Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3 stars

Kauppiaankatu 5, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00160 Helsinki, Finland

#93 of 169 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2587 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Love these apartments.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is always a bit quirky if u arrive when staff and reception not open.

    Love these apartments. Stayed in them for theast 4 years while running a large conference. Clean, simple and well equipped

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic apartment. Easy to find as it is a very short distance from a team stop, so easy access to harbour or train for airport. Walk into centre was not far but there was always the option of using the trams which was great when you had walked a long way to the far side of town and wanted an easy way back. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Well located Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is close to the ferries to Tallinn which makes it a perfect stop for anyone coming from or going to Estonia. Helsinki's inner city is also just a few minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Great apartment near the center of Helsinki.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is quiet, huge, nice and clean. It's great to have your own personal sauna! Great location too. Great for a family as the cooking facilities have everything needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    The neighbourhood was quiet and out of the city yet easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some information on how to get tickets for the tram is required as there is no ticket machine nearby and drivers don’t sell tickets

    The neighbourhood was quiet and out of the city yet easy enough to tram or walk to all the major tourist sites

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice if you're happy with a bit less.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities and furniture of the room were from millenium change. The room wasn't very functionally furnitured.

    The area is quite but still on walking distance to city central. The apartment was really spaceous. Lady in the reception was really heplful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flat wasn’t cleaned to a sufficient standard and all of the furniture seemed to need a proper clean. The furniture and decor in general is tired and dated. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in and the pillows provided are a joke. The flat comes with a balcony but there are no chairs outside to make use of it. For a three a night stay, no housekeeping was provided and the hotel requires you to wash any glasses or dishes used yourself. Overall the price paid was quite high for very low standards.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    No frills apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen wasn't really functional..no bench space to prepare a meal and also no toaster. The apartment we had was on the ground floor with no privacy from the street unless the dark drapes were closed shut. It would have been good if some basic things like tea/coffee/milk were provided. The furnishings have seen better days.

    It was quite spacious with the bedroom separate from the living area. Close to a tram stop and the food markets and harbour restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Wish We Had Chosen Another Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was very dated. The chairs in the “sitting area” were old and dirty. We did not want to sit in them. Surely a bit of coffee and a couple of tea bags could have been left for guests. The windows were dirty . One of the bedcovers was ripped. There really seemed to be an uncaring attitude toward the upkeep of the place.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was the best part of our stay. We were given an upgrade for our room, which was a nice gesture. The location was good. We were close to what we wanted to do, and it was a quiet neighbourhood. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Filthy but spacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was really not clean! Underneath the cushions on the couch were hair, peanuts and all sort of dirt. The upholstery and curtains need to be replace. ( or cleaned at least). The dinning room chairs were sticky. If this improve it will be a marvellous place to stay.

    This was a huge apartment with extremely good position ( close to public transport, Uspenski Cathedral, Ferry Teerminal for Viking ferries and waterfront Plus points: Laundry room ( in the next door building) , position, clean bedding, huge apartment with entrance hall , dinning and lounge and kitchen, one bedroom, and one and a half bathrooms. I would recommend this for young travellers that doesn't care to share as in our apartment there were space!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little tired, could do with a bit of a renovation. Freezer needed defrosting. No close supermarkets.

    Good location within easy walking distance of the centre of the city. Good size apartment reasonably well appointed. Nice balcony with good views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Spacious clean room in quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious room with basic kitchenette which was clean and bed comfortable. Well located near the number 4 and 5 tram or a 20 min walk from central Helsinki in a quiet area. Great to have washing machines and driers available at no extra cost. Internet was good. There are no tea or coffee provisions so need to bring your own. Stayed in building A, the elevator stops between floors so need to carry luggage and down about 12 steps. Ideal for our needs, good value for money and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan would be useful on the ground floor apartments to help circulate the air. The shower door frame was not sealed at the bottom so the floor flooded. The radiator in the shower room was jammed onto maximum making it unbearable in there. The spare pillow in the cupboard smelled like it hadn’t been washed in a while.

    Clean and spacious apartment. Close to a tram stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    4-night August break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upholstery on chairs scruffy and stained. Bath towels are small. No toaster.

    Spacious apartment. Nice, quiet location. Near the town centre. Tram stop one minute walk away. Coffee maker. Good kitchen facilities. Electronic key works well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    Big Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was extraordinarily smelly. The furniture was very old and very shabby. There was no housekeeping at all. Had to put out our own rubbish. The staff were unfriendly and did little to be helpful. This hotel is one of the worst we have stayed in for the price. It is no more than a second rate hostel. I wish I had paid only a little more for somewhere decent.

    It was spacious. The locatiòn was good and close to a tram stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning. Luckily we were between the heat waves. Kitchen is a bit sparsely furnished with utensils. No condiments for cooking.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who speak perfect English. 5 minutes walking distance to bus stops. Alepa grocery store, Market Square, Senate Square, ferry to Suomenlinna Fortress are about 10 minutes walking distance. Cute, antique elevator necessary because we were on the 5th floor. Very roomy. Out unit has a big bedroom, living room which has 2 fold-up beds and sofa. Big enough for an entire family. Private sauna is a bonus. Public sauna is available (have to sign up) if unit does not have private sauna.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Close to center but in a quiet location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside would be the heat , very warm accommodation

    Close to center but in a quiet location . Spacious accommodations Tram 4 & 5 stop next to the hotel from the city center if you don t feel like walking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean, functional accommodation in an excellent location for family break. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The two beds in the main room were a bit basic (fold out type beds) and the cooking equipment, cutlery / crockery were a bit sparse. OK for basic snacks / breakfast, but don't plan on cooking 3 course meals! But we ate out every day anyway, so no big deal. In general the equipment was a bit sparse and 'random;' (e.g. one coat hanger!) and the standard of maintenance was OK, but could be better. Overall though it's good value for money for a large apartment in Central Helsinki, so as long as your expectations are at the right level we would recommend.

    Functional and spacious apartment. Excellent location, in a quiet residential area yet 15 minutes walk to the central market square and 100m from a tram stop! Clean and tidy, staff helpful and access procedure out of hours worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great value for money and very good location near many of the sights, for access to ferry to Tallinn ad the Helsinki wharf/ waterfront. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation is near the centre .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some dishes were dirty , chairs are very worn, the freezer had a huge frost .The accommodation needs some furniture exchanges .

    Accommodation is near the centre . The bed are good. The apartment is spacious - it was very pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location and self contained unit accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exceptionally hot weather and the accomodation doesn't have aircondittioning or fans. The rooms were hot and stifuling to sleep

    This is a self contained unit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Big, well-fitted apartment in central but quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and there was no fan in the apartment. As it was on the ground floor I did not feel comfortable having windows open all night.

    Nice big apartment - bathroom and sauna were brilliant. The kitchen was clean and had everything you would need to cook, it even had a dishwasher. Laundry room was free of charge which was great. There was a tram stop 1min away going to Rautetientori which was really helpful especially when leaving for the airport at 530am.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a one bedroom apartment with one double and two single beds, what we got was a bedroom with a double bed and a roll out bed, our son is 15 and this was not suitable- he was so uncomfortable he spent the second night on the sofa. We could have saved money and booked a hotel room if we wanted a roll out bed - very many cheaper apartments have sofa beds, we chose not to book one so our son had a proper bed. No basic provisions were provided - for a two night stay we had to buy tea/milk/sugar/coffee. There was no housekeeping at all - these are not ‘serviced’ apapartments On the first day we had no internet, this was resolved the following day but after traveling we were expecting internet availability

    Location is good, quiet residential area close to the city. Supermarket 10 mins away lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and roomy appartment central Helsinki with outdated furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wheather was too hot and appartment not fitted for that specially bathroom also furniture should be updated

    Lot of room and space for good value for money very close to Helsinki main attractions still quiet area. Good facilities for cooking and eating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Ready for some makeovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture very tired and stained, though cleanish. Loose floor board , plumbing dripping all things which simple repair work but neglected . Rusty dish rack handles on drawers and cupboards in kitchen sticky. Dusty window sills. However Floors and tables bathroom beds clean.

    Location was great - I liked it so much I stayed again. Quiet , interesting and handy. Reception Staff were helpful.Price was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Simple apartment; clean; convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power cut (not their fault) and no air conditioning/fan when the weather was unseasonably hot, so sleeping was difficult.

    Simple apartment; clean; convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    You can find better value for money apartment hotels in helsinki area.
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and facilities need some maintenance, proper cleaning and facelift. For example; Kitchen area is covered grease and oil residuals, lot of stains in furniture and even curtains, shower booth has no door (obviously by design there should be one), lot of kitchen utensils that should be there were missing, lot of dust here and there under furniture.... I have tried several Hellsten facilities in Helsinki capitol area and they generally have same issues. Location and rooms itself are great but maintenance and cleaning is neglected.

    Spacious rooms and basically good facilities (kitchen, laundry room, sauna etc... ).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Spacious in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen did not meet the floor so we flooded half the bathroom floor each morning but it dried quickly. I don't bring a hair dryer with me so missed that.

    We stayed in the B building which looked more modern than the building housing Reception. There was a modern lift up from the car park below. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our studio apartment which had a comfortable seating area as well as table and chairs. The kitchen facilities worked well for us. The decorating style was a little drab but provided everything we look for in an apartment and there was plenty of storage. We found the location for the price to be excellent as it was only ten minutes walk to the lovely harbour area and main attractions. It was also perfect for taking our car on the ferry to Tallin as it was a very short drive of 2 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Good family base
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helsinki was in the middle of a heat wave. Windows were locked and we couldn't open them. Instructions for rubbish were confusing

    Location was brilliant Quiet Great with a family Check in at 1am with codes was slick and effective

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.0
    Very functional, definitely no-frills, apartment-hotel in good location by marina.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows missing handles. Need to sign for online payment already confirmed through booking.com; need to re-authorize room key after signing for payment. Invoice had to be picked up on day departure instead of being emailed.

    Good location, easy after-hours check-in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation. Ten years ago the furniture would have been very nice. I didn't like the fact that though we were 2 persons in a flat with sauna we only had 3 big towels for 3 days. Plus not a lot of shampoo for 2 people for 3 days. The room is dark, big buildings around. When having a shower the water was going everywhere in the bathroom; like public showers.

    Clean. Close to the city center. 15 min walk in case going back very late without tram.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Won’t be back
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were dirty yellow instead of white. Pillows were small ( baby pillows ) The smell in the room is disgusting No daily cleaning service

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    We'll be back. No doubt about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with some new wallpaper, otherwise everyting was great.

    Excellent location, beautiful apartment with a kitchen, a fireplace and a sauna, regular cleaning and overall feeling of comfort and well-being.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    This is nice old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is nice old building. If you have many luggage, then maybe you need to do extra jobs to carry your luggage by stairs. The reason is they have old elevator that stop in between of floors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good, basic accommodation with great staff. Interesting old building with good size apartments.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. All was as described.

    Very quiet location, walk to the centre of town in 15/20 mins. Got a small upgrade on arrival. Very friendly and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but could do with some TLC...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenware wasn't very clean. Fabric on chairs was very grimy. Cupboard and drawer handles also grimy. Several lamps were missing light bulbs. Absolutely no courtesy items (coffee, teabags, sugar/salt/pepper sachets, long-life milk, etc) in kitchen, and 10-15 minutes walk to nearest grocery store.

    Apartment was comfortable and quiet. Bathroom, towels and bedding were all very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful and attended to requests promptly. On-site laundry was excellent. Tram stop nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Quiet convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a 24 hour reception. But help can be found with a phonecall from the lobby.

    In a quiet part of Helsinki but still close to lots of good sights. The sauna on site is a great bonus. Staff are helpful. We loved the old style lift. The tram is close. It is worth getting a tram pass for your stay. They are easy to catch and you can see a lot of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Rather good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacceptable dirt at Check in, espacially in the kitchen Nothing to clean (no broom) and no housekeeping during our stay Poor quality of equipment and too old decoration and furniture. Very expensive parking

    Rather good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Art Nouveau in Helsinki!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful area, very cozy apartments, an authentic entryway and an elevator. The room has everything you need for cooking and storing food. The room is spacious, the beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and competent. Before the ferry terminal and the main sights are within reach. We would be happy to stop here for a longer time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was an excellent experience, excellent helpful staff, with a very nice clean apartment, very near location to everywhere, especially to the Marina congress area, and the tramway. I strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    It's an OK place. Rooms are old and smelly but spacious. Also an ok location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells old and they didn't provide room service. Our bathroom was flooded with water since the shower encloser wasn't fixed. We had to use all our towels just to have it clean.

    The rooms are big! They provided plates, utensils and other necessities for the kitchen and dining area. Location is near the city market where they sell local food and products.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Afordable apartment close to Helsinki Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english. The apartment was in easy walking distance of Helsinki centre and had the #7 Tram right on your doorstep. There were at least two supermarkets within a 10 min walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, huge rooms, peaceful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The door to the shower cubicle was missing. The water used to spill out. Also, instructions should have been provided on how to use the sauna.

    Location was excellent. Size of the apartment was huge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tatty old and stained furniture. Old fashioned interior in need of decorating and updating. Not very clean. No bedside table so everything had to be put on an unclean floor.

    Quiet location, good for most amenities. Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice secure car park. Comfortable, but small, beds. Reasonable price for expensive Helsinki.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed space to spread out and the convenient location in a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upholstery on the chairs was very tired and dirty.

    The small kitchen in the studio was good for preparing meals and snacks. Two hot plates plus microwave oven were perfectly fine as was provision of kitchen tools, pots , fridge etc. There was quite a good supermarket at the end of the nearby tram line-only two stops from the Hellsten. We were grateful to have plenty of space to spread out, big closets and a full length mirror but the most important thing is that the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment would need a thorough scrubbing...

    It was a lovely, quiet location with great tram connections or just a couple of minutes to walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    We really expected a better standard of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation itself was quite a good size but as we have come to expect from Booking.com these places tend to have many apartments and you cannot go on the one advertised. We expected two bedside tables (I have a sleep apnoea machine), instead we got a bed wedged between two cupboards and the double adaptor for the two overhead lights could only be accessed by pulling the bed away from the wall whilst holding the wooden bed head which was not attached. The seating was grotty to say the least and with only two very thin towels and two very thin hand towels supplied, we had to use one to cover the dirty chair to put my machine on which needed a power point, and the other as a bath mat. The mattress was just a topper on a mattress base and very soft. Dishes were to be left clean but there was no tea towel supplied. Cooking utensils consisted of one small saucepan with a lid and one other small lidless saucepan. Not a pan of any sort. The front of the fridge and freezer were not clean and the ‘f word’ written in the thick dust on the overhead light says it all. All over not a very memorable experience. About all the self catering you could do was breakfast cereal. The use of the word “hotel” is a gross overstatement.

    The location and the receptionist was quite pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no cleaning service for staying more than 2 nights......

    the apartment come with a balcony and just 5 mins distance there is a very long coast park that you could have a walk or go for bike. The sunset scenario is great!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The location is close to the city by tram and it is very quiet. The staff were always helpful and courteous. Our flat had a little terrace and lovely to sit out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit further out of town than expected and just big enough for 4, but with a weird set up & the electric rings on the oven did not work at all and they asked us to clean up all the crockery before we went; again just a little weird

    There is a great Nepalese curry house round the corner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.5
    Staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is weary old, especially chairs

    Staff. They tried to help every situation i’ve met. Huge room with living room, sleeping room and the bath with warmed floor Soooooo quiet in room and on the island

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice location in a quiet neighborhood, quite close to the city centre. Kitchen facilities were just enough for quick meals (supermarket not far, even closer if you take the tram).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor can do with a refurbishment / modernising; although the apartment was large, the double bedroom was compact; en suite bathroom was compact - two cannot be in there at the same time; Parking charges a bit expensive - 25% more than nearby, equally convenient car park.

    Quiet location; clean; Not far from the centre of the city; Friendly staff; Good price for the overall offering

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    We had two apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms and sauna are a little dated. The stove did not work properly, not possible to cook.

    We had two apartments. Characteristic old building. A lot of space in the apartments. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Really great location, but apartment needs a lot of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment we stayed in was very dirty and not well maintained at all. The walls had stains and dirt on them, all over the apartment, and the lampshades were hanging loose and dirty. The beds were massively stained underneath the sheets, which were loose fitting and came off easily, revealing the horror. There were dust bunnies all over the floor in the bedroom and the headboard had been replaced with a much smaller one (could be seen by the dirt outline on the wall) which was loose and rattled by the slightest movement of the bed. The freezer was full of Ice and the iron shelf was rusted. The kitchen light under the cupboard and the drying shelf in the cupboard was filthy and the utensils in the kitchenette where dirty and sticky. The furniture is functional but untreated oak wood tables and nightstands had massive stains on them and a sticky feeling. The built-in Sauna could not be started, although we did not check with the staff on the reason why.

    The location of this apartment is really great. A short walk to "downtown" and the harbor and great connection to Tram nr. 4 that stops very close to the apartment. The area of the apartment is relatively quiet and seems to be up and coming in the city. There are some great sights close to the apartment and they are all a relatively short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a good stay with few minuses.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The chair seats and armchair were very stained. I was loath to sit down on them. The window blinds were broken.

    The bed was extra comfy, also the apartment was nice and clean. Location is pefrect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Shower flooding the bathroom - Silverfish in the bathroom - Sauna has to be reserved well in advance, evening hours were not available for our dates

    - We got a free upgrade to a bigger room - The room was very large and had cooking amenities - Good compromise between price and location - 5 min to walk to cafes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The décor could use some work as the room was starting to look slightly 'tired'. This doesn't affect the stay, however just replacing some items in the room, such as seats in the living area, could really make the apartment even better than it already is.

    The apartment was extremely comfortable with very good facilities inside the apartment itself. The bed was very comfortable and living area very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Quiet, spacious stay in wonderful Art Nouveau location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little dated, cutlery could have been cleaner

    Extremely calm sleeping and spacious room in wonderful location close to cute, comfortable and lovely coffee shops, restaurants, the water side, the Allas Sea Pool, Senate Square, the Harbour Market, ferries and the city center. Decently equipped kitchen that facilitated our every need. Quick and quality service from staff and the option to privately book the sauna for an hour a day was an absolute bonus. We stayed here for five nights and did not want to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    A spacious apartment in a perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture could use a refreshment. Sauna didn't heat up properly.

    Spacious room(s) with a comfortable big bed. Apartment consists of a bedroom, living room with kitchen and bathroom. Big windows make the space bright, letting plenty of sunshine into the rooms during the day and at evenings indoor lights make the surrounding feel at home and cozy. Well equipped kitchen. Generally a pleasant choice with friendly staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were very spacious, nice, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very spacious, nice, comfortable and clean. Private sauna is small, but still was a great experience to have it every evening (tip: start heater in sauna at least 1 hour before you plan to use it). Located in very nice area, you will enjoy walking around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Best for Viking cruise travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception was closed sometimes, you are to call by phone & follow some instructions, not rather complicative though

    big family apts in the heart of helsinki (5 min walk to promenade) for the price of twin. parking & homely stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, easy walking distance to the city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front doors are very heavy and hard to manoeuvre with a heavy suitcase (seems to be a Finish trend as the central station has the same issues). Unfortunately there were quite a few dirty dishes in the cupboard and some food splashes around the cooking area. Everywhere else was nice and clean.

    The location was great, easy walking distance to the city, very close to the ferry. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was comfortable and spacious and reasonably well equipped. To be able to book the Sauna for an hour was an extra and unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.5
    Location is good and the girl from the reception is helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The apartment needs new painting, the lightbulb fell from the bathroom, some lightbulbs were not working properly, the walls were quite dirty.

    Location is good and the girl from the reception is helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, location, location! The location was perfect, close to city center, to the square and to the (boat) terminal. We had a flat with separate bedroom and our own sauna, which we used every evening!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Calm, perfect. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Quick walk to centre, close to tram stop. Sitting room, fully equipped kitchenette, nearby free to use launderette, good bed, good shower room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location close to center and harbour, but property needs soen refunriching
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen chairs were disgustingly grubby; did not dare to sit on them. Sofa and armchairs also were quite dirty.

    Good location close to the center and harbour. Spaceous room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice for those who travel with family !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - We ran out of shampoo and body wash, but didn't get a refill - One door-window was without a curtain and inside was visible to outside. Had to cover it with a bed sheet

    - Check-in and check-out process was smooth, 2 hrs before and after the mentioned time - Apartment was spacious and clean - It was comfortably warm inside - More than enough towels and bed linen was available - Laundry was well within reach and no queue for laundering - Walking distance to market square, city center and relatively cheap grocery

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is better if the garbage bins in apartments were cleaned by the hotel daily.

    There was enough space and the kitchen was also well equiped.Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice family apartments in Helsinki city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room with kitchen and everything you need to prepare some food, comfy bed. We were upgraded to the bigger room :) Friendly staff, great location, close to all sightseeing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good option in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice apartment with facilities for cooking. Very spacious, easy to find, friendly staff. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere from the hotel but also tram stop was half a block away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel after my reservation and arrived give me the information about: if anything after my stay not clean in kitchen area then they’re take fee . But how much or what mean clean didn’t saying. So i think: if the hotel mangers want same extra fee then most to write before reservation on page and exactly how much will be the fee. I think this is normal in Europe. I was happy i make the reservation on Booking.com picose i call the booking.com and they’re help me. The property is not wheelchair accessible! My apartment was on 5. Floor. Elevator didnt work to the 5. Floor! Unclean walls every where.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the city centre, but easily accessible by transit or walking.

    My room was a spacious studio apartment! I loved having the extra space, it really helped let me unwind and relax for a few days. Also, free sauna, and laundry, can't go wrong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Lots of space, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space, clean and comfortable. Unusual way to check in, but the documentation they give you when your order is confirmed and the signs on the inside are easy to follow. It’s a 20 minute walk from the train station and supermarkets. But fantastic to have a walk around at sunset. Be warned, uber does not work. So download the TAKSI app or google their number if you want to get around. I’d recommend a train from the airport then a walk or taksi to the apartments.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Good sized apartment in a convenient location, tram stop...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kitchen a bit disappointing - good fridge/freezer, but no toaster. Some furniture, armchairs and table chairs require urgent replacement. The furniture is awful, decades old and full of dirty stains.

    Good sized apartment in a convenient location, tram stop located 30 meters away, harbour 7 minutes walking. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hellsten Helsinki Senate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: