Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Finland hotel reviews
  3. Southern Finland hotel reviews
  4. Helsinki hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Arthur

Reviews of Hotel Arthur This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Vuorikatu 19, Eteläinen Suurpiiri, 00100 Helsinki, Finland

#170 of 290 hotels in Helsinki

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 8439 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    5.4
    Its more like a budget hotel and priced high as per facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast hall is just too crowded. Food selection is just average, no live station. The bathroom is below average.

    The location is near the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.8
    This Hotel was fit for purpose and short time spent in Helsinki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was adequate for the number of people staying there. It was slightly cold, as 2 beds were located next to the windows (which didn't seem to be double/triple glazed). The breakfast selection was vast but being pescatarian, there was one option available for me that wasn't brown (breads, cakes, etc). Would have appreciated a better variety and better coffee. Kitchen staff were also unapproachable, possibly due to lack of English. No fault of theirs but would have appreciated if they found someone to assist, instead of simply walking away when asked a question.

    Difficult to locate initially but once found, the location was ideal. Just a stone throw from the train station and walking distance to most attractions, restaurants and central Helsinki. Front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in perfect location for the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst scrambled egg I've ever come across anywhere. There really is no excuse for a quality hotel to be using powdered egg! Very poor selection channels on the TV

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An item, that I had place on the desk disappeared from the room. I reported to the front desk to investigate. When I checked again the receptionist just said that the cleaner did not take it and they believe her word over mine. No sincere apology, no willingness to help to solve the issue, no offer of compensation. Just a „you can go to the police if you like, but we cannot help“. I find this behaviour extremely unprofessional from a receptionist.

    The location is great, just a few hundred meters away from the central railway station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    5.4
    Cheap for value, expensive for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's too basic. The room was old. Shower always creates flood in a bathroom. Double bed, but with two single sheets and duvets, which is very inconvenient. No kettle in the room. Breakfast is buffet, but products are of pretty average quality except for bread.

    Location is great. Metro is 20 meters, central train station is 3 minutes walk, Kamppi is 10-15 minutes walk, city center is very close.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms somewhat tired and dated, but warm and comfortable ... contributes to charm of hotel .

    Fantastic location .. close to train station and shopping areas.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay at Hotel Arthur and everything from start to finish was well taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the toilet was clean, it seemed small for us. Some of the metal parts connecting to the shower and the heater were rusty and unsightly. Perhaps if those rusty parts can be replaced, the toilet will have a fresh look.

    Easy and smooth check-in, the breakfast buffet was great, the beds were comfortable, various TV channels, the hotel's location which is very accessible to the railway station, downtown Helsinki and most tourist attractions. On our first day of check-in, we wanted to dine in at their restaurant but there was a private event so it was totally booked. The staff seemed apologetic and asked if she could assist in looking at other nearby restaurants and to help us with the booking, which we appreciated. We said it was not an issue as there is a great variety of eateries. Also, the toilet bowl was choked the next day and when I contacted the staff, she immediately sent the plumber and the housekeeper to resolve the issue. Very prompt in their service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast spread is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift is not suitable for family with many baggage, the lift is old traditional type with a door in Oder to enter the lift, we have to hold on to the door and pull the luggage along.. lift is small and narrow.

    Breakfast spread is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay with competitive price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was above the street on 5th floor, so there was some noice from the traffic. The toilet was a little too small, so I can only imagine being a big person. It could cause some trouble.

    Nice, not a 5 star hotel, but one of my hotel options when traveling to Helsinki in the future. Located very close to the city center. Very friendly staff. My room was without carpets on the floor, I liked that! This time the remarkable low price made me to choose this place. Breaksfast was great! I'll certainly come again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Best value for money with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best value for money you can get. The hotel is nicely located in the center of the city and very close to the train station. Breakfast was just right for this type of hotel. The stuff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    It’s alright but not modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is very old school. Not sure it would be 3 stars. Decor and bathrooms all need a major upgrade.

    Central stay, fairly clean and tidy, staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, close to the centre, easy access from the airport by train
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the reception not always meet expectations. Breakfast could be improved, at least hot section.

    Newer single rooms were comfortable and spacious. 7-minute walk from the central railway station makes the hotel well located and easy accessible from the airport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Central location to the train station and town, arrived in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central location to the train station and town, arrived in the morning and was able to check in early which was appreciated. Friendly staff. Large variety at breakfast. Simple facilities but good value for money in downtown Helsinki

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Single room is convenient and cozy, the hot water in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock is still the very old type and doesn't have chain lock inside which didn't feel quite safe...

    Single room is convenient and cozy, the hot water in the shower was really excellent! Location is also quite good with walking distance to the city center and central train station. Breakfast exceeded expectation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for transport and lots of sights within walking distance. Really comfortable bed. Good range of breakfast, especially with it being included in the price. Staff were friendly and helpful. It wasn't the most modern place but that didn't matter as everything was clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    The place was clean and the staff thoughtful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place has seen it’s best days and would need an uplift. The breakfast had barely the necessities, no extra thought was put into it.

    The place was clean and the staff thoughtful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for travelers who stays in the city for a 1-2 days.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom. I didn’t find one-time slippers.

    Perfect for travelers who stays in the city for a 1-2 days. Close to the railway station, so you won’t miss a flight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    6.7
    The position is perfect in the centre of the town with all...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Arthur hotel on italian standards is more close to a student accommodation than an hotel

    The position is perfect in the centre of the town with all the more relevant attractions at walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    5.4
    Old everything is old at his place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was factory like and even the eggs had a funny taste. Some door throughout the building that I could not set my finger on what was but not pleasant.

    Old everything is old at his place. Breakfast was not good. Beds small and uncomfy. Excellent staff. great location Lobby and elevators seriously out dated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Good accommodation with reasonable prices in the centre of Helsinki
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long corridors and small lifts

    Clean rooms, comfortable bed although the corridors of the hotel feel like a labyrinth :) Nice breakfast, friendly staff! Excellent location right in the centre!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel, Acceptable location with reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is under renovation, the breafast room is not OK.

    Location is few step from tram stop and 500 m to Helsinki central station. Very easy to travel from tram to Ferry harbour.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.8
    A good night's sleep for a good business day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was as expected. The room was very quiet and peaceful and the bed comfy. Breakfast was not quite as pleasant as normally due to a renovation but worked out ok too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Good price, central quiet situation near park, easy to connect with car transport+railway
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During the night noisy machines in the courtyard below our window greatly disturbed our sleep.

    Good sized triple room with good toilet facilities. Good breakfast including porridge. Lunch was less satisfying but okay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with great price and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture in the rooms are not what you can new. Windows in the whole hotel are old and need some cleaning.

    Great location. Comfortable and very clean rooms. We managed to check in earlier and the luggage room was available for use after we checked-out. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.0
    the location was good , very central for everything staff...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel really needing upgraded. reception area especially, breakfast pretty poor , not much to chose from dining room carpet pretty grubby , should have sand buckets outside for the people that smoke

    the location was good , very central for everything staff were lovely . bedrooms are lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower space a little on the small side, don't like when the shower curtain clings on to me... But it is a wet room, so not a big problem to even keep curtain a bit open. Hot breakfast not hot.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Renovated rooms quiet and comfortable. Good breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.1
    Decent but older hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit expensive for an older hotel but it's to be expected. Although the bathroom was a decent size, the shower I had was just a curtain from one corner to the mirror on the opposite wall, making a strange triangle shape and absolutely no room to move. Either had to shower without the curtain and flood the bathroom floor or shower with the curtain and your back up against the wall.

    It's in a great location for getting around the city. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast, although not biggest range, is decent and there is plenty of seating space available. The room itself was small but clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.0
    It served its purpose as a stop over but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small pokey room which should have been a cupboard. Very poor value for the price and not comparable with cheaper hotels in Central Helsinki which I have used in the past.

    Good enough Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.8
    Modest and perfect location ,Excellent for cleaver visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel very modest but not luxury , If you are looking luxury i do not recommend

    As i wrote above its very modest and price very good ,Location perfect ,Hotel 3 star but breakfast 5 star.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Great value, location, service. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast items could have varied from day to day. They were always the same. They charged you 1.50 euros to fill up your water bottle...? Seems excessive, when you can just fill it up from the bathroom sink for free.

    Great value for the money. Would definitely stay here again when in Helsinki.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.5
    Room felt very hostel-like.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room felt very hostel-like. Even just one picture would have cheered it up a bit. Compared to similarly priced hotels in the area, I would have expected a bit more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.4
    We were disappointed with this hotel except for the location and the updated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start? The room was so far away from the elevators, we had to go upstairs and down stairs and upstairs again before we could enter our room. The room was updated, but so far away! The carpets in the dining room were awful, so old and stained. The floors need replacing desperately.

    The breakfast offered enough options.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    beds are extremely uncomfortable, the room is very small, old, poor doesn't worth even the half of price

    Location, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast is not so great.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is not so great....To be improved.....No croissants.....Room was OK. A bit noisy in our floor with the Sauna.....with people sometime naked and the door opened.......To be improved.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dated, but it was comfortable. Door would stick so had to make sure it was fully closed and locked.

    Within walking distance from Central Train station and adjacent bus station. You just need to get your orientation correct to go in the right direction. It is going pass the bus terminal section and a large open air square/plaza then about 3 short blocks away is the hotel. Very convenient to walk to the major shopping area and to the Old Market Place and piers. The room was comfortable and breakfast good. There is an elevator/lift which is useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.3
    Ok overnattingssted! Enkelt, men pluss for hyggelig personale og gode senger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny, and the hairdryer only had a cold function. The furniture of the room was some worn out.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff very friendly, and the placement of the hotel was very near the senter of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel is good, however the hotel is worn and “tired”
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire hotel is in need of an update....very tired, worn out and dated. The breakfast was average and of cafeteria quality.

    The room was quiet and of a proper size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    3.3
    Well located but not a nice place where to stay because of lack of comfort and practicality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to access the floor and the room, with a complex and old-fashioned system of keys; old style furniture and very basic comfort in the room, compared to a relatively high price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.1
    Quiet and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture and appliances. Basic breakfast. Breakfast tables not cleaned and dishes not disposed so you had to start eating among previous customers 'leftovers.

    Quiet and location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.3
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot music noice mid of the night, sounds like a nightclub nearby.

    Located near the railway station and very close to centre. Staff are helpful, room clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor (but doesn’t matter), using the shower makes the whole bathroom floor wet

    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, overall good value if booked early

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    * Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    * They asked extra money for fin sauna. * Breakfast is not very good or traditional. * You have a chair and a bed. No place to put your luggage. We used chair for our luggage :( * No slippers * There is only shampoo in the bathroom, no hand soup or other stuff.

    * Location * Helpful front desk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.8
    Old hotel requiring renovation, but in a good location with friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was hard to find free seating place in the restaurant for breakfast. Elevator is so small. The furniture and windows are really old and should be replaced. The bathroom also needs renovation.

    Location of the hotel is close to the main railway station in the quiet street. The main Helsinki attractions are in 15 minutes walk distance. The bed mattress were OK.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.1
    Old and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is old and very dated. Needs to be completely refurbished. Even the beds and mattresses looked and felt old and tired. Shabby looking. No air conditioning. With climate change it's going to be more important to have individually adjusted air conditioning available even in the northern countries that didn't traditional need it.

    location is only about two blocks from the railway station. easy walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    I have stayed here several times before and would be happy to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the beds was a little uncomfortable (my wife's; I was very happy with mine!) Helsinki is an expensive city and the Arthur was quite good value compared with other hotels but it is still more than we would expect to pay in other pats of Europe.

    The location could not be better: just a few minutes' walk in one direction from the railway and bus station and the cathedral and harbour in the other. The receptionist was extremely helpful: he discussed with us the best way to go to the airport after our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    4.6
    Room was old, shower was in a seperate room so the door was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was old, shower was in a seperate room so the door was always wet (had started to peel as a result of always being wet from the shower) and the room smelled like a library :( So not worth the money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is located very close to the railway station in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities were bit outdated, otherwise everything was good.

    Hotel is located very close to the railway station in Helsinki downtown (around 5-7 minutes walking). Staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast buffet selection was rather big. Hotel is old but very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night we were late arrived after midnight, the room was not clean and well eqipped. The bathroom lights were not working. We didnt ask to change room as so tired and only stayed one night to catch up te early morning ferry. The 2nd stay were much better, the light at bathroom are working , bedroom are clean.

    The breakfast and location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    7.9
    Best position to get around and see the most of the city on a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs a refurbishment desperately. The soft furnishings and furniture are dreary. The rooms all look onto other adjacent buildings that are in need of a coat of paint. This can’t be helped but a refurbishment of the bedrooms would help make them more appealing.

    The hotel was very central. Short walking distance to the centre of the city, railway station, information centre and trams to the harbor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nohting not to like. It was brilliant.

    Great location. Hop on Hop off bus stop for citysightseeing 3minutes away frim the Hotel. I will be using it again when I go back next year to finish off the rest of my Helsinki trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    5.8
    Good for one night stay - not more.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridor stunk with old, long-lasting scent of cigarettes. The room looked like it was 50 years ago - and was rather not renovated since the hotel was built. The decor is a cross between the hotel and the room of an old grandmother. Everything looked old and worn.

    Close to the old town and the tourist area. Funny elevator with 'like factory fridge' entrance. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.5
    Location, location, location 🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had booked a standard room for one person, and even though I did not expect much, I had hoped to have at least a safety deposit box in my room. There was a constant sound in my room, which sounded a bit like a washing mashine running upstairs. This would go on even during the night, and I could hear from other guests that I was not the only person being bothered by that.

    Location, location, location 🙂 In addition, staff was very friendly and service minded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    5.0
    Good position with respect to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too old structure, too pricey, needs a renovation. Breakfast could be better assorted. Very bad situation regarding bathroom, clean but old.

    Good position with respect to city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    5.0
    Adequate and we managed, but expensive for what it was
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing for British taste, no nice pastries, no soya yoghurts, no fried eggs or potatoes and scrambled egg was clearly reconstituted dried catering pack standard.

    Fairly close to city centre, TV in room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    8.8
    I loved our room, which had the Jugend charm and old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is old, which I think adds to its charm and I prefer that to the chain hotels. The bathroom decor is outdated, so if you are looking for luxury, you might feel a bit disappointed. You are guaranteed a hot shower with nice pressure, which is typically the case in Finland and that was enough for me. The carpets in the corridor need a clean.

    I loved our room, which had the Jugend charm and old furniture! The room was high and even with a lot of luggage we didn't feel cramped. The complimentary coffee and tea tray was a definite bonus. Coffee at breakfast was very good and the choice in breakfast items was what you'd typically expect in a Finnish hotel. I really enjoyed the dark malted bread on offer, that was a welcome addition to the otherwise great but expected choice. The staff was very nice and helpful and I think we will be likely to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.2
    Helsinki haven
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nada.

    Location was ideal for my meetings at the University. Close to train station but near a park so our room was quiet. The breakfast had many options and there was a good staff working so they could have lots of people go through with little problem. Bonus: Spa you could schedule for an hour of private relaxation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    6.7
    Price, location and internet were fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were not extraordinary nice. Maybe due to a lot of tourists visitors as well.

    Price, location and internet were fine. Breakfast was reasonable. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    5.8
    Central to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ROOM WAS ACTUALLY Dangerous!!!ROOM was upstairs and bath downstairs.A 9 inch wide spiral staircase separated both.COffee machine broken,breakfast staff angry and wouldn't respond to questions.This was a30 euro room,and I was charged 100 euro.The bed we not properly made up. There was no sugar or cream in too, only tea and a broken coffee machine. YARD has growing weeds which would take one hour to clear.

    Central to old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    3.8
    The room is very expensive. It is not worth from the view point of value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed 4 nights in the hotel. During my stay, the bath towel has not been changed. I can't sleep at night, not only because of hot weather, but also the annoying sounds caused by mosquito. It reflected the cleanliness of the room was far beyond standard.

    . Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    6.3
    Central location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No aircondittioning or fans in the room. It was hot summer and the room was stifuling hot. Leaving windows open let in the street noise and didn't assist much

    Centrally located to Helsinki city central. Close to public transport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was perfectly clean, but no space to lay down toiletries. Floor would get wet when showering.

    The staff. Amazing unlimited breakfast with lots of cold cuts, cereal and other options. Some veggy options as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very good for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has an old, run-down feel to it.

    The hotel is very centrally located, a 5-minute walk from the central train and bus station, near the university, cathedral, promenade, shopping and everything else. Breakfast was good if a little monotonous. My room was large and comfortable, with a mini-bar, kettle, desk and lounge chairs, and (very important in the heat wave that I experienced) air conditioning, which I understood that not all of the rooms had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.3
    Satisfactory but a few changes could make this place excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room, but you could buy (bad) coffee from reception for 2 Euros. Shower was motion-sensitive and kept stopping and starting during the night which was annoying - even when no-one was near

    Close to station, tram stops and good pubs and restaurants. Very helpful staff. Good range of food at breakfast. Was able to check in early and leave luggage on day of departure. Fairly expensive considering facilities available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smallish room which could do with better ventilation (or at least a fan during warm spells)

    Excellent location Friendly and helpful staff Huge breakfast Relatively good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.5
    Easy access from the Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance of the hotel is not barrier free with a few steps and some bumps, so it was bit difficult for me to be in/out with carrying more than one suite cases.

    Easy access from the Central Station. Good location, everything is in walking distance. Breakfast is quite good and tea/coffee facility in the room is very good, too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot in the room even at night. The fan provided is extra small as there are 2 beds. The window can be opened but it will block part of the bed. A very old hotel that needs furnishing. Too expensive with such standard.

    Nice staff. Good breakfast and near the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    6.3
    Maybe worth the dollars....
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a total disaster, very tight and imposible to move between the tables. That makes it more difficult with a 9 year old trying to fetch stuff! Pretty awerage breakfast without anything that really came out. Minibar- totally overpriced!!!!! A rape for your wallet! Room, warm like Dantes inferno.... no one had taken any action about opening windows.

    Close to city trainstation and shops. Room had seperat toilet and shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    Best price for a central stay in Helsinki
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very warm and only one room had a fan.

    Excellent staff, big rooms, we had fridges in family rooms, Special breakfast for early check out. Fabulous location. Staff made dinner reservations, recommended walks etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ceiling is paper thin.(NOT WALL) Unlucky, if room above yours is make noise at midnight constantly,you should make a phone call to reception and tell that bother situation. Me? I did so.

    You can access here on foot from railroad station. Also you can go famous landmark and good restaurant easier. Staff is quite friendly.And breakfast is delicious and plenty. Some review said that coffee was terrible. But I enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.5
    Recommended to travellers by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    The receptionists were flexible when dealing with the guests' requests and tried their best to help them. They had accepted to keep our luggage when we went cruising before our check in day. Close to the railways station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.9
    Very satisfying. In the center, in an excellent area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two nights (two single rooms). The hotel is a 5 minute walking from the station, 10 minutes from Senate Square, and 15 minutes walking fro Kauppatori : that is, a great area!. Very close passes the tram to go to the port. The room was good. Excellent breakfast. Pretty cheap for Finland, a very expensive country. All very satisfying.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    4.2
    The room is very big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks and feel like an East Block countries, everything is very dated. The information on the internet said that there is a sofa in the room but did not say that it looks filthy and the bottom part of the sofa came off, some of the plugs has Tesa tape on it. The bath room is very simple. For the price of the room, I prefer to have a smaller room but looks more welcoming.

    The room is very big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.3
    The staff at the front desk extremely helpful and polite .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no a/c though the staff provided us with the fan

    The staff at the front desk extremely helpful and polite . Location is great in the middle of city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good easy comfortable stay and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Summertime one can hear traffic but have to remember that this is city centre.

    The location of thus hotel us perfect; central Helsinki within walking distance, train station, restaurants and pubs. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good and there is enough variety to choose from. Have stayed here before and will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    loved how homey it feels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing.

    the room looks outdated but it feels extremely homey and sparkly clean. bed is comfy and the high ceiling and large windows made my summer stay nice and cool. ok breakfast is very good with loads of options. friendly staff. all the facilities are good. location is near the central station and to all the tourist spots. i definitely enjoyed my stay there!

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Arthur Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: