Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mir Octavio 4 stars

San Bernardo, 1, 11207 Algeciras, Spain

#7 of 20 hotels in Algeciras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1946 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff was nice as the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit strange. I mean the neighborhood was a bit odd.

    The staff was nice as the hotel. By the hotel there was the bus station cafe which was nice and cheap

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Very large and comfy room, excellent breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood scruffy (but not dangerous), 15 minutes' walk to nearest acceptable restaurants

    Very large and comfy room, excellent breakfast, very convenient underground car park with direct access to the hotel. Very convenient for people switching between trains, buses and ferries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Literally on top of the bus station so a great launch point...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a bit sketchy. I wouldn't feel comfortable walking at night.

    Literally on top of the bus station so a great launch point for a trip to Gilbratar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and fittings were a bit dated and shower head was broken so had to be pushed back together every now and then The location isn’t in a very nice area, quite run down and ugly. It’s directly next to the bus station though so if that’s your only reason for staying it would be perfect.

    Comfortable bed and clean room Well equipped Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel ( at least the guy working 21-22/8) could not speak English very well- asked twice for the table lamp that was missing - did not get it .. asked to freeze the freezer briquettes he said he could do that - just put them in the refrigerator .. if it is the 4 stars hotel - should be better level of English in the reception .. the bathroom was not renovated in a while - very old plumbing .. could say it was a 3-stars hotel , but no way it is worth 4 stars! No way we will stay there again ..

    Good breakfast, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good breakfast - worth 7 Euro !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast - worth 7 Euro ! The parking garage is below the hotel- but do not forget to book the place, as the hotel only has certain amount of spots. Spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    The proximity to the Bus and Train and Ferry Ports Transfer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough blankets on the bed.

    The proximity to the Bus and Train and Ferry Ports Transfer stations were perfect distance. Train station and bus station right beside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly located for the bus station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little far from the beaches & town centre is difficult to locate !

    Very spacious modern rooms , extremely quiet and very safe for solo female travellers . The female receptionist was very helpful and accommodating .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Horrible !
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst hotel experience ever , the personnal in the lobby are totally unprofessional I booked a disabled person room they we're unable to deliver it , and the only answer is "we give you , your money back , as mike after 20 hours of road I had to look for another hotel with my family , I travel ofren this is the only time I had a such horrible experience , the personnal had to find me another room in another hotel not to only say me "if you are not happy , get out" , never again this crappy place !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Definitely not a 4 star hotel. A mild 3 star with uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very odd layout of wardrobes. Extremely noisy location as it is behind a bus station, even with windows closed, a lot of noise from bus engines running, reversing and announcements. There was a lot of noise from plumbing and floors above when somebody flushed or walked. Parking is not free, and the p4ocess of having a refundable ticket is very inconvenient. Breakfast service starts too late (0730) and is very slow, with food running out quucker then what they could refill. Scrambled eggs were watery instead of creamy. Hotel entrance feels like an office building rather than a hotel. Slow checkin process. Inconvenient wifi ticket process, they only provide 1 or 2 day pass, and you need to keep reconnecting.

    Room size was good, it is a central location for Tarifa, Bolonia and Gibraltar. Fruits in breakfast were good and availability of hot milk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Like Cuba, now is the time to visit, and this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Single Occupancy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch out for the touts in the surrounding area.

    Great location, wonderful staff.This is a choice hotel for those who prefer something a bit different from the everyday aircon sterile ho-hum. The building is situated in the scruffiest most interesting area in this rundown city that is undergoing development into another Gold Coast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Expensive , poor location unless you need the train station and out dated decor and structure !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking - Receptionist was friendly but wanted to charge me £15 for parking when it was for free behind the hotel !!! Located in bust street with no temp parking .Out dated building in need of renovation ! Expensive for the quality and also Algeciras is a poor town so this is expensive !!! Breakfast finished too early so was inconvenient !

