Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellington Madrid 5 stars

Velazquez, 8, Salamanca, 28001 Madrid, Spain

#57 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1506 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful family holiday!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could be warmer as it was freezing!!!

    Everyone was extremely helpful,and friendly. The hotel and our room were beautifully kept. A really lovely experience. Great location!! We will definitely be going again !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    4th stay better than ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Barrio Salamanca Calle Goya is a very short walk, all stores are close by and the area is filled with excellent retaurants and bars As one would expect in an upscale neighborhood. The hotel staffare very courteous always willing to make your stay the best , if you stay at Wellington club level you are in for a real treat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Perfect central Madrid hotel. Comfortable and the Wellington club was a fantastic added bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. The facilities were great and it was fantastic having an outdoor pool available in the summer heat in the centre of Madrid. I will definitely stay here again when we return to Madrid. It’s not a boutique romantic hotel but for a couples weekend in Madrid it is so well situated I think it should be a romantic possibility!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Everything -location, hospitality, friendly staff, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything -location, hospitality, friendly staff, staff response, service, food, cleanliness, room size, Asthetic. Near by shopping and tour bus stop. We really loved to stay and will come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, pool, staff and spacious room! Just the bathroom needs an update!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were very dated probably furnished 20years ago! Especially the hair dryer! I am bit concerned because the images on their website shows modern bathroom fittings! Or were we allocated an aged room because we booked through Booking.com !!!

    The beds were very comfortable and the room very spacious! The staff were really courteous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.2
    Disasterious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My alloctaed room smelt of "wet dogs". My room was changed twice. The payment from Bookings.com was messy. We checked out after only one night of our four night stay. We moved to a beautiful hotel, the Gran Hotel, Ingles.

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Pool, balcony, location and Club contributed to a perfect Madrid experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location in beautiful Salamanca neighbourhood and close to the Retiro park, big comfortable terrace, nice pool and pool area and nice Club facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Good location, A great end to our two week visit to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When waiting for transport to the airport we spent approx 2 hours in the hotel lounge, it would have been very nice if we'd been offered complimentary tea and biscuits ; the cost to the hotel would be next to nothing considering we'd been in residence for 3 nights, the gesture would have made our wait easier.

    Beds very comfy, linen and towels high quality. The staff all exceptionally professional and helpful, especially when sorting out transport during the taxi strike. I will not consider any other hotel when visiting Madrid.Management to be congratulated. Tkx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was charged E17 euros for a non alcoholic mojito !!!!!

    Amazing breakfasts, lovely pool area and bar/restaurant on the first floor and also the hotel was in such a great location for restaurants and all the sights!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Traveling alone with three young kids and required some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clientele seemed a bit stuffy and were not particularly warm toward families. However, this is hardly the hotel’s fault.

    Traveling alone with three young kids and required some assistance booking tickets and finding a courier service for luggage. Left camera in room and front desk located it and had it sent to our next hotel in Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we found disappointing is that the hotel is no longer using Clarins products, we upgraded to a club room as one of the perks was Clarins toiletries but they are now using Molton Brown instead.

    The hotel was lovely, bed was extremely comfortable, room was large and the spa facilities were amazing. The pool was small but adequate and we really enjoyed the club room, where there is a large selection of canapes and free drinks, including spirits. We also really enjoyed breakfast, which included a glass of champagne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot and the room air conditioner only turned on with the key inserted in a slot beside the door. A/C needed some improvements.

    Excellent food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    The Wellington was just fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The Wellington was just fantastic. The facilities both in the room (i’d Forgotten a razor, there was a nicely boxed disposable along with many other potential emergency needs in the bathroom), and elsewhere in the hotel were everything I was expecting and more. The hotel is in a fantastic position close to Retiro park and the Prado, Reina Sofia and many other galleries/museums. It’s also very close to many fine restaurants and interesting shops. We only ate breakfast every day at the hotel but, that was almost worth the cost of the stay alone! The variety (including the option to have a glass of champagne with your breakfast!) was amazing, a vast array of fruit, cold meats, traditional cooked breakfast, cheeses, churros with chocolate sauce, breads, any sort of egg you might desire (well Benedict anyway!) and all attentively and discretely supervised by wonderful staff. Which brings me onto, what I believe is the hotel’s strongest point, its staff. All the staff we spoke to did everything they could to provide the best service. I cannot say enough about the obvious pride they have in the hotel. Thank you so much for a wonderful visit to Madrid!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great experience , we stay there over and over again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Location is great , the hotel is out of the hustle and bustle of tourist areas but an easy, pleasant walk to most restaurants ,parks and shops etc. The hotel is an Elegant classy place to stay. Staff always friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Madrid, best expirience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all

    Excellent hotel. Great service Take a club room. The wellington club free entrance worth it all Free food and beverage and views of the city. Great atmosphere and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended! Looking forward to come back again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need to be aired better or there might be something wrong with the drain pipe in the bathroom in our room.

    The breakfast is amazing! And the Wellington Club a very nice touch. The Location is perfect if you want to be away from the tourist mob but still stay in the heart of the city in a lovely area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, super comfortable bed, well equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in need of a refurbishment; the decor seems tired and worn. I love the old world design, but everything just seems like it needs to be refreshened.

    Great location, super comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in an awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roooms are a bit small, so if you are looking for something more spacious you should not buy the most economic rate. The bathrooms however are of a decent size

    The hotel has the most awesome gym. It eveb has crossfit lessons, spinning classes, etc. I loved this extra value. The staff is very friendly and helped us out with fre wifi for extra devices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel--fabulous location near Metro stop, quieter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful hotel--fabulous location near Metro stop, quieter neighborhood, across the street from Retiro Park. But still a reasonable walk (20-30 minutes) to Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace, etc. Staff, accommodations, breakfast, bar--everything is first rate, with a very reasonable room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend and certainly return.the staff enhanced the stay in an otherwise standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices in the bar were exorbitant!having to queue for a table at breakfast was ridiculous.the breakfast was fine but certainly nothing to rave about.also,the room was extremely hot and stuffy

    The staff are extremely well mannered and friendly and professional.lovely relaxed ambience and beautiful decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed sheets are awful. For that kind of hotel, very poor bed sheets. They didn't replace some water and soft drinks that I had from the mini bar, so the following day I had nothing to drink.

    The Hotel is outstanding, the service and all the staff is wonderful. The gym and spa it's one of the best I have seen in a hotel. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of staff did not speak English. Rooms were outdated, especially bathrooms. Floors very noisy. Although airconditiong is there, it is old/not working as should be and even in mid-november rooms were just too hot to sleep in. Housekeeping personel feels very comfortable to be knocking and entering the room at the same moment - not pleasant. Also, they quite liberately decide themselves what to take as carbage - they just decided to take our pram’s rain cover as trash and that’s it, we lost it.

    Very good location. Nice breakfast. Staff friemdly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Great looking hotel in good location. Needs some improvement in service for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service staff in lounge/bar could be more attentive. Room service food quality was below expectation for the price. Breakfast over priced.

    Great location. Lovely room. Nice interior all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Value for my money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C did not cool enough. Shower temperature water mixes randomly .

    Location very close to El Retiro Park and Salamanca zone, good wellness center,remodel rooms , confortable pillows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Amazing 3 days in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the customer service department. Lourdes and Andrea were awfully nice and extremely helpful. Santiago at the Wellington club went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Beautiful hotel. Excellent service. I will definitely be back and next time I will purchase a set of those extraordinary sheets!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall good due to position in Madrid and a very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was in the centre of the hotel surrounded by high sided buildings so lost the sun quickly, so don't pick this hotel to lie by the pool in the afternoon after a day of sight-seeing and remember it is not heated! The hot tub wasn't hot either!

    The Wellington Club although make sure you understand which drinks are included. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel is right near the beautiful Retiro Park and the main art galleries. The hop on/off bus stops right outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful wonderful place to stay; so close to the park and not far to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have nothing we can think of except the price of breakfast since we have small appetites.

    This was a fabulous hotel, the breakfasts though expensive were bountiful and delicious. The room was comfortable clean and stylish. The lobby and extra areas very accommodating with plenty of room and seating choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, traditional and very classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a larger room. Not enough space for two adults with a piece of luggage each. A night light imperative for bathroom trips without tripping over. Breakfast and bar drinks too expensive.

    Great location, traditional and very classy hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    All round good experience,,, thought they catered more for business people rather than tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Wellington Club was a complete waste of money,,, food was shockingly bad,,, drinks and staff were great.

    Spotlessly clean,,, excellent location. Whole hotel is just excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Traditional service and comfort means luxury in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was an exorbitant price - so we didn't have breakfast at the hotel - there are many cafes around - one opposite the hotel, others a few minutes walk away - for a quarter of the price of the hotel

    Very comfortable bed, sheltered terrace with pool and bar / restaurant, very good gym - we didn't use the spa but this was adjacent to the gym. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic luxury hotel, really friendly and helpful staff, excellent location, can't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A couple of very minor things niggled. Only one decent sized cup for the coffee machine - the other is an espresso cup - so you can have a nice argument each morning about who gets to drink out of a glass. Also the air-conditioning in the room isn't very strong and the room could get hot at night. They did get an engineer in to look at it immediately we asked but actually we figured out that if you close all the doors including the bathroom, wardrobes etc. then it works okay - just don't try to cool too big a space with it. Finally, there's no space in the min-bar fridge for your own purchases if you buy wine/water/milk/whatever for in the room. You'll end up buying a bag of ice every evening and using one of the sinks as a makeshift fridge if you want a late night glass in bed. Really, they should either put a small personal fridge in the room for people or make space in the mini-bar - it's not much to ask.

    We stayed in a superior double room with a private terrace and views of the Madrid skyline and it was gorgeous. The bed was huge and really comfortable, the rooms are well kept, beautifully clean and the fantastic marble bathroom has a rainwater shower, his and hers sinks, and all the 'stuff' is from Clarins - which I'm assured is nice. It also has a Nespresso machine in the room which is very handy for when you first wake up. The staff were excellent, all really helpful and friendly, and they get stuff done for you effortlessly and efficiently. I'm not sure how they did it, but whatever time we went out for breakfast, and whatever time we got back, somehow, in that space of time, the room was cleaned and all the towels, sheets, bath stuff etc. was all replaced/replenished. Given the questionable nature of some of the mess we made and the debris we'd leave around (uneaten food, empty wine bottles, stuff all over the floor) I'm astounded they even went in there half the time! Breakfast was comprehensive and excellent quality with the usual array of everything from eggs (ask if you want poached or fried), sausages and bacon, to meats and cheeses, excellent pastries and lovely fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices and so on. Coffee was good served with hot milk, tea was also pretty good but not really strong enough for English tastes though that's not unusual. The restaurants are pretty amazing as well. The Kabuki is a 2 Michelin starred Japanese restaurant with a slightly Spanish twist that earns rave reviews, but at around €300 each you've got to really love Japanese food. The Wellington Terrace restaurant on the other hand is much more reasonable with excellent takes on traditional Spanish cooking. We only ate there once but it was truly one of the nicest meals we had in Madrid and deserving of a Michelin star of its own. €152 for both of us with a couple of bottles of local wine didn't seem outlandish given the quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Amazing bed and view from the room terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing bed and view from the room terrace. Location in Madrid does not get any better. Pool restaurant and room service meals were outstanding. Staff and housekeeping perfectly pleasant- will recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the classiest, best part of madrid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    If you don't mind being in the fancier part of town, this is a great hotel for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can seem a bit arrogant as it is located in the fancier part of Madrid.

    So comfortable, clean and old-classy. In August amazing because it has a great outdoor pool. And they upgraded us which was a wonderful bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a fabulous city!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more free sun lounges - get rid of the fancy ones as no-one uses them.

    The Wellington had a lovely feel from the moment you enter. Our room was quiet, calm & spacious, the breakfast buffet was superb & several hours lying beside the pool was a treat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location and nice lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel that should be renovated. Antique furniture and old fashion bathroom. Poor brunch and expensive. Crowded pool area during the week-ends.

    Good location and nice lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel! Fantastic Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought attempting to impose a dress code (Elegant/Formal Attire Requested) on the breakfast buffet and Wellington Club a bit stuffy and unnecessary. Even if it wasn't really enforced (from what I could see), why make any guest feel unwelcome or not up to snuff? We also felt like the room and bed were a bit on the small side.

    Loved our private terrace, having access to the Wellington Club, and the fantastic breakfast buffet. Gorgeous hotel with a great location - lots of great restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location humble service and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and repeating same old food Flyes was sharing food with us!! How much nice it was!!! Swimming pool open time 10:30 in the morning!! It should 7:00 morning

    Location team are helpful but poor dinning service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Great Location, Not So Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not equipped for Toddlers on strollers as the entrance has 3 steps and an additional 5 steps from the lobby towards the elevators. Not to forget the floors have thick carpets which makes it difficult to push anything with wheels. A/C was terrible we slept without the blankets due to the amount of heat. Not to forget the stiff rectangular pillows accompanied by a gigantic square one, definitely a case of style over substance. There were no normal pillows. Staff was not helpful, no additional assistance, just the basic duties.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    An excellent traditional hotel with modern room facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Mini bar prices are too expensive, 7 Euros for a small bag of M&M's for instance is ridiculous. There can be a long wait for the lifts at peak times, as there are only two for the entire 8 floors and they are not large. Some of the main public areas décor looks a little dated, but this is a tiny observation in an otherwise great hotel.

    I Particularly liked the spacious bathroom with its two sinks and separate toilet/bidet section. The rooms are immaculate, well appointed and with good air conditioning. Being from the UK, it was nice to see they had all the UK TV channels except Channel 4 in the TV line-up. The free internet wifi was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast top quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy children in the swimming pool at all times put adults off. Its the second time we have been here and the pool needs to be managed properly. The pool guy at the hotel had bad english so communicate was not good. Staff at pool need customer service training.

    Breakfast top quality! Staff at breakfast were amazing. A real 5* hotel. Location stunning. Great TV channels...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Our short break honeymoon....good hotel just needs freshening up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini bar facilities were not just overpriced they were extortionate 6 euros for a mars bar.... There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room - although we did discover as we were leaving we could request a kettle in the room There were holes in the marble flooring in the bathroom which I caught my toe on and it really hurt My side of the bed had a dip in it, so I couldn't lie on my front Breakfast at the hotel would have been nice but at 36 euros per person it was out of the question...... there are a few cafes not too far from the hotel where you can get a great breakfast for 10-15 euros The room really needed redecorating the décor was tired, the carpet had sections carved out of it from trailing bolts on the wardrobe. The noise from the bar by the pool was quite loud and you could hear a fair amount of noise from the hallway too.

    The services available in the hotel were extensive as one would expect from a 5 star hotel It was clean....its just seen better days Loved the turn down service - although they didn't come on the last night. Staff appeared from no-where to help with bags on arrival and departure and were friendly and helpful The amazing gentleman on reception allowed us to check in really early which was super welcome since we'd been travelling since 3am (GMT) and arrived at the hotel at 11am (Local) this allowed us to freshen up, have a rest and then spend the rest of the day exploring Madrid

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Class and comfort at a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in main coffee lounge are not very attentive, sometimes its hard to get their attention to order or pay the bill. Slow check out. Room TV did not work.

    Nice outdoor pool and poolside bar / restaurant. Main coffee lounge inside is cool and comfortable. Front desk staff are polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.8
    Big disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service and attention at front desk The desk staff gave absolutely no indication of my being a valued guest! Quote to yhe contrary the impression of being a nuisance and "an ugly american" (I grew up in Europe and travel extensively back and forth) .thus bred with excellent manners

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoybable stay in a fine hotel with an attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very enjoyable stay in a fine hotel near Retiro park and just outside the craziness that makes Madrid so special. We walk most places, including to the Prado, other museums, restaurants and the park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is overpriced for the condition it is in. It needs a good remodeling. I stayed there a number of years ago, and it was much better. It is not that clean either, very poor decoration except for the lobby, very old furniture, room drapes are old and dusty. Should close for a few years and remodel, they are doing it soon at the RITZ

    Location courtesy room size secure helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Were placed on the first floor, which is pretty much a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were placed on the first floor, which is pretty much a basement. There is disco right next to it so imposaible to sleep. Every morning they start refurbishment works that wake you up

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    Very overpriced, needs to be refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is VERY expensive for what they offer, basically paying for the location. Decor is tired and dated, rooms are a bit small. Breakfast was not included in the tariff. The first room we were given had not been cleaned after the last guest. The hotel does not offer any complimentary water with the room (most places would include at least one small bottle a day during hot summer months), nor were there any tea or coffee facilities. The staff are friendly, however, they do not have good knowledge of the local area. When asking for bar or restaurant recommendations, they would refer us only to the hotel facilities, rather than recommend anywhere local. The gym facilities do not open before 10am on weekends, which is very late if you want to do something with your day in the city. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel at its current rates, as there is much better value, quality and service out there.

    Located in a very nice neighbourhood, and the pool is a sun trap. The fitness centre offers a standard gym and a small crossfit gym. UK TV channels on offer. Quiet room, not disturbed by any other guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Superb location, a very comfortable room in an excellent Spanish atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cabinet doors did not close. Room a bit stuffy. Hotel somewhat outdated.....

    The comfortable bed and pillows. The quality of the sheets. The cleanliness of the bathroom. The location. The charm of a bullfighters hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    the size of the beds were to small for a person of 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the size of the beds were to small for a person of 1.90cm and the first night we slept at the street side were is a nightclub and there were 200 young people on the street between 02.00 and 06.00, me and my daughter could not sleep. We get other rooms following night. Very helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Aside from Sunday breakfast problem excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The closure of the café on the street on Sundays

    At 36 euros your breakfast is exceedingly expensive. Yogurt, Fruit Salad for 36 euros is ridiculous. Why is your café on the street closed on Sundays. There you can have the same breakfast for 15 euros

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Authentic Spanish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold swimming pool Price of bottle of water by the pool €5

    Wellington Club was well worth the upgrade. cocktails on the terrace watching the sunset And meeting a Matador in the foyer. Helpful staff, managed to retrieve phone left in the taxi!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, but beware the minibar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar: touch anything and you get charged, even if you haven't consumed it Receptionist: condescending attitude of Victor P when I explained minibar problem; needs a lesson in how to treat customers Bar/food prices: over the odds

    Location The excellent Sr Romero on reception and Manuel, the ever helpful and personable commissionaire

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    a place to come home to!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    availability of in room massages was not very accommodating and queen or king size bed options not available, simply two single beds together

    service is excellent!!! lobby bar very cozy !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    a very good hotel
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ı have no complaints whatsoever

    breakfast was excellent but overpriced the room was on the side road, and being a luxury double room should have faced main street. the staff was very good and professional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.4
    Not as great as hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely expensive dinner and breakfast options No help at hotel for tourist bookings

    Walking distance to Wiki Centre which was useful, but a fair walk to central areas of Madrid

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.0
    Served it's purpose for the Rock N' Roll 2017 Marathon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find the staff too friendly in fact I'd say they were a bit stuck up. On arrival we requested some information and we were handed a not too great map with no willingness to explain details. Paying the bill there were mini bar charges which we did not use. Also, because of the Madrid Marathon room prices were DOUBLED for the weekend. We had booked well in advance of the Marathon but when paying the bill i was told the price doubled for Saturday and Sunday as the hotel was booked out for that weekend. There seemed only one lady in reception who could speak English, she was efficient, the others (there were quite a few) did not seem to have any English at all, either that they didn't want to use it. I have stayed in many hotels equivalent to the Wellington Hotel all over Europe and in the USA and never have I encountered such stringent rules and regulations. It's a great pity as it could be such a relaxing haven in the beautiful city of Madrid. Swimming pool was closed.

    The room and terrace was beautiful. Its a stunning hotel but let down by rules, regulations and staff enforcing the rules. Breakfast was ok. You are not allowed to bring anything out with you - i had a juice and wanted to go outside and was stopped at the entrance of the restaurant (at breakfast) and told i was not to bring it out. He stood right in front of me blocking my way so I couldn't leave. I wanted extra water for the room on Marathon day so I asked in the Wellington club for some. I was refused and told the only way to get extra water was through room service. The bar is the same, you cannot bring drinks to your room from there. I have 2 Hands and am well able to carry some bottles of water a few feet to the room! Very bad service altogether. I went to a local mini market around the corner and got all the water i needed for my husband following the Marathon. It took 2 days to take away an ice bucket from the room, having said that the staff looking after the rooms are so pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Very Special Hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing! We just couldn't fault this hotel.

    Everything! The staff were brilliant, from housekeeping to concierges and everyone in between. The Wellington Club was a real treat and the breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Definitely going back !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything there was nothing out of place . Breakfast the rooms . We as a family would recommend anybody service and quality to what you pay is more than worth it !!

    This hotel was really amazing from the second we got there . Helping me with various problems that had nothing to do with them. The staff were fantastic and I hope to be back there soon as I would only stay at the Wellington Real class hotel people everything!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    The best thing about Wellington is the location in one of the best part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overall a bit old fashion and the rooms would need refurbishing.

    We appreciated the very good service at the executive lounge and friendly staff. We had a room on the 7th floor with terrasse and a fantastic view of Madrid's.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    3.8
    Three star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bottle of water as complimentary as free of charge as well there is no heater for drinking tea or coffee, the hotel is very old, there is a lot of noisy sounds because of night club or bar nearby to hotel, we could not sleep very well, they gave me in the first night 2 beds room however I made a request for one king bed previously, I believe this hotel dose not deserve a five stars as classification,

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.5
    Excellent stay with few flaws..
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Exagerated parking fee, 35 euros/day. - Terrible Room Service, quality and quantity. Specially breakfast and dinner. - Exagerated heating.

    + Location + Helpful and educated Reception staff + Room upgrade and free extra bed for travelling with a child. + Excellent sleep quality except for Room temperature.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and efficient, the business...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sheets were low quality and the pillows uncomfortable. the king bed was 2 single beds together and you could feel the separation.

    The staff was very friendly and efficient, the business centre was convenient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    6.7
    Was my favorite in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff never smile or say hello, Except for the club staff they are very pleasant, The hotel furniture feels exhausted needs to be renovated.

    Location, Room, Club, WIFI

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    2.9
    A great Hotel and country to visit between Lisbon and London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, nothing not to like. We arrived early and because our room was not ready, we were given an upgrade

    The lounge was exceptional in food and with an excellent staff. We were helped with tours of Madrid which were very informative. Do not miss a tour to Toledo....once the Capital of Spain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Well worth upgrading to the Wellington Club!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As guests, we had not expected to be charged 25 euros per person to use the spa. Very frustrating as there was no information (other than room service) in the room regarding hotel facilities.

    The Wellington Club was a fabulous bonus, excellent selection of snacks and nibbles with a fantastic view of the city. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. City tour bus stop literally outside the front door!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.4
    The best thing about this hotel is the amazing breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a feeling of faded glory. The room is dark and a touch outdated. It needed a face lift to bring the hotel Wellington back to the glitz and glamour which it once was.

    The best thing about this hotel is the amazing breakfast room and the good range of breakfast on offer. There are some good art hanging on each floor landing. The room is comfortable enough and service is standard for hotel in this price range.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Quality and location make this perfect for Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, we have never been able to adjust the temperature/air conditioning to our satisfaction and opening the window, while helpful and refreshing, does not always guarantee warmth or cooling. We never eat in the hotel as we find the pricing is too high but around the area are numerous eating establishments with a diversity of pricing that compensate for this drawback. A couple of suggestions, the rooms need more wall plugs since we are now in the electronic age with multiple devices that need charging and for those of us who do not eat breakfast, coffee or tea making capability in the room would be helpful.

    My wife and I enjoy this property very much. It's location is excellent and the quality of the surrounding area makes it a perfect place to explore Madrid. Around the hotel are numerous cafés and restaurants of all price ranges that allow for entertaining moments. You have to explore to find them but once found they are never forgotten. Nearby, is the El Retiro Park which is well worth a visit since it has incredible green areas and wonderful boulevards lined with an assortment of trees. We have always found the bed's comfortable, the bathrooms fully equipped and the rooms incredibly clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Every first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and forthcoming Staff, very nice bed and sheets, excellent Breakfast Buffet, everything first class. They even surprised me with a warm birthday congratulation, thank you.

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    The hotel is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and a party which went on until 1 am kept us awake. At first they said it was going to end at midnight; it did not. We were also disconnected when we tried to get assistance. The lack of honesty and attention was not appreciated. It was brought to the manager's attention the following morning. They should not book a room over the party area if it will be a late evening and a possible disturbance to the guests. Also they should keep the red carpet at the entrance free from debris--first impressions are lasting.

    The hotel is in a great location. The breakfast is fantastic! Other than the incident with the noise, the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the staff were unfriendly and did not smile or greet us as we entered and left the building. There was no free water in the room which we would have thought standard for a luxury hotel.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.0
    Wellington Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all the hotel was just average......staff had major language issue as most of them didn't understand English at all......too expensive for an ordinary hotel

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    GREAT VALUE, GREAT LOCATION, LOVELY STAFF & A CLARINS SPA!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms a bit small and furnishings could be modernized. But no complaints.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. LOVED the Clarins amenities that were refreshed every day. Top notch!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is in an excellent location, negative issues were dealt with in a very professional manner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard of service in Wellington Club and serious food issues

    Very comfortable, quality classic hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    The beds are really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are really comfortable. Recommend the Wellington Club.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Swimming pool in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - The Wellington Club
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit pricey

    A great pool in the centre of Madrid. Magnificent breakfast. Very helpful staff. Luxury is not cheap

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Wellington Madrid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: