Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Virgen del Camino Pontevedra 3 stars

Virgen del Camino, 53-55, 36001 Pontevedra, Spain

#13 of 22 hotels in Pontevedra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 956 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in, we were given a twin bed room when we originally requested a double. We get to the room and the maid was just finishing cleaning the bathroom, so the room was not ready. We stand in the hall to wait for the maid, and the door was open to another, nicer room with a double bed, so we requested to move to that one instead.

    Good location, though the hotel is a bit old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Previously with booking.com I pay on departure and can use my travel card with euros. This time payment was taken from my credit card before departure ? why

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the hotel did NOT follow through on luggage transport when we checked and double checked that it was looked after. Our bags were downstairs on time . But when we got to our next location - no back packs. It cost 25 Euro to have our luggage transported by taxi. When we emailed the hotel , NO response.

    The morning buffet was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double bed but room had two singles. Quiet at night but lots of the noise in the morning from corridor and adjacent rooms. Breakfast limited but as expected of a 3 star hotel. Had to place bag in front of door to stop it rattling.

    Room at the back and on a higher floor as requested so no noise from outside the hotel. Was spacious as well. Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is exactly on the Camino trail so we located However the property is tired and in. Need of an update More likely 1 or 2 star not 3 The breakfast is at extra cost and is well below standard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window to external, only to a chimney-smelling internal "court". We had to keep the door opened(!) to get enough air in the room for the night. EVERYWHERE diesel smell!!!

    It was clean. Check - in late was no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    13 minutes walking from train (or bus) station. 8 minutes walk to center of town. Very convenient and safe location. Good elevator. Large room with good bed and pillow. Good bathroom with hairdryer. Nice and kind staff. Very good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the members of staff in the restaurant was off-hand, so decided not to eat evening meal there.

    Room and bathroom very clean and comfortable. Hotel was value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at reception not helpful at all I had accidentally booked 2 rooms for 3 people and was charged in accordance... that was not the problem .... my nieces room was 304 and it was facing aloft well... u could here people using all the bathroom amenities if u get what I mean..... and anyone chatting outside her room.....she needed to ask people to shut up at 3 in the mirning😖😖😖😖 I am still waiting for her to ring me to c if I might get a discount on the room☹️☹️☹️☹️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had a very thin mattress but having walked all day on the Camino, we did sleep. The tiny bathroom was clean but very basic. The hotel could do with a bit of refurbishment. Breakfast was terrible and not worth the money.

    The location is the best thing about this hotel as it is on the Camino.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dated.

    Great location- right on the Camino. Room was very quiet. WiFi worked really well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very efficient and friendly reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the Camino route plenty of hot water for a bath after a long walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak WiFi. It was a business trip 🙃

    The friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist personality less. Car fumes when window open.

    Good facilities in central location, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for breakfast

    The location is the best thing about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, small bathroom

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was better than what I expected. Old but comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing major.

    Location. Basic room, excellent value for money. Good heating and wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a little noisy outside early morning due to central town location but to be expected.

    Breakfast is recommended - good value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    LIMpieza. Cama cómoda.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful dedicated receptionist, didn't meet any other staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much view out of the window

    Great location - but quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception doesn't have much English.

    Location is great, very good value for money. Staff nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stench of diesel pervasive in the upper floors of the building.

    Polite and helpful staff, clean and well-ordered room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for Camino and within walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old venue. Not very clean. Air conditing not working.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Was close to the downtown

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists could smile more!

    Hotel close to center, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC and hotel had no fans. Outside temp was 35 degrees and room was unbearable. Would never stay here during temps above 20 degrees

    Excellent stafg

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included.

    Good location! Close to all attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More Camino walkers should stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good quality room with a awful smell as soon as we walked in!! Very small room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely the hottest hotel weve stayed in along the way. We had trouble sleeping.

    Great location - right on El Camino.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Excellent hotel - good dinner. Great level of comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean and not cluttered. Breakfast was a good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not really clean. It smellt strange in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    todo en general. repetiremos.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included but, as it only cost € 4, I decided to have it anyway. Best decision of the day!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The team were efficient and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not hot enough no food or hot drinks available room smelt of drains

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast :)

    Very good small hotel, that has Michelin resto on the ground floor. Small, but nicely decorated rooms, very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They showed us to the breakfast room, then charged us for it.

    OK location. Room was basic but OK.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally placed on the camino. Lovely comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast selection would be nice but food was good!

    Room was perfect for our stay. Great to have air conditioning too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Simple, inexpensive hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room and furnitures... Bathroom needs improvement badly.. And really small room!!

    It is on the Camino .. Easy to get going in the morning..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable and generally good facilities well located for camino

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was old and confining. Good price & overall good value for price. Breakfast was not included.

    Nice urban centre on the Portuguese Camino. Hotel on the Camino. Friendly staff and a short walk to everything. Mercado located next door.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English TV channels but this seems a general rule.

    Huge, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Hotel right next to the Way to Santiago so enjoyed watching the "pilgrims" on their travels. Near to both train/bus stations and centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found a crisp bag between the wall and the bedside table and the plastic cover of a raser in the bathtub.

    The location of the hotel is very good, only 10 minutes walk from the town centre, cafe, supermarket, sushi bar opposit the building.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff were really helpful to the extent I left my earphones there. They located them and emailed me, putting them aside for collection on our return journey.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room that is quite old, had only a small window open on a tiiiny inner courtyard with no light and no air. Basically I had a wall out of my window. The staff was very busy with other customers and they stopped giving information to them every 5 sec. while doing my check in. Not pleasant.

    Location very good, a few step from center. The price was good.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid 10 euros for parking but probably worth it to ensure the car's safety.

    Helpful friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Very close to old section of the city.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location, washer & dryer available nice community rooms, great meal of the day

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff , hotel , everything

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good budget hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wouldn't pay for the continental breakfast.

    The hotel was in a very good location. The bed was very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was very comfortable Location was fantastic Staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, convenient to train station and town centre. Staff provided map and some useful information about Pontevedra at check-in.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant welcome

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast a bit poor

    The bed is really comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell of cigarettes lift was precarious! Felt like it might fall at any time

    Staff and dinner

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, quiet, basic but very comfy room, balcony a definite plus, as well as toiletries! :) would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy surroundings

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful. They even allowed us to dry our wet clothes in their boiler room.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Couple

    Helpfull and friendly staff, but did hardly speak English

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: