Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote 5 stars

El Castillo, 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Spain

#21 of 159 hotels in Playa Blanca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 932 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There appeared to be a management SWAT team arrive halfway through our stay, the service an atmosphere crashed at this point. What started as a very pleasant stay became a situation comedy.

    The local staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NA

    The whole team were excellent and even though there was a major refurbishment going on it did not impact on us at all. The breakfast was out of this world. The SPA was lovely and The Club area (adult only) was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was undergoing a refurb & the pool bar & snackbar wasn’t in use.

    Perfect location for all your needs. Lovely hotel with a nice relaxed atmosphere. Clean rooms & fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception didn't manage to book a transfer for us from th airport even though I phoned twice. Greeted with a list of services we'd need to pay for. Spa was decent but small and charging 10EUR for a hotel guest to use it felt like a bit of a joke considering it's a 5 star hotel.

    Lovely swimming pools and facilities. Room was clean and spacious. We'll located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Lovely room, bigger than i expected, comfortable bed and huge bathroom with separate toilet. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening buffet could be more varied and cater much better for vegetarians/vegans etc. ie the salads generally had chicken or ham in them and the display cards didn’t say what was in various dishes, eg were the spring rolls meat free? The pasta was not great. The spa is only complimentary for certain Club Volcán guests, otherwise 10.5 euros for a day’s access. My wife had a manicure and it could have been done better by a 6 year old. Best to check on the therapists abilities. The hotel restaurants were confusing as to what they catered and the locations were not well advertised or located. The building work in the central reception was meant to have finished on 13th May, maybe they meant 2019 as they were no where near finished when we left on the 14th May.

    The food was of a good quality, and a reasonable amount of choice. The staff were excellent and helpful. The hotel was clean. The hotel is in a good location close to the marina and plenty of restaurants and access to tourist agents for booking car hire, boat trips etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to communicate prior to my arrival and struggled to get responses through booking.com which meant my arrival was more stressful than I would have liked. The reception staff were apologetic however it was a bad start to my holiday.

    As a lone traveller I felt safe in this complex and the area around the Hotel. Waiting staff and domestics all very friendly. Would recommend the use of the spa, I had two back and neck massages and the staff in the Spa were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My door would not lock and I was staying on my own, I was told that they would move me but couldn’t find me a room after having unpacked then packed and then told to unpack again and that my door would now be fixed the following morning, so had to sleep in a room with a door which couldn’t lock (not very good for a woman in a room alone). Seeing as I was only staying for four nights it was not a good start. The pool bar staff could not cope and made many errors which was a shame plus certain drinks were not available due to no stock. Also I felt that the Reception was a little understaffed but Juan was fantastic and very helpful.

    The staff were very good! Helpful and pleasant Especially our chambermaid who was very chatty and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adult + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The baby/kids pool were far too cold for the children to even go in with no exciting facilities for them eg slides. We were also not made aware of the work that was being carried out prior to our booking which was a shame as the features that enticed is to booking this hotel were completely out of bonds which was very disappointing.

    The staff were very friendly and the room cleaned and fresh towels every day. Breakfast was good with an great selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services trolleys making noise early and late at night. Sun brolley (Sombria) knocking on terrace roof over our room 2 nights in the wind. Hotel did eventually sort out.

    Service, friendly, quality, kid free (in club only) loads of pools, plenty of space, several restaurants, good food choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast at the hotel is amazing. Such a great selection and the staff are so helpful but respectful. This hotel has a lovely ambience. It is serene and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone including the staff seem happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    The only two negatives.Where,after requesting an early check in,by email. We still had to wait three hours for our check in. Secondly. We where not informed, at anytime of major work been carried out,throughout the main hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have been going to the Volcan for 10 years at Easter. Unfortunately they weren't able to provide us with our preferred room location, so we got a free upgrade to the "Club".

    comfy beds, spacious room, great bathroom. excellent view from balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No significant issues. The evening entertainment could have been better

    Bed and Breakfast basis. The quality and variety of the breakfast was excellent. The egg station was the only thing that let the experience down. Fine line between availability and freshly cooked. A smile wouldn't have gone amiss.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't turn lights off on the veranda

    Fantastic buffet spread for breakfast and dinner. Lovely spacious room and bathroom. Superb deep tissue massage in the spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked for the boat cruise and the guy at the reception said the next available date was the day i check out. Quite accurate, isn't it? we were to be charged £445, on getting to the hotel they charged £464. we checked the day s rate on the internet, it was £438. The hotel insisted and we had to pay £464.

    The pools were really nice and the weather

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could be better organised - particularly in the area of preparing hot food, where there were queues

    Good clean room - ours had a terrace - a real bonus Very friendly staff and a well run establishment Our fourth visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the adult section the hotel corridors were cold.In fairness the ten days stay was vontrolled by cold northerly winds.

    Close to Rubicon Marina,good restaurants and shops.Excellent footpaths offering a safe pedestrian area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could have been properly heated outside so one could swim in sunny weather. Real shame as it was cold.

    The room was authentic Spanish but modern, with a balcony and marina sea views, which was delightful. Plus the welcome drink upon arrival was lovely. Great location by the marina.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were only B&B so I cannot vouch for the other mealtimes, but the breakfast choice was superb! The rooms were great and the spa and gym were a good bonus. Loved it here and will be coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar. Empty fridge not working. All notices from hotel about saving water etc were ignored by staff who changed towels every day even though we hung them as directed. Public areas outdoors look a bit jaded although staff constantly seen sweeping, gardening and cleaning pool. Didn't feel like 5 star ambience.

    Buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air-conditioning did not work, did not get a good nights sleep all week. Awful coffee at breakfast and busy large canteen style restaurant. Bar staff had little knowledge of wine, didn't know what white wine they provided House wine (red and white) almost undrinkable Signposting around this very large hotel could be better Nowhere to swim lengths, the pools are more like large ponds you have to swim around in

    The hotel has a wonderful entrance, a re-creation of an old church, that has a very calming influence. Lovely gardens The staff are very helpful and friendly. Plenty of sunbeds. Entertainment after dinner in the evenings in the Fun Pub. Conveniently situated near the port/restaurants/bars/market

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Perfect location next to the Marina and some excellent restaurants. Staying in Club Volcan was perfect with afternoon tea and evening drinks laid on, what more could you wish for. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel is not suitable for those who have mobility issues, as there are many levels with steps and stairs to negotiate to get from their rooms to the restaurants and dining room which were on the ground floor. Some of the rooms are very cold and dark. We had to ask for a heater. Our room felt like a cave and there was hardly any sun on the terrace. For a 5 Star hotel to have no tea pots and only two coffee machines which were not regularly serviced is deplorable. The dining room was very crowded and draughty.

    The imposing atmospheric entrance through the church with music playing has the wow factor. The Animation team, Gaby and Luna, were great and gave very good classes. The evening entertainment was good too especially the violinist who was brilliant. The ambiance in front of the waterfall with torchères lit was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the response from the hotel team when we complained about the flooding....... Nothing

    it was our third visit there, and if the weather is good it is as good as any other along the front, and after our first visit recommended it We have travelled to Lanzarote since the early eighties for the Diving, staying in Puerto Del Carmen , diving with the club in front of the Fariones (Dieter) and can remember how Playa Blanca was. we will use another Hotel there next time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurant was not to our taste, hot food luke warm. We tried it twice out of four just to make sure we hadn't picked a bad night. The large jacuzzi in the spar was in need of a good clean as the tiles on the centre Island at water level in the front had black growth on them. All the external steps were in need of hand rails which were very dangerous for older clients.

    Room V good,all the club facilities excellent,excellent staff who were v friendly & helpful, a nice touch was the complementary drinks in the evening,Breakfast was of the highest standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food is not up to 5* standard. Coffee is apalling. Breakfast options regularly ran out as staff struggled to keep the buffet stocked. Local restaurants are OK at best - but Lanzarote seems to have signifintly poorer food overall than mainland Spain or even Gran Canaria based on my visits.

    The hotel itself, the rooms, the pool (though cold, were lovely), Location is good with access to the marina area and some OK restaurants. WiFi was better than expected - though not a priority for me on holiday. My kids would have a different view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air condition in the room was not readable and not heating I had to use additional blanket. There was no free bottle of water everyday in the room, only in the beginning of our stay Noise insulation was very poor in the room so I could hear everything from neighbors. Some hotel guests were smoking on balcony and I could feel the smoke

    I like location, breakfast, dinner, comfort of the bed, friendly staff, almost everything was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked and paid for a deluxe suite with 2 rooms on the basis there was a separate toilet and single bed in the living room as it was my daughter and myself. The hotel brought a single bed for the living but with no separate toilet - I had to disturb my daughter to use the loo in the night and early morning. I has specifically requested the separate loo before I paid and was assured after booking.com phoned the hotel, that this was what we were getting. The outdoor pool was 16 degrees and the heated outdoor pool was 24 degrees which was so cold no one used them. Having paid £2800 for a week and not getting what was promised - I intend to take this further to find out if the fault lies with the hotel or booking.com

    The hotel facility's were very good and so was the service. But we didn't get the room we had booked and paid for. I don't know if this was the fault of the hotel or booking.com

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint is the main pool is too cold.

    It has a quirky lay out which allows privacy. Fantastic bedrooms with amazing views. It's main restaurant has a huge selection of foods. It's in walking distance of the Marina, beach and some excellent shops. The spa has a Jacuzzi pool, sauna, Turkish bath and many treatments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like water replenished in room daily Would have liked lighting within shower & bath Would improve by having lift direct down to exit level to avoid steps 1st room allocated but was moved to a lovely room

    Location Friendliness of staff adults only area Good selection at breakfast Quality of beverages at evening Range of toiletries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    variety of food in the buffet dining room

    the hotel and gardens were beautifully designed, and the staff always present and helpful. The buffet restaurant could have been better but there are many good restaurants around the marina.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing in the room. Smelly drains. Two of the restaurants were closed the week we were there. The Italian restaurant was difficult to book or fully booked. This left a buffet evening meal the only real option in the hotel - poor for a five star hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Junior suite with smell and no useable outside space and drain smell

    upgraded to Junior suite but turned out to be not so great, terrace without any wind protection and bathroom had unpleasant drain smell....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room (no 159) was large and comfortable and has easy access to the rear entrance and the pools. But it was very dark with virtually no daylight looking through a "cave" of Volcanic rock. Not any good for sitting on the very small balcony. Before accepting the room you are offered, I suggest you have a look at it first, or ask fr a non standard room and pay extra.

    Location was fine, but a long walk to the local bus stop. Hotel is now 7 years old but is in pretty good condition. Buffet was very good, as was breakfast,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They need to repair the ceiling on the central dome - it's in poor repair and really spoils the 5* effect.

    This was a rare event where the hotel was considerably better than I expected. The reception staff spoke good English and were endlessly helpful. The design of the hotel is visually very impressive, and the room was really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel badly needs a centrally located, internal bar that is a hub in the evenings. The reception bar could -- and should -- stay open longer into the evening. The lower level pub is fine for what it does (evening entertainment etc) but is not really a bar meeting-style place.

    Location -- fantastic. Close proximity to marina and all its restaurants and shops. Playa Blanca within easy walking distance along promenade. Our room (No 105) was excellent and the whole layout of the complex very nicely done. Food good too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ubiquitous aging English tourists.

    This is a studiedly slick very large enterprise that manages to retain an intimate, caring, indulgent feeling towards the guests, largely due to the friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little wrong with hotel but perhaps the buffet for breakfast could be less chaotic.

    Partner received a bottle of wine on her birthday from the hotel. A nice touch. Position of hotel very good right on Marina which has lots of good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor facilities for cold weather. Internal decor shabby. Main reception tucked away and insignificant- not in keeping with five star hotel. This is definitely a hot weather hotel and no provision appears to have been factored in for the Lanzarote winter. Level of catering very mediocre. Boring choice of food served via buffet with, for example, breads in one location and jams somewhere else. On one occasion I found it necessary to reheat my dinner in a microwave. The coffee served at breakfast was far from hot. Bananas and prunes, for example, were present on days one and two -never to be seen again despite frequent requests. The buffet supper is, in our opinion and that of other guests we met, far too expensive for what is offered. The hotel leaked everywhere and overflowing buckets failed to reduce the problem. There was no welcoming inside space to meet for a drink and a chat. We were locked out of our room on one occasion because the key had become deactivated. Overall we feel the standard of this hotel does not justify its five star rating.

    Location good, outdoor area perfect for good weather, room newly redecorated and well equipped

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only point I could find for improvement was the bed covers were two single duvets on a king size bed which, at the time of year we visited (January) was uncomfortable. It could have been easily rectified with the provision of a large duvet but none was available.

    The estate hotel was vast, beautifully designed, comfortable and the breakfast was simply wonderful. Rooms were well appointed (we had a view of the pool).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get to your room without going up and down stairs walls to thin could hear every word from next door

    Restaurants were good location was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very little we did not like, maybe a small suggestion for a little more signage to rooms, It is complex in layout and it took us a while to find our room without getting lost !

    We were very happy with the hotel. We were celebrating a special anniversary and the hotel management sent little treats to our room .... a lovely touch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tennis courts off-site (10-15 mins walk) Half-board food option (buffet restaurant only) was a mixed experience. Dessert options were basically the same every day and average at best

    Spacious room, interesting hotel design and layout, great location next to lots of good bars and restaurants at the marina, easy parking, very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    So much to like but marked down slightly as our only concern was that my visually impaired father found the amount of stairs difficult. He found the desent a real problem. If the steps had a little white line at the edges, it would be much easier to see. He found the assent of the stairs much easier as the underside of each step has been painted white. Just wanted to mention as it is something that I think would help out a lot of your guests.

    The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, the cleanliness was fabulous and the location was the best on the island. We travelled around the island and were so happy that we had chosen this great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Full payment for the stay up front was mandatory

    Lovely hotel with great facilities including restaurants and spas. Super breakfast with lots of choice. Quiet location. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    cold food and noisy children running down corridors at 1am

    overall food was great but as l like hot food to be hot l found breakfast eggs etc to be cold if not very cold. However on day three l found the microwave and was able to heat food to my satisfaction.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gluten free bread was not available despite being requested.

    Rooms very good quality and comfortable. Bottle of Cava in room for birthday celebration was nice gesture.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in December so the magnificent looking pools were absolutely freezing. Braved a quick swim because we couldn't leave without trying and husband nearly had a heart attack. The hotel service was very random. We asked for a heater for our room and it took 2 days to arrive. We broke a plate and asked for room service to come and help clean up and they arrived with an ashtray. Otherwise everything was spotlessly clean and tidy.

    Lovely setting, great location, lots on offer included in price such as yoga, welcome party and catamaran trip. Bizarre entrance hall with fantastic artworks but also a giant nativity scene with loud haunting monastic type music playing in the background which was weirdly relaxing once you got past the religious overtones. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting time for drinks and food was too lengthy and not enough choice at the Club terrace. Some evenings the replenishing of drinks etc in the Club evening bar was rather slow.

    The room size and comfort was very good. The club area was mainly also a good standard. The breakfast choice very good and staff efficient and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment in the evening was very poor, there was little or no atmosphere in the bar. There was a restricted/poor food menu at the poolside. We went out for light lunch to several of the tapas bars at the marina instead. There is an additional charge to use the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The temperature was cool, and not worth it.

    Breakfast had a great selection for all tastes. Staff were extremely friendly in the restaurant, bar and poolside. Location is perfect for access to bars, restaurants and shops by the marina. Bedrooms were very comfortable and clean. Lighting could be improved for reading.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flys! A beast of nature I know but the flys beside the pool areas were everywhere, made for uncomfortable sunbathing. 1st world problems I know!

    Very well maintained hotel (bar the hole in the main roofing area but I beive that was recent), very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not as comfy as I would expect. Towels were a bit worn out and needed replacement. Also the ensuite had no extractor fan. I had stayed in Volcan previously. I would have rated it higher on my previous trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather a bit hit and miss. Everything else was great.

    Very close to the Marina so plenty of variety to walk out to of an evening. Had bed & breakfast at the hotel and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    NO DOUBLE BEDS IN HOTEL. They pushed the twin beds together but could not even supply a double quilt for us! No place for a romantic couple. The heated outdoor pool was not warm enough to comfortably swim in. Very disappointing. They charged us for a dinner and drinks we did not have - watch your final bill! Junior suite 451 had no sea view or sunshine on balcony which is what we had come for in November!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adult + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    at times the reception staff didn't know the status of activities or facilities at the activity center which caused us to go back and forth which was a bit tiring because it is a spread out property

    Proximity to the Marina, restaurants, path by the ocean, breakfast, the southern beaches, helpful staff, room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant had declined. There was nowhere to eat breakfast outside. The buffet restaurant was like a school canteen: tables too close together; very noisy throwing of used dishes and food into containers; eating like gannets; and grungy clothes worn. Eat in the many nearby restaurants instead.

    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. There is direct access to the promenade. The pools were high quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hated this hotel the staff where only interested in what was best for the hotel and how they could extract money from you and not proved a service that we had paid up front for

    We have been totally sold this was a 5 star hotel It was way below a 5 star Our room was next to the Laundry service area and from 7-30 am we were woken up the 6 nights we where there The hotel manger did nothing to help us But send us bottles of cheap wine and told That was all he could do They just ignored the fact we had been in a room that was so noisy and we had been kept awake from 7-30 and could not remain resting in the room due to the constant noise Also we contacted Booking .com Who also did nothing to help us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to get a drink at hotel after 11 pm. It was totally dead!!! But it was November 16th. Still would have expected a 5star hotel to make the effort even not full.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful setting, right next to the Marina. The grounds of the hotel itself are lovely with loads of space and a number of pools. Breakfast in the hotel was fantastic and there are numerous lovely restaurants close by - we only ate breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Entertainment , some of the the facilities closed at this time of year

    A very pleasant hotel not really a true 5 star but good 4 star, facilities excellent, only down side was the lack of entertainment / pub atmosphere most couples kept to themselves

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee had a peculiar taste, and there was a lack of hot water to make the tea at breakfast and tea. The water provided was always tepid.

    We had been let down by our original agent, and paid £800 more than the original booking. An upgrade was provided, Club Volcan,which included breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks our holiday was then as we had hoped. The bed was a little harder than we would prefer, and the suite too large for the requirements of the week, but the location customer care and facilities outweighed these disadvantages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage smell in toilet, which I smelled every time I walked into my room; WC part of bathroom next to entrance door.

    Room layout Location: walk straight into Rubicon from the resort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were half board and the dinner buffet was unimaginative,the same most nights and lacking in real taste.I would only do bed and breakfast next time because of the food standard at dinners I would expect a 5 star resort to have mattresses on the sun beds to make them more comfortable without having to upgrade to club class.maybe something to look at in the future

    Great location next to the ports bars and restaurants Peaceful and picturesque facilities Good breakfast Good size rooms Parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service for my wife, who is coeliac.Gluten-free bread etc provided at breakfast. Personal tour round buffet by chef to explain what food was gluten-free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No central bar so no hub for activities. lovely pool bar but limited food available.... but staff were very accommodating.

    Great breakfast selection. Fantastic location near to marina. Beautiful pools and organised activities were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of their sun beds could do with being upgraded for something more comfy. Perhaps foam mattresses for the club Volcan ones. I slipped and fell on a part of the pathway one morning. It’s painted white and there was moisture on it. It scared me a bit but I was fine. Apart from that it’s wonderful.

    Fabulous view from our Club Volcan room 558. Perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset. The free bar available to club Volcan clients between 5:15pm and 8pm was a nice surprise, even if I don’t drink! Views from the adults only pool are exceptionally beautiful. Music and staff around the main pools very pleasant. Perfect location for the Marina, the twice weekly market and fabulous restaurants. Taxis to the town cheap and quick.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun loungers and umbrellas as already mentioned.

    Fabulous hotel, beautiful reception lobby. Super room. Had to upgrade from standard room, not because of room but because of location (looking at a wall - no sun on balcony) it was an extra 210 Euros to upgrade for the week but was worth the extra. Warning that despite signs asking people not to, all sun beds by big pool were reserved with towels early. Didn’t get a bed by large pool all week. We were happy however to get a bed by the smaller quieter pool. Not enough sun umbrellas and the ones that were available were screwed to the ground so cannot be moved into a better position. Fabulous location right on the marina with a good choice of restaurants and super food. La cubierta was a fave as was Lani’s grill for a good vibe. The octopus in both was very nice indeed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere in the evening in either of the main bars and night time entertainment wasn't particularly strong. Not a major issue for us but may be for others.

    Very warm welcome, lovely room, plenty of sunbeds, great choice for breakfast and fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (Only Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a bit confusing to navigate and the pool temperature was very cold. Restaurant Rubicon not worth a visit.

    The hotel was beautiful, charming and so relaxing. Volcan club was excellent. Exclusive facilities for adults to completely relax. Food in the restaurant Florida was delicious. Breakfast and dinner buffet style and reasonable rates.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be an outside bar for evening times. The pool could be heated!

    Overall atmosphere was great, food very good, very relaxing holiday. Restaurant choices where great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving😢😢😢

    Big rooms. Lovely towels.really really cleaned each day. Beautifully maintained grounds. Great selection of pools. Good pool bar with very tasty snacks. Very professional staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    pools could have been warmer, air conditioning could have been cooler ! Bedrooms are a little dated and there is no outside bar in the evenings which is a great shame given the fantastic view. Reception staff efficient but not engaging.

    Excellent location and breakfast, including fresh orange juice. Extensive pools and lots of sun loungers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is only a 5* hotel on paper, because of what they offer however we were in better 4* hotels in the past. The hotel need to be fully renovated. There are paint chips all over the place and some very noticable, swimming pool tiles need restauration etc... No guest rooms for people having flights late, you need to leave the room at 12 so they should offer a guest room in a 5* hotel, Staff not allowing to stay longer in room unless you want to pay additional 10€ per hour !!!

    All Hotel set in a volcanic rock type accent, you walk in through a church with monks singing which is impressive to then come in to a 10m WATERFALL inside at the reception !!!!!!!!!! Fantastic. Breakfast was good standard, not much to complain , fresh and diversified with actually a lot to choose from. Swimming pools are excellent however water was cold in the main pool for 3 days. Overall location is fantastic, close to restaurants and shops. Views are great only from 50% of the rooms, you may end up on ground floor with terrace in front of the path where people walk or swimming pool (This one Ok), TIP ask for rooms 318-319 these have the best views on port and swimming pool. Overall i enjoyed and would recommend but at discounted price as i had othervise it may be too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    staff rude, got refused a drink at the pool bar 1 minute after its closing time even though i was in a queue, hardly 5 star service! pool freezing, rooms dingy, need artificial light during the day but we were on the ground floor so higher up may be better. it appears the upgrade to Club Volcan is very good but we didn't use this.

    location is fantastic, close to the Marina, breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: