Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Finland hotel reviews
  4. Finland hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Arctic Snow Hotel

Reviews of Arctic Snow Hotel

Lehtoahontie 27, 97220 Sinettä, Finland

Review Score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.6
    The experience of staying in the ice hotel was a once in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The experience of staying in the ice hotel was a once in a lifetime thing. The facilities on offer are excellent and should you find you can’t spend the whole night there there are warm beds you can move to. The shower block is clean with plenty of hot water, there are big towels and hair dryers too. We were woken up at 3am for the northern lights and at our requested wake up time with hot berry juice. Breakfast was extensive and very nice and our dinners in the Kota and Ice Restaurant were delicious. The salmon was the best I’ve ever tasted and I’ve been to Alaska!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Amazing ! A bucket list experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed a night in the Ice Hotel. The resort is spectacular in every way. The staff are all friendly, helpful and accommodating. We ate the best mushroom soup and plank roasted salmon in the world and the ice sculptures are incredible. We also had a snow sauna! the only one in the world. The warm drinks were just what we needed. If you get a chance to go here please do so you won’t regret it!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    2.9
    The driver of the shuttle is friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower is only limited to the public sauna place. People those living in the snow hotel don’t have their own shower place. And the shower time has limited hours(1 hour for ladies and 1 hour for gentlemen) in evening.

    The driver of the shuttle is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.3
    An experience like no other! Stay only 1 night, and do suite. Check out hot tub/ice restaurant/bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY COLD at night even with polar sleeping bag. This is an experience, if that sounds terrible to you to be a bit cold overnight, probably stay elsewhere or sleep in the dome. I will say the igloo hotel itself is super cool and should be visited. the hotel has outlets near the beds, so I think they should setup an electric blanket so people are likely to be warmer sleeping.

    Loved the igloo, book the suite and pay the extra money, it is worth it! The ice carvings were amazing. Make sure to eat in the ice restaurant and have a drink in the ice bar. It was really good food! I was impressed, I had the salmon and tried the elk. Pretty good imo! We were able to purchase snow pants on site, which was nice. Highly recommend that you bring your own snowpants though! You will definitely need them. Bring those hand/feet warmers if you are easily cold. It is definitely cold sleeping inside the igloo. Loved the hot tub!! They give you polar sleeping bags with a liner but I was still cold. Keep the bags inside the warming area until you are ready to sleep (that way they will be warm longer). The warming area has a few bunk beds but the lights are always on and people are constantly going in and out all night. This is definitely not a cheap place but is a worthwhile experience for one night. Breakfast buffet was meh.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    8.8
    Stunning place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and drink is very expensive. I know Finland is expensive but at least when we stayed at Santa Claus Village they give you 10% discount if you eat there. At the Arctic Snow Hotel and Glass Igloos there is nothing around you, you have to eat on site which works out rather expensive.

    Just a great place. Snow Hotel is beautiful and and a unique experience. The glass igloos are magical to watch the Northern Lights through. They also have 2 reindeer on site that are friendly and you can feed. Staff were really helpful. Beautiful place.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    6.7
    Location was very nice and staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sleeping bags were too cold and it was very noisy in the snow hotel. It was was not possible to turn off the light in the warm bunk bed room, and the heater was very noisy which made it almost impossible to get any sleep

    Location was very nice and staff was very nice. The dinner restaurants served good food.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.5
    The staff was really helpful and friendly, they create a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Short hours for having sauna for free and showers and when staying at the ice rooms. Ice sauna and jacuzzi are available only for extra free (about 25 each), it would be nice one hour for free for the guests.

    The staff was really helpful and friendly, they create a really good atmosphere. It was a great experience and really good deal staying at the ice rooms. Easy to get to the hotel, big road signal will help you get there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.8
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix-up with the time of our private sauna booking so we had to wait an additional hour. However, the staff were really nice and offered us free bottles of water for the sauna.

    Had a great experience in the Snow Hotel. Although we weren't cold during the night, we didn't manage to sleep much but it didn't bother us. We also had dinner in the Ice Restaurant and booked the snow sauna with private Finnish sauna and jacuzzi. Was really fun!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    4.6
    It can give more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The draft is really not kind. Also it should have more facilities and more good treat to tourists. Sometimes they andare you as if it was too hard for them. Also they are not coordinated.

    The location and the idea of that kind of hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.3
    Once in a life time experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath room is not open 24/7, only allocated 1 hour for night shower. The ice room is pretty small.

    Once in life time experience in the ice hotel. Staffs are very friendly. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.9
    The experience of being one night sleeping in a snow hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not very comfortable sleeping at -5°C but I recommend to do it once in life.

    The experience of being one night sleeping in a snow hotel and we saw northern lights!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    6.3
    Cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed. So so very cold.

    Very cool experience! Ice hotel was spectacular. Saw the Northern lights courtesy of the alarm service offered by hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    4.6
    Good but way too expensive for what it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception staff were really bad, exceptionally rude. We paid extra to have a private sauna and jacuzzi experience and when I went up to the receptionist to ask about it, she actually responded with "what??" In a rude and impatient tone after I said "excuse me" I've stayed in a lot of places in my time, all over the world, this is the most expensive accommodation I've ever paid for and definitely the rudest most incompetent staff I've ever had the experience of dealing with. Also, be warned that everything costs an arm and a leg, that includes food at the restaurants. You may be paying Michelin star prices but you are not receiving the expected quality of food. Have a good think before coming to this hotel, as it is a lot of money and the service and food just doesn't match the prices.

    Some staff were very helpful, they give you a tour around the snow hotel as well as the larger surrounds. Hearing how the snow hotel was made was really interesting! The service staff in the ice restaurant were great and professional. The night manager made sure the fire in the fire room was always burning, he woke us up to see the northern lights and gave us hot berry juice in the morning. Which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.1
    Creative but not for the fainthearted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A night in any ice hotel is to be survived, not enjoyed, but it can’t be marked down for being what it is! My only real criticism would be that the prices for food are very high and the dinner menu severely limited. Luckily we had a car so could pop out for something at a more reasonable price.

    Beautiful suites, though the regular rooms don’t have the ice art that you’ll see in some of the pictures. Helpful staff. Warm sleeping bags and spare beds in the locker area for those who get too cold - these were full when I got there around midnight so I slept on the floor. My son lasted the night in the ice room and loved it though!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.2
    Come for the experience that you will remember forever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cold!

    The experience! Sleeping in the snow hotel and dining at ice restaurant. Great guide! We had Will as our snow shoe excursion and ice fishing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Even its so cold everything was great and maximum comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even its so cold everything was great and maximum comfort for us ! And what they gave us for the sleep in the snow suite . Was too warmy . A very excited experience . Including the snow sauna that was also great

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    Once in a lifetime experience! Igloo stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like about the aurora alert, they will tell you when the northern light up! The sauna and breakfast is awesome too. Do keep warm and bring small luggage when u stay in snowhotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    2.9
    Nice design, but would NOT recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities were awful: no comfortable spaces for luggage or just even to get changed. Everything is very expensive (for example 30€ for a tranfer to/from the city) The initial “tour”, when the guide should have told us about the hotel, was not even a tour. It was merely a set of instructions given very superficially and in a rush.

    Kota restaurant, snow hotel design

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.3
    An amazing experience especially on New Years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilets weren’t always that clean (probably as it was the busiest night of the year). It was also a pity the last bus to leave on the day of the check-out was at 11.30am, so there no time for activities on that day.

    The whole experience was amazing, the staff was super friendly, the room, private sauna and jacuzzi are spectacular. We were there for New Years and the party was lovely

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.8
    Unique experience in a magical land of snow and ice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to comment on. Potentially being told there were 2 different types of sleeping bags may have helped us select one that would have kept us a bit warmer

    Unique experience staying in a room if ice. Lucky enough to see the Northern Lights! Staff were fantastic. Friendly and helpful. Private sauna was a welcome way to warm up. Dinner in Ice Restaurant was great. Fantastic food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    Unique experience sleeping in a -4 degrees Snow Hotel!!! So worth the expense
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant meals are very expensive. Cups in the Ice Bar and Morning Hot berry juice should be served in a sustainable cup not once off use polystyrene.

    It's such a unique and amazing experience to sleep in a snow hotel, loved being able to walk around and see all the other rooms, thank you for the room upgrade, enjoyed the orientation tour, the detail, the lights and the art in the snow hotel is amazing. Staff were all very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    5.0
    A little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only showers available were communal. Lack of storage space for luggage and room to organise requirements for the night. Hotel is right away from any facilities like shops etc so all meals had to be had in the restaurant. There was no really nice place for viewing the aurora should it have appeared. The ice room was plain unlike all the photos that seemed to indicate all rooms were themed.

    The breakfast was good and well set out. The experience was different, a once in a lifetime. The permanent restsurant and bar and a nice ambiance.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    3.3
    An experience not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) We were told to wait for the shuttle bus on an unsheltered bus stop at 14:30 as the bus would pick us up between 14:30 - 14:50. However we were left there to wait in the freezing cold for about 45 minutes. We were still charged the full fare and had to pay to get a coffee on our arrival. 2) The location is quite remote so guests come in groups. Nonetheless, there were only 2 persons processing the checkin of guests (one of whom was still a trainee). We had to wait for more than 15 minutes to purchase a hot drink because you have to buy the drinks through one of the two reception staff. 3) We had dinner at the Ice Restaurant. The overall experience was nice, the food was good but nothing out of this world considering the price of Eur59 per person which price did not include a warm drink or an aperitif post dinner. 4) We paid Eur300 for a one-night stay and were given a corner bed which was not at all comfortable when you consider that you have to remove your shoes, crawl into the two sleeping bags and be careful not to touch the ice made wall. 5) We were asked to inform the staff our wake-up call time. We asked them to wake us up at 06:00 am. No one came to wake up. We were ready by 06:10am and were left to wait outside the reception building in -19 degrees celsius temperatures. We were then informed that the reception staff start working at 06:00am and that they were going to wake us up at 06:20am. 6) No entertainment was provided pre and post dinner. There is nothing to do. 7) There was only one shower in the ice hotel and the other showers were outside the ice hotel. The female toilets had a foul smell.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    6.3
    A one time experience staying in an ice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t manage the bookings too well. The suana shower facility has no door and staff did not inform that the toilet in the ice hotel has shower facility. The skybar is too cold despite there is a heater. Food at the Kota restaurant is too salty. I had both salmon and soup during the Christmas season but too salty to finish them. All the inconvenience of moving between reception, restaurants, ice hotel, locker room and suana because weather is simply too cold and Ice is slippery too.

    I like that the staff is English speaking and there is transport available to town. The hotel is pretty and has a good view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Spending a night in a snow hotel was such a great experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spending a night in a snow hotel was such a great experience, not an easy one, either pleasant (as it is really cold inside), but great for challenging the limits :) Of course, there is always a choice to "escape" in the warm area if it feels impossible to survive :) The staff ware extremely friendly and helpful (we didn't made on time a table reservation in the restaurant, which was fully booked, but still they arranged us a great and tasty dinner) The hotel is easily accessible by car, big parking space, clean surrounding as well as clean and warm sauna and shower room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    3.3
    A night to be endured and not enjoyed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolute rip off.horendously expensive, mediocre meals, poorly served. Ablution facilities shockingly inadequate. An night to be endured and not enjoyed.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.5
    a unique experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would suggest more comfortable toilets and showers for the ice hotel as there were only one shower for the whole hotel (although there was not many people in the ice hotel).

    We have booked one room in the ice hotel and it was as we expected. The hotel staff were very friendly and the quality of the included breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.9
    Once in a lifetime experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Once in a lifetime experience. Very exciting. Good breakfast. Just not for everybody. I hardly slept, although I was quite warm in my arctic sleeping bag. My 6 year old son slept better, but also went to the loo twice in the night, which he normally does not do. And then the packing up procedure starts each time again...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.0
    Great once off experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything costs extra. And then when we wanted to go for dinner, they wanted to charge us EUR50pp plus an additional venue fee. Seriously? Perhaps also rather than charging EUR5 for a warm sweet drink - why not have a welcome drink included.

    Great once off experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    6.7
    An unusual interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been another/bigger sitting room for relaxing. Also caution could be advised on leaving children to sleep alone in the ice rooms, it would be better for under-12's to stay with a parent in case of excessive cold.

    The food was good, the bar lively.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    4.6
    Cool place for visit, but not for stay. Everything was very expensive and wasn't worh the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive! Most of the things wasn't worth the price. The room was very small and not comfortable. It wasn't really posibble to sleep there for the whole night, and we almost didn't sleep. We paid extra for the dinner, the sauna and the ice sauna and it was very expensive! I think it's enough just to go there for few hours without staying for the whole night. We saw only few guests in the hotel.

    Cool and special place. You have nice things to do and to see there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced but if you want to experience sleep in the freezing cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price it's not really worth it. The warm room with lockers is far from rooms. They should really set up the sleeping bags and assist you but they leave you to do it all on your own! The sauna times are limited to one hour. Food was mediocre at best and overpriced. We paid 49€ for a salmon, soup, and stewed apples with ice cream. We went with our 10 year old daughter who seemed to be the only one who slept well. I on the other hand, hardly a wink in the freezing cold and the uncomfortable bed and sleeping bag.

    The snow hotel itself is impressive. Staff woke us for a gorgeous Aurora, that was a plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    3.8
    Tough stay, big regret !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Security and privacy issues. Not only all guests but also all visitors can enter each and every room in the snow hotel! No staff, no guard, no frontdesk,no security check point at entrance. Of course no door lock for each room. Very inconvenient cause guests are not allowed to bring luggage to the snow hotel room.Guest should store their big luggage in the main building, again it is an open room and everybody can enter,no security check point. Guest should store their small belongings in the locker room inside Snow hotel but not too close to individually room. Only yr phone and some clothings can bring to the room. So our belongings are separated into 3 differents spots, walk indoor and outdoor, warm and cold. Very inconvenient. We didn't aware there is toilet next to locker room because the introduction tour didb't menton it. So I went outside in the cold and enter main building toilet in the dark. Hotel location is too isolated, you must take the hotel meal with outrageous price (58euro/person)unless u hv yr own car and drive to somewhere else for meal. Hotel scheduled shuttle to city center is 15euro one way per person but it won't be a choice cause it means 30euro add onto a meal cost.

    Snowhotel, Ice bar, Ice Chapel design and style

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing! The ice hotel is spectacular

    Absolutely stunning, worth every penny, upgraded to the igloo when we were there and didn't regret it! Worth spending the extra for the experience of it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    6.3
    Interesting experience, but only to do once in your live.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seems overwhelmed with the number of guests and is therefore slow. Snow hotel rooms are accessible publicly and the rooms/luggage storage room/showers/lockers are far away from one another (and you have to travel in freezing cold between them). The food in ice restaurant is fairly poor, but the desert is served on a really cool plate made of ice. Cold. Either you stay in a restaurant/lobby or you will be consistently cold.

    Staying in a snow hotel is an amazing one-time experience. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.8
    An unforgettable stay with Amazing staff, great food and drinks, and a touch of luxury in the sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mayne they could have had an extra blanket to put over the sleeping bags. Went to bed feeling warm and cosy but woke up pretty cold! But what do you expect in a hotel made of ice

    A once in a lifetime experience. Enjoyed feeding the reindeer and ate in the ice restaurant. The ice shot glass was also very impressive! We also got woken up to see the auroras-unforgettable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    8.3
    A very memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't a great night of sleep, but that's to be expected when you're sleeping on a block of ice.

    The property was so beautiful and really exceeded our expectations. The snow hotel itself was impressive, but we enjoyed the other onsite services the most. The sauna, feeding the reindeer, snowshoeing on the frozen lake, and ice fishing were all highlights. We loved the breakfast as well. The hotel was convenient to get to by taxi from Rovaniemi. If you can stay 2 nights, we recommend spending the first night in the snow hotel, and your second night in one of the onsite glass igloos - it's a great way to warm up and relax after a cold night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    7.1
    An amazing experience, once in a life time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lockers and toilet shower facilities when staying in the Ice hotel we small, dated and very basic, not much room. The lighting in the Ice hotel was very dim. Having no storage in the room was a pain.

    Glass igloo was amazing, lovely warm and comfortable. Bathroom facilities were clean and modern. The traditional and snow saunas were a fabulous experience and chilling with a bottle of wine in the outdoor jacuzzi was magical. Breakfast was great, lots of different options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    7.1
    Rough experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t think it will be a rough night giving the warnings the hotel gave me i should know better overall a great stay the staff is super helpful , it can gets really cold if you’re not used to that .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    An experience of a lifetime in unique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Closer baggage storage to the 'igloo rooms' would have been useful

    Very welcoming staff with lots on offer and close to Rovaniemi for everything else. Food was of good quality and a variety to suit all tastes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.5
    Bucketlist tick off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not a bargain but we were surely happy to pay that much for the experience but it would have been nice if there would be at least one little teacorner where you don't have to pay for the chance to be warming up a bit.

    Great experience!! The snowhotel itself and the whole area is so pretty that i needed to pinch myself a few times. The white reindeer was supercute and the surroundings (with the lake) were beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    7.1
    Nice buffet breakfast and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in the ice hotel. we wished the toilet facilities would be better.. also it was kinda noisy with people walking our room,taking photos. The food we had at the Ice Restaurant was too pricey and taste was average

    Nice buffet breakfast and sauna. Lovely staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite quiet while we were there, I came with my husband and there were only the 2 of us in the ice bar so lacked a little atmosphere. In the back room by reception there were sofas and chairs to relax on but it would have been nice if there was a nice roaring fire : it was chilly in there.

    Location amazing, enjoyed watching our meal of salmon cooking in the warm, cosy restaurant. Informative, friendly staff. We arrived early and the staff were very welcoming to us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay, don't be afraid to try it out :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Great and helpful staff. They explained everything in details. - Shuttle service was punctual and it was easy to organize it before arrival. - We stayed in a suit snow room and we were both able to sleep for 8 hours! It is a great experience and one shouldn't be afraid to try it out. - We took the dinner in the ice restaurant, it was a nice atmosphere. Both salmon and chicken dishes were very tasty and warm. The soup was as tasty as the one from my mom :) - We booked the privat sauna together with jacuzzi (hot tube) and snow sauna. I cannot describe the feeling to be outside in the warm water (jacuzzi) when the temparature is -15 degrees. And the snow sauna is very funny when extreme cold met extreme warm inside. We were not that lucky to see the Northern Lights but the experience was definitely more than worth a try. - The toilets and locker room are just connected to the hotel, you don't go outside to reach them. There are also warm beds in the locker room for the ones who can't sleep in the snow room. Everything has been thought on behalf of you in advance and it is a safe feeling. - Breakfast was very tasty and with lots of variety. It is also included to the room rate. I would definetely recommend to try this hotel for a night and take the challenge! You will have a perfect story to explain to your friends! ;) And also to make the most out of it, just book the dinner and private sauna as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    6.7
    One in a lifetime experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were tour groups led around the ice hotel right up til 10pm. When you're paying so much for a night in one of the ice suites, where there is only a curtain for privacy and noise control, this is far too late! Also the fact that there is only certain hours that you can shower what not convenient.

    It was a once in a lifetime experience staying in an ice hotel! The warm berry juice in the morning was very welcome and delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.5
    Overall great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Im ex navy so ive had to use communal showers before, but there were only 3 cubicles for the women and only 2 of them worked and even in the navy we had shower curtains for some privacy whilst showering. But these were completely open with no shower curtains. Which i didnt really like or feel comfortable about. I would suggest they put shower curtains up. They are not overly expensive.

    I loved the Location, the staff were great despite christmas eve to boxing day being a very busy time, i enjoyed the christmas eve dinner at the log restaurant and visit from Santa Claus and the Ice Restaurant was not bad but because it was cold in there people were getting impatient. I then realised the staff were carrying everything quite a distance so considering i thought it was great. Having our dessert come out on a plate of ice was pretty cool, and drinking a drink in a glass made of ice at the ice bar was great. I also really enjoyed my outing all day at Santas Village

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    6.3
    Awesome experience, but staff could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not friendly or helpful. Asking any questions seemed to be a bother. There was a line to check in. Even the guys helping us during our private sauna experience didn't want to socialize, smile, etc. The other thing that bothered me was after you use your bedding, you just return it. It doesn't get cleaned and all of it had hairs all over them.

    Walking around the hotel, exploring was amazing. So cool. We also enjoyed having dinner in the ice restaurant. We paid extra for private sauna, Jacuzzi, and ice sauna. That was amazing. We watched the northern lights dance in the sky while in the Jacuzzi. This is a great spot to see the northern lights and many people come every night armed with cameras. Also, there were so many good choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.1
    Interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For such an expensive hotel, we were not really happy that the toiletries in the bathroom were not new, they had been opened by the previous guests and not replaced. The meal was nice but not value for money really.

    The snow hotel was very cool, the ice sculptures in the walls were really great. I also liked the quick response via email of staff before we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.7
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place but to visit one day as an attraction not to stay, staff helpless, no organization, bad food, igloos beautiful indeed but nothing organized to make guests comfortable, really expensive when a 1 hour tour would have been enough, and unique to lapland, sauna open only one hour a day☠️☠️☠️☠️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.5
    Overall we still had a wonderful experience would recommend to anyone. Just needs a few adjustments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were not too many activities to do for free and the times for check in between the snow hotel and glass igloos was inappropriate as check out 10 and check in 3. I believe if guests are staying consecutive nights this time should be less as not many people around. The shower and spa times for guest staying should not be between 9-10 for women and 10-11 at night for men, it should be more open as this is an hour and not really appropriate as late at night.

    It’s a little out of town but if you want wilderness and peace and quiet then this is the place to go

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    8.3
    Once in a lifetime interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we were there the toilet facilities were down because the pipes were frozen and the toilets at the reception area were closed.

    Once in a lifetime interesting experience. Sleeping in a sleeping bag on a bed trying to keep myself warm. Their recommended stay of only one night made lots of sense.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    2.9
    Really nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor hospitality. Unfriendly hotel staff who never tried to help us but just saying NO whatever asked. It’s heavily overpriced and won’t recommend anyone to try.

    Really nothing. Bar and Sauna is ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    8.3
    Artic Ice Hotel and Glass Igloos - a must for the bucket list!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If only there was a way to keep your belongings close by; my check-in sized luggage was stored in a luggage room in the reception building. Overhead sized bags were stored in a locker room away from our room. It was tricky keeping track of everything.

    Sleeping in the ice hotel was a new experience - one for the bucket list! The ice/snow walls of the hotel insulate sound brialliantly. It's a resfreshing retreat from the everyday hotel visit. The glass igloos were simply fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    8.3
    Special experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not convenience to go out if u have already in the sleeping bag

    The sleeping bag is very warm so it is quite comfortable for sleeping. It is a special experience and quite interesting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    7.9
    amazing incredible experience - i think the automatic rating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the common "warm" place is not very cosy - too big, feels a bit like a canteen - not inviting to have a last drink before going to bed.

    amazing incredible experience - i think the automatic rating is not doing justice to the experience we got! we slept in a real ice iglo and of course it is not the most comfortable place i have ever slept in but it was magical! the cold, the hot berry juice to wake you up, the absolute silence and beauty of the environment, the private jacuzzi under starry sky, the beautiful design of the hotel and the suites, the ice bar, the restaurant! it is just art! i am very grateful i could have this experience. even though i was nervous sleeping in -5 degrees all night, i slept like a baby. the warm glass igloos are probably very nice too but i cannot imagine that the experience was as fun as we had!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.6
    - Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast was great - Staff were friendly and helpful - Location was amazing

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.6
    Ice bar, snow sauna and jacuzzi were really amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ice bar, snow sauna and jacuzzi were really amazing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic staff, especially Laura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Proces are to high

    Fantastic staff, especially Laura. Everybody is very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.9
    The booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking.com is not clearly stated the room rate is charge per person for each room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.2
    Good one night experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hundreds of tourists coming every hour to visited Snow Hotel.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    The snow hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The snow hotel is great. My family and me had enjoyed a lot sleeping in the ice room.It is a amazing experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous experience

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    The uniqueness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sad not to see the Northern lights

    The uniqueness

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    Never experience in life before this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some more choice in vegetarian food.

    Snow rooms restaurant bar

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    Just everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked it all

    Just everything

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    5.0
    Unique experience but nothing about it is premium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in, the toilet/bathroom facilities are like a campsite and shared

    The experience and the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.2
    Once in a lifetime. Definitely the most unique hotel room I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing experience

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Northern Lights from the Snow Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really enjoyed our night in the snow hotel. The sleeping bags were cosy and warm. We even saw the Northern Lights

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very good. Would recommend to my friends and others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nope

    I like my dinner grill salmon. I like whenever we are they will inform us for the northern light. I like

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Best place on Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything . The staff were great ,especially Jesse

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive. One life time experience only

    Amazing experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    5.8
    Unique experience and beautiful, but for the money you pay facilities could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities could be better.

    Staff were friendly and snow suites were beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    6.3
    Unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no a’la carte menu.

    Unique experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    5.8
    very difficult access with no public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very difficult access with no public transport. Very expensive & difficult to do other activies or eat outside the venue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    4.2
    Lovely location, everything else lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were unhelpful. The transfers aren't included in the price. The food at the restaurants is terrible.

    Location was pretty perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: