to delicious breakfast, the Villa Real was a perfect place for us in Madrid. We had last stayed many years ago and it was as good or better than before. We plan to use other hotels in the Derby group as they are all pet friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice rooms and staff, but poor facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and gym were very poor and should not be advertised. The pool was actually located at a diffferent hotel. Overall cannot be considered a 5 star hotel.

    The staff and the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is basic ! And the swimming pool is not in the building but in a more modern hotel 200m away.

    Friendly and competent staff Great location near Prado Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Great Location, Very Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Consider if you want to add money for breakfast. At first they wanted an extra 26.50 Euros per person per day but when we got to the hotel they offered breakfast for our 4 day stay at 16.50 per day per person if we committed to the entire stay. We did and it was convenient but be advised that the meal is rather modest and with the exact same menu everyday.

    The location is perfect for seeing the city- right near the museums and also close to the city center. The reception staff were all extra helpful and very friendly. The room was actually two rooms - a bedroom and sitting area. Public transportation is close by, as well as the bus shuttle to the airport. We were very happy with our selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like a shower in the bath.

    The location was great. So close to restaurants, tour buses and the hustle and bustle but far enough away to be away from the noise. The staff really helpful, polite and very friendly. The room was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel overall, very good breakfast, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel overall, very good breakfast, friendly and hihgly qualified staff. The Rooms are old fashioned in style but give charming feel to the hotel. Rooms are spacious and have a proper sofa to sit down and watch tv. Prado and other major museums just few hundred meters away....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Good but no five star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was advertised as a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ hotel....... it was not. Although the hotel was comfortable it is very tired. It needs a complete makeover. Most especially the corridors to the rooms. The bedroom themselves are clean but need an uplift. Very dull and old fashioned. This is the only five star hotel I know that if you would like a swim you are sent on a walk around the corner to the sister hotel.... which on a short visit seemed like what I expect from a five. Star facility. A strange set up. Did I enjoy my stay yes. Was I disappointed in the hotel...a little.

    I really liked the location of the hotel. Very central to the cultural district of Madrid. Hotel staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location and rood-top pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't that great, bed wasn't comfortable and I couldn't find a pillow that suited.

    This is a city centre hotel, and is priced accordingly. Our friends were staying across the road and we took the cheaper option. There is a roof-top pool around the corner at a sister hotel, which was a god send as it was 40 degrees. The aircon worked well, which was essential.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Anniversary stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only facility available to change before leaving for airport was the large disabled bathroom on the ground floor.

    Very comfortable bed, lovely terrace with good view, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great experience, amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    PERFECT location. Access to everything , especially if you like to walk. Staff was great and helpful. Rooms were wonderful. You can't get better in our opinion, we were able to get to everything. The Prado is steps away and restaurants were close so we walked every night. The staff were on the spot. When we made a request, someone was at our door within in two minutes. I would HIGHLY recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rated as a 5 star, but really it should only be a 3-1/2-4 star. Tiny ants in the bathroom, ceiling crumbling where the A/c unit is. The doorman is hardly ever at the door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.5
    Location! Staff! Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great Location near Prado Museam. But in the same time - quite. Nice room with a sofa and TV on the first floor and bed and private terrace on the second floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Good not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At some time in the more distant past this may have been a 5⭐️ hotel, but not so much today. Facilities are a bit worn and things just aren't put together well.

    Location and staff Quiet in spite of the central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfy Stay in a marvellous property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Break fast spread in terms of hot food could have been better. Actually the whole spread was cold breakfast and hot items you need to order. At least items like hot porridge, baked beans and stuff like that would have been better. Beverage served is only coffee. They should have further choice like hot chocolate, tea etc.

    It was overall a very good experience. Staff were extremely friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite warm in Madrid the days I was there, but air conditioning for the building had not been turned on. I had a similar problem in a hotel in Palma Mallorca.

    Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exercise facilities limited. Bar not very large. Room a bit noisy and no carpeting.

    Staff was wonderful and accommodating, and arranged delivery of a package without a hitch. Breakfast delightful, perfectly presented and attended to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    2.5
    DO NOT STAY HERE - TRUE REVIEW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DONT STAY HERE. I couldn't be more disatisfied. Worst value for your money. Dont fool yourself by the 30 to 50% discount offers. First point: Its definetelly not a 5 star hotel. Maybe not even a 3 star hotel. Second: i ve never seen a front desk clerk (one old guy that tought he own the hotel himself) so impolite, rude and full of himself. Definitely doesnt know how to treat a costumer, or to provide any kind of decent service that looks like a 5 star service. I wish i had got the name of this gentleman, but unfortunatelly i forgot. Anyway was the one that was at the front desk on May 4th, 2017, around 4pm. Third they placed me in the wrong room. I had payed for the superior and the placed me in the regular one. I didnt notice in the beginning. If i hadnt complained i would have paid more and received less. Bottom line, if u re staying in a 5 star hotel on ur vacations, u re at least expecting a 5 star treatment as well. In this case i was surprised negativelly by the worst service i have ever witnessed. DONT STAY HERE.

    DONT STAY HERE. I couldn't be more disatisfied. Worst value for your money. Dont fool yourself by the 30 to 50% discount offers. First point: Its definetelly not a 5 star hotel. Maybe not even a 3 star hotel. Second: i ve never seen a front desk clerk (one old guy that tought he own the hotel himself) so impolite, rude and full of himself. Definitely doesnt know how to treat a costumer, or to provide any kind of decent service that looks like a 5 star service. I wish i had got the name of this gentleman, but unfortunatelly i forgot. Anyway was the one that was at the front desk on May 4th, 2017, around 4pm. Third they placed me in the wrong room. I had payed for the superior and the placed me in the regular one. I didnt notice in the beginning. If i hadnt complained i would have paid more and received less. Bottom line, if u re staying in a 5 star hotel on ur vacations, u re at least expecting a 5 star treatment as well. In this case i was surprised negativelly by the worst service i have ever witnessed. DONT STAY HERE.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Perfect location for exploring on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a perfect location to explore Madrid on foot. The room was spacious and clean with a lovely view. The staff was helpful when we arrived with our rental car. Someone parked the car for us and retrieved it when we checked out. Museums were a short walk and so were restaurants, parks and other points of of interest. If we return to Madrid, my husband and I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning during 2 days. Serius problem, because the room was quite hot, and we had dificult sleeping. Not expecting that of a 5 Star.

    Great location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Great Madrid family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    The family room was perfect for our family with two kids ages 11 and 14. Loved the terrace and also having two bathrooms was a big plus. The staff was exceptionally helpful more so than most places and they spoke English. Front desk Guillermo and Soraya were particularly helpful .

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: