Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Finlandia Hotel Alba 3 stars

Ahlmaninkatu 4, 40100 Jyväskylä, Finland

#18 of 28 hotels in Jyväskylä

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1003 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel was very accommodating in our requests and the room was very comfortable. Check in was easy and the location was great. Breakfast was good with good choices. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside table so items had to be on the floor.

    Lovely location on a campus by the lake. Quiet. Nice area to walk and cycle. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Easy parking. Okay evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to say

    Good breakfast, excellent location inside the University, great view over the lake, pedestrian/bicycle/running track around the lake strarts just outside the door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waste basket in the room was a bit broken. Sauna was too early in the evening and available quite short time anyway.

    The bed was good. Beautiful lake scene. It was quiet during the night. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean, very visable dust under table. Cold in the room and in the bathroom. To reach the heating regulation you must go under table on your knees, where is a lot of dust. But it was still cold.

    breakfast, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was awful. It interrupted constantly and was impossible to use. There were reconstruction works in the hotel and they did not inform in advance about it. Cleaning was poor. Our room was not cleaned properly before we checked-in and was maintained badly. No soundproof at all.

    Lake view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old like from the nineties. TV was the smallest one I have seen on hotels. Washing room was small and no door between shower and toilet/sink area, so all the floor was wet after showering. The room we were at, definitely needs renovation, thogh there was labels on corridors, that they are renovating, so maybe next time will be better. Right now I would say that I overpaid.

    Staff at check-in desk was very friendly and nice, very! Lady was very talkative and positive, loved the work I would say. Breakfast was with a fairly large selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff is friendly and good at speaking english. Room was comfortable and tidy. The breakfast buffet was really good. I just wish that all three star hotels can be as good as Hotel Alba!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sauna in the room took a long time to heat up; almost 2hours. The orange juice was very watery at breakfast.

    We were in a junior suite over looking the lake which was spacious, very comfortable, and had a fantastic view. The breakfast choice was very good. Very easy to access the city centre and surrounding countryside. We tended to walk every where.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alba hitel is situated by the most beautiful lake. You can go swimming rigt from the hotel the staff were so serviveminded, the food exelent and the room vere comfterbel. .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of a thing I didn't like.

    We loved the location - it was incredibly convenient to reach by car, the Alvar Aalto Museum was just across the highway (accessible by car or by a pedestrian bridge), and it was easy to get on the highway to do touring from there. The hotel is also, I should mention, right on the lake, with lovely views. The facility itself was beautiful - modern and fresh - it felt very much in the tradition of clean and attractive Finnish design. The best meal of our trip, hands down, was at the Hotel Alba. I had the joy of booking the sauna with one of my cousins and getting cooled on the the lake just outside. I would definitely return there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are quite small, even for scandinavian standards and seem to have problems with the water plumbing

    the view of the lake and the surrounding environment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were noisy customers in the neighboring room, trouble to sleep.

    Excellent view to the lake and university! I appreciated the presence of organic options in the breakfast i.e. oatmeals and the freshly baked bread. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was consistent with the category of hotel. If we had gone for a higher-end place there would have been more space, and more towels, and toiletry amenities, and so forth. But we got exactly what we paid for so we can't complain.

    Heated towel rack in the bathroom. Nice to have a chest of drawers to stash things in. Nice view of lake and dock and university buildings on opposite shore of lake. Interesting design feature to have the two beds line up head to foot instead of both heads in the same direction; not so good for us, a married couple, but excellent for our colleagues who were traveling with us - two unrelated people. Other hotel guests included kids in town for a sports tournament and it was fun to see them enjoying their adventure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good. The spirit and great services from staff especially The smiling ladies was amazing. All stress and pressure, yet performing professionella. Fantastic staff. Reception was outstanding and worldclass in supporting us european team att Koneagria 20 16 fair efforts. Thanks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didnt quite get where to park, because the parking lot of the hotel was full, so we just dropped the car in front. Be careful with sauna hours, because men go after women, not at the same time!!

    The place is amazing! I would definitely go back there! Rooms are clean and nice, wi-fi works well, food in the restaurant is really tasty and breakfast selection is great! Location is close to city center if you have a car, but if you dont the walk there is along the beautiful promenade. The stuff was really friendly and helpful even have been speaking a little bit of Russian :) Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    > The beds were not really beds, more a couch with a thin mattress on it. > Beds are very small! > In general its more recommended for students only or for 1 or 2 nights. > Not very clean, rooms old. > Too expensive, unfortunately not worth the price.

    > Breakfast was really okay, nothing to complain. > The staff is very very nice! > Location and the view is really beautiful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find because of tiny street sign for hotel sign. Other side of street had diff name with huge sign. So tell travellers

    Good restaurant. Beautiful location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view on the lake is very beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness of the room

    sauna and lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine, I really enjoyed my time there! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very delicious breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went out of their way to assist!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No freeze/mini bar in the room, small room.

    Location if you visit to university

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was clean and reasonable size. The shower was great and the breakfast good with variety of things to choose from

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very cold in the room!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very good. Superb view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    to small bed

    Silence, it is very important for me.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No other toiletries supply besides shower and shampoo liquid.

    lakeside view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    better beds

    Room sparse and not comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scenery of the lake is awesome. Breakfast is good, with a range of variety of food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all ok - nothing spectacular, but a good place to stay for sleeping

    Excellent location, quiet, waterfront, within reach of downtown, lots of parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice shelter for a brief stay. Sufficient facilities with reasonable buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a budget room so there were no light blocking curtains.

    Breakfast was very good. My room was quiet. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately service (during the dinner) was quite slow. Many people had to wait for quite some time. But, there was no complaints concerning the actual food.

    excellent food, I ate a Hotel Alba club sandwich with chicken.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is really 3 star hotell, no magic. small rooms, simple furniture. no restaurants or entertainment in the neibourhood. the city center is 15 min of walking, but the walking route doesn't look safe in the night time, and the city center is bars and pubs, almost nothing to eat.. so do not be late for the evening meal at the Hotel as we did;)

    Great views and location - if you like walking/jogging/cycling. Near the University and the Lake. fantastic views in the morning from the dinning room. breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Family with young children

    It is around 1.5km far from the central station. Even though it is possible to walk instead of taking a cab, it can be a long walk with suitcases and under rain. However, the location is perfect for people who have business in the university.

    It is a clean hotel with helpful staff and a good breakfast buffet. The view to the lake is also good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower door was broken (actually it didn't exist...), everything else was good.

    It's very kind of the reception that changed my suite to the lake side. Appreciate!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bathroom was very dirty when I came and when i requested it to be cleaned it was a bit better, but still not clean. Thankfully they then straight away, without discussion gave me another room that was very clean. I think that someone just forgot to clean it, mistakes are human!

    The hotel is situated in a wonderful location, at the lake. The breakfast in the morning is excellent with a large variety of food. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Alba is an excellent hotel with friendly staff in a great location. Everything about it is first class. The breakfast is extensive and superb, with everything catered for. The location is beautiful on the side of lake Jyasjarvi. Impossible to fault.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    TV-oli pienempi kuin läppärin näyttö ja wc-/pesu tilan lattialla oli pitkiä mustia hiuksia.

    Olin varannut pienen yhden hengen huoneen, sain kahden hengen huoneen. Näköala ikkunasta oli upea.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite having a modern sauna, it has too much light which make the sauna experience not so pleasant and relaxing as it should.

    Fantastic view to the lake

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    thin unconfortable bed

    nice view from the restaurant and room, facing the lake. about 15-20 min walking from the center. room essential, the bed was too soft, bathroom nice and towels provided. restaurant delicious, we have been there for dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Sauna was open only very limited time of the day.

    Staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room is on street side...

    Great lake view! Nice dining room! Good staff!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed/pillow, shower room

    Breakfast view and selection, lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    It a bit out of date and cold

    Very pleasant staff and view to lake and bridge

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    COLD room. No bottled water in the room. No food markets nearby.

    Variable and tasty breakfast. Very good coffee. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Broken shower doors.

    Nothing special about this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little and uncomfortable room. Poor furniture. No value for the price.

    View to the lake.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food, view from the window

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom sink cracked.

    Wifi. Location. Free parking

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is on the lake and had beautiful trails for hiking. It also a museum of architecture near the place.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room was cold. Women's sauna shift too short.

    Friendly staff, excellent value for money and lovely views

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was great. Also nice view onto the lake

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is stuated near the lake in vicinity of the campus. It is walking distance of the city centre. Parks around are nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Huone pieni, erilliset vuoteet

    Rauhallinen

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed and pillows were awful Lack of local information in English was a shame

    Dinner was very nice and good to be close to town

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit out of the way. No double beds available

    Great view of the lake and university campus Nice lake walk

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some dust behind desk and behind TV set.

    Location. Atmosphere. Supportive personnel

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staffs are friendly, location is great, breakfast is wonderful! Everythig is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved being by the water with a walking path.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Rooms are a bit small -Wifi rather slow and sometimes hard to connect to

    -Location -Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be better

    Location near the lake

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi coverage was poor in my room.

    Nice location

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: