Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of W Barcelona 5 stars

Plaça Rosa dels Vents, 1 - Passeig Joan de Borbo, Ciutat Vella, 08039 Barcelona, Spain

#194 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2955 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    The bed was amazing in the "wonderful room"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff around the pool and in the pool restaurants could have been a bit friendlier and more helpful. The view from our "wonderful room" was a little disappointing as we were only on the 4th floor and not facing the beach even though i had requested a high floor and good view as it was a special birthday trip.

    The bed was amazing in the "wonderful room"

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    It was perfect location with great views and friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fabulous Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was let getting into our room and every day our room didn’t get cleaned till late also didn’t get to go to the eclipse bar as I only packed shorts didn’t expect that to be a problem very disappointed

    It was perfect location with great views and friendly staff would definitely be going back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple everything is terrible staff are so rude s big rip off and a great running scam they are professionals in keeping your money and come up with any reason to keep it very very very bad customer service and poor attitude with all the staff so snobby will never recommend to anyone

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    - good gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -poor staff (especially at reception) -poor wifi -very old rooms -awful breakfast -very small swimmingpool for a such big hotel -All the noise coming in the room Arrived at 17.00 to the hotel and our room wasn’t ready -Totally overrated and overpayd hotel

    - good gym

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.9
    Not much.
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is run like a casino. The staff does not care at all about the guest experience or providing a world class experience for a guest visiting from another country for their honeymoon. As soon as a member of the staff finds out what floor you are staying on, you are instantly treated like a second class citizen if your room is located on a lower floor. As a result, we did not feel welcome, and felt compelled to wander outside the hotel to escape this treatment throughout our stay. Typically, a hotel should be a guests’ home base. In this case, it was quite the opposite and we couldn’t get out of there fast enough because we were so uncomfortable- not to mention the loud music blasting through all hours of the night. If this is meant to be a club with rooms, then it should be advertised as such. We will not be returning to this hotel and are so sorry that we wasted precious days of our honeymoon in this “hotel”. So incredibly disappointing.

    Not much. There is nothing positive that I can say that was not tainted by something else

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Not a great value for money and not worth hype
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived a bit early and so the room was not ready. I asked reception to call me when it is - but nobody cared. We got some good deal on the room price, but then surprise-surprise we were granted a room of that 'discounted category', which was just above the air conditioners array and our window was facing some loud festival near the hotel. It took quite some effort to negotiate another room with the staff. Location is not great for getting around, you have to do a curve whether on foot or taxi to get to the hotel.

    Great view from the room, if you are lucky to get a good one. The room itself it not bad either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    The location is hands down the best place to stay as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not as clean as we expected paying that kind of price. The room service will ignore your request you have to literally call multiple times for a bucket of ice. The internet was horrendous, dialup probably faster, not expected from a 5 star hotel. I think due to W Hotels location and no competition around it they know that the customers will come again.

    The location is hands down the best place to stay as a tourist in Barcelona. The beach view and walking distance make everything better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    DJ and cool music at the swimming pool, beach near the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fabulous Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The awful system of air supply in rooms and on floors. I lived on the 15th floor, the room of 1502. There is no oxygen in room at all. Cleaning in room was carried out too late (at 16-00). Long waiting line on the reception

    DJ and cool music at the swimming pool, beach near the hotel, many bars with open terraces, no problems to get taxi, very soft pillows and comfortable bed linen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.0
    The room service was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should make it more clear when bookin that you are taking the full payment asnt said you could pay on arrival, also you should make them aware you need to bring the card you booked on as I had lost mine and had a replacement and needed to call my bank on arrival

    The room service was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    May you consider catering for non alcoholic clients as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fabulous Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one warned us about the Summer series well in advance. It was not distracting however just a courtesy gesture.

    May you consider catering for non alcoholic clients as well. When it comes to welcome wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing service and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have skipped the Eclipse bar! Mush nicer spaces elsewhere around the hotel. Lacks any atmosphere & became more seedy as the evening went on.

    Amazing service and delicious food. Great location and lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Friendly and professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cool Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, atmosphere, general set up of the hotel accommodation and outdated decoration, the hotel should be refurbished.

    Friendly and professional staff. Very well organized room service. Super Spa facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.8
    Worst experience ever in a hotel, no five star experience. Bad staff and manager doesnt care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book a double room as couple and got two single beds which couldnt be put together as a block of 1 metre was in between ao we slept apart 😂 they told us also the manager that if you book its only a preference and that i can be you sleep seperate. Room very small and not window to open feels like locked up in a cage. For sure no five stars worth and for 400 euro for a night you can find much better and cooler places in barcelona to stay 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A luxurious hotel and a fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was excellent and so were the staff, from the check-in process, to the pool and the restaurant staff. The location was also superb, in a beautiful area of Barcelona with a nice selection of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Weekend to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fabulous Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Good breakfast. We had a fabulous sky room and the view was amaizing. Nice pool area. Overall a good experience. In the night the lights make the whole experience better. Good restaurants nearby. I liked the speed check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall I had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend to everyone for a little bit of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure whether this was just my room however one of the glass shelves in the bathroom was loose and was coming off the wall and also the metal around the door to the bathroom/shower rooms was coming away from the wall.

    The rooms were spectacular with gorgeous views, super comfy beds and ample amenities. Prime location as you are right next to the beach, 10-15 minute walk away from the nearest metro and the clubs (if that is your scene). There were plenty of restaurants to choose from also and the food was really good in the hotel. The staff were lovely and attentive, especially João from the Eclipse bar who looked after my friend and myself exceptionally well-really made our stay as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    W hotel has lost his 5* style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had 2 separate beds although I asked through Booking.com for 1 kingsize bed and the TV was not working. They could not give us another room although I wanted to pay for it. (the arranged another room for the second night after complaining 3 times) Breakfast is expensive but service and food offering is not a 5* value. They have not well trained staff that barely serves your tables to fill up. Plates are not taken away when finished and return for a 2nd time, limited food offering, pancakes are cold, jam choice is poor, coffee is cold, ... If booked by booking.com they threat you less.

    Nice hotel at the edge of Barcelona centre. Quiet area and love the modern looks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service was poor. Came back to the hotel at 6:30 and our room was not cleaned yet. The air conditioner did not work. I was expecting more from a hotel of this caliber. Also the overall design of the hotel was just odd eg. Hallways. It has the potential to be much better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel, food, pools all great. Very disappointing to be put in a first floor suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cool Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a suite and paid a high price for it. We were given the suite on the first floor where people.couod see into the room from the pool and the public promenade outside.views weren't at all as advertised due to being do close to the ground.

    Cool corner suite was really comfortable. Bed was amazing. Lovely shower. Great pools and food at the pools. Eclipse nightclub is awful apart from the view. Tacky and the drinks are rubbish. Worth going up for the view though for one drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Loved the views, the staff were so happy and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of people who don’t stay at the hotel that may come for the day to enjoy the pool or go to the Eclipse bar on the top floor. This does take the luxury side away from the hotel as many random people do traipse through the main reception area. We imagined the sushi bar restaurant in Eclipse to be a luxury experience but instead it was constant people coming and going around us and taking photos of the view and then leaving. It was very cramped and not very intimate, that was a shame.

    Loved the views, the staff were so happy and friendly. It was a great vibe to be around! The food was delicious in all restaurants and the cocktails were divine. The room was just like the pictures! This hotel made my Barcelona weekend! The Sunday brunch is amazing!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main restaurant seemed a little uninviting and wasn’t busy. But not fair to comment as we didn’t eat there.

    The staff all have a ‘yes’ mentality. Location is superb, right on the beach with lots of outdoor areas for sunbathing and chilling out with very cool Ibiza feel to it. We walked everywhere from there. Lots of local restaurants. Great spa and treatments. Didn’t use the main hotel restaurants so can’t comment but the casual one downstairs overlooking the beach was lovely and pretty reasonable. Rooms were excellent, we had a small problem and were upgraded straight away. (Problem dealt with very well and not their fault as water pump broke in middle of night causing noise problem) Front desk staff and concierge all very helpful. Wonderful 4 day stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    good with reservatiob
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    over crowded by people not staying at hotel place flooded by tatooed males pool not good downstairs toilet un hygenic room coffee machines in both rooms not work and NOT replaced even though i informed staff on day one , never the less lovely hotel

    location staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonder W Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cool Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tapas restaurant is one we could never get in to. It was empty on both occasions, but they say fully booked. Looked in a hour later and still empty. Don’t think they like work up there.

    Best hotel we have stayed at. Great architecture, wonderful rooms, friendly efficient staff and a location that is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    the design and the spa ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At a moment , I thought that it was something that looks like the W and have the same name. the staff are really lazy and not that helpful.

    the design and the spa ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    2.9
    I will never return again absolute rip off!
    • Couple
    • Cool Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will never return again absolute rip off! I order some chanmpagne and it didnt even turn up! absolute waste of money and time! it is like a 2 star at best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor point but since you ask. Wasn't allowed to move the sun loungers to face the sun - but i think this was the pool attendant on the day rather than hotel policy (surely).

    Comfy bed. Great views. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    A party hotel commanding stunning views of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel doesn't cope well when it gets busy; its normal to leave your room in the morning and still not have it done by 2pm (even if you call and request it). There's a queue for check out. Also, a party hotel - attracts a constant flow of revelers whom can get very rowdy. As a result, the (youngish) staff can be unfriendly. To be fair, the hotel does market itself as such.

    Breakfast ends at 11am. The sundeck and access to the beach area makes it phenomenally located. I highly recommend staying at a high level (20th floor or above), as the deep blue view is truly serene.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    UPenn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door of shower off but fixed immediately after reporting. Had to call regarding when they would’ve there to clean room, which didn’t happenuntil after 4:30 pm Everything else was better than great.

    Loved everything!!!! Husband had medical issue when we arrived, room was not ready, was given pass to use spa and take care of issue. So great!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Prestige, but friendly and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fabulous Sky Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I’m obsessed with this hotel and I go all of the time. It’s my favourite hotel. It’s a touch of class but the staff and vibe of the place is still aimed at fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were lovely and the hotel was great but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No very dressy ... thought it would have been more classy

    The rooms were lovely and the hotel was great but the restaurants were not organised when it come to booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    It was very good, if a little pricey, but the service was top quality from very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upstairs disco niteclub bar, should not be that. It should be a high end cocktail bar, with a view, and maybe a silver service restaurant without the niteclub feel.

    Beach aspect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Expected more luxury from a 5stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fabulous Sky Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room accommodations view was outstanding. But the design of the room was poor, it was very small and didn’t have a private bathroom area. The bed was not comfortable.

    The restaurant Bravo service was exceptional. The Mediterranean dining downstairs was very nice meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location, though would not consider to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning worked poorly and air exchange in the room (no windows to open) was low. In the morning hours one felt strong need for fresh air. Hotel hallway carpets were often dusty and not vacuum cleaned. Coffee capsules were not refilled and room service happened once only after 2 reminders at 5 pm in the afternoon.

    Location and view from the rooms is spectacular. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable and the view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea bags in room but staff brought more after a phone call. Didn’t like that the toilet was practically in the bedroom.

    The bed was very comfortable and the view was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    perfect weekend getaway, beachviews and great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we first had a room overlooking the port, we would have liked a view on the beach, so next day we changed room to beach side and we paid 50euro more per night which was ok. Room was much better. I thought i was getting such a room in the first place but it wasn't. Another thing is, even though they reserve the pool and bar area for guests of the hotel, it still is difficult to find a bed or sitting area outside in the sun that's available as all sunbeds were spoken for. A bit annoying... I have been before in this hotel, and i think the lobby really needs a make over, looks dated, the red walls in the lobby color faded from the sun and doesn't fit the pink/black theme they have going on. so just fix the lobby and this hotel is perfect!

    staff always very friendly and very helpful .What i like is they have 2 staff members in bow ties very smiley and helpful even before you get to the reception who do their best to make sure you are helped very fast. The hotel is literally ON the beach, the view on the sea is amazing and this is simply a unique hotel in Barcelona and the hotel to go to if you like the beach, views and sealife. Hotel is also near to the marina always nice for a stroll along the yachts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, funky design tricks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall service is way below 5* hotel standards Room wasn’t spotless, minimal toiletries kit(1 for 2 people...) Wasn’t hoovered every day. Coffee pods for Nespresso were only replenished once over 3 days. Was awaken (every night ) by nightclub goers left shouting in the lobby after 3am. Restaurant: dreadful & chaotic experience. Engaging menu, so poorly executed. staff is not trained. Friendly does not mean professional. Excuses do not make up for good food and service. Pool staff: Margaux was really professional and nice. Spa staff: nice, but powerless when it came to recover property taken with my bathrobe from the poolside. No one offered to replace my “disappeared” glasses...

    Great location, funky design tricks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom arrangement may not suit those who require more privacy, as the toilet and shower are behind an opaque glass partition, so there isn't a bathroom as such. You would need to know your sleeping partner very well!

    The bed was amazingly compforable and the views spectacular. Hotel is all very ultra modern and the staff were extremely helpful an accommodating. The pool area is in a prime spot with fabulous views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Unfair for what I reserved and payed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserving the room with booking has been totally unfair. The descpition was including twin bed or double bed room, but the reality we discovered has been different. The hotel is giving priority to the other request and the ones managed by booking are the worst ones. Even after many requests of changing our room it has been impossible to obtain any results, just on the last day after paying more money has been possible to have a Double room that was the initial option include in the reservation.

    The Hotel positioning is about luxury, but reserving with booking has been a nightmare

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    the pool area is amazing, staff was in general nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room had issues with water, I'd to call several times for maintenance, you don't expect this in a top 5 stars hotel. Buffet Breakfast at Bravo Autor restaurant was the worst I ever had, cold pancakes, terrible scramble eggs, not even natural orange juice

    the pool area is amazing, staff was in general nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    We had the wonderful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a bit awkward using the bathroom, since it's glass.

    We had the wonderful room. It was wonderful. The view was great. It was very spacious with a sleek modern design and a very comfortable bed. I loved their "whatever whenever" service, extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Luxurious modern hotel, a pleasure to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately after carefully dressing for dinner we were told the restaurant was fully booked (by non-guests). Thus we had to leave the hotel and take a taxi in pouring rain to a nearby restaurant. We weren't told when checking in that this might happen and thus didn't have time to find a good alternative, or to dress accordingly. Very disappointing. One would think that staying in a 5 star hotel that it would be possible to actually get a meal there.

    The room was exceptionally comfortable. Terrific spacious shower with overhead and hand-held shower. Beautiful furnishings, great lighting, unbeatable view from floor to ceiling window, comfortable lounging chairs, stylish fabrics, lovely vanity/sink area, floor length mirror and plenty hanging space. Room service and staff extremely polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Overall enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rude and unhelpful staff in Bravo restaurant, which is one of the restaurants they serve breakfast in. The food is really good but some of the staff were rude the second time we went there that it was busy!

    great view! great room facility really good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean hotel, clean rooms with beautiful views, most of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member at check in desk very rude and ruined my complete holiday.

    Clean hotel, clean rooms with beautiful views, most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Exercise walking along the seafront from the hotel plus Barcelona sightseeing afterwards: perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lighting in lifts and corridor very dim - not so good for older guests. Noise of doors left to close on their own seemed to travel further than one would expect.

    Check-in staff, check-out staff, and especially the concierges were excellent: friendly, ready to listen and always helpful. Restaurant staff too very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    Paid over €300 per room night (breakfast not included!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid over €300 per room night (breakfast not included!) plastics spoon and cheap mug for coffee in the room . Stayed two nights did not replenish the coffee! No privacy for the toilet and shower!! Towel rack inside shower room too high for a short person like me and on the wrong side ! Have to take cold shower first night due to faulty tap! When pulling the blanket out the on the bed the bedsheet came out too... chambermaid not trained properly to make bed ! It’s a five star hotel but more like a three star too me! Disappointed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    A lot nicer hotels in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot. The hotel is nothing like what it is hyped up to be. It is simply expensive because the ‘celebs’ stay there. The staff are unhelpful, the lighting in the rooms is HORRENDOUS. The room service is disgusting. Views were nice and it’s a good job otherwise this hotel would get 0!

    Bed was comfy. View was nice once we paid extra!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Below expectations and hype
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service was abysmal! AVOID. It is inedible and costs a fortune. They add a delivery charge onto this and it somehow appeared to creep up from €5 to €10 as the days went on. When we initially arrived we were given a room with an awful view. We requested to change and they made us pay €150 extra for the exact same room on a higher floor.

    The view from our second room was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was fantastic, facilities, location, service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was double charged for breakfast on the sunday and I didn't notice it when I checked out and so have paid it I didn't like that you charged a charity donation automatically on my room invoice and so again I have paid it. You should ask me before putting it on the invoice, it might be only 1 euro but I should be deciding where I want to make charity donations !!!!!

    Hotel was fantastic, facilities, location, service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was excellent, facilities, location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Fabulous Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was double charged for breakfast on the sunday and I didn't notice it when I checked out and so have paid it I didn't like that you charged a charity donation automatically on my room invoice and so again I have paid it. You should ask me before putting it on the invoice, it might be only 1 euro but I should be deciding where I want to make charity donations !!!!!

    Hotel was excellent, facilities, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing experience, fantastic, comfortable room with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pricey for Spanish standards, but if you can afford it, I would certainly recommentd it.

    One of the most amazing rooms I have ever stayed in. Nice design, very comfortable, great size, breathtaking views. Great breakfast buffet. Not centrally located, but it makes up for it with the sea views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TELEVISION PROGRAMMES ON ROOM TV. VERY FEW ENGLISH NEWS CHANNELS.

    Breakfast Too expensive. Spa added cost for short swim. Most dining areas closed February and March.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Bathroom and the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception area could be more comfortable. As the sofas were just in the entrance, it was pretty cold while sitting and waiting in the reception.

    Bathroom and the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Our experience was terrific, much needed relaxing time with great views and great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast restaurants were always disorganised, the staff seemed either inexperienced or there was a lack of staff members both at Wave or Bravo 24. We always had to wait for a table even though tables were cleary vacant. Some of the switches in the room were not operational on the one side of the beds for the curtains etc (very petty thing sorry) There was a complete electric wall socket lying on the floor not mounted with unprofessional cable installation showing no insulation around the cables ( only thing i will say that it was placed behind the bedside table picture added for evidence) I would of preferred free wifi (very petty)

    The bed and pillows blew my mind they were very comfy, the room was very modern with great views. The staff were always polite and always willing to help above and beyond. Very clean and all looking very prestine condition. Had no issues with cleaning staff where i have had with other staff in other 5 star hotels just entering our room. The shower and bath are huge and are amazing, they also provide very good quality hygine products for use. We were able to Whatsapp the hotel staff allowing for much easier use than calling or physically questioning the staff about certain things in the hotel and or requesting something.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    happy when I've arrived but left disappointed, expected much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very rude staff, if you are not the richest in the room you get treated like a homeless person. Very bad experience, won't come back.

    The hotel facilities are very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    The Benedict's-eggs at breakfast are highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room has no bathtub =(

    The Benedict's-eggs at breakfast are highly recommended! We were in a room on the 19th floor, and the view was awesome. The hotel has a dynamic lobby with many people hanging around by the "Wave" lounge and the "Eclipse", the disco-bar located at the 26th floor. Great place to stay, right next to the Barceloneta beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    My bestie and I were here to celebrate our bday and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bestie and I were here to celebrate our bday and we enjoyed our stay at W Barcelona. The room was comfy with nice harbor/ ocean view. Will definitely come back again when it gets warmer! Thank you Rocio and every staff that we met :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent room.. but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive.. around 300 E per night for a single stay. I booked a wonderful sky room and requested NOT harbour view..still l was given a harbour view . Not good insulation in the bathroom .. the water leaks out of the bathroom door during the taking a shower.

    Helpful staff. Comfortable clean rooms . Wonderful view from the sky room. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    Great looking hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is far from city center. Overpriced. They doubled charged me (a higher amount) and now I have to waste my time trying to get my money back through damn emails.

    Great looking hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great .. felt sorry for some staff waiting outside in the cold for the cars n taxis service .. should have had a canopy’.

    The location , friendly staff .. n amazing hotel .. the best hotel I ever stayed in my life .. I am a frequent traveler .. this is the best to date .. will make me go back to the hotel again n again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Perfection, would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Room was absolutely amazing! Great views, comfortable bedrooms and a good size shower. Hotel staff were all very nice and made the trip easy & enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    The view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Refrigeratör didn't work. we let you know right away. But nobody came. We said it again next day, Than problem solved. They did not complete shampoo, towel, etc. during cleaning. We had to ask. The price and the name of the hotel should be better when considering it

    The view was great. The localization is very good. Check in and Check out was fast and easy. New Year's Eve program was unforgettable. Meals and show were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    If the room is quiet at night and you can see the beach that is good. But none of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lobby is very noisy!!and the bar on the top floor where have noise every night, which is very bad for sleeping!!!!! 1 The view of the room was not too satisfactory for the port. 2 Long waiting time for check in and check out. 3 The pool was still under construction and could not swim when I came. 4 Wifi password is not clearly displayed you need to call the staff.

    Breakfast is not bad and service is particularly good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Great bed, very good breakfast and great view from Eclipse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor response to issues in the room... ie. broken iron which trip the electric circuit when you plug it in! Extremely dangerous but it took 3 calls in 24hours to replace it. And shower head leaking spraying the water on to the ceiling. No one attended to it during the stay.

    Great bed, very good breakfast and great view from Eclipse

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    The best hotel experience I've ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all - I would rate this 10 stars over and over!

    This hotel was absolutely amazing! It was everything you could want from a 5* hotel. The room was magnificent and the view of the beach was gorgeous. Not to mention the 24hr room service, the most comfy bed I've ever slept on and fantastic service from staff. We only returned from Barcelona a few days ago and are already looking to book The W hotel there again in the next few months. Cannot say thank you enough!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Barcelona Is Such An Amazing City - But I Could Have Stayed All Day & Night In tThe Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic Breakfast, Excellent Staff, Amazing Drinks - I Love Everything About The Hotel, From The Music Piped Throughout The Corridors To The Complimentary Wine & Chocolates - The View From Our Jacuzzi Over The Sea & The City Was Utterly Breath Taking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful honeymoon thanks to “La Vela” The W in Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fixtures broken tub, sink, and materials from a shower repair were left in the shower.

    Great staff! My husband got sick before arrival to Barcelona and the W helped by getting him a wheelchair and extra help. There was also a national taxi strike the day we were leaving for the airport and they helped obtain a private driver.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Bedroom was beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was beautiful. had the Wonderful sky room on the 19th floor. Spa was amazing, staff were very friendly and helpful. will boo there again, when its warmer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    not anymore via booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first stay was ok. But the second stay bad. We had to wait the roome etc Overall when booing fro booking.com; as a gold member I cannot utilize the Gold enefit at all. So no need to use Booking.com anyore!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location of this hotel offering breathtaking views and the hospitality was par excellence. We found every single staff member really helpful and friendly. Fabulous facilities available onsite too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    It was realy nice and relaxing for our weekend getaway will probably not stay again too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really expensive for small room with ok view. Far from dt we ahd to taxi everywhere

    The beds were so comfortable and the bars on the top floors were awesome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff was generally friendly and nice - location of hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Sky Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast food was general good - but we were charged for breakfast one day even though we had the breakfast included. What was weird about this is we were only charged for one dat of breakfast even though we had breakfast several other days. When we inquired at the front desk, we were told that our room only included breakfast for one...did not like that answer and it definitely left me with a somewhat sour experience based on this.

    Staff was generally friendly and nice - location of hotel was very good., view in room was spectacular. Food at hotel was good as well in most cases.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely cleaning service hours have to be improved, in such quality hotel u cannot save on this. Officially cleaning service is from 9am till 5pm. So we were unlucky all 3 days coming back to room around 4:30 and still was no cleaning, around 5, 5:30 the lady was coming and destroyed relaxation. Much too few cleaning people. Hotel doesn’t have inhouse swimming pool and those outside once are not heated. You have to pay extra charge to get to spa jacuzzi.

    The view from huge window is excellent, u need to ask for higher levels and rooms with view half sea half the barceloneta beach. Check inn and out service perfect. Rooms are big and have modern design. Nespresso machine in the room. Walls and room door is noise 100 % proof.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Been there - done that.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location if you are planning to stay at the Hotel all day and night. Save your money on other hotels if it is winter season, the best arena outside is useless in cold weather. Fancy and great view from the rooms, but Barcelona is a lot more than this. Beware of the bar in top floor in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    2.5
    WORST SERVICE, POORLY LIT ROOM, RUINED OUR ANNIVERSARY & VACATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wonderful Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE WORST SERVICE I have experienxed in my entire life of travelling. They put a shame to the W Hotel brand. I emailed the hotel 4 days before we arrived that we will be checking in early afternoon after lunch, and that we are celebrating our wedding anniversary. The hotel responded stating no problem we look forward to you joining us. We arrive close to 1:00Pm and they have no room available for us. We waited in their lobby for 1 hour & 30 minutes and no one called or approached us. We went up to them and stated we were tired of waiting, and all of a sudden they have a room for us and told us sorry you were next on our list. We get to the room and try to get ready to enjoy our evening and the room is completely dark. The absolute worst dimmed lighting possible. They had a broken vanity mirror that did not light up properly. We called the front desk and they sent a technician who stated he will have someone up to replace this as it is too dim and dark in here. No one came up. We waited 2 hours and my wife did her makeup in the dark using desk lamps and cell phone lighting. On our way back from dinner we ran into the technician. We let him know that we waited 2 hours and no one came up, he told us someone will come up in the morning. We had breakfast in the morning and waited, and waited. We complained to the front desk again and a manager finally came up and fixed the lighting. It keeps getting worse. We left the hotel around 2PM and we called the front desk and let them know that we are leaving and to please send someone up to clean up our room. We come back at night and no one came to clean our room! A manager came up and stated there must have been a do not disturb sign. WRONG! We took the sign off before we left for breakfast. The manager brought us up towels and we let him know we were frustrated with our stay. Another manager comes up and stated to allow him to make it up to us. He is going to put us in a better room with a better view on a higher floor.

    Good breakfast with a large selection. The view from the room was nice. The hotel is secluded so you need to take a 20-30 minute taxi into the city otherwise you remain on the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    It was one of the most special hotels that I have experienced with my partner as a regular traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cool Corner Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    W hotel is in Iconic and safe location. Staff were nice, smiley and supportive. Design of rooms were special. It was totally an amazing experince in the corner suite. I have to acknowledge the doorman who was there in the main gate after 4:00 pm on Thursday; November 16th. While opening the door of the taxi, he noticed that I forgot my mobile on the rare seats. He saved me a lot by doing so.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse W Barcelona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: