Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eurostars Washington Irving 5 stars

Paseo del Generalife, 10, Granada City Centre, 18009 Granada, Spain

#7 of 119 hotels in Granada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1917 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, practical & good quality hotel very close to Alhambra....but not far from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really! Parking is an extra cost and isn't cheap......but it is efficient. So, apart from that, I have no negative points for this excellent, clean and convenient hotel with very helpful staff.

    An excellent hotel choice for thise who want to be close to Alhambra......but only a short walk from town. The proximity to Alhambra is difficult to beat (unless you stay at the pricey Parador) and this fact alone merits a major plus. Surprisingly, downtown Granada is only a short walk away although this involves a verrry steep climb back through a nice leafy park area. As long as you're up to the climb back from downtown, this hotel is ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Truly excellent staying experience at less than 5 min from the Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    swimming pool is rather small but okay

    Truly excellent staying experience at less than 5 min from the Alhambra. We travelled with family and enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and a bit of luxury close to the Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very expensive and the pool got busy but these are only minor points. Also no one explained that the valet couldn’t return cars before 8 and we needed to set off for the airport at 7.30, but they did their best to accommodate us and managed to get the car back by 7.45. Not many Spanish guests.

    The hotel arranged parking for 18€ per day off site by valet. Everything about staying at this hotel is easy and comfortable. But you pay for that luxury as you can get much cheaper boutique hotels in Granada. The rooms have smart tv what was a bonus with the kids at siesta time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    A real gem with an amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most probably the best location in Granada just in front of the Alhambra. A modern elegant and quiet place with an amazing dedicated staff. A++++++++++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Don’t miss it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar area . Not enough staff. Not clean enough.

    Fantastic location . Breakfast .Staff. Beautiful rooms’ bathroom. The receptionist was fantastic . She helped us to get tickets for a concert, as it seemed. very difficult. The smile she always greeted you with.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Don’t miss it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff in pool bar area.

    The staff were amazing . Breakfast was. Very good , Ltbojghg the device was only average in the breakfast room. For a 5 * the service at the poo bar was awful . Nothing was cleaned up. Under staffed in that area . Beds comfortable lovely bathroom, Could do with a better choice of Europe Tv. Great late breakfast. Fantastic location. Would definitely stay again. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, great staff and facillites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a family of 5 on our first visit to Granada. We chose the hotel for it's great location right next to to the Alhambra Palace. We arrived feeling tired at almost 10pm, the staff really could not have been more helpful. Our hire car was parked for us in the hotel's private parking (once we had unloaded) which was a relief. (We did have to pay for the parking but it was well worth it). Our rooms were located pretty close together which was helpful. The rooms were very clean, and quiet with nice views of the rear courtyward. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it would have been expensive for for 5 of us (there were plenty of places to go to a short, delightful walk down the hill to the square). We did have our evening meal there as the meu met all the varying needs of both adults and a fussy eater. We were not disappointed. Our oldest son made full use of the the gymn (small but adequate) and the roof top pool was used evyer day by our 12 year old. All in all we were sad to leave this hotel and would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Bed was super comfortable, breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay for parking

    Bed was super comfortable, breakfast was delicious. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was as good as a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    big bathroom with two sinks and "rain" shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chilly breakfast room and twin beds being a bit unstable but still comfortable.

    big bathroom with two sinks and "rain" shower. Good breakfast buffet with yummy pastry (cheesecake). Try out the fully automated toaster ;-) Great location if you like visiting the Alhambra within a 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    standard hotel, nothing too memorable but it is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It feels quite corporate without characters. the service is also, unsurprisingly, impersonal. The location is its advantage but also disadvantage. As its so close to the entrance of the Alhambra, its away from everything else. There aren't many dining options and there isn't much going on around the area. It can feel quite touristy but fortunately it remains quiet.

    Modern and clean. It's extremely close to the Alhambra palace, which is only across the road. so we can see a fraction of it from the window. however, the road is full of tourists and sometimes tour buses so if you have the curtain open, it can feel a bit overlooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    It is very close to the palace, of course it’s a little far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very close to the palace, of course it’s a little far from city center, but the bus is very convenient. The facility of the hotel is very good and staff is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A superb hotel in a great location with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The room was well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. The location 2 mins walk from the main entrance to the Alhambra was perfect. There are good bus services into town and taxis offer a quick and relatively cheap (4 Euros) alternative. The tourist "train" stops just across the road. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant for touring the Alhambra, but over starred hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not feel that the hotel deserved the 5 star rating. It seemed more like a solid 4. The toiletries in the room were not systematically replaced and the coffee (instant) provided was only replaced when I went to reception and asked for it. Items which we had removed and consumed from the honor refrigerator in the room were never replaced. The staff was very polite and very friendly, but we felt a little more attention to detail was lacking.

    The location of the hotel for our purpose in touring the Alhambra was excellent. The Alhambra is directly across the street. We had a view of it from our room. The city of Granada is extremely hilly. This hotel sits on a rather steep hill and to reach the Alhambra or one of the shops or restaurants near, you need to be in rather good physical shape for walking. There is a city tour tram that picks up across the street from the hotel, but it is a very rough ride over the ancient cobblestone streets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved every minute of it and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was small but adequate however there was a lack of sun beds around the pool, maybe another four would have been great without making it look too crowded.

    The Hotel was clean, modern and spacious with all the comforts required, the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable however the staff addressed this straight away and added an extra mattress, staff were ever so helpful. The location was stunning however be prepared to walk up and down hills immediately when leaving the hotel, although there is a bus directly outside. Fantastic location if wanting to visit the Alhambra as directly outside. Overall a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to visitors of the Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arriving by car was not easy for checking in as there is no car parking at the hotel. Cobbled stones at the entrance of the hotel are not ideal especially when arriving with luggage.

    Great location for the Alhambra. Excellent bus service to the city with bus stops across the road from the hotel. Valet parking was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Like the restaurant, the staff at restaurant and bell boys. Location is decent. Nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is very small - bath tub is nice. Sink also very very small. Not enough towels.

    staff at the restaurant are very friendly and helpful, and the food there is quite good - better than many you can find in town. i had breakfast and dinner there, bar tender is great! Quite and very close to the park. Hotel is very close to entrance of Generalife (very close!!! like 150m away, so it is very convenient). Other than those, I honestly have nothing to praise about this hotel. Bathroom is small (I already got the delux room) Absolutely no view from my room. Cleanliness is adequate. Pool is pathetically small. Staff are polite, bell boys are nice. I think not a bad place to stay overall but please don’t expect 5 or even 4 star hotel experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with the reactivity, and their lack of involvement...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very bad internet connection, impossible to watch television without interruption and finally, I forgot 2 dresses in the closet of the room and after calling 3 TIMES, no answers from them !! NO sign of my dresses, only one answer: "we gonna check", "we call you back" but they don't and It has been 3 weeks already ...

    Breakfast and view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay with a close-up view of the atmospheric Alhambra palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from some customers being lmpolite - not the Washington’s fault, we felt the gallery might have had some visual references to Washington Irvine.

    Staff were excellent. Room was comfortable and amenities very good. Breakfast was lavish and the pastries were fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for Alhambra Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking at the hotel. There is valet parking (they park the car 1km away) for €18 / day. Wi-Fi was free but very slow. Bed was slightly too hard for me. Could have done with more water in the room.

    Couldn't fault the location for short walk into city for bars and restaurants and hotel is literally 2mins walk from Alhambra Palace entrance. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Superb hotel, go and visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch can be better

    Just opposite Alhambra you find this Very good hotel, the room is superb, staf is more than friendly, And there is a small pool and roofterrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel for 4 star plenty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooom somewhat austere and vey limited cupboard space Stayed for four nights but the room turn down service only happened on (2) occasions Buffet breakfast is only average for a 3 star hotel

    Staff are outstanding and go out of their way to please clients needs especially the front of house personnel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location next to the wonderful Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing real

    Excellent location next to the wonderful Alhambra. New, clean and modern room. Very helpful staff and superb breakfast. Good bus connection to downtown Granada

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location for Alhambra, but note it’s a 15-20 min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were really uncomfortable, however there is a pillow menu which helps a bit!

    Great location for Alhambra, but note it’s a 15-20 min walk into town and there are lots of hills!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Modern, very comfortable and elegant hotel with superb location to Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit of a hike if you wanted to explore town, especially in the evening, but cabs always available

    location was superb! a few steps from entrance to Alhambra. Very comfortable property, modern rooms and all amenities provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay next to Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had some more spa services (could have used a massage after a full day visit)

    Excellent location right next to the entrance to Alhambra 10 minutes from historical center Comfortable large bed Modern room Good breakfast Had some very good tapas at the restaurant late in the evening Nice sober contemporary design

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is nothing to dislike sorry!.

    Guys there is nothing to dislike, everything was and is as it should be. its close to the Alhambra and walking distance to the plaza nueva and from there onwards all is within walking distance you eve have the city tour tuc tuc and walking tours just at the bottom of the hill with excellent bar restaurant for a light or heavy lunch with exquisite cakes in which you can take away. The hotel staff are very friendly and willing to help ah and by the way those of you like myself if you like running well just jog up the hill towards the Alhambra and then get lost through the breath taking views along its cross country circuit which is not to be missed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful Alhambra stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire staff here was wonderful and willing to help. They actually helped us get tickets for the Alhambra, which are rather hard to get as they are always sold out. We also enjoyed the courtyard and having rose wine there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful in a great location with amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good!

    We love this hotel and it's our second stay. Didn't disappoint with the beautiful decor and cleanliness of the place along with the very friendly and professional staff. We decided to include breakfast on this occasion and we were every glad we did! Great selection of quality foods with very helpful waiters/waitresses to help with any special requests you wish for. You might think a fried egg is a fried egg but the fried eggs here were absolutely delicious! Perfect location for the Alhambra Palace with it being literally a 2 minute walk over the road! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, good decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for a triple room, but the 3rd bed turns out to be a convertible sofa bed and it is too soft to sleep on that. So we have to squeeze together.

    Friendly and efficient staff that gives you a very clear and detailed guide to all historical touring spots. Rooms are very modern and with great decoration. Definitely great location just 5 mins away from the Alhambra entrance if you are targeting that. They also offer welcome drinks in their bar as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel, great location opposite Alhambra, pleasant and helpful staff. Nice restaurant where we had a drink and light evening meal, which was very good. Easy access to the city centre by the local minibus service, or a pleasant 15-minute walk downhill. Valet parking for 18 euros a night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible place to disembark! I can’t understand a hotel where guests can’t unload or disembark at the door. I had to figure out where to park the car for checking in, load and unload plus run under a terrible rain carrying my bags. If there is no room for cars to stop, there should be someone ready with a huge umbrella to guide and help guests.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast. Great location within an easy 10-minute stroll to Nazrid Palace at heart of Alhambra. Reception and restaurant staff are excellent: make you feel welcome and special. Nice rooftop pool and bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful and would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I did not eat at the hotel although the breakfast looked great. The room was perfectly appointed-I had a balcony room overlooking the Alhambra-beautiful! Huge TV, air conditioning, comfortable bed, great shower, VERY nice & accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel was booked via booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel was booked via booking.com and we were advised pay at Hotel which my friend did, only to come home and find they have charged my card as well. I am now trying to find a way to get my money back and its a terrible experience. I have been asked for proof of payment when the Hotel can clearly see they have charged us . I have paid conversion fees twice and no doubt will get stung again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean and modern hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t very well informed about the city and booked the completely wrong event for me one evening which was very upsetting

    Clean and modern hotel in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Located right next to Alhambra’s park, but away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Alhambra View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable (even though the staff tried a few options for us - all the pillows were foam, not feather, so were a bit uncomfortable for me).

    Located right next to Alhambra’s park, but away from the tourists; very well informed and helpful staff; nice large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to make cocktails, Bloody Mary or Mojhito as no ingredients available....also no slim line tonic water. Given a card to have a welcome drink in the bar, the drinks were ridiculously small, in tiny glasses for beer and wine. Better to greet customers at reception when checking in with a welcome drink. When you buy the drinks you realise the ones provided by the hotel are 1/3 of the sizes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were above and beyond especially Aaron and Christina. Answered our many, many questions with patience and a smile! House keeping accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel next to the Alhambra. Beautiful rooms with a very comfortable bed. The personal was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great location, mixed staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had three separate times where I found the staff at the bar and restaurant to be very rude and unhelpful. I’m going to make a complaint to the manager

    The lady at the front desk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very smart hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Top hotel with top staff and a great breakfast My wife travels a lot with work to some top rated hotels and she thought the breakfast here was one of the best she'd had. So there you go. We'll def stay here again if in Granada.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely modern hotel with very helpful desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor thing but the maid did not clean the cups or leave any tea, coffee or milk when she cleaned the room

    The staff were very helpful especially Carmen and the Bell boy (sorry cant remember your name) they went out of their way to ensure we got tickets for the Alhambra (which is just a two minute walk from the Hotel by the way)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat in the bedroom! Had to call reception at 3am as couldn’t sleep and air con didn’t seem to be working. We were told that as it was still winter they had the heating on which is why the air con wasn’t working.

    Location is superb! We felt like we were staying in the Alhambra itself! Views from our room were amazing. Receptionist on check in could not have been more helpful. He advised us of all the main sights and marked their location on a map. Bar served good food and cocktails. Very nice room. General hotel area very nice also and tribute to Washington Irving is very tastefully done. Asked for loan of iron and were given iron and ironing board for duration of stay. Very quiet room, no noise from corridor or other rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great hotel for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at the bar was quite slow and time taken to prepare the drinks did not add to their quality.

    Excellent service from the reception staff and cleaning team. The standard of the room was very high and the location is great. Whilst breakfast is expensive, the variety and quality of food available is impressive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    If you’re looking for an authentic ‘Moorish’ experience stay in the old town or the Alhambra Palace.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don’t bother hiring a car; driving in the old town is virtually impossible and there’s no parking at the hotel. They charge 18 Euros per day for valet parking. Breakfast was also 18 Euros and very disappointing to me, walk into the old town for value. The advertised swimming pool was only big enough for ‘Ken and Barbie’ to swim in, for the rest of us; it was a large cold bath. The pool bar was never staffed and even the downstairs main bar was only staffed when the restaurant was closed and the beer was extortionately expensive.

    The proximity to the Alhambra was excellent, the very walls were right outside the window. The room was spacious and had every amenity a five star hotel should have. The bathroom was very plush, and the shower gave an excellent rejuvenating experience. At night the room was ultra quiet (which was a double edged sword), with the old town a pleasant 15 min walk downhill. The staff was very attentive and pleasant. Hotels in the area are overly expensive, so comparatively it’s good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    High on the heights above Granada, across from the Alhambra, lies paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor item that I've never experienced in all my life (and the hotel has probably never experienced before too), the previous occupant had disconnect the telephone and TV. The TV i noticed right away and it was fixed immediatly; the telepone I did not notice until I needed something late at night, and when the telephone didn't work, I had to put on a robe and go downstairs. But all these meant nothing, as the Washington Irving was almost as a dream fulfilled.

    I loved everything - the warm, welcoming anf informative front desk staff. I asked for a room on the upper level with a view of the Alhambra, and received a beaufiul spacious, comfortable room with two sets of French doors, opening to a beautiful view of the Alhambra walls and towers. It's less than a 5-minute walk to the front entrance of the Alhambra. Breakfastsl were abuindant w/great variety and eggs-made-to order and a large selection of foods. Everything in hotel description is true. It would also be a wondrous romantic get-a-way - the Washington Irving is a fitting gateway to the Alhambra-Generalife.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    We LOVED this hotel. We can't wait to return. Everything exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior information on the valet parking for those arriving with cars.

    This is a beautiful hotel. It's the first time we've stayed in a Eurostars property, but if they're all like this, we'll seek them out! The staff were fabulous, so helpful and friendly, with excellent English. The location is perfect, just a few meters from the amazing Alhambra. We can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast is fantastic. The main reason come to Granada is to see the La Alhambra,Hotel is best location for it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    The people in front desk very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a comment about de breakfast, I didn´t like that we had a quick breakfaste ( coffe and bread) and they didn´t let us have it in the restarurant , it was just for the clients that payed full breakfast.

    The people in front desk very kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not the closest hotel to the downtown, actually there is a long slope which wouldn't be comfortable for all people.

    The design and space were great, very clean with good staff. Very close to Alhambra palace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Spent a night here with my partner as we were visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent a night here with my partner as we were visiting Granada; excelent hotel, the king-size bed was amazing. Very clean, extremely kind staff. A bit hard to reach walking as it's located on top of a hill, but it's right next to the Alhambra.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Bad Service in Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the first concierge was the only good glimpse of 5 stars classification. After that, this was one of the worst services we’ve experienced. A few examples: - no room service menu on the bedroom - when asked for the room service menu, gave us a printed copy with no indication of what could be asked at what times; - when ordering food, didn’t want to serve us, although we were said that we could order those plates (it was new year’s eve, with everything full in the city, so this was specially upsetting) - noisy breakfast room with rushing service and slow or no replacement - no help with the bags when leaving - above all: a mixture of really caring personnel and people that wouldn’t give a damn about the guests - no replacements of amenities in the room - no complementary water in the room - when asking for a bandaid the first answer was “we don’t have” So, summing up, it’s a good hotel, with 5 stars location but with untrained personnel and without a care for the guest. Not worth the money being paid. Would not recommend and would not come back.

    The location of the hotel, being right beside the Alhambra. The building and decor are warm and comfortable. The guy that received us was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in the room were tricky but eventually got the hang of how they functioned.

    Room was beautiful. Beds comfy. Modern conveniences unlike the Parador of Jaen. Location was great for trip to Alhambra. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bright blue light from the TV which remained on throughout the night. And I could not switch the TV on. Could not find the coffee making equipment.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Best of all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi is not very stable but that's very common in Spain

    the best hotel experience in Spain, super nice and helpful stuff. Give us early check-in like from 10am. wonderful location. valet parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Very close to Alahambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar and gym were closed, we were not advised. No information on the restaurant opening times or menu displayed

    Very close to Alahambra. Room was very comfortable and well decorated and equipped

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable hotel but location is the strongest thing in its favour. A bit lifeless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Booking information wasn’t clear about restrictions for vehicle access in the area around the hotel. Needs to be more explicit about parking (how far away) and public transport to centre and airport. Getting about on public transport turned out to be quite easy and cheap but we didn’t know that from website

    Well located for the Alhambra and public transport to centre Comfortable bed. Great shower Helpful staff on reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Not a 5 star at all, just a cute 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 slices of white bread with a slice of simple cooked ham and a slice cheddar cheese i was presented in a piece of aluminium foil, as an 10,- sandwich to go! (TEN EUROS, no serano or iberico or any Spanish form of ham) No bottle of water offered at the room, when i asked about it, a girl at the reception put on her shut up and drink from the tap too much make up face on and literally told me to either just drink from the the tap or pay! (She defo had a bad day!)

    Location is perfect as its almost right in front of the Alhambra entrance. The interior is beautiful and the guy welkoming me at the reception was really friendly and helpfull!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Lovely, classy hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very good and can't complain.....

    Very nice hotel with big comfy beds, lovely mood lighting and very tastefully decorated throughout. Wish we could have stayed longer. Also a great location with a short walk to the city centre and right next to Alhambra.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    A fair and honest comment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was very poorly done, photos in attachment, the parking service is just bad..25 min to receive the car..plus you need to book your own car every time you want it or need it.. with at least 30min in advance. Our room had water infiltrations in the sealing and some mood...

    The stuff was kind and professional, the location is outstanding, the rooms are indeed comfortables

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels bar CNBC- no use if you are not interested in looking at market news all the time.

    Excellent location. Staff friendly. Food good Excellent facilities .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Super hotel in a great location
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that the recent refit included a quite complicated lighting system in the rooms - maybe a bit too’techie’ for most visitors!

    Great location opposite The Alhambra. Lovely, spacious rooms, helpful staff, private rooftop pool and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location but sadly not welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The uncomfortable breakfast atmosphere-sadly due to the breakfast managers unwelcoming and uncouth attitude. Also being locked outside the hotel at 8.30pm after a sauna for 15 mins in Bath robes after staff locked the spa area without checking that it was empty! Not being provided with a room service dining menu and having to wait 30 mins after phoning to be provided with one.

    The female reception desk member of staff and the close proximity to the the monuments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and clean rooms, good location if you don't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Comfortable and clean rooms, good location if you don't mind walking into town but there are taxis. Good facilities but the hotel lacks a little character given it's stunning views and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Hotel..certain staff members need improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything was perfect at this place other than the fact that our air conditioning wasn't working upon arrival. We opened the balcony to get some air in. That night we still were unable to get the air conditioning to work. I called down to the front desk and the man working that night said that he would reset the system. After he did, the air conditioning still did not work. He came up to our room and reset the system from inside the room and it still did not work. He said that if they had other rooms he would have moved us, but they were sold out and they would try to move us the following day. This is all not a huge deal, obviously I would like the air conditioner to work in my 5 star hotel but I get things are out of their control. The next morning I go downstairs and tell the woman at the front what happened the night before. She takes out an Ipad and tells me the air isn't working because the balcony door is open. I then questioned why the staff had a tool to that tells them when windows were open but the man working the night before had not checked this ipad..her response was just I don't know sorry. So I am annoyed because we did not get comfortable sleep at all but I really don't think its a huge deal. What I found to be a big deal was that later in the morning on my way out I asked the same woman to give me some change for my cash, during which she apologized again for the air conditioning. As I left to use the bathroom downstairs, my friend sat in the lobby. I assume this woman didn't know that we were fluent in Spanish said to her coworker, "She was complaining that the air wasn't working and I told her obviously it won't work with the window open!" I do expect more professionalism from the staff at a Eurostar, at the very least for them to wait until we all leave the hotel to talk about the guests....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel but quite a distance from centre especially at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom facilities were not good lighting was poor and not to have a mirror in the bathroom seems untrue but this is poor design common sense should prevail when designing bathrooms!!

    Hotel was lovely, a little distance from town centre breakfast expensive but delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location ,big bed , great bathroom, swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told that I could park my own car in a Carpark 100 meters away, then paying 16,00 euros for parking when I thought they were being helpful, not enough staff waiting and having to find a waiter,empty of staff apart from front desk , came with children the Netflix wouldn't work , just Chinese tv stations , they tried and failed to fix , walls in my room must be thin as I could hear the person snoring all night , they must of woken others , the outside world made less noise than them. Ask to check out at 12 only to have housekeeping knocking on my door at 9,30 . Oh well I was up after all .

    Amazing location ,big bed , great bathroom, swimming pool, close to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    High class right near Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is with 18€/day valet service. The price of the stay is quite high.

    High class place, right near Alhambra. Helpful and kind staff. Easy to get in town by foot, coming back is uphill but there are frequent busses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxed stay in a location fantastic for access to the Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's uphill to walk from town, if that bothers you.

    Huge, comfy bed. Good lighting. Very good shower. Room was very spacious. Nice hotel pool. Very easy access to walking in the Peri-Urban park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location right opposite the Alhambra. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Spacious well appointed room. Added bonus of the roof pool and bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Housekeeping and resturant staff are not as friendly - The entrance of the hotel is right on a main road which makes it not safe and not comfortable as your taxi will simply block the road until you get off your taxi

    - Reception staff are very helpful and kind. - Great breakfast - Wonderful location - steps away from Al Hamra Palace - 5 min away from downtown by taxi ($5-$6 Euro)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay, albeit not quite up to our expectations. Great location for visiting the Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Classified as a 5 star hotel but doesn't quite live up to this reputation. Gym didn't have any weights, only a treadmill and stationary bicycle - not exactly what I'd call a gym. Pool very small and we were not able to take advantage of it as it was always busy.

    Close to the entrance of the Al-Hambra, useful for when you need to wake up at 6am to get in the queue for tickets! Eggs with garlic for breakfast was delicious. 2 basins in the bathroom was handy and the towel radiators was useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In terms of value for money, we thought that the hotel is much more expensive than what you get in terms of quality. We paid aprox €120 per night and while the room was nice, it was quite small. The pool is also small. The hotel is a bit overpriced.

    Breakfast is amazing! Very pricey but amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    It was good for visiting the Alhambra but otherwise not a great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and oddly laid out. There's no conditioner in the bathroom.

    The location is 2 mini walk from the ticket office and the main gate of the Alhambra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    If you want the tranquillity of a location near the Alhambra, this is the perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping not quite up to the rest of the hotel. Only one tiny bar of soap, which was never replaced. Shampoos etc not replenished either. Delicious chocs on first night, never again. That said, the room had always been made up when we returned after lunch. While brilliantly sited for The Alhambra, there's a 20-minute walk to town - and back, uphill. However, the C3 bus @ 1.40 euros makes it easy.

    Elegant brand-new hotel with extremely efficient and friendly staff. Small pool which is nice after a day of sight seeing. Restaurant excellent - tried both breakfast and dinner. Location fabulous for The Alhambra (but get tickets in advance, the concierge is not allowed by law to get them for you).

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eurostars Washington Irving traveller photo gallery