    Receptionist was friendly but wanted to charge me £15 for parking when it was for free behind the hotel !!! Nothing note worthy as a positive !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    If you need to stay in Algeciras this is the best place to choose
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception 24/7 very multilingual, very helpful! Breakfast for 7 euros exceptional value, well presented and unlimited. Tidy rooms and more than you would expect for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    the location , decoration of room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room on the ground floor has the mosquito and humidity problem, which is common for ground floor around that area.

    the location , decoration of room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is right near to bus station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right near to bus station. The room was nice and comfortable. The staff was very polite. There is a bar in the hotel were we could drink a good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Value for money for its location and clealiness. Service standard of the coffeeshop can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff are overall of good attitude. Particularly a male staff Fabriazio who was patient,professional and calm in attending to the customers. The management of the hotel kindly treat him well as he is an asset to your Hotel. He was also helpful to point us to a nice restaurant for dinner although the restaurant did not serve paella as we were hoping to eat. The coffeehouse where we had our breakfast was a let down. Limited food choice and the staff had no smiles on their faces. should be a bit more cheerful when doing customer service. Overall a good hotel for the condition of the room, which is clean and tidy. Basic amenities are available. Location is definitely a plus where one can catch their daily shuttle bus to Tarifa (30min) or Gilbraltar (40min) as it is almost adjacent to a bus and train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have two motorbikes that together fit in one parking spot. We had to pay twice though.

    Very nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Spacious room, clean, good bed. Good breakfast. Parking garage available. Nice place to stay if you want to go to Gibraltar, bus to Gibraltar is right next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower bed sheet did not fit bed. Above bus station so a little noisy. Not close to main food areas although hotel had food choices.

    Large comfortable room and bathroom. Good lighting with bedside lights. Small balcony with table and chairs. Excellent breakfast. Good wifi. Very convenient to bus and train station. Suited us for short visit to Gibralter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Fine for a one night stop over. Clean & spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a four star. A solid 3 star for sure. Very old hotel that looks like the are starting to do some updates. Breakfast didn't have warmers for the eggs, bacon ect, so they were ice cold when we arrived.

    Great location so a one night stop over before grabbing a ferry to Morocco. Walking distaff to everything. Room was spacious & clean. Little noisy due to having our balcony over the bus station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Two night stay which suited our travel itinerary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we did not like.

    Excellent location next to bus and train stations. Comfortable clean room. Good value for money. Easy to access Gibraltar and train to Cordoba

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Proximity from train and buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity from train and buses. Staff, Antonio was super!! Very helpful, personable, awesome attitude. Just a lovely person. We wanted to take him home with us!! 😉

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    After a stressful night of arriving from the Tanger Morocco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a stressful night of arriving from the Tanger Morocco ferry, we arrived very late for a place to rest our heads til we had to travel again in the morning to Madrid. Convenient location (extremely close to Algeciras port & right across the street from the train station!), great value for the room, concierges were friendly and very helpful, rooms were clean & comfortable with great amenities, and breakfast was phenomenal (food temperature was perfect, fruit was fresh & orange juice was refreshing). I would definitely stay here again if I were ever in town ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, clean, modern hotel well located for transport system - rail, bus and ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't really fault anything. Good prices and a fair deal. Thanks.

    Nice rooms, very pleasant. Well located hotel near bus and train connections and within walking distance of the Ferry Port to Ceuta and Tanger.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was just perfect , the location , the atmosphere, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just perfect , the location , the atmosphere, the view from my window and the service . It was flawless I wanted to stay but I will return and I would stay no where else .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean and decent place for a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is just by the bus station. No free parking. Working restaurants, cafes and shops are not very close.

    Clean and decent place for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    very good location and nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is working but sometimes I don't know how to control to let it stop in my floor.

    The location is very good, just beside the bus station and near the train station, not far away from the port. Nice seaside view at the balcony in room and it's spacious. The coffee in the breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, convenient place for a transit stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would loved to have had coffee/tea making equipment provided in room.

    For easy access to bus and train the hotel is great. Had two nights most comfortable stay. Fridge in room very handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free kettle. 5 euros. Breakfast was quite dissapointing

    Overall good.frienly. room was spacious.very Clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean ans large

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    The facilities such a bed and cupboards were good, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by car just after 9 pm. The was a Young lady at the reception/check counter in while another couple was checking in and another waiting behind us. Then the confusion began about where to park the car, no space in their undergroiund carpark we were told, but for EUR 16 per day we could use the parking lot next door. This meant driving around a block of buildings and then to find that the gate to the parking lot did not open. So back to the receptionist who was not really helpful, but another guest told us that there was a parking lot across the road. The solution to our problem after three quarters of an hour. I suggest the Hotel should have another staff member on standby when there are more guests arriving.

    The facilities such a bed and cupboards were good, the location is great and in spite of being Close to the Harbour and bus Station very quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Conveneint location and quite and comfortable but restaurants here seem pretty average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaking toilet

    Location at bus station was what we took advantage of to travel to Gibraltar. Easy secure parking under hotel. Breakfast was convenient for us but bacon and eggs were not kept hot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover - convenient for port and rail station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - bedroom lighting a bit subtle

    Very close to rail station, convenient for port, clean, well designed, excellent bathroom, balcony, efficient check-in, pleasant town with local shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    We were on transit to Granada, so the choice was mainly for the close proximity to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for only 1 night, so have no comments.

    Very near to train and bus station. And we walked from the Ferry terminal, quite near. Staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. Quite easy to find places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location if going from bus to ferry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn’t latch so we had to prop something against it to keep it closed. The first room smelled like smoke even though the hotel says it has a non smoking policy but ashtrays are provided on balcony tables.

    Location was beyond perfect for us as it was right next to the bus station and just blocks from the ferry station. Large balcony with table and chairs, comfy beds and blanket enclosed with double sheet :). Spacious room and spacious bathroom . The first room we were given smelled like smoke so staff graciously moved us to a different room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean facilities and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some parts of the rooms needs an upgrade, like wardrobes. The parking is quite expensive compared to other options in the city and the logistic is terrible (no payment with credit card, no changes, etc)

    Clean, good location near train and bus stations. Fair breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Good size of rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The products in the vending machine are a bit dearer than other hotels I have been.The disabled room as requested does not have an additional wall holder before and after shower for disabled clients to hold on to prevent from falling.Seat was ok in the shower.Unable to take picture of the shower part of the toilet.

    All or everything that a traveller/ tourists/locals would need in a hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.2
    Horrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room didnt have toilet paper, the toilet was not up to hygenic standard and the tv took a few turns to turn on. And worst of all, when i spoke to the property they insisted that their room was clean and told me I was incorrect. Horrible customer service. Won't be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    very enjoyable for the event we attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom could be more modern.

    we needed parking although it was a little expensive for the area. Also the bathroom could do with updating. Breakfast very good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Nice, clean, hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean, hotel. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. I felt safe. Fabrizio was amazingly helpful, and gave good, honest advice. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    If I ever return to Algeciras, be sure I will stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location is great! Algeciras port is about a 10-15 minutes walk, main bus station is just a couple of steps from hotel(bus station is below/next to hotel), and it is about 10-15 minutes walk to Plaza alta and shops. Our room's location was very quiet, thus enjoying a peaceful night's sleep(room 407).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for transit to Tangier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. The Europcar office is just behind and the ferry terminal just down the road to allow us to catch the shuttle bus to Tarifa then ferry to Tangier.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    + Good location -- ferry terminal and city center 5 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Overall expression that the hotel saw better days - No cooler, water is only in vending machine

    + Good location -- ferry terminal and city center 5 minutes walk, train station two steps away, bus station in same building + You can see Gibraltar from your balcony + Safebox, fridge + Good breakfast with a choice of hot dishes (omelettes, eggs, sausages etc) + Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Near all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was what I wanted. Next to bus station is what I required.Needed to catch bus to further destination and that was next door .

    Near all facilities. Good for walking into plaza Alta.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful and friendly staff, perfect location right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a major overhaul. The building still has the charme of long gone days. Luckily, the room seemed to have been renovated quite recently, although the bathroom had been forgotten....

    Very helpful and friendly staff, perfect location right next to the bus station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Great location, very comfortable, lovely breakfast and very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Mir Octavio is a lovely hotel with lovely staff. We only stayed one night as we were catching the shuttle bus from Algeciras to Tarifa the following day. The bus we were on from Malaga to Algeciras didn't arrive at Algeciras until 1.45am and it was a great relief to see the Mir Octavio located beside the Bus Station. The hotel room was spotlessly clean and a spacious room. Breakfast was lovely and all in all it was incredibly good value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some updating. The bathroom doesn't look very clean, and the towels brownish.

    Conveniently located across the road from Algeciras train station. The room is very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Basic accommodations... clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly above the bus lot and we heard the beeping of the buses continuously. Breakfast staff wasn’t friendly, but the office staff was.

    Comfortable for the money. Office staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    A very good hotel to stay in Algeciras,very reasonable .A great place to stay to wind up the stresses in life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hotel caters for international tourists or guests TV must be cable to show programmes in different languages.Also must have written instructions regarding TV use,informations on food/meals in the hotel,where to go ,timetable etc.These must be provided inside the rooms.

    It's clean,spacious,quiet with comfortable proper 2 single beds as requested by me,reasonable price for a 3 star hotel,convenient to bus station,train,taxis etc.I will check in that hotel again and it's highly recommended as far as I am concern.I never thought it's a great place to stay during my Christmas Eve celebration.All staff in the reception area are good,attentive to clients needs,queries etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.7
    My room, or half of the hotel rooms, faces the bus station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room, or half of the hotel rooms, faces the bus station and every time a bus leaves the station, it gives out signal sounds of bee... bee... bee... from midnight to early in the moring... So if you want to sleep after 6, ask for a room on the other side.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area gets weird after midnight. Some rooms can be noisy (above bus station).

    Very confortable bed. Very nice bathroom. Newly renovated. Bright rooms. 8 min from the very center of the city. 2 min away from train station. Right above bus station. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    This hotel was the best surprise of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative, i hope you can keep your high standards all year round.

    This hotel was the best surprise of our trip. The staff was as helpful and polite as possible, the breakfast would cover everybody's needs and the room was nice and cozy. Next time we will stay longer!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will be charged 5€ if i want to use kettle. This is my first time experience with hotel that want to charge me for asking kettle. Went to granada, cordoba and seville hotels they all provide the kettle i requested without charge.

    Location and clean room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Almost no electricity in the room - only one bulb worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost no electricity in the room - only one bulb worked. Our windows (and balcony) wete above the street (not very busy indeed), but many other rooms were exactly above the bus station - I wish I never had such a room. The bathroom was clean but needed some refurbishment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location within very short walk to the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn't work. Room was hot. Beds were to hard for our liking. If you are a light sleeper make sure you ask for a room away from the bus depot which is next door.

    Great location within very short walk to the port. Great for overnight stay if you need to catch a ferry the next day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would've been ideal to have UK TV channels.

    Very clean, comfortable, well located hotel. Room was well presented, well laid out. Bathroom was very high standard. Bed was very comfortable. Everything worked. Receptionist was very helpful. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Good enough for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little old, but are okay - and clean. It seems unnecessary to use the hotel's parking (which is not free), when it's possible to park in the gravel road just next to it for free. Had a hard time finding a restaurant nearby.

    Location is good in case you need public transport and the price is okay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and room are modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful. The location is perfect as being within walking distance of both the bus and train stations. Very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    I presume I got what I paid for the service was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from restaurants and eating houses

    The location to bus stop and the departure port was excellent. The staff at the front desk Ms Palma was excellent and very helpful and courteous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor lightning. No good restaurant nearby. Only one English new channel, France24.

    Good location for public transit to. Gilbralta, ferry, and bus. Clean and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    For sparing yourself of the stress of finding places in the new town, go for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, this hotel didnt really offer the basic hospitality you would expect of a hotel, such as a few complimentary tea bags or instant coffees. It would charge EUR5 for a kettle rental. You don't normally need air-conditioning in a port city like Algecira, but with the hotel on a main road we had to close the windows to block the traffic noises and found out the air cond was barely working. The experience of dinner there was disappointing. We had in total 7 guests in the hall and we waited almost 1hr for the entree which was a mixed plate of Ibrium hams. The waiter was busy and trying, only that he wan't busy with serving I guess. Poor boy.

    The location is perfect if you are arriving in Algecira by train and would like to take the bus ride to Gibraltar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    All around a good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proximity to the Renfe train station and also to the port of algeciras and the TG Gomes bus station made it an excellent hub for travel to Gibraltar , Tarifa and Tangiers .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good basic hotel in an ideal location for bus and train travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows - more and softer

    We arrived by bus and left by train - the location could not be more perfect for this. Also, staff were ver helpful and friendly. We rate the waiter in the restaurant that night very highly - memorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Location, Close to the bus station to go to Gibraltar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Close to the bus station to go to Gibraltar. Close to the Port to go to Tangier. Clean, comfortable room. Friendly staff. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    The guy at the reception was really, really great and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception was really, really great and very helpfull. We had a great talk and he gave us a lot of information. We enjoyed our balcony. It is close to the center, by bike😊. I want to rhank once again to the receptionist! Have a nice life! And thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Close to all transport options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light was a bit too dim for the room.

    It is right next to the bus station and the train station; the port is just a 5-10 stroll away. There is a balcony probably for every room. It had a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall pleasant for a one night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities around the hotel e.g restaurants and cafe and the area isn't very nice

    Clean and modern room, friendly receptionist but he is a one man show. I didn't see any other staff in the Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, Super Comfy Beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The location is perfect and is walking distant to Algeciras port which is exactly what we needed for our one night stop over before we headed to Gibraltar. It has a spacious lobby, the staff were perfectly presented and well informed. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious which makes life easy when you are travelling with 5 children, They loved it. Breakfast was very Good as you can order from the Breakfast menu in addition to the buffet and they had a good choice of Cereals/spreads and fresh juices which the kids loved. Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, welcoming staff and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is shared with bus station parking and we had some issues with the tickets to get in and out. Also is quite expensive for one day. Bathroom might need a bit of renewal.

    Nice staff, good sized room, clean. Breakfast is correct at sensible price. Good location near train and bus station and short walk to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    The hotel facility was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location not good at all.

    The hotel facility was fine. The beds was very comfortable. The neighborhood not good at all. It was scary neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    There was a mix up with booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with booking.com were booking dot come said breakfast included but it wasn't, but booking.com and the hotel paid for my family to have breakfast at there expense. The staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Easy acces, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rather down market location.

    This hotel is within a less well off area of the city, but an easy walk to the ferry terminal. The facilities of the hotel are good, and the staff excellent. But if you are looking for an upmarket area, this perhaps is not the place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Strategic point
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to change, maybe the 80' style

    Perfect location, right between central station and bus station, and 800 mt from The Port, where you can go to morocco or gibraltar by bus easy! E the rooms are clean and nice with all you need! Carpark underground for 15€ a night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    NORMAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought 4 stars hotel should have more comfort. I didn't know Algeciras is good only to take the vessel to go to Maroco but there isn't that much to do there. On sunday everything is closed

    good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient transit stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was definitely the seedy end of town. Lots of sex workers and dingy streets. The Archeological display was disappointing and the park was closed due to setting up for a concert in the evening to commence at 10pm.

    Close proximity to Rail Station Bus station and a 10 minute walk to the Port. Easy to catch the bus to Gibraltar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Stay here. Close to the train. Spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I made time for the breakfast.

    The spaciousness of the room, staff was extremely helpful, and the facilities had a mixture of old and modern. Good vibes. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Decent place to spend the night
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The city is not nice and not fun.

    If you have to stay a night in Algeciras, this is a decent hotel (if you take into consideration the price). The location in the city is convinient as the port is 500m away.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